March 28, 2024, 01:56:23 PM

Author Topic: U-20 Women's Team Thread.  (Read 103411 times)

Re: 2014 CONCACAF U-20 Women's Championship Thread
« Reply #180 on: January 14, 2014, 10:41:44 PM »
Our ladies team could take solace I the fact that they are right in the thick of this. To concede the game before we play it is in my opinion fool hearted.  I am not denying the powerless of the USA but in sports anything is possible. With most of our teams I. Tournaments, anything is possible. We pulled it out in 2006, we stepped up in the Gold Cup. At times teams rise to the level of the opposition.

I say " TALK SUCCESS THINK a SUCCESS  and EXPECT SUCCESS " - ladies remove all doubts- they change shorts like you do- they run
Ike you doBut you cannot be in awe and get caught watching instead of competing . In the clip I saw of the game against Mexico- the first goal was soft and to me it appeared that we were a little slow to respond to the players we ought to be marking.
All the best go out and leave everything on the field. Believe that miracles do haven and the USA eh no invincible force. It all beings with BELIEF
"
« Last Edit: January 15, 2014, 12:00:55 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #181 on: January 14, 2014, 10:55:45 PM »
Have you all been watching the highlights?

« Reply #182 on: January 15, 2014, 12:26:52 AM »
Re: the discussion on narrowing the gap

You narrow the gap by giving these players more games together consistently versus quality opponents. This MEX team has been about that business. Aside from the playing pay-off, there is a psychological dividend you get from that exposure.

Move your U17s into the U20s smoothly. Don't make hasty, arbitrary decisions about players based on rushing to put a squad together. Do the players justice. Do the nation justice.

« Reply #183 on: January 15, 2014, 03:02:11 AM »
Mexico U-20 women beat T&T to earn top spot in Group B.
CONCACAF.COM.

GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands – Mexico will meet Costa Rica in the semifinals of the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship after defeating Trinidad & Tobago 3-0 in the Group B decider on Tuesday at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex.

The Mexicans made it five wins in five all-time encounters against Trinidad in the competition, concluding first-round play with maximum points from three games.  The runner-up Soca Princesses, who lost for the first time in three outings, will meet the Group A champion United States in the second game of Friday’s knockout stage doubleheader

The opening half hour was played at a fairly even pace with little difference between the sides evident.

Mexico finally broke the stalemate, however, in the 33rd minute.  Paloma Zermeño sent a speculative left-footed effort from 28-yards out towards the Trinidad goal that slipped underneath goalkeeper Tenesha Palmer and rolled across the line.

The Tricolor kept its foot on the gas, looking to net a second goal before the break.

Palmer made amends for her earlier misstep in the 42nd minute by leaping magnificently to save a looping header from the edge of the 18-yard box by Zermeño.

In the second minute of first-half injury time, Trinidad went for an equalizer, but Shanisa Camejo’s long-range attempt was seized confidently by goalkeeper by Cecilia Santiago.

Three minutes following the break, Mexico would go ahead, 2-0.  Zermeño popped a corner kick into the air and Paulina Solis was there to head it home.

Seven minutes later, a right-sided cross by Trinidad’s Donika Murray found Brianna Ryce at the top of the box.  The DePaul University midfielder immediately took a shot that Santiago bobbled, but gathered in before the arrival of a lurking Anique Walker.

Solis completed her brace with 13 minutes left in normal time, converting on a penalty kick after Fabiola Ibarra was fouled in the box.

The tournament finalists will earn tickets to the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, accompanied by the winner of the match for third place.

Results

Mexico 3 v T&T 0
Zermeño 33
Solis 49
Solis 77-Pen

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: - 20.Tenesha Palmer (1.Keri Myers 69th), 6.Khadisha Debesette, 18.Liana Hines, 17.Jonelle Warrick, 8.Daniella Findley, 9.Patrice Campbell (2.Tkeyah Phillips 69th), 12.Shanisa Camejo, 4.Brianna Ryce, 11.Khadidra Debesette, 13.Shenelle Henry (15.Donika Murray 45th), 19.Anique Walker (capt).

HEAD COACH: - Izler Browne.

