March 18, 2024, 08:34:27 PM

Author Topic: U-20 Women's Team Thread.  (Read 102903 times)

Re: 2018 CFU Women's U-20 Championship Thread
« Reply #660 on: January 28, 2018, 01:21:38 AM »
Aaliyah Prince, a Soca Princess on the rise.
By Nasser Khan (Guardian).

This SPORTLIGHT series is brought to you courtesy Health Net Caribbean Limited (hncl.co.tt).

Aaliyah Prince is a clever football striker who has come through the national youth ranks over the years. Starting at the U-15 level, Prince went on to the U-17s and soon after promoted to the National Under-20, at just sixteen years of age.

The Chelsea Women Football Club fanatic is a prolific goal scorer but is much more popular for her dribbling skills, creativity and nippiness on the ball. The entertainment created by her skills is much more amplified because of the player's size, Aaliyah is small in frame but also as strong as they come. In terms of women football in Trinidad and Tobago and her current status, she is definitely on her way to football Royalty, as her name suggests.

Where born, where grew up, schools attended/attending including primary, etc?

I was born in February, 2001 at the Port-of-Spain General Hospital. Growing up in Morvant, I attended Morvant Anglican Primary School and then Success Laventille Secondary after completing the Secondary Entrance Assessment examination.

What led to your becoming a footballer?

Since I was small growing up, my uncle used to always watch Chelsea FC and I just began watching with him. I was about seven or eight years old and I began to like the game. On approaching my teenage years as an athlete, I liked track and field. After many pleas from family and friends to try out at football I decided to give it a try and to this day I have no regrets. Football is my life.

What has been your experience like representing T&T so far?

Working with the various teams has been and continues to be a great pleasure. The current Under-20 team is a competitive one and I am glad that I am able to contribute, no matter how small the contribution was. The team is good but we have some stuff to work on still, both individually and as a group but that will come with time.

What does it take to become a really good footballer?

In order to become a great footballer, the most important ingredient is sacrifice. A player must be good at communicating, selfless and full of heart and these are all off the field attributes which make a good player. On the field assets are speed, agility, toughness combined with clever thinking and simplicity. Hard work must be put in if you want to achieve the right level of fitness to make you a top player.

« Reply #661 on: January 28, 2018, 12:14:16 PM »
Haiti showed the mentality that we lacked. I posted about it. Down a man vs the USA and instead of "saving face" they went for it and was rewarded with the equalizer forcing PKs.

This is the difference between everyone else and us. We are more worried about how we "look" than saying "you know what we went for it and it did not work out".

We have to dispose of this weak mentality.

« Reply #662 on: January 28, 2018, 12:16:55 PM »
well, i must conclude the fan support must be real shit too.
in my time and even now in most sports around the world, is the fan base that drives the athletes/players to excellence, it the fan base that drives the sport..the sport is not what drives the fan base...so let's also face that piece of reality as well..
hard earned money going to a lot of other shit instead, to bad we doh have a Fete National team,  we fanbase wudda just get wineing mix up with winning ans we would probably lorse that too... we teams not winning, so we cyah wine, so F dat...cyah spend we money dey, no wine to get    :devil:

Don't agree. If our players require support in the stands to succeed then we will never get anywhere. Our players have to do the jobs themselves and then the fans will get behind them. Players can't control what go on in the stands, but they can control what they do on the field always.

« Reply #663 on: January 28, 2018, 02:00:50 PM »
Respect elan, not seeking success immediately. I referring to development and improvement first. Success on the field hopefully will come after, and will hope sooner than later. Why wait till the final product is on the field to then criticize the lack of success. Criticize and suggest after you see them train and at the practices and exhibition games. Why wait till the big games and we see they are not ready, to say then, they not ready, regardless of the reason.
If your knowledgeable supporters(coaches, parents, friends etc..) could commit to attending your development and training sessions, then I have found the proteges to have increased motivation and purpose, guided by the feedback(mostly positive as they are National athletes i.e. our best) before they reach the big test.
 This group of girls unfortunately did not have enough smaller quizzes before the big item. The general population hardly supported them at the big item, only barely monitoring the result, farless the smaller sessions. They lost, and then we all conclude, they wasn't ready, wasn't prepared. Could this have been concluded before, could we be aware of the situation with such before, could they have been better prepared before they landed in the National team coaches hands. I think they could.
They, and any National athlete today, needs support/criticism/information/finance before the success comes. If the public is waiting on their success before they support, then we destined to repeat the same failed modus operandi, and that is my point.
Years ago, I attended a National U17 boys training session (i wrote that story), the security at CoE, was refusing me entry, as he said, he never hear anybody coming to see a National team train. I had to get permission from Mr Warner in the office to get in, which I did. I can tell you the kids that i see doing well in all sports in this country(Canada), are the ones whose family make time to attend and support the training sessions. I have seen more friends and family at Girls U 18 Provincial training sessions than at a TT U20 men's national tournament. Even in that case, the blasted cold. My 1st thought was, "these people mad oui " then the team went and win Nationals. So was it related ? They think so, we (TT) may never know.  Cause we want them to win first.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2018, 02:03:14 PM by maxg »

