March 28, 2024, 11:36:37 PM

Author Topic: Official World Cup Draw Thread  (Read 60576 times)

Re: Official World Cup Draw Thread
« Reply #180 on: December 06, 2005, 07:12:14 PM »
doh forget the west coast..12-1pm pacific time

WHAT SEEDED TEAM YOU WANT?
« Reply #181 on: December 06, 2005, 07:43:41 PM »
I want Spain they are always the Bridesmaid and never the Bride. They will continue to disappoint so I believe we can take them.

Offline TnTVillan

Re: WHAT SEEDED TEAM YOU WANT?
« Reply #182 on: December 06, 2005, 07:47:22 PM »
Italy

They dont play fast football which is good as it will allow us to control the game our way. We don't play great against fast teams.

My ideal group is
Italy
Angola, Togo or Australia
TnT
Poland or Sweden

« Reply #183 on: December 06, 2005, 08:37:48 PM »
Full draw LIVE this Friday Dec 9 on Sportsnet in Canada...ALL regions.

2 and 1/2 hours.  Program starts at 2pm Eastern (11am Pacific) and goes till 4:30pm Est (1:30pm Pacific)

I will be watching!

U.S. just misses World Cup seed
« Reply #184 on: December 06, 2005, 11:26:15 PM »
By RAF CASERT, AP Sports Writer
December 6, 2005

AP - Dec 6, 8:36 am EST
More Photos

LEIPZIG, Germany (AP) -- The United States came within a point Tuesday of being one of the seeded teams for next year's World Cup.

Under the draw procedure approved by the FIFA World Cup Organizing Committee, the U.S. team wound up just behind Argentina and Italy.

U.S. coach Bruce Arena wasn't surprised to miss out.

"I thought all along the draw is going to be difficult. The field is extremely strong," he said. "I think it's considerably stronger than what we saw in 2002."

The Americans can't meet a team from Asia in the first round of next year's tournament in Germany. There's a good chance they will get two European opponents and one from South America or Africa.

While the draws for the 1998 and 2002 World Cups took into account performance in the three previous tournaments along with FIFA's rankings, the formula was changed slightly for Friday's draw and was based on the prior two World Cups and the rankings.

Defending champion Brazil was first in the new formula with 64 points, followed by England (51), Spain (50), Germany (48), Mexico (47), France (46) and Argentina and Italy (44 apiece).

Those eight seeded teams will be placed together in Pot One for Friday's draw, and they can't meet each other in the first round.

The United States, a quarterfinalist at the 2002 World Cup, was ninth with 43 points, followed by the Netherlands (38).

For the rest of the draw, FIFA decided to place the teams as follows:

Pot Two-- Angola, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Tunisia (Africa); Ecuador, Paraguay (South America); Australia (Oceania)

Pot Three-- Croatia, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine (Europe)

Pot Four-- Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea (Asia); Costa Rica, United States, Trinidad and Tobago (North and Central America and Caribbean)

FIFA put Serbia-Montenegro in a special pot because of its low ranking (47th). To avoid having a group with three European nations, Serbia-Montenegro will be placed in a group with Argentina, Brazil or Mexico.

Because they are from the same confederation, the United States can't be drawn into a group with Mexico.

AP - Dec 6, 8:35 am EST
More Photos

Since returning to the World Cup in 1990 following a 40-year absence, the Americans are 3-10-2 in the tournament, including 1-8-1 against European teams.

"It's likely that we have two teams from Europe. I'm not going to worry about it one way or the other," Arena said.

While the U.S. team could be in group with Brazil, the Netherlands and Paraguay, it also could be together with Spain, Angola and Ukraine. The Americans are ranked eighth in the world, down two spots from August.

"Any group we're going to be in is going to be a tough group," Arena said.

Host Germany will head Group A and Brazil will top Group F, allowing them to play in Berlin, Munich and Dortmund, the three biggest stadiums. Jim Brown, FIFA's director of competitions, said "economic factors" played a leading role in that decision.

Despite the lobbying, Dutch coach Marco van Basten expected his team to be omitted from the top eight.