Mexico: - 1.Cecilia Santiago, 2.Jaqueline Rodriguez, 15.Mariel Gutierrez, 4.Jessica Valadez, 5.Paulina Solis, 6.Karla Nieto, 19.Cynthia Pineda (8.Nancy Antonio 45th), 7.Carolina Jaramillo (20.Jazmin Aguas Orozco 63rd), 9.Tanya Samarzich (14.Taylor Alvarado 79th), 10.Paloma Zermeño, 11.Fabiola Ibarra.

HEAD COACH: - Christopher Cuellar.

Referee: - Domka.

VIDEO: - Trinidad & Tobago vs Mexico Highlights.

Live Commentary   

END OF THE GAME
2H 94'  Keri Myers clears the ball
2H 94'  A shot by Nancy Antonio went in the wrong direction
2H 93'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 93'  Throw-in by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 92'  The linesman raises his flag, offside ruling for Jazmin Aguas Orozco
2H 92'  Clearance by Mexico, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Cecilia Santiago
2H 90'  Goal kick by Daniella Findley
2H 90'  Opportunity for Mexico. Fabiola Ibarra shoots, but the ball misses the target!
2H 90'  Foul by Daniella Findley on Nancy Antonio! The referee gives a free kick
2H 89'  Throw-in for Mexico, taken by Jaqueline Rodriguez
2H 88'  Jazmin Aguas Orozco takes the corner kick
2H 88'  Cleared and corner given away by Anique Walker
2H 87'  Mariel Gutierrez throws in
2H 87'  Clearance by Trinidad and Tobago, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Jonelle Warrick
2H 87'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 87'  Throw-in by Tkeyah Phillips
2H 87'  Tkeyah Phillips throws in
2H 86'  Throw-in for Mexico, taken by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 85'  Jazmin Aguas Orozco kicks the corner
2H 83'  Taylor Alvarado is found in an offside position
2H 81'  Mariel Gutierrez throws in
2H 81'  Throw-in for Mexico, taken by Jaqueline Rodriguez
2H 80'  Clearance by Trinidad and Tobago, executed by Jonelle Warrick
2H 80'  Throw-in by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 80'  An illict act by Jazmin Aguas Orozco against Khadisha Debesette! The ref gives a free kick
2H 79'  Clearance by Mexico, made by Jessica Valadez
2H 78'  Substitution by Mexico, Taylor Alvarado comes on for Tanya Samarzich
2H 77'  Throw-in by Liana Hines
2H 77'  Cecilia Santiago makes a clearance for Mexico
2H 76'  Paulina Solis tallies a goal from the penalty spot for Mexico
2H 75'  Tkeyah Phillips brings down Fabiola Ibarra. The referee points to the penalty spot
2H 74'  Goal kick by Cecilia Santiago
2H 74'  Corner for Trinidad and Tobago, executed by Liana Hines
2H 73'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, taken by Tkeyah Phillips
2H 73'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Liana Hines
2H 72'  Throw-in by Liana Hines
2H 71'  Jaqueline Rodriguez throws in
2H 70'  Throw-in for Mexico, taken by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 69'  Shanisa Camejo fouls Nancy Antonio
2H 68'  Trinidad and Tobago makes a change, Tkeyah Phillips comes on, Patrice Campbell comes off
