April 23, 2024, 05:46:16 PM

What do you folks predict for Oliver Camps & his future as TTFF President?

He will raise 2014 WC funds & carry on in the job for life as TTFF President
He will be found innocent at end of FIFA’s Cash For Votes Bribery investigations
He would be found guilty at end of FIFA’s Cash For Votes Bribery investigations & get a life ban
He will eventually be forced to resign due to the players’ court case against the TTFF
Just like Oliver himself, you have no idea :-)

Author Topic: Oliver Camps Thread  (Read 123255 times)

Re: Camps resigns from TTFF
« Reply #720 on: October 31, 2011, 11:56:25 AM »
No indication has yet been given by TTFF who the president is...or the process for choosing a new president. That alone should signal its the same style of limiting information and operate-in-the-dark mentality as before.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 11:59:55 AM by ZANDOLIE »

Offline president

• ...Walk and don't look back...
« Reply #721 on: October 31, 2011, 12:07:22 PM »
Watson is the acting president - appointed by an exco meeting the evening Camps resigned. They just haven't revealed that to the media because of all the bad press he has been receiving due to the impasse with the EFA clubs...God help us...
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 12:09:34 PM by president »

« Reply #722 on: October 31, 2011, 12:24:49 PM »
Watson is the acting president - appointed by an exco meeting the evening Camps resigned. They just haven't revealed that to the media because of all the bad press he has been receiving due to the impasse with the EFA clubs...God help us...

Precisely the point. TTFF reluctant to reveal who is in charge and the media too stupid to ask. You would think some questions would have been raised after Camps said he was resigning IMMEDIATELY.

If decision's leading up to Camp's resignation were an attempt to do better, then come and tell the public how you plan to do better. Internal politics aside, this silence does not sit well with me at all.

« Reply #723 on: October 31, 2011, 12:44:02 PM »

Precisely the point. TTFF reluctant to reveal who is in charge and the media too stupid to ask. You would think some questions would have been raised after Camps said he was resigning IMMEDIATELY.

If decision's leading up to Camp's resignation were an attempt to do better, then come and tell the public how you plan to do better. Internal politics aside, this silence does not sit well with me at all.

The TTFF fully intends to carry in the same non-transparent manner as they have always done hence no update on who is officially in charge!

But I fully agree, the T&T media especially journalists and newspapers worth their salt should be asking questions like who is now in charge and was this retirement move done by Camps in the hope that he can wash his hands of the court case and being responsible together with Jack for providing full accounts?

Got to award the media in T&T with a BIG fail on this issue so far!!

They are supposed to be guardians of our democracy but instead they seem to be happy to see our democracy eroded and turn a blind eye almost as if they have been brought and are party to all the corrupt practices taking place in certain organisations!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 12:48:03 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #724 on: October 31, 2011, 03:32:24 PM »
Is it that the media houses don't care about football, except WC. Local football is not as "exciting" as  in the past. Also in the past, the majority of the sport journalist played sports at a high level, so they had the passion. Maybe these university trained journalist lack the passion. Ah go get flack for the last statement, but ah wearing ah pohzee on mih head for any backlash.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 05:29:40 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #725 on: October 31, 2011, 04:40:56 PM »
Is it that the media houses don't care about football, except WC. Local football is not as "exciting" as  in the past. Also in the past, the majority of the sport journalist played sports at a high level, so they had the passion. Maybe these university trained journalist lack the passion. Ah go get flack for the last statement, but ah wearing ah pohzee on mih for any backlash.

Does the media ask tough questions where other sports are concerned?

« Reply #726 on: October 31, 2011, 05:24:24 PM »
Is it that the media houses don't care about football, except WC. Local football is not as "exciting" as  in the past. Also in the past, the majority of the sport journalist played sports at a high level, so they had the passion. Maybe these university trained journalist lack the passion. Ah go get flack for the last statement, but ah wearing ah pohzee on mih for any backlash.

Does the media ask tough questions where other sports are concerned?

Cricket!

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #727 on: October 31, 2011, 07:36:39 PM »
Football Fans of T and T you cannot allow the imposition of Watson on this country! Thus is a crucial moment to engender some change!
I am surprised no journalist is writing on this! Where is Lasana Liburd at least! Fans should be mobilized on November 15! People you have a penchant for old talk and no action! This is time for action!