"The Netherlands wasn't there at the last World Cup in 2002," he said in a statement. "So I think it's logical that we're not among the top seeds this time."

FIFA's new formula based seeds half on the last two World Cups, with 2002 given twice the weight of 1998, and half on each team's FIFA ranking in 2003, 2004 and 2005, with each weighted equally.

FIFA said the World Cup winner will earn $18.75 million. Each team will be guaranteed at least $1.5 million per first-round game, assuring each nation a minimum of $4.5 million.

AP Sports Writer Ronald Blum contributed to this report

Re: U.S. just misses World Cup seed
« Reply #185 on: December 07, 2005, 01:51:40 AM »
Looka round before you post its here already.

Re: U.S. just misses World Cup seed
« Reply #186 on: December 07, 2005, 02:20:40 AM »
 Other teams must be quaking because USA is not a pushover

Re: WHAT SEEDED TEAM YOU WANT?
« Reply #187 on: December 07, 2005, 08:58:53 AM »
I want Spain they are always the Bridesmaid and never the Bride. They will continue to disappoint so I believe we can take them.

Everybody saying Spain inconsistenet and does never live up to expectations... but there is a reason they are a seed....

They consistently make the kockout rounds and usually the quaterfinals where they then choke.....

So they does usually beat up de teams in de group stage... me eh want dem!!
Gimme England... since Sven in charge... dem like Trinidad.... high highs and low lows.....

« Reply #188 on: December 07, 2005, 09:17:49 AM »
FF like yuh have to send Oliver Camps an email and explain the drawing to him. Imagine this man in charge of T&T football. Look the link below followed by his quote:

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=121009479

"Following FIFA's announcement, T&TFF president Oliver Camps, who left for Germany yesterday, told the Express the money is being given by FIFA "for the preparation of the team and for all the expenses that you will have with the warm-up matches".

Camps was also of the view that a favourable draw for the T&T Soca Warriors would be the group including Mexico, as in their last outing with the Central Americans the Warriors won 2-1.

"Well, that grouping I feel we will do quite well, and we have the measure of Mexico, then we face up to them," he said.

Camps also felt the national team would be well prepared by the time the World Cup kicks off on June 9 after a rigorous training schedule under head coach Leo Beenhakker, who has proposed Austria as the team's pre-tournament base..."

« Reply #189 on: December 07, 2005, 10:06:22 PM »
I will be so sad if trinidad draw in a group with a top seed like brazil and the third seed team is holland. That go be pressure. I praying that we ain't get holland out of that core of europe teams. I have meh fingers cross. I rather take my chances against the other teams. As someone would say. That is my two cents for frinday in mind

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
Re: Plan for the Draw on Friday.
« Reply #190 on: December 07, 2005, 10:11:06 PM »
Well people the time is fast approaching. So here is my question to you. What will u be doing on the day of the draw, Friday 9th December 2005. Tell mih nah.

Well, I for one will be at the sports bar across de street from my firm glued to ESPN 2  :beermug:    :devil:
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #191 on: December 08, 2005, 05:07:43 AM »
Fellas ah just call D Psychic but ah ent like wha she say >:(

Ukraine
Spain
Australia
T&T

« Reply #192 on: December 08, 2005, 06:32:43 AM »
Fellas ah just call D Psychic but ah ent like wha she say >:(

Ukraine
Spain
Australia
T&T

You better call she back and get ah different answer...  >:( >:(

Offline royalian

What our dream group will look like!
« Reply #193 on: December 08, 2005, 01:32:28 PM »
The best draw for us may be:
Spain
Angola
Switzerland
TT

« Reply #194 on: December 08, 2005, 02:07:23 PM »
switzerland knock out turkey, so dat is soemthing in itself, it doh matter where we draw, juss not czech and italy in one group, dat group wit australia is good, we could advance

« Reply #195 on: December 08, 2005, 02:36:37 PM »
ah have a feeling this is Spain year..this is the first time they actually 'stuggle' to qualify..so that mightve worked in there favor..whereas before they always 'breeze' in and then fall apart as soon as they have to step up a notch...Spain might be an easier game for us if we were their first game...if we end up in their group and play them last..ah expecting to collect bout 6.