2H 68'  Trinidad and Tobago makes a substitution, Keri Myers comes on, Tenesha Palmer comes off
2H 67'  Throw-in for Mexico, taken by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 66'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 66'  Throw-in by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 65'  The linesman raises his flag, offside ruling for Fabiola Ibarra
2H 62'  A change by Mexico, Jazmin Aguas Orozco comes on for Carolina Jaramillo
2H 62'  The linesman raises his flag, offside ruling for Fabiola Ibarra
2H 62'  Chance for Mexico. Fabiola Ibarra shoots, stopped by Tenesha Palmer
2H 61'  Mariel Gutierrez clears the ball
2H 60'  Corner for Trinidad and Tobago, taken by Patrice Campbell
2H 60'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Liana Hines
2H 59'  Tenesha Palmer clears the ball by kicking it out of bounds
2H 59'  Cecilia Santiago makes a clearance for Mexico
2H 58'  Opportunity for Trinidad and Tobago. Brianna Ryce shoots, but it goes wide!
2H 58'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Liana Hines
2H 58'  Throw-in by Liana Hines
2H 57'  Mariel Gutierrez throws in
2H 57'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, taken by Liana Hines
2H 57'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
2H 56'  Fabiola Ibarra shoots! But the attempt misses the target!
2H 56'  Goal kick by Cecilia Santiago
2H 56'  Corner kick for Trinidad and Tobago, taken byJonelle Warrick
2H 55'  Jaqueline Rodriguez makes a clearance and concedes a corner for Mexico
2H 55'  Throw-in by Mariel Gutierrez
2H 54'  Cecilia Santiago clears the ball
2H 54'  Brianna Ryce shoots on goal! But Cecilia Santiago catches the ball!
2H 54'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Liana Hines
2H 53'  Chance for Mexico. Fabiola Ibarra shoots, stopped by Jonelle Warrick
2H 53'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
2H 53'  A shot by Carolina Jaramillo, but the attempt goes wide
2H 52'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Liana Hines
2H 50'  An illicit act by Fabiola Ibarra against Anique Walker! The ref awards a free kick
2H 50'  Liana Hines throws in
2H 50'  Clearance by Trinidad and Tobago, made by Tenesha Palmer
2H 49'  Chance for Mexico. Mariel Gutierrez shoots, but it goes wide!
2H 49'  Throw-in by Jaqueline Rodriguez
2H 49'  Jaqueline Rodriguez throws in
2H 48'  Paulina Solis scores with his head for Mexico
2H 47'  Corner kick for Mexico, executed by Fabiola Ibarra
2H 47'  Throw-in by Jaqueline Rodriguez
2H 47'  Jaqueline Rodriguez throws in
2H 46'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, taken by Liana Hines
2H 45'  Cecilia Santiago makes a clearance
2H 45'  A switch by Trinidad and Tobago, Donika Murray enters the field for Shenelle Henry
2H 45'  Mexico makes a substitution, Nancy Antonio comes on, Cynthia Pineda comes off
START OF SECOND HALF

