March 29, 2024, 08:03:33 AM

Author Topic: Official World Cup Draw Thread  (Read 60586 times)

NEW MOCK DRAW
« Reply #150 on: December 06, 2005, 10:20:14 AM »
Mock Draw based on official seedings and rules

Group A: Germany, Netherlands, Paraguay, Costa Rica

Group B: Spain, South Korea, Switzerland, Angola

Group C: Italy, Ivory Coast, Croatia, Trinidad & Tobago

Group D: Mexico, Ecuador, Iran, Ukraine

Group E: France, Sweden, Japan, Australia

Group F: Brazil, Togo, Serbia & Montenegro, Portugal

Group G: Argentina, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia, Poland

Group H: England, Ghana, Czech Republic, USA

Re: Official World Cup Draw Thread
« Reply #151 on: December 06, 2005, 10:20:26 AM »
so this draw could be possible:

germany
t&t
paraguay
holland

:'(  :'(

« Reply #152 on: December 06, 2005, 10:31:05 AM »
so this draw could be possible:

germany
t&t
paraguay
holland

:'(  :'(

Yes but cross fingers for

England
Angola
Poland
TnT

or something so....

« Reply #153 on: December 06, 2005, 10:35:18 AM »
or  france togo croatia tnt

« Reply #154 on: December 06, 2005, 11:15:20 AM »
diz real pressuh, cant see we in germany and holland, dats murder, no way we goin thru in dat group, it would be a miracle, i rather face italy and ivory coast

« Reply #155 on: December 06, 2005, 11:22:48 AM »
The number 1 seed that we stand the best chance against is England. Them men does underachieve and we accustomed to their football. the potential for a more technically gifted team to mash up up over ninety minutes is very real.

Germany also won't be a bad team to play against. I rather prepare for them than Brazil, Argentina, Italy or Spain.

From the pot three Angola or Togo are teams that we can beat.

From Europe Poland or Switzerland.

We don't want to end up in any group that has Holland or the Czech Republic.

Trinidad In Pot 4 AS Expected
« Reply #156 on: December 06, 2005, 11:32:58 AM »
England seeded for 2006 World Cup 

England have been placed among the top eight seeds for the 2006 World Cup.
Sven-Goran Eriksson's side are in a top pool of hosts Germany, holders Brazil as well as Argentina, France, Italy, Spain and Mexico.

England will now avoid meeting those countries in the group stages when the main draw for the tournament is made in Leipzig on Friday evening.

Under the seeding system used by Fifa, England came out second to Brazil and Italy narrowly beat the US into eighth.

Fifa's ranking co-efficient meant that performances at the 2002 World Cup, when England reached the quarter-finals, were given twice as much weight as at 1998.

They also took into account a country's world ranking over the last three years.

SEEDINGS TABLE
Brazil 64
England 51
Spain 50
Germany 48
Mexico 47
France 46
Argentina 44
Italy 44

"It's excellent news," England coach Eriksson told the Football Association website.

"I think it's right too. We are one of the teams that have the potential to do very well in Germany and we have some of the best players in the world.

"Finishing top of our qualification group, with the second best record in the whole of Europe, was a big achievement and I'm sure that has played a part in this decision."

Serbia and Montenegro were the lowest placed European qualifier and have been placed in a special pot to stop three countries from the zone being in the same group.

For the draw on Friday, around 3,700 people will be present in the auditorium at the huge trade fair hall in Leipzig's Neue Messe exhibition centre.

It is being transformed into a football stadium for the occasion.

The World Cup finals in Germany begin on 9 June 2006 and the final takes place in Berlin on 9 July.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

POT ONE
Germany (hosts)
Brazil (holders)
Argentina
England
France
Italy
Mexico
Spain   POT TWO
Australia
Angola
Ghana
Ivory Coast
Togo
Tunisia
Ecuador
Paraguay

POT THREE
Croatia
Czech Republic
Netherlands
Poland
Portugal
Sweden
Switzerland
Ukraine   POT FOUR
Iran
Japan
Saudi Arabia
South Korea
Costa Rica
Trinidad & Tobago
US
Special pot: Serbia & Montenegro 

bbc

Re: Trinidad In Pot 4 AS Expected
« Reply #157 on: December 06, 2005, 11:36:29 AM »
so which one ah dem pot and them have de palau???

« Reply #158 on: December 06, 2005, 11:41:00 AM »
How come the US so low?

« Reply #159 on: December 06, 2005, 11:42:16 AM »
so which one ah dem pot and them have de palau???

Obviously POT FOUR!  ;D

« Reply #160 on: December 06, 2005, 11:42:35 AM »
 :rotfl:, ah like dat morvant, findin out info on hardest tuhday, straight from pos and out of de man heself, hopefully, if meh padnah talk to him

« Reply #161 on: December 06, 2005, 11:43:11 AM »
Jah Gol.... ah going and get ah stroke!!!  >:(

Go and read de thread at de top of de page!!!

ah fed up explain this.... only de top eight are seeded!!

