April 27, 2024, 06:10:00 AM

Author Topic: Official World Cup Draw Thread  (Read 61329 times)

Re: All you need to know about the Final Draw
« Reply #90 on: December 04, 2005, 02:57:20 AM »
You all are 5 hours behind us here. figure it out. or is it 6 hmmmm ::)

Offline sweetiepaper

Re: Official World Cup Draw Thread
« Reply #91 on: December 04, 2005, 09:44:43 AM »
TV 6 in Trinidad have the draw in their schedule for 3:30 pm with highlights repeated at 10:35pm
"Sweetiepaper does be all over de place"

« Reply #92 on: December 04, 2005, 09:50:40 AM »
Today's Independent has their guesses for the seedings and the Pots:

Pool 1 : Brazil, Germany, Spain, Mexico, Argentina, England, Italy, France
Pool 2: Holland, United States, Sweden, Czech Republic, Croatia, Paraguay, South Korea, Japan
Pool 3: Portugal, Costa Rica, Iran, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, Switzerland, Ecuador
Pool 4: Ukraine, Serbia&Montenegro, Ivory Coast, Australia, Ghana, Sweet T&T, Togo, Angola

Again, I emphasise this is only their guess...

« Reply #93 on: December 04, 2005, 10:46:46 AM »
unless i have totally misunderstood how the draw works pots or pool 2 ,3 and 4 are not possible as the possibiliy of a group being Mexico USA T&T Costa rica exists. pots contain zones so what is unsure is whether concacaf will be in a pot with asia or africa. if u r in the same pot as another team then u cant be drawn in d same group with that team

« Reply #94 on: December 04, 2005, 01:25:37 PM »
they should make it like this

seeds: Germany Brazil  England Italy Argentina Mexico France  Spain

pot 2: Holland Czech.R  Sweden  Swiss  Croatia  Paraguy  Poland  Portugal

pot 3: Japan  S.Korea  Iran  Saudi.A  Ecuador  U.S.A  C.Rica  Tunisia

pot 4: Angola  Ghana  I.Coast  Togo  TnT  Australlia  Serbia Mont. Ukraine

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #95 on: December 04, 2005, 01:41:35 PM »
anyhow it is we givin dem goaaaal an we goin on to d final
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

« Reply #96 on: December 04, 2005, 04:44:35 PM »
unless i have totally misunderstood how the draw works pots or pool 2 ,3 and 4 are not possible as the possibiliy of a group being Mexico USA T&T Costa rica exists. pots contain zones so what is unsure is whether concacaf will be in a pot with asia or africa. if u r in the same pot as another team then u cant be drawn in d same group with that team

Those pools are possible. When T&T is drawn they would put them in the first group that doesn't have USA, Mexico or CR (provided that those have already be drawn).

That is how they usually do it but I was under the impression that there would not be four seeded pots this time around.

« Reply #97 on: December 05, 2005, 12:47:32 AM »
Since we can't get Mexico as a top seed i would like to take my chances with Spain. They real inconsistent these days and we can beat them on a bad day or if we play to our best.

« Reply #98 on: December 05, 2005, 05:33:00 AM »
ok so can som1 explain this 2 me seems like i misinterpreting somthing..........

There WILL be 4 pots

Pot A WILL be the 8 seeded teams

Pot B WILL be the remaining (9) European teams... the last remaining (9th) team to be drawn MAY be added to Pot C

Pot C MAY likely be the remaining (2) Conmebol teams, 4 Asia and Australia

Pot D MAY likely be the remaining (3) Concacaf and (5) Africa

Fifa may lump 3 Concacaf with 4 Asia and Australia as an alternative!

Germany WILL be in Group A with games played in Munich, Berlin and Dortmund (largest stadiums)!
Brazil is speculated to be based in Group F as games will also be played in Munich, Berlin and Dortmund

One team from each pot to a group.. with the following rules.

No more than one team per confederation in each group with the exception of UEFA which may have no more than two!