END OF FIRST HALF
1H 47'  Clearance by Cecilia Santiago
1H 46'  Jaqueline Rodriguez throws in
1H 46'  Anique Walker shoots on goal, but the goalkeeper prevents it from going in
1H 46'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Liana Hines
1H 44'  Goal kick by Cecilia Santiago
1H 44'  Liana Hines throws in
1H 43'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
1H 43'  Tanya Samarzich attempts to shoot on goal! And the attempt goes wide!
1H 43'  Throw-in by Mariel Gutierrez
1H 42'  The linesman raises his flag, offside ruling for Carolina Jaramillo
1H 42'  Corner kick for Mexico, taken byCarolina Jaramillo
1H 41'  Tenesha Palmer clears the ball to corner
1H 41'  Paloma Zermeño shoots on goal, but the goalkeeper prevents it from going in
1H 39'  Tenesha Palmer makes a clearance for Trinidad and Tobago
1H 39'  Throw-in for Mexico, taken by Mariel Gutierrez
1H 38'  Clearance by Mexico, executed by Cecilia Santiago
1H 37'  Shenelle Henry fouls Carolina Jaramillo
1H 37'  Cecilia Santiago clears the ball
1H 37'  Clearance by Mexico, made by Cecilia Santiago
1H 36'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Liana Hines
1H 36'  Throw-in by Liana Hines
1H 36'  Daniella Findley makes a clearance for Trinidad and Tobago
1H 34'  Tanya Samarzich is found in an offside position
1H 33'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Daniella Findley
1H 32'  Paloma Zermeño gets on the scoresheet for Mexico
1H 32'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
1H 32'  A shot by Paloma Zermeño, but the attempt goes wide
1H 31'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
1H 30'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
1H 29'  Opportunity for Mexico. Fabiola Ibarra shoots, but the ball misses the target!
1H 28'  Goal kick by Cecilia Santiago
1H 28'  Opportunity for Trinidad and Tobago. Anique Walker shoots, but it goes wide!
1H 28'  Daniella Findley throws in
1H 27'  Shot by Brianna Ryce , but the ball ends up in the hands of Mariel Gutierrez
1H 27'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Mariel Gutierrez
1H 26'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
1H 26'  Corner kick for Mexico, taken byFabiola Ibarra
1H 26'  Daniella Findley clears the ball to the corner.
1H 25'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Mariel Gutierrez
1H 24'  Tanya Samarzich is found in an offside position
1H 24'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
1H 23'  Chance for Mexico. Paloma Zermeño shoots, but it goes wide!
1H 23'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Jaqueline Rodriguez
1H 22'  Goal kick by Cecilia Santiago
1H 22'  Brianna Ryce trys to shoot on goal, but the attempt goes wide!
1H 21'  Clearance by Trinidad and Tobago, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Tenesha Palmer
1H 21'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Mariel Gutierrez
1H 20'  Throw-in by Jaqueline Rodriguez
1H 20'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
1H 19'  Clearance by Trinidad and Tobago, made by Tenesha Palmer
1H 18'  Foul by Tanya Samarzich on Tenesha Palmer! The referee gives a free kick
1H 17'  Throw-in by Jaqueline Rodriguez
1H 17'  Jaqueline Rodriguez throws in
1H 16'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, taken by Daniella Findley
1H 16'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Daniella Findley
1H 15'  Throw-in by Daniella Findley
1H 15'  Tenesha Palmer clears the ball
1H 14'  Throw-in for Mexico, taken by Mariel Gutierrez
1H 13'  Goal kick by Cecilia Santiago
1H 13'  Anique Walker shoots! But the attempt misses the target!
1H 12'  Foul by Paloma Zermeño on Anique Walker! The referee awards a free kick
1H 12'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, taken by Liana Hines
1H 12'  Clearance by Trinidad and Tobago, executed by Tenesha Palmer
1H 11'  Fabiola Ibarra is found in an offside position
1H 11'  Jaqueline Rodriguez throws in
1H 10'  Clearance by Trinidad and Tobago, made by Tenesha Palmer
1H 8'  Goal kick by Cecilia Santiago
1H 7'  Throw-in by Patrice Campbell
1H 6'  Liana Hines throws in
1H 6'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, taken by Liana Hines
1H 5'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, done by Daniella Findley
1H 5'  Goal kick by Tenesha Palmer
1H 5'  The woodwork prevents a goal by Mariel Gutierrez
1H 4'  Foul by Patrice Campbell on Fabiola Ibarra! The referee awards a free kick
1H 3'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Jaqueline Rodriguez
1H 3'  An illicit act by Shanisa Camejo against Mariel Gutierrez! The referee awards a free kick
1H 2'  Mariel Gutierrez throws in
1H 2'  Throw-in for Trinidad and Tobago, taken by Liana Hines
1H 1'  Clearance by Mexico, executed by Jessica Valadez
1H 1'  Throw-in by Liana Hines
1H 1'  Liana Hines throws in
1H 1'  Clearance by Trinidad and Tobago, made by Liana Hines
1H 0'  Throw-in for Mexico, done by Mariel Gutierrez
1H 0'  Tenesha Palmer clears the ball by kicking it out of bounds
START OF THE GAME