« Reply #728 on: October 31, 2011, 11:22:51 PM »
Football Fans of T and T you cannot allow the imposition of Watson on this country! Thus is a crucial moment to engender some change!
I am surprised no journalist is writing on this! Where is Lasana Liburd at least! Fans should be mobilized on November 15! People you have a penchant for old talk and no action! This is time for action!
:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Offline president

« Reply #729 on: November 01, 2011, 04:34:36 AM »
Latest: Marlon Morris and his slate lost all positions last evening in the Northern FA elections. Roland Forde, the incumbent returns as president with Clint Marcelle as vice-president.

Offline president

« Reply #730 on: November 01, 2011, 05:16:43 AM »
...and latest intelligence also tells me that the TTFF plans to hold its Annual General Meeting in November, at which time they will elect a new president - one who is "untainted" and who can present a "new" TTFF face to the world. Apparently, both Ramesh Ramdhan (JW's party supporter) and Kenny de Silva (JW's business associate) are being considered. Whatever the case, anybody the TTFF clique co-opts, we may be certain the "new" person will be someone the TTFF clique can rely on to help implement its agenda.

« Reply #731 on: November 01, 2011, 05:27:10 AM »
Latest: Marlon Morris and his slate lost all positions last evening in the Northern FA elections. Roland Forde, the incumbent returns as president with Clint Marcelle as vice-president.

Disappointed.Like everyone who has a progressive vision,articulate and educated,we shot them down.   

Offline president

« Reply #732 on: November 01, 2011, 05:30:42 AM »
This is one aspect of the culture we have created with our Independence but we MUST persevere or die as a people...

« Reply #733 on: November 01, 2011, 09:43:05 AM »

Disappointed.Like everyone who has a progressive vision,articulate and educated,we shot them down.   

Pardon my ignorance.  Genuine question to you and Prezi, what wrong with Forde and Marcelle?

« Reply #734 on: November 01, 2011, 11:23:08 AM »

Pardon my ignorance.  Genuine question to you and Prezi, what wrong with Forde and Marcelle?

I was going to ask it another way...would Morris have been able to transform the TTFF into a 'properly' run organisation ?

When I heard the news about Morris running for NFA president I tell myself well at least there could be a changing of the guards...albeit with a lil skepticism as I didn't know much about the man in that portfolio, but he seemed to have developed some administrative qualities since the Strike Squad days.  I ent know much about the Forde and Marcelle either, but ah sorry Morris didn't get pick...just cause I hungry for change.

Offline president

« Reply #735 on: November 01, 2011, 11:24:51 AM »
Forde is a nice enough guy but he plays along with the TTFF clique. Marcelle is an ex-international player, of course, and we will see what his administrative and political input will be. At least for the present, therefore, the TTFF status quo is maintained by these election results. The removal of Watson, Ferguson and Company in the Eastern FA, and (potentially) the arrival of Marcelle, will change that equation.

« Reply #736 on: November 01, 2011, 11:52:25 AM »
Forde is a nice enough guy but he plays along with the TTFF clique. Marcelle is an ex-international player, of course, and we will see what his administrative and political input will be. At least for the present, therefore, the TTFF status quo is maintained by these election results. The removal of Watson, Ferguson and Company in the Eastern FA, and (potentially) the arrival of Marcelle, will change that equation.

Alright Presi....ah going with what yuh saying there for now, cause like yuh head in the game.

Offline president

« Reply #737 on: November 01, 2011, 12:01:26 PM »
Yes, we will see. Also, let's not forget that there ARE elements within the TTFF that are definitely NOT integral to the TTFF clique: the Tobago FA, the Referees' Association, and sections of the Southern FA, for starters. The situation is in flux and we need a broad coalition to force the clique out. The timing for that is not easy to define...

« Reply #738 on: November 01, 2011, 12:15:03 PM »
Yes, we will see. Also, let's not forget that there ARE elements within the TTFF that are definitely NOT integral to the TTFF clique: the Tobago FA, the Referees' Association, and sections of the Southern FA, for starters. The situation is in flux and we need a broad coalition to force the clique out. The timing for that is not easy to define...

I don't understand why the people back home are so adamant to try and force their way into a collapsing structure like the TTFF and the regional football associations.