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #664 on: January 28, 2018, 02:01:48 PM »
I done  :cursing: Good luck for the rest of the tournament ladies....with Shabaaz at the helm you'll need it!

....Haiti playing some sweet football though...A world cup spot seems a real possibility for them!

Well done Haiti!  First ever Caribbean team in a women's U20 world cup!  Well deserved!

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #665 on: January 28, 2018, 02:15:12 PM »
I love it. Well done Haiti is in the world cup. Yes indeed first ever Caribbean team to do it at the u-20 level!
« Last Edit: January 28, 2018, 02:45:50 PM by truehaitian »

« Reply #666 on: January 28, 2018, 02:31:35 PM »
Congrats to Haiti  :applause: :applause: very deserving.

« Reply #667 on: January 28, 2018, 02:51:11 PM »
It would've been interesting if Haiti and USA were in the game group, would've been one to watch for sure.
It worked out in the end then....congrats Haiti  :applause:
« Last Edit: January 28, 2018, 02:53:30 PM by soccerman »

« Reply #668 on: January 28, 2018, 02:59:15 PM »
Disagree about Haiti playing sweet. They are also poor but you can see they were prepared and we were not.
They have 2 decent players who are mobile and that is all it takes against this T&T side.

FF with all due respect to you my fellow Caribbean friend, I don't know what game were you watching when you say you disagree that Haiti was playing sweet football. No Haiti was not playing poorly and Yes Haiti, I was playing sweet football. In fact very sweet football. Much respect to your girls, they played very hard but I really don't  even remember that T&T even took a shot at the Haitian goalie in the 2nd half. It was all Haiti in the second half. If it wasn't for some incredible save by your goalie , that game should really have been a 5-2 games not to mention several missed opportunities by Haiti in the first half. Haiti is really the U-20 Caribbean champion not Jamaica. Haiti girls were coached and told to allow 1 or two goals from JA and not to score so that they can finish second  in their group to avoid Mexico and USA  and assure to themselves a spot in T&T group .
Things work out nice nice. Bien fait Haïti

Always packed, and well deserved
https://www.facebook.com/fhfhaiti/videos/10153603462696188/
« Last Edit: January 28, 2018, 03:09:54 PM by maxg »

« Reply #669 on: January 29, 2018, 02:49:24 AM »
Women U20 was short on marketing .
By Anand Rampersad (Guardian).

If one was not aware that T&T was hosting the final round of CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 world cup qualifiers, January 18th-28th 2018 at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, and passed by the stadium they still would not have known that the region’s top Under-20 women footballers were engaged in qualification matches for a place at the 2018 World Cup in France, August 5-24.

For instance, there were no bold large banners, and others forms of marketing strategies along the turn-off on to the Preysal flyover and along the entrance to the stadium. There was nothing to catch the attention of those who were unaware of the event. Furthermore, persons exercise on a daily basis outside of the stadium were unaware of the tournament although they would see the buses and associated police escort on match days. The atmosphere for a major regional football event was very flat and bland even though T&T was playing.

For a major event, the heavy grass along either side of the roadway to the stadium save for one area just before the stadium entrance was not aesthetically appealing and good for sport tourism.

Inside the stadium, all stands except the covered were empty or had a sprinkling of spectators. On the opening night, the local fans wore the customary red and the national team played in white while the Haitians played in red! The buzz and hype of 2010 women Under-17 FIFA World Cup was totally absent.

Where were the school children especially the women footballers from clubs and schools in the country? Were schools and clubs encouraged to attend and adopt a team? For example, the Preysal High school is a stone throw away, creative ideas could have been implemented to get students and their parents to attend the games. CEPEP workers could have been employed to spruce up the area leading to the stadium.

Sport tourism involves attracting local and foreign spectators and no detail must be overlooked so as to maximise positive impact. The experiences of foreign sport tourists have to be positively lasting so they will want to return along with new visitors. Additionally, and equally important, the same applies for local sport tourists to ensure sporting events are successful.