« Last Edit: January 15, 2014, 06:54:59 AM by Flex »

« Reply #184 on: January 15, 2014, 06:18:25 AM »
I see the goalie was replaced in the 69th minute. However, I haven't seen anything about her being injured. Anybody know what the deal is?

Offline Trevor

« Reply #185 on: January 15, 2014, 07:51:15 AM »
Those were soft goals against Mexico.  Come on keeper - not that easy.

« Reply #186 on: January 15, 2014, 10:00:01 AM »
Those were soft goals against Mexico.  Come on keeper - not that easy.

Did you see the defending for those goals? Minus the 1st one.

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #187 on: January 15, 2014, 10:43:19 AM »
So here is a question for this scenario going forward. If you were the coach would you rest some of your top players in the semi final against the US so they could be fresh for the third place game against CR? or do you play your best squad against the US to see if you can get a good result against them (not saying they can't), but strategically, what may be your options here? Looking to qualify up front by beating the US or make a sacrifice decision on that game and go all out against CR?
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #188 on: January 15, 2014, 10:48:50 AM »
I know it's so cynical, but I'd definitely rest - you're playing for both the team and the fans to have the chance to play in the World Cup and I think that should be the focus. The girls are doing fantastic work, and it'd be a crime not to see them rewarded with a World Cup place, so lets do everything to get there. It also lets some fringe players sample the atmosphere of a cup tournament, and a great experience for them.

Offline socalion

« Reply #189 on: January 15, 2014, 11:04:28 AM »
Having seen the highlights  of the... Mexico vs Trinidad/Tobago match...  i am absolutely convince  as i have previously stated  there's nothing to fear where mexico  or any other team is concerned. as a matter of fact the mexican  team is nothing special  in my view .  as a matter of fact the goals conceded were soft goals .....  its a pity this Trinidad/Tobago team did not have ample time together as i have seen some notable talent in the squad ....... i hope the lessons learnt from this game against mexico  can be catylist to build on for the upcoming games .... i do believe and have faith in this team of players  .... they need to regroup and remain focus ..... wishing all the players the very best  ........you all can get the job done ... play on,  fight on   we believe ... yes you can ..  believe  in your abilities young ladies ...... remain focus ..  ........ have no fear and  get the job done

« Reply #190 on: January 15, 2014, 11:22:27 AM »
We really underestimating CR.

Let's look at context. We have gotten the most favorable draw ever. Our 2 opening games were against teams that has never been to the CFU qualifiers. We won, but for me it was not convincing. Mexico game has given us incite into our next level play. People saying soft goals, but it was 3 goals. We need to look at the action or lack thereof that led to the goals. When we were put under pressure, we crumbled. I know that this is not the POPULAR view right now as we are in "we reach mode". From reading posts on here about closing the gap and listening Shabazz and all these coaches talk, it seems that this is, what we have been planning for, what we have been working for, but in effect it's not as we do not have a plan.

We eh reach and the gaps eh closing, for a number of reasons. Just look at the U17 results, it's a good indicator. The USA is already cycling up their U15s to BJ Snow, and the U17s to French. The US U17 has a camp this month and then move up. We have nothing planned for our U17s other than a few training sessions at home.

As much as we are celebrating, we need to keep things in perspective. We should learn from history, the MNT came back from Germany and 0, strike squad 0, our u17 men's from the T&T WC in 01, 0, the u17 women's from T&T 0, Corneal boys from the WC 0. To progress and close the gap we need to be realistic and continue to press the administration to put the necessary structure in place and allocated the necessary resources.

Offline socalion

« Reply #191 on: January 15, 2014, 11:50:53 AM »
Elan  i really do not get the impression anyone is underestimating costa rica  or any other team for that matter, its all about   respecting   each team  ,  as i have duly mentioned , fear no team ... matters not who we play ...... thats a mentality we must step away from , yet at the same time respect  each team , i am here to encourage and support  our  team ( Trinidad /Tobago)....  let others focus on theirs  its simple as that....  all due respect elan .... we have not achieve the goal of qualifying  as yet but  should strive to get there,  a game at a time ....

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #192 on: January 15, 2014, 01:38:45 PM »
We definitely do not rest anyone for the match versus the USA. This is what the girls have been training for. We play all our starters as usual, we play the game like we have been all tournament & that is too attack and keep attacking. We saw what happened with the U-17's recently when they tried to defend only. Their is no energy to attack when you are chasing the ball in your half all the time.

I would play a 3-5-2 or a 3-4-3 and instruct our wide mid-fielders of their responsibilities on both sides of the ball (that is providing we have practiced these formations throughout our training-sessions). If we rest our best & then we get smoked everyone's "mindsets" will be deflated. Our confidence is high right now despite what just occurred against the Mexican's & we need every ounce of confidence we can muster moving forward. We will get scored on however everyone's mindsets must be that we can also score. Just my two cents for what it is worth.