These are the basic rules! So for example Trinidad cannot get drawn with France and Germany as they will be in the same pot and cannot get drawn against each other. We may not be drawn with an African team if we are in the same pot as they are (this remains to be seen)

FIFA will announce the exact draw procedures on December 6th!

www.soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=350665&root=worldcup&cc=3888

« Last Edit: December 05, 2005, 05:56:01 AM by freakazoid »

« Reply #99 on: December 05, 2005, 07:18:01 AM »
ok so can som1 explain this 2 me seems like i misinterpreting somthing..........

There is nothing to explain. Everybody is speculating. In the past FIFA has gone with 4 seeded pots this time they may not.

There will be some hard and fast rules though.

No group will have more than one team from Africa, Asia, SA or Concacaf

No group will have more than two teams from Europe. So each group will have at least one. The ninth non-seeded UEFA team will be paired with one of the SA seeds or Mexico.

« Reply #100 on: December 05, 2005, 07:20:33 AM »
So what exactly yuh misinterpreting?

Yuh soccernet link is broken..... but in any case... soccernet seedin is completely wrong as is Fox and a lot of other major news outlets...

Lets review...

The past two world cups- those with 32 teams- have done the seedings and the pots the same way. They used the formula posted earlier in the thread. They also distributed the remaining 24 teams by geography.

For this world cup, FIFA has not given any indication that things will be different. They have said explicitly that pots 2,3, and 4 are geography based. They haven't yet said that how they are gonna determine the #1 seeds but so far there's no reason to think they will change the formula. publications have easy access to said formula

Yet these publications have gone on to make up their own seeding procedures with no sources whatever as if they did not watch the last two or completely forgot about them

« Reply #101 on: December 05, 2005, 07:25:36 AM »
Fellas I have a prediction for the draw.....

TnT vs Germany in the opening game of the WC

Ah love it!! TM Andre Samuel

« Reply #102 on: December 05, 2005, 07:27:55 AM »
FIFA to announce seeds for World Cup finals
Mon Dec 5, 2005 5:58 PM IST

By Mike Collett

LEIPZIG, Germany (Reuters) - FIFA's World Cup Organising Committee will decide on Tuesday the seedings for the 32 finalists involved in next year's tournament in Germany.

The only thing known for certain is that the hosts will be seeded in slot A1 in the match schedule and play the tournament's opening match in Munich on June 9, Dortmund on June 14 and Berlin on June 20.

Seven other countries will also be placed in the top pool and kept apart in the draw for the first round which takes place in Leipzig's Neue Messe exhibition centre.

Friday's draw will be broadcast live to around 150 countries in the world with an estimated record audience of around 320 million people expected to tune in.

FIFA have not confirmed how the seedings will be decided but hinted that the same method used in 2002 will be used again.

That involved taking the performances from the two previous World Cup finals, combined with an average position based on the FIFA world rankings from the past three years to establish a coefficient for each team.

On that basis, Brazil, Italy, France, Argentina, Spain, Mexico and England could all join Germany in the top group of seeds, with the Netherlands, the United States, Czech Republic, Croatia, South Korea, Japan and Paraguay in the second group.

TOUGHER ZONE

Ecuador, Switzerland, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia, Poland, Iran, Costa Rica and Portugal are contenders for Pool Three while Ukraine, Serbia & Montenegro, Ivory Coast, Australia, Ghana, Trinidad & Tobago, Togo and Angola -- the lowest ranked side in the competition with a FIFA ranking of 62nd in the world -- making up Pool Four.

The system, though, is a flawed one because the FIFA rankings unfairly reward countries like Mexico and the United States who win most of their matches against weaker regional opposition.

European nations like the Netherlands and Portugal are penalised because, from a far tougher qualifying zone, they have missed out on recent World Cups.

Lobbying for position has already started with the likes of U.S. coach Bruce Arena and Portugal coach Luiz Felipe Scolari, who won the World Cup with his native Brazil in 2002, saying their teams deserve to be among the top seeds.

The Organising Committee will have the final say although FIFA president Sepp Blatter hinted recently that there could be some surprises in the seedings when he said: "I think the national teams of Holland and England have reason to be worried. Even Italy might not get a place."

Friday's draw will be in stark contrast to the one made for the 1974 finals when the World Cup was held in West Germany.

Then, 200 guests were present in Hessian radio's main broadcast studio in Frankfurt to see 16 teams placed in four groups in a short ceremony that lasted about 15 minutes.