“I don’t feel it is necessary to know exactly what I am. The main interest in life and work is to become someone else that you were not in the beginning.” Michel Foucault.

TTFA spend all de money to host de Women U-20 and nothing to prepare them.
« Reply #670 on: January 29, 2018, 05:17:19 AM »
De TTFA spend all de money to host de Women U-20 qualifiers and nothing left to prepare them.

How much this tournament cost them?

That make sense allyuh?

Shabaaz say he team ready and them eh play one friendly game in months, how you could be match fit and ready and yuh eh play one match?

Latapy is de same thing.

De coaches de TTFA hiring is real boo, I hope somebody decent run for TTFA president next election, Williams have to go.

De TTFA really does do thing upside down.

« Reply #671 on: January 29, 2018, 09:08:41 AM »
The quality of football on display for this tourney was a breath of fresh air.
Not only the style of play and technical ability of the players but also the passion with which the women's teams tend to play is always appealing.
I've noticed at any women's intl. tournament, there is rarely any faking and diving involved. The games flow more freely without a doubt!.
Yes one can argue the pace is slower but that would be an unfair and narrow-minded analysis.

The semis and finals were on point! One thing i wasnt sure of, anyone who attended can hopefully clarify, were our national players present at those games in the stands?
Would have liked to have seen more support from the male national teams as well though.

One thing that stood out for me was the attitude of the players of the other teams, USA in particular in one instance
The semis was going to PKs. The teams came together and were getting their breifing from their coaches.
The sub-keeper for USA (who came in as the starter for the first 2 games but then was rotated and didn't play the rest of the tournament), pulled the starting keeper aside from the huddle and gave her a pep talk and a hug. Full support!
After the game, the players came up to the covered stand where their parents were, and these same players ---some who didnt even play---stood there for a couple mins taking pictures with some of the local children who were in attendance, never breaking smile once!
Props to those players and coaches.

« Reply #672 on: January 29, 2018, 10:43:58 AM »
lol. U see all that, and didn't see our girls, or u just don't know them. Was Jami there (learning, studying, making friends, something I hope)

Re: TTFA spend all de money to host de Women U-20 and nothing to prepare them.
« Reply #673 on: January 29, 2018, 10:48:26 AM »
"De coaches de TTFA hiring is real boo, I hope somebody decent run for TTFA president next election, Williams have to go.
De TTFA really does do thing upside down."

Ent ! Ent !  :-[
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siIyLJMTO1U
« Last Edit: January 29, 2018, 10:50:49 AM by maxg »

« Reply #674 on: January 29, 2018, 12:16:14 PM »
Maybe Keith will run for prez. post next time around.

« Reply #675 on: January 29, 2018, 01:16:02 PM »
i sure the pots of money for hosting the tournament and for paying coaches different. One pot have dollars and the other one empty bad.

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #676 on: January 30, 2018, 05:47:57 AM »
No surprise here

« Reply #677 on: January 30, 2018, 09:57:17 AM »
maxg

Notice i said i didnt happen to see them at the games i went to, and asked if anyone can clarify.
Would have been nice to see them as well as the male teams.

Not to sound bad but, I wasnt just interested in seeing our local team play or too concerned if they were there or not. They may have been sititng higher up in the stands for all we know. I did see staff and maybeb some players of some of the other U20 teams there during the tourney at some point.

I knew the other teams were at a higher level and also was analyzing different things from the other coaches before, during and after the game.
All a learning experience, and the tourney was a good one overall.
I just wished some of the games could have been later in the day or even in Hasely Crawford Stad. for easier access during the week (but i know the back story to that one.)
« Last Edit: January 30, 2018, 09:58:54 AM by AZZURRI »

« Reply #678 on: January 30, 2018, 10:00:03 AM »
lol@ Jami...

I don't know them personally but have seen them throughout the prep. and our team has played against some of them over the course of the year in the WOLF league.

« Reply #679 on: February 02, 2018, 10:14:45 AM »
Forbes sees bright future for T&T U-20 women.
T&T Newsday Reports.

Forbes recently signed a contract extension until May 2018 with Santa Fe and will travel with the Colombian side to face Athletico Bilbao’s women’s team in Spain at month’s end.

The match will be versus Atlético Madrid, not Bilbao. The original idea was to play it on August 31, but that date was not compatible with other logistics.

The game will be played on January 31. Ah might be able to make that flex.