Cheers   19

« Reply #193 on: January 15, 2014, 03:33:14 PM »
We definitely do not rest anyone for the match versus the USA. This is what the girls have been training for. We play all our starters as usual, we play the game like we have been all tournament & that is too attack and keep attacking. We saw what happened with the U-17's recently when they tried to defend only. Their is no energy to attack when you are chasing the ball in your half all the time.

I would play a 3-5-2 or a 3-4-3 and instruct our wide mid-fielders of their responsibilities on both sides of the ball (that is providing we have practiced these formations throughout our training-sessions). If we rest our best & then we get smoked everyone's "mindsets" will be deflated. Our confidence is high right now despite what just occurred against the Mexican's & we need every ounce of confidence we can muster moving forward. We will get scored on however everyone's mindsets must be that we can also score. Just my two cents for what it is worth.

Cheers   19

3-4-3 or 3-5-2 vs the USA 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3 is asking to be destroyed.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #194 on: January 15, 2014, 05:53:19 PM »
Coach Élan please give us your best formation so we won't get destroyed. 

Cheers

Offline MilkyX

« Reply #195 on: January 15, 2014, 05:55:46 PM »

Cheers   19

3-4-3 or 3-5-2 vs the USA 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3 is asking to be destroyed.
First off, it doesn't matter what formation is used or who plays, they will be destroyed. These are the facts. The U.S. takes their football (especially women's football) seriously. We do not. The U.S. makes sure their teams are well prepared, well trained (from early) and regularly play against quality opposition, we do not. They put a support system in place so players can excel to and maintain their full potential. Lord knows we do not. It is time T&T stop playing the fool with this try ah thing football. This goes for the men too. Do the research, get the resources,go to work and be consistent with your efforts. That's how you qualify for a world cup. Not hoping and praying for a miracle. Ridiculousness.
Only the humble can be truly great!

« Reply #196 on: January 15, 2014, 06:07:59 PM »
I don't think TT coaches underestimates any Central Amer. teams. I think they feel TT teams are on par with most except Mex. I think they are just below par in terms of skill level. I find the Central American women play just like their men team. Ball possesion. But they lack that speed and power.  Whether the coach use the first team against the US is a catch 22. If they use their "second" team an get 22 zip, that will be demoralizing. But the coach should definitely use some or most of the 2nd team players. Mind you, the US will probably start with a strong team because they don't want to lose by some miracle. They want to play in the final game.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2014, 06:09:53 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #197 on: January 15, 2014, 07:50:13 PM »
Beautiful girls..beautiful football..unfortunately they have some fitness as well tactical problems when playing without the ball...technically ..they good to go.
I like this team  better than the MNT.

« Reply #198 on: January 15, 2014, 08:34:33 PM »
Coach Élan please give us your best formation so we won't get destroyed. 

Cheers

alyuh not ease nah...... I not in the caymans I cyah just call formation jus so. I not good like alyuh. I know Arsenal, Chelsea, Man United, hell even Bayern with all they wingers doh run up on Barca with a 3-5-2 or 3-4-3.

Leh me tell you what I do know, that 3 USA forwards vs 3  of our defenders is not a good look for us. Also 3 USA CMF vs 2 of our CMF is not a good look. The least of our worries is formation.

Hey we've created history already let's all be happy and giddy with success.

« Reply #199 on: January 15, 2014, 08:46:25 PM »
Look thank you JW, like Coop's is Shabazz speech writer.  ;D

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=256596281169502

« Reply #200 on: January 15, 2014, 09:40:26 PM »

I may have issues with Shabbaz, but he correct when he says that women's football is like the outside child, or something like that.

« Reply #201 on: January 16, 2014, 02:28:21 AM »

Some people hate to hear the truth,is not a matter of i'm Shabbazz speech writer it's just that i usually see eye to eye with the guy on his policys concerning Football,you all does look for anything to bring him down he has done so much for Football in this country both Men/Women,he has taken assignments and worked with teams that other Coaches run from and had success with them,he has helped so many players reach their potential, Contracts etc i totally agree with what he is saying about Women Football and players in T&T.   