i think our best draw will be:
Italy
Angola
Poland/Switzerland
T&T

« Reply #196 on: December 08, 2005, 05:51:09 PM »
on tv6 news dey announced dat live coverage will start at 3 15pm 

TNT TNT TNT

« Reply #197 on: December 08, 2005, 05:55:44 PM »
yeh,,,i tink channel 4 have it 2

The Perfect Group for England !!!!!!!!!!!!!1
« Reply #198 on: December 08, 2005, 06:16:16 PM »
John Barnes Football Night here in England show what they think England's Perfect/Easiest Group would be, it included ; Trinidad and Tobago  >:(

Re: The Perfect Group for England !!!!!!!!!!!!!1
« Reply #199 on: December 08, 2005, 06:19:59 PM »
So?...dat simple means it would be our easiest group too  :rotfl:

WARRIOR CREW!!

« Reply #200 on: December 08, 2005, 06:21:26 PM »

« Reply #201 on: December 08, 2005, 06:29:30 PM »
no suprise there
of course we are the biggest underdogs of the tournament
which is good cuz we have nothing to lose
and we will be underestimated

ah cyar wait
« Last Edit: December 08, 2005, 06:48:32 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #202 on: December 08, 2005, 07:24:14 PM »
Dis jes hit meh jes so....

We group go be:

England
Portugal
Iran
T&T

Offline rastafari

« Reply #203 on: December 08, 2005, 07:49:47 PM »
John Barnes Football Night here in England show what they think England's Perfect/Easiest Group would be, it included ; Trinidad and Tobago  >:(

The group was:
1.Trinidad and Tobago
2.England
3.Switzerland
4.Togo

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Offline tempo

« Reply #204 on: December 08, 2005, 11:41:40 PM »
Let all who say T&T easy continue to think so. That's what they said about Cameroon in '82 and Senegal in '02. I do, though, want to avoid Holland and Czech like de plague.

« Reply #205 on: December 09, 2005, 12:53:41 AM »
Ah jus check all de football sites ah have an yuh know what ?

TRINIDAD and TOBAGO IS DE MOST POPULAR TEAM IN WORLD FOOTBALL[/b]

Everybody want TT in dey group.

Offline lizzard1910

« Reply #206 on: December 09, 2005, 01:30:26 AM »

Germany also won't be a bad team to play against. I rather prepare for them than Brazil, Argentina, Italy or Spain.

We don't want to end up in any group that has Holland or the Czech Republic.

I disagree, because except when you would play against Germany, the crowd will be all yours! Especially against Holland (but you are right, it's better not to meet them too early... 8))

Stats & Probability
« Reply #207 on: December 09, 2005, 02:34:17 AM »
Yuh go see...all yuh calculate.  Check out D Pool 4 teams we cant play.  Ah ent really like this but this is 90% correct.. We have a real good chance of reaching D 2nd round

This is we group

Argentina
Serbia Montenegro
T&T
Australia

p.s. Yes ah waiting for allyuh to start POUNDING... and WRENCHING

Offline Kenny

• T&TSC, Tartan Army branch
    • Raskol Records
« Reply #208 on: December 09, 2005, 03:27:10 AM »
Hey guys, good luck in the draw tonight. There'll be a good few of us here in Scotland hoping for a good draw for you, 'cos a lot of us are backing you next summer. :)

Re: Stats & Probability
« Reply #209 on: December 09, 2005, 03:51:48 AM »
rotatopoti3 , why yuh add de 3 tuh yuh handle ? ??? ???

Anyhow , ah disagree.
The group yuh discribe dey could happen , given de fact that we not supposed to be in mexico group and serbia cyar be in ah group that have ah europeen team as seeded ( so dey restricted tuh 3 groups)

Buh it have too many other permutations fuh yuh tuh come up with ah 9/10 possibility of dat group.

Ah feel is either de stats yuh do in school was restricted tuh 3 hole marble pitching or yuh jus as tense up as me an want tuh start ah shit talk thread. ;D ;D ;D