The match finished 1-1, but there was no Trini Tobagonian on de field. ???
« Last Edit: February 02, 2018, 02:52:25 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #680 on: February 03, 2018, 06:02:33 AM »
TTFA yet to discuss Women’s Under-20 teams woes.
T&T Newsday Reports.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) is yet to address the struggles of the national women’s Under-20 football team at the CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championships held at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, from January 18-28.

Tournament winners Mexico, runners-up United States and third-placed team Haiti all booked their places in the 2018 FIFA Women’s Under-20 World Cup in France. But a major talking point during the CONCACAF competition was the poor display of the Jamaal Shabazz-coached TT team.

The hosts were the only country in the eight-team tournament that failed to get a point in the group stage.

Remarkably, TT scored first in all three of their Group A matches but failed to hold on for even a draw. They were beaten 3-2 by Haiti after leading 0-2 (January 18), lost 4-1 to Canada (January 20) and went under 2-1 to Costa Rica (January 22).

Prior, during and after the tournament, Shabazz lamented the lack of preparation of the hosts and admitted they lacked the required fitness. In a recent interview, TTFA president David John-Williams promised that a debriefing would be conducted to discuss the poor performance of the squad.

When contacted yesterday, John-Williams said TTFA technical director Anton Corneal “is out of the country right now and the meeting would be next week.”

However, John-Williams was unable to provide a definite date as to when the discussions would be held.

Asked if there are any plans to address the preparations of future national youth teams, John-Williams said, “that’s for the technical committee, not me, if you understand what I’m saying. We have a technical committee in place.”

« Reply #681 on: February 03, 2018, 10:46:00 AM »
Don’t waste we breadth on the postmortem

« Reply #682 on: February 03, 2018, 04:44:58 PM »
Is it me..or is it that this bull shit
..just getting more dotish...???

Re: 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship Thread
« Reply #683 on: August 14, 2018, 04:16:51 PM »
Haiti proving it belongs on world’s stage
CONCACAF

The 2018 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup in France is a tournament that will long be remembered by football fans in Haiti.

The competition marked the first time that Haiti competed in a Women’s World Cup at any level. It was also the first Caribbean nation ever to qualify for a Women’s World Cup following its third-place finish at the CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship.

So even despite defeats in its first two matches in France which ended its chances of advancing to the next round, Haiti has proved that it belongs on the world’s biggest stage.

“Obviously, it’s disappointing to lose,” said Haiti FW Melchie Dumonay to FIFA.com. “You play to win. But we set out to defend well and we showed the world that we could do it.”

Bolstered by a boisterous fan base, Haiti was narrowly defeated by China 2-1 in its opening match that saw Nerilia Mondesir make history as Haiti’s first goal-scorer at a Women’s World Cup when she converted a 78th minute penalty.

That was followed by another close defeat, 1-0 to Nigeria in which the Haiti attack created a number of chances but was unable to capitalize.

Nevertheless, the performances have been incredibly impressive, especially when one considers that just one player, Mondesir, plays under a professional contract at a club (Montpellier of France).

Add to the fact that on the Haiti roster there are three players who are just 14 years old, including Dougenie Joseph who became the youngest player to ever start a U-20 WWC match in the loss to China, and you have the makings of a very bright future for women’s football.

Haiti will look to conclude its 2018 U-20 WWC campaign with a victory versus Germany on Monday.

« Reply #684 on: August 14, 2018, 04:17:36 PM »
Haiti proving it belongs on world’s stage
CONCACAF

The 2018 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup in France is a tournament that will long be remembered by football fans in Haiti.

The competition marked the first time that Haiti competed in a Women’s World Cup at any level. It was also the first Caribbean nation ever to qualify for a Women’s World Cup following its third-place finish at the CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship.

So even despite defeats in its first two matches in France which ended its chances of advancing to the next round, Haiti has proved that it belongs on the world’s biggest stage.

“Obviously, it’s disappointing to lose,” said Haiti FW Melchie Dumonay to FIFA.com. “You play to win. But we set out to defend well and we showed the world that we could do it.”

Bolstered by a boisterous fan base, Haiti was narrowly defeated by China 2-1 in its opening match that saw Nerilia Mondesir make history as Haiti’s first goal-scorer at a Women’s World Cup when she converted a 78th minute penalty.

That was followed by another close defeat, 1-0 to Nigeria in which the Haiti attack created a number of chances but was unable to capitalize.

Nevertheless, the performances have been incredibly impressive, especially when one considers that just one player, Mondesir, plays under a professional contract at a club (Montpellier of France).

Add to the fact that on the Haiti roster there are three players who are just 14 years old, including Dougenie Joseph who became the youngest player to ever start a U-20 WWC match in the loss to China, and you have the makings of a very bright future for women’s football.