« Reply #202 on: January 16, 2014, 03:08:08 AM »
U-20 girls defy the odds.
By Shaun Fuentes.

For too long T&T has failed to do much more than concede goals, perhaps score a few and attain the odd point here or there at the Concacaf women’s level.

Aside from the FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup which was hosted here in 2010, T&T has never managed to hold their own against world opposition.

But years of persistence seems to be paying off and the current crop of T&T U-20 players—several of them coming out of the development programme dating back to 2009—are determined to become a force in the region and to raise the level of the local women’s game.

“It’s an amazing feat to get into the semifinal round of a Concacaf tournament. We’ve done it with the boys but the girls have always had a mountainous task and to achieve that in 2014 is commendable,” said T&T Football Association (TTFA) technical director Anton Corneal, who is with the team in the Cayman Islands for the current final round.

T&T will face the United States in semifinal number two tomorrow but can still book a place in the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Canada. Even with a loss as they will have the chance to contest the third place playoff on Sunday at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex.

The team’s qualifying campaign is supported by the Ministry of Sports and Sportt, and Minister of Sports Anil Roberts is eager to see them continue their fine run which includes victories so far over Honduras and hosts Cayman Islands.

“We’ve worked really hard as a team and we want this badly,” said captain Anique Walker, who has been among the outstanding players in the competition so far.

“I was part of the U-17 team in 2010 and I know what it’s like to be at that level and I want to experience it again. There will be no greater feeler than helping the team qualify for the U-20 World Cup. We are working towards taking women’s football in T&T to a respectable level, especially in Concacaf.”

« Reply #203 on: January 16, 2014, 03:12:14 AM »

:whistling:

Wether he right or wrong.

Ah wonder if Izler Brown wasn't Shabazz wife if he woulda care...

« Reply #204 on: January 16, 2014, 05:37:23 AM »
Look at the teams we beat. People getting carried away. I am happy we reach this far, but we ain't qualify yet. When we qualify I will rejoice.

« Reply #205 on: January 16, 2014, 05:59:21 AM »
Look at the teams we beat. People getting carried away. I am happy we reach this far, but we ain't qualify yet. When we qualify I will rejoice.
     I don't care who we beat,what make it nice is local Coaches,we never reached this far so i'm rejoicing

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #206 on: January 16, 2014, 06:32:26 AM »
     I don't care who we beat,what make it nice is local Coaches,we never reached this far so i'm rejoicing

Progress shouldn't be measured by how far we've come but by how far we have left to go....Until we can compete with the likes of Mexico, USA and Canada, we ain't reach nowhere. I'm happy for the girls and wish them all the best as they try to move forward, but like DHW said, I'm not getting carried away just yet...

« Reply #207 on: January 16, 2014, 10:04:42 AM »

:whistling:

Wether he right or wrong.

Ah wonder if Izler Brown wasn't Shabazz wife if he woulda care...

Izler is not Shabazz wife.

You thinking about Ricarda Nelson...but them not together anymore

« Reply #208 on: January 16, 2014, 10:07:42 AM »

Some people hate to hear the truth,is not a matter of i'm Shabbazz speech writer it's just that i usually see eye to eye with the guy on his policys concerning Football,you all does look for anything to bring him down he has done so much for Football in this country both Men/Women,he has taken assignments and worked with teams that other Coaches run from and had success with them,he has helped so many players reach their potential, Contracts etc i totally agree with what he is saying about Women Football and players in T&T.   

Coop's the only good thing he say is that the women's "program" is treated terribly.

Mind you, he was incharge for over 10 years and what did he do to help improve the women's game?

« Reply #209 on: January 16, 2014, 10:49:01 AM »

Progress shouldn't be measured by how far we've come but by how far we have left to go....Until we can compete with the likes of Mexico, USA and Canada, we ain't reach nowhere. I'm happy for the girls and wish them all the best as they try to move forward, but like DHW said, I'm not getting carried away just yet...

You're being incredibly negative in my opinion - all long journeys start with a few steps and these are definitely steps in the right direction. To rubbish them because we have a couple hundred more is to miss the bigger picture (ironically) - no long distance can be reached without every little step.