Has it dawned on anyone that forming a rival federation and rival football associations in the same regions can be answer to this problem? With people who can actually run the football in a transparent manner, who have the love and business mind to run it properly.

"Pave your own Road" my friends, stop trying to trod a path that is winding, has road blocks and is treacherous. Learn from your previous mistakes and be a trailblazer, banners won't make a difference, a concerted group effort of individuals who have a common vision and objective can derail any existing despotism and forge a new path and new regime.

It is time to move on from your old ideas and start new ones that work and that can have a substantial effect on our national football.

Its time for you to wake up from your slumber.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2011, 12:16:46 PM by Controversial »

Offline president

« Reply #739 on: November 01, 2011, 01:09:41 PM »
You could form your own league, association or federation. This has been done more than once previously in and outside of TNT. It ALWAYS ends with the "rebels" returning to the FIFA fold. That's the FIFA fold. Yes, because no serious player, club or league wants to be outside of FIFA football. Do you know that Alfredo di Stefano played with Millionarios of Bogota back in the late 1940s and early 1950s when they were member of a "rebel" league. That particular experiment inevitably failed and he made his way to Spain and stardom with Real Madrid. Here in TNT we had our Premier Soccer League - the Arthur Suite League - that was a success for a three years and then they all wound their way back into the TTFF. I played in that league. That route NEVER works...

« Reply #740 on: November 01, 2011, 01:19:34 PM »
You could form your own league, association or federation. This has been done more than once previously in and outside of TNT. It ALWAYS ends with the "rebels" returning to the FIFA fold. That's the FIFA fold. Yes, because no serious player, club or league wants to be outside of FIFA football. Do you know that Alfredo di Stefano played with Millionarios of Bogota back in the late 1940s and early 1950s when they were member of a "rebel" league. That particular experiment inevitably failed and he made his way to Spain and stardom with Real Madrid. Here in TNT we had our Premier Soccer League - the Arthur Suite League - that was a success for a three years and then they all wound their way back into the TTFF. I played in that league. That route NEVER works...

It never worked because you have to have proper planning and the ability to stay in it for the long haul.

Not to mention the visionaries who have the connections and know how to run it in the long term.

T&T has never been known for efficiency or well run organizations, sadly to say, so I would not expect it to work or expect the local based to concoct a plan as comprehensive as this for the long haul.

However, is it possible, of course, can it be successful, of course, is it a risk, yes but can it serve to derail the current admin, yes.

Are people scared of trying it, yes, because locally our people are docile, they are not revolutionaries or have the belly or risk taking attitude to oppose the norm or the ole boys club.

They rather sit by and watch proceedings continue as is and do a little protest here and there.

Wars are not won and breakthroughs are not made through docile and fence sitting tactics, they are won through strife, struggle and the will to forge ahead with proper planning, execution and a strong collective effort.

BTW this idea will work with the right people behind it, I think it is time the right people get behind our football, for decades we have had the wrong people behind our football and docile population that allows injustice and sits by idly because the next carnival fete is around the corner.

You have to make up your mind if you want to make history or be a forgotten relic of it's past.

You have to make your mind up if you want to be a part of the football revolution that moves our football forward into the future or a lap dog.

The choice is yours, choose wisely and pessimism is not the answer or the way to the solution.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2011, 01:30:37 PM by Controversial »

Offline president

« Reply #741 on: November 01, 2011, 02:11:15 PM »
It's a dead end if you want to enjoy the benefits of FIFA membership - like participation in the World Cup, CONCACAF Gold Cup, CONCACAF Champions League, FIFA development programmes and financing, etc. Simple. Anything else is just playing for playing sake...

« Reply #742 on: November 01, 2011, 02:25:12 PM »
It's a dead end if you want to enjoy the benefits of FIFA membership - like participation in the World Cup, CONCACAF Gold Cup, CONCACAF Champions League, FIFA development programmes and financing, etc. Simple. Anything else is just playing for playing sake...

That is the problem with T&T society, always looking at the short term gains, incentive, this is a plan that will come to fruition for the 2018 WC and beyond, applying for CFU recognition and waiting two years to be approved by FIFA.

You cannot upstage a despot by being impatient and only looking at 2 years in front of you. You plan for the future and patience is the key, long term goals are for the wise and intelligent, short term goals should never be your entire base at which to build a way forward.