Haiti will look to conclude its 2018 U-20 WWC campaign with a victory versus Germany on Monday.

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #685 on: August 14, 2018, 06:03:31 PM »
Thanks asylumseeker for the article.Haiti lost a close game again against Germany (3-2) with Haitian star Nerilia Mondesir scoring the 2 goals. All 3 teams (China , Nigeria and Germany) have made it to the semi final in the  past world cups

« Reply #686 on: August 15, 2018, 04:46:01 AM »
Thanks asylumseeker for the article.Haiti lost a close game again against Germany (3-2) with Haitian star Nerilia Mondesir scoring the 2 goals. All 3 teams (China , Nigeria and Germany) have made it to the semi final in the  past world cups

Brodda, of course.  :beermug:

These players merit every platform of recognition. It ought also be stated that their accomplishments should not only motivate other organizational structures, within women's football in CFU, to push forward and to emulate Mondésir et al ... but what they have achieved (not dealing with results per se), but with the ambition evident in their style of play and technical-tactical competence) should also stand as an indictment of the failure in T&T football to better nurture and protect their sister-generation of U20s.

Ah wonder if that topic ever emerged at the recent stakeholder discussion on women's football (that for some inexplicable reason was so urgent it had to occur while Shabazz and the WNT were in Colombia)?

Seems like two key components were absent from the room.

Anyhow, I've been impressed with Haiti in the youth categories across gender. If you all had one or two of our players I wonder where they would be now.

« Last Edit: August 15, 2018, 04:52:31 AM by asylumseeker »

2019 CONCACAF Women's U-20 Championship
« Reply #687 on: April 19, 2019, 10:30:18 AM »
Trinidad and Tobago placed in Group F with Haiti, Panama, and Cayman Islands for the 2019 CONCACAF Women's U-20 Championship.

Re: T&T's women U-20 upcoming fixtures.
« Reply #688 on: June 12, 2019, 12:29:04 AM »
TTFA declares - No Women's coach appointed.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

The T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion has sought to clear the air on re­ports that Unit­ed States-based coach Stephan De Four was ap­point­ed as coach of the coun­try's Se­nior Women, Un­der-20 and Un­der-17 foot­ball teams.

Cir­cu­lat­ing re­ports which sug­gests that De Four has been ap­point­ed ap­pear to have an­gered T&TFA Board mem­bers which in­cludes Su­san Joseph-War­rick, pres­i­dent of Women's Foot­ball League (WoLF).

To­geth­er with Kei­th Look Loy, the T&T Su­per League's rep­re­sen­ta­tive on the Board, both are claim­ing they were un­aware of the ap­point­ment.

De Four, it is un­der­stood, has al­ready called up Dar­rel Mar­celle as his as­sis­tant, and has been scout­ing oth­er po­ten­tial coach­es to fill staffing po­si­tions on his tech­ni­cal staff.

It is al­so re­port­ed that Andy Sa­landy and Earl ‘Spi­der­man’ Carter, both said to be ap­proached to fill as­sis­tant coach­ing po­si­tions, while Kendall Reyes is set to be De Four's tech­ni­cal ad­vi­sor.

But Guardian Me­dia Sports un­der­stands that all prospec­tive can­di­dates for the coach­ing jobs will have to be will­ing to work for free.

Yes­ter­day, the em­bat­tled foot­ball as­so­ci­a­tion in a re­lease said- "Please be ad­vised that the TTFA has not em­ployed any­one ei­ther con­trac­tu­al­ly or oth­er­wise in the role of Na­tion­al Head Coach for our Girls Un­der 17 and Un­der 20 teams. The ac­tiv­i­ties of any­one per­pet­u­at­ing oth­er­wise are there­fore not con­duct­ed un­der the aus­pices, nor in­struc­tion of the TTFA."

Look Loy and oth­er mem­bers of the Board will to­day ad­dress is­sues sur­round­ing the al­leged ap­point­ment at a press con­fer­ence at 10 am at the Ho­tel Nor­mandie in St Ann's.

It is un­der­stood TTFA pres­i­dent, David John-Williams, in an im­me­di­ate re­sponse said: “Dis­cus­sions have been held with Mr De Four re­gard­ing his per­son­al terms as we dis­cussed at the last board meet­ing, but noth­ing of­fi­cial has been made yet by the Board or the Emer­gency Com­mit­tee.”

Re: U-20 Women's Team Thread.
« Reply #689 on: June 13, 2019, 01:10:57 AM »
 :o