On Friday around 3,700 people including 1,000 media will be in the auditorium at the huge trade fair hall which is being transformed into a football stadium for the occasion.

Adidas will be unveiling the official World Cup match ball in a ceremony presented by talkshow host and sports journalist Reinhold Beckmann and assisted by German model Heidi Klum.

Next year's finals begin on June 9 and end on July 9 with the final at the Olympic Stadium in Berlin.

© Reuters 2005. All Rights Reserved.

« Reply #103 on: December 05, 2005, 09:15:01 AM »
I just have 2 wished for this draw on Friday
1) We get Brazil - imagine the stadium with the 2 carnival nations. That will be a dream come thru .
2) We dont draw any other team that traditionally plays in RED as well...Then we may have to play in white, and we want the RED trini vibes strong strong in Germany.

« Reply #104 on: December 05, 2005, 09:59:01 AM »
I hope so too. We rule the red thing. No body represents better in red than us... 8)

« Reply #105 on: December 05, 2005, 10:02:15 AM »
If we DO get Brazil, will there ever have been a collection of sweet ooman so in one stadium?

« Reply #106 on: December 05, 2005, 10:40:32 AM »
I don't know about this wishing for Brazil thing, I too was initially hoping for Brazil or England. However after looking at things, looking at the preparation that is being put into place, I am hoping for a so-called 'easy' group. The fete thing will be nice with Brazil but I am hoping for us to progress to the 2nd round. Then we can meet Brazil and whatever other heavy weights.

« Reply #107 on: December 05, 2005, 10:46:44 AM »
I don't know about this wishing for Brazil thing, I too was initially hoping for Brazil or England. However after looking at things, looking at the preparation that is being put into place, I am hoping for a so-called 'easy' group. The fete thing will be nice with Brazil but I am hoping for us to progress to the 2nd round. Then we can meet Brazil and whatever other heavy weights.

Jayerson... anyhow yuh take it... we hadda meet ah top seed.... and it cyah be Mexico..... and it go be real hard to beat tha top seed.... so we go definitely hadda get some points off de other teams in de group to progress...

Offline Clarke

Plan for the Draw on Friday.
« Reply #108 on: December 05, 2005, 11:12:42 AM »
Well people the time is fast approaching. So here is my question to you. What will u be doing on the day of the draw, Friday 9th December 2005. Tell mih nah.

Re: Plan for the Draw on Friday.
« Reply #109 on: December 05, 2005, 11:14:12 AM »
Watchin it.

« Reply #110 on: December 05, 2005, 11:15:45 AM »
find daz an obvious ting...u go be following it one way or another!!

« Reply #111 on: December 05, 2005, 11:31:36 AM »
I issuing ah press release

« Reply #112 on: December 05, 2005, 11:33:20 AM »
goin in de chatroom and talk nuff shyt bout we opponents

praying we doh draw with brasil

« Reply #113 on: December 05, 2005, 11:43:03 AM »
morvant man and I supposed to go find the forums for our opponents and start to give them talk before they bombard us... ... We want first blood. lol

« Reply #114 on: December 05, 2005, 11:45:43 AM »
as soon as they draw iz blade in dey muda arse ;D

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
Draw will be witnessed by millions
« Reply #115 on: December 05, 2005, 12:09:35 PM »
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=350730&cc=5901

It's such a good feelings to see we name on this list  :beermug:

Re: Draw will be witnessed by millions
« Reply #116 on: December 05, 2005, 12:27:34 PM »
all ah dem should be on de player to watch list...i know "me mum" good but it takes a whole team, right!

Is dat screamer he scored that brought him all this attention. He deserves it, but yuh right we have nuff Warriors to watch come June 9th

« Reply #117 on: December 05, 2005, 01:12:21 PM »
anyone knows if the draw is showing in TnT  it better!

« Reply #118 on: December 05, 2005, 01:15:54 PM »
anyone knows if the draw is showing in TnT  it better!

Small Mag... yuh eh have ESPN 2 home?

They bringing it from 4pm TnT time

« Reply #119 on: December 05, 2005, 01:23:23 PM »
yeh buh cctt will blok it    tv6 or cnc will bring it  das a rell important ting especially cuz tnt in it