T&T society needs to start planning for the future, not the present, like I said, this way forward is not for the docile or weak, its for the strong and dedicated.

FIFA membership without media rights is pointless, don't let immediate FIFA membership cloud your vision of the reality of our situation.

Plain and simple.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2011, 02:26:52 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #743 on: July 08, 2014, 02:01:14 AM »
Warner calls for help for Camps.
By Anna Ramdass (Express).

Former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner has appealed to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to come to the aid of former president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Oliver Camps, who he claims is in debt and stands to lose his home.

In a release yesterday, following Government’s $1.3 million payout to the 2006 Soca Warriors, Warner called on the Prime Minister to intervene and save Camps’ home. Camps was president at the time of T&T’s World Cup qualification for the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

“If the Prime Minister really wants to demonstrate that this is truly benevolence and not public relations to lift the flagging image of her Minister of Sport, then I wish to advise her to go further and save the home of Oliver Camps,” he stated.

“This group of footballers who played three matches in the 2006 World Cup in Germany and who never scored a goal nor win a match there and who now stand to benefit from the Prime Minister’s benevolent gesture received $20 million dollars from the Patrick Manning administration, $7 million from FIFA, $4 million from the TTFF, $6 million from Jack Warner through the courts of Trinidad and Tobago and now $1.3 million USD from the People’s Partnership Government; a total sum of close to $50 million dollars and this excludes gifts from private organisations like Clico and others,” claimed Warner.

He stated Camps too was in need of financial help.

Camps, he stated, served football with distinction for over 50 years as Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) president and team manager and was the “most successful football manager ever”, taking the Soca Warriors to the 2006 Germany World Cup.

Warner stated that Camps signed a promissory note of US$480,000  on behalf of the TTFF in order to procure the services of Wim Risenberg as coach of the national team.

“The TTFF has been unable to raise the money and now Al Roberts’ firm - father of the Minister of Sport, is now moving to levy on this senior citizen,” stated Warner.

“Mr. Camps’ home Madam Prime Minister is now threatened.  If he cannot raise the money he will lose it by September 2014, if not before. In this regard I am therefore asking the Prime Minister to be as benevolent to Mr. Camps as she has been to these footballers and save the home of this senior citizen,” stated Warner.

On the money Government will be paying the Soca Warriors, Warner wished the team members well and stated that he hoped this would  finally bring closure to the matter.

“It is my sincere wish that this is the end of this story and that the furniture and the archival material, which the TTFA lost when this team of footballers levied on the TTFF, will now be returned to it,” he added.

« Reply #744 on: July 08, 2014, 04:42:50 AM »
How about Warner uses any of the untold and unaccounted millions he stole from the TTFA, if he cares so much?

« Reply #745 on: July 08, 2014, 05:20:58 AM »
Just a quick note, Mr Warner.....Camps didn't score a single goal for T&T at the 2006 World Cup either.....or in any of the qualification games!
However, he did manage to let T&T football, under his leadership, mis manage hundreds of millions of dollars during the Federations best ever earning years, blacklisted and destroy the most successful ever squad assembled by T&T, allow one of his employees to fraudulently obtain ownership of a  major asset, allow the whole country to be globally embarrassed by a cash for votes scandal  and fail completely to investigate the missing millions and, it appears, actually help to cover for his wayward employee, as well as ostracize T&T football completely from corporate T&T. Meanwhile, he jetted around the world first class.

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #746 on: July 08, 2014, 05:37:42 AM »
hmmmmm.....
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #747 on: July 08, 2014, 06:21:36 AM »
hey Mr Warner you got dat covered. That is pittance for you. Ah wonder who advise Camps to do that in de first place

« Reply #748 on: July 08, 2014, 07:33:09 AM »
What really amazing to me is that Camps signed a promissory note against his personal assets on behalf of the TTFF.  Was there any line between the business of the TTFF and his personal assets, and why can't Warner bail out the man?

« Reply #749 on: July 08, 2014, 08:13:22 AM »
What really amazing to me is that Camps signed a promissory note against his personal assets on behalf of the TTFF.  Was there any line between the business of the TTFF and his personal assets, and why can't Warner bail out the man?

Because Jack is a two foot scoundrel but it good 4 Scamps.