The other pots are separated GEO-GRAPHICALLY!!!!

« Reply #162 on: December 06, 2005, 11:46:27 AM »
Jah Gol.... ah going and get ah stroke!!!  >:(

scene

« Reply #163 on: December 06, 2005, 11:47:08 AM »

Hopefully we will get Mexico in our group.

What yuh say FF?

« Reply #164 on: December 06, 2005, 11:49:55 AM »

What yuh say FF?

I may be wrong but I don't believe Mexico can be in our group if teams are separated geographically.

Offline monty

« Reply #165 on: December 06, 2005, 11:50:40 AM »

What yuh say FF?

I have a feeling FF suffering a stroke right now  :rotfl:

« Reply #166 on: December 06, 2005, 11:56:41 AM »

What yuh say FF?

JDB yuh is ah wel ass!!  :rotfl:

Monty you too  ;D

« Reply #167 on: December 06, 2005, 12:22:47 PM »
Jeez it's not rocket science.

Just to end the argument here are the OFFICIAL pools, and to repeat what has been said before, ONLY the the first pool is seeded with the rest grouped geographically.:

Pool One: Germany (hosts), Brazil (champions), Italy, France, Argentina, Spain, Mexico, England

Pool Two: Australia, Angola, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Togo, Tunisia, Ecuador, Paraguay

Pool Three: Croatia, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine

Pool Four: Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago, United States

Special pot: Serbia & Montenegro

EDIT:Oh wait someone posted this already.....oh well.......some fool is still going say that they hoping for Iran or some other crap ::).
« Last Edit: December 06, 2005, 12:29:01 PM by PantherX »

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #168 on: December 06, 2005, 12:26:51 PM »

US, Netherlands not seeded
« Reply #169 on: December 06, 2005, 12:38:36 PM »
Updated: Dec. 6, 2005
Netherlands is surprise omissionAssociated Press

LEIPZIG, Germany -- The Netherlands was left out of the top seedings for Friday's World Cup draw and could end up in the same group as perennial rival Germany or defending champion Brazil.

The omission of the world's third-ranked team was the biggest surprise at Tuesday's announcement of the seedings for the 2006 tournament. Mexico and Spain were the only teams never to win the World Cup that were picked for the top eight, which also included host Germany, Brazil, England, France, Argentina and Italy.

The United States just missed being one of the top eight.

Germany and Brazil were automatically seeded for Friday's draw and will head groups A and F, allowing the powerhouses to play in Berlin, Munich and Dortmund, the three biggest stadiums.

Jim Brown, FIFA's director of competitions, said "economic factors" played a leading role in putting the defending champion and the host team at the biggest arenas.

England was happy to be among the seeded teams. In 2002, England was picked to play Argentina, Nigeria and Sweden in the first round.

"This is a big boost, but when the tournament starts we must show on the pitch why we have been seeded," England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson told the English federation Web site.

For Brazil, going for its sixth championship, first-round opponents matter little.

"I don't have any preference," Real Madrid defender Roberto Carlos said. "I have already participated in two World Cups and I did play against all teams. So, I don't know and I don't have any preference."

The Netherlands had been lobbying for a top seeding, but its non-qualification for the World Cup in 2002 damaged its chances. The Dutch lost to Brazil in the semifinals in a penalty shootout at France 1998.

Despite the lobbying, Dutch coach Marco van Basten expected his team to be omitted from the top eight.

"The Netherlands wasn't there at the last World Cup in 2002," he said in a statement. "So I think it's logical that we're not among the top seeds this time."

FIFA based its seedings on results at the last two World Cups and the world rankings of the past three years.

Based on that rule, Brazil topped the standings with 64 points, ahead of England with 51, Spain with 50 and Germany with 48. The fifth-ranked team was Mexico with 47, followed by France with 46. Argentina and Italy tied in seventh with 44 points.

The United States scored 43 points. The Dutch were well back with 38.

The Netherlands, a two-time World Cup runner-up, failed to make the seedings despite being third in the FIFA rankings behind Brazil and the Czech Republic.

Spain and Mexico have never reached the final at a World Cup. Spain, a perennial underachiever, qualified only through the European playoffs. Mexico was runner-up behind the United States in the North and Central America and Caribbean group. The Czechs failed to qualify for the previous three World Cups.

The draw also was set up to prevent teams from the same continent landing in the same group. Europe, with 14 of the 32 teams, is the exception. But no more than two European teams will be paired in the same group.

The field has four teams each from South America, Asia and the CONCACAF region, and five from Africa. Australia represents Oceania.

Under a complicated decision, Serbia-Montenegro will be in a special pot at Friday's draw and will be in a group with either Brazil, Argentina or Mexico to avoid the possibility of a group with three European teams.

FIFA said the World Cup winner will earn $18.75 million. Each team will be guaranteed at least $1.5 million per group game, assuring each team a minimum of at least $4.5 million.

« Reply #170 on: December 06, 2005, 01:51:22 PM »
I like our chances against pool 2 teams.
Pool 3 kinda iffy, depending on who we draw.
Pool 1 will be slight harder  ;D

Round of 16 will be phenomenal, we need to come second.
Somebody mention that England might be the best team to match up agasint. I feel so too.
I aint mind Mexico neither.

But we have to poison then other 2 pots.

Most likely we in for some good licks though.

Imagine Brazil, Ecuador and Holland, lord have mercy.
But the good thing is that we will always have a team in the group who we believe we may have a chance (in this case Ecuador).
Once we do the job and beat them, and somehow wuk some obeah and draw/get some favourable results - we on we way to the unchartered land of the sweet 16 and a date with a comfirmed cutass for sure.

« Reply #171 on: December 06, 2005, 02:26:26 PM »
T&T and Mex cannot be in the same group.
Brazil and Ecuador cannot be in the same group.
Only Europe can have two teams in a group.

« Reply #172 on: December 06, 2005, 02:47:15 PM »
are these pots correlated with the FIFA WC match schedule?

according to this schedule, our first match would be against a team from pot C since we are in pot D.

this is a bad - pot C has strong teams and we have we slow starts. imagine we draw our first match against Czech or Holland ....

:nailbiting: :praying:

it looks like the order of the matches could be:

1st game: vs. pot C
2nd game: vs. pot B
3rd game: vs. pot A
« Last Edit: December 06, 2005, 02:49:15 PM by ribbit »

« Reply #173 on: December 06, 2005, 02:55:15 PM »

according to this schedule, our first match would be against a team from pot C since we are in pot D.

this is a bad - pot C has strong teams and we have we slow starts. imagine we draw our first match against Czech or Holland ....

No bredder... no correlation.....

That schedule is Groups A-H .... the 8 world cup groups

We in Pot D of Pots A-D....is just four Pots to make ah random draw padner

yuh dig?

« Reply #174 on: December 06, 2005, 02:57:01 PM »
I think we can do it then get we ass handed to we in the secound round :rotfl:

« Reply #175 on: December 06, 2005, 03:03:03 PM »

No bredder... no correlation.....

That schedule is Groups A-H .... the 8 world cup groups

We in Pot D of Pots A-D....is just four Pots to make ah random draw padner

yuh dig?

the way they referring to the teams in the match schedule is using letter-number codes: A1, E2, etc.. .

The letter is the group but I thought the number had to be the pot.

Even though they referring to the pots as A, B, C, D  it seem like these correspond to 1,2,3,4.

All of the teams in pot 4 (which might correspond to pot D) have matches with the teams in this order: 3,2,1.

e.g. B4 plays B3 then B2 then B1 but in different venues.

i thought germany was in group A and was playing their first match in Munich? According to the schedule, this could mean Germany is either "A1" or "A2". Anyone know if Germany's other matches are scheduled for Dortmund and Berlin?

but this is speculation still...
« Last Edit: December 06, 2005, 03:13:08 PM by ribbit »

« Reply #176 on: December 06, 2005, 03:13:36 PM »
Ribbit .... alright here goes....

each group has a position number

for example
A1 - Germany
A2
A3
A4

This is done so games can be scheduled before the draw....

The eight seeds are guaranteed as position 1.... therefore Germany is A1 and Brazil is F1

The other positions are up for grabs.... when a team is drawn from a Pot
e.g Tnt from Pot D  ...There is a SEPARATE draw for position within the group...

So if TnT is drawn in Group A with Germany... They then draw to see whether we will be A2 A3 or A4....

This is done to add variety to game scheduling....

yuh dig?

« Reply #177 on: December 06, 2005, 05:03:18 PM »
FF! I just glad you didn't get a stroke ras! Bring on Mexico, Iraq and de USA!  :rotfl:

« Reply #178 on: December 06, 2005, 06:10:42 PM »
diz real pressuh, cant see we in germany and holland, dats murder, no way we goin thru in dat group, it would be a miracle, i rather face italy and ivory coast

Nah we can do it... it certainly wont be easy but hey... if u can do it THAT way then its ALL the more better den we know when we do geh tru no set ah men from England go hadda sign up on we site tuh cry a poorness when we knock dem out after advancin from an "EASY" group.

It works to ease pressure by being blantly supportive.  :D
(ah still antisipating it fully doh)  :P

« Reply #179 on: December 06, 2005, 06:58:52 PM »
well, I started follwing this thread from the earlies between pages 1 -2 1/2 and then late pgs 5 &6 and I ent see nobody mention where the draw showing and at what time...so if it on here already, please doh buff mih up  :D ; but if not, I'm happy to share my "research" with you guys:

so it doesn't look like FSC showing it:
http://www2.foxsports.com/world/pdf/fsw50.pdf

but it does look like ESPN2 showing it from 3-4pm EDT
http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/tvlistings/scheduleSport?date=20051209&network=34&sport=SO

for all those not on eastern time, that would be 4-5pm trinidad time, adn 1-2pm Mountain time (had to do the math to remind myself).

anyboidy correct me if I'm wrong.

DEC 9th!!!