March 28, 2024, 02:00:13 PM

Author Topic: U-20 Women's Team Thread.  (Read 103412 times)

Re: 2014 CONCACAF U-20 Women's Championship Thread
« Reply #360 on: January 20, 2014, 08:02:30 PM »
If you noticed, during the collapse the camera showed Anton bent over talking to Izler and Izler would not look at him, she did not acknowledge him.

He did the same thing with the U17 women's in JA late last year he showed up in JA and changed the whole plan that Marlon had the girls practicing and playing and they felt comfortable with.

You realize he around we teams and they under achieving but he getting promoted within CONCACAF and even FIFA.
     What teams is we teams,Anton is the Technical direction for all our national teams,what is his role as a technical director?sit down in TTFA office and get paid?he has been with all our national teams from day one,even when Benie was around he has been to and at every game/training,he is the one that decides who coaches our national teams why shouldn't he be on the bench and give advice,alyu know everything about Football why don't you all come T&T like Stephen heart and take the job.

« Last Edit: January 20, 2014, 08:04:36 PM by Coop's »

« Reply #361 on: January 20, 2014, 08:08:33 PM »
If you noticed, during the collapse the camera showed Anton bent over talking to Izler and Izler would not look at him, she did not acknowledge him.

He did the same thing with the U17 women's in JA late last year he showed up in JA and changed the whole plan that Marlon had the girls practicing and playing and they felt comfortable with.

You realize he around we teams and they under achieving but he getting promoted within CONCACAF and even FIFA.
     What teams is we teams,Anton is the Technical direction for all our national teams,what is his role as a technical director?sit down in TTFA office and get paid?he has been with all our national teams from day one,even when Benie was around he has been to and at every game/training,he is the one that decides who coaches our national teams why shouldn't he be on the bench and give advice,alyu know everything about Football why don't you all come T&T like Stephen heart and take the job.   
Coop's hitting hard boy!!  :devil:

« Reply #362 on: January 20, 2014, 09:09:57 PM »

Why have a head coach if the TD coaching every team.

Unless you eh know the TD job is to observe and advise. Was Jurgen Klinsman on the USA bench? Ever see him on the USA bench? How about Ramos, or Moorhouse? Ever see any of them on the US bench? stueps Coop's you eh serious.

He wasn't giving no advice, he was coaching, picking team and running sessions.

« Reply #363 on: January 20, 2014, 09:35:29 PM »

Why have a head coach if the TD coaching every team.

Unless you eh know the TD job is to observe and advise. Was Jurgen Klinsman on the USA bench? Ever see him on the USA bench? How about Ramos, or Moorhouse? Ever see any of them on the US bench? stueps Coop's you eh serious.

He wasn't giving no advice, he was coaching, picking team and running sessions.
      If the TD job is to observe and advise then whose job it is to impliment coaching programmes for the various age groups?whose job it is to select our national team Coaches?whose job it is to plan and organise workshops and courses? etc is Jurgen Klinsman the TD for US Soccer?Lincoln never coached our national team Goalkeepers? Yes the TD job is to observe and advise all all our teams that's why he is there but ppl saying what is he doing there.

« Reply #364 on: January 20, 2014, 11:24:46 PM »
Technical Director, coach. What difference it makes. Some coaches just coach and TD get all the amenities for them. Klinman is the coach and TD. But believe you me, he has a number of assistants doing all the ground work. But in TT case, it appears the TD is really the coach  except when it comes to the senior mens team. This TD does not cross swords with Hart. We have not seen TD on the sidelines coaching during the last Gold cup. So please clarify the air TTFF!!! IS the TD the real coach.

« Reply #365 on: January 21, 2014, 09:57:24 AM »
Technical Director, coach. What difference it makes. Some coaches just coach and TD get all the amenities for them. Klinman is the coach and TD. But believe you me, he has a number of assistants doing all the ground work. But in TT case, it appears the TD is really the coach  except when it comes to the senior mens team. This TD does not cross swords with Hart. We have not seen TD on the sidelines coaching during the last Gold cup. So please clarify the air TTFF!!! IS the TD the real coach.

Deeks, Izler coaching them players long time. She got the team together over Christmas break in T&T to train and play some games, Mr. Anton was no where around. Same thing with the U17 Women's, Marlon for months was recruiting players and coaching and fighting to find places to play and practice. Sometimes practice venue changed 3 times in one day before the actual session. Again Anton was no where to be found. Even in Haiti he eh show up, but when they made it to the CONCACAF playoffs, lo and behold he picking team, coaching, giving new tactics and strategies.

Deeks, is only since Anton became TD that the TD showing up at major tournaments (more so the women's) and taking over. No one use to take over from Jamal  or who took over from Pellerud at the Women's world cup in T&T?

« Reply #366 on: January 21, 2014, 11:35:07 AM »
Don't know if to laugh or cry, so Mr. Perennially Underachieving TD, takeover/had a team leading 3-1 with a chance to go to a WC and couldn't make the adjustments necessary to not get 6 goals!?!?!?! 6 goals!?!?!?!

If it wasn't some mother c&*t third-world country (hell even if it was some other third world country), he c&*t was fired the same night!!!!

Offline socalion

« Reply #367 on: January 21, 2014, 12:53:20 PM »
Agreed  fyzoman !!  The haunting Question  is Anton Corneal untouchable??  amazingly it sure look like it .. 

« Reply #368 on: January 21, 2014, 01:03:12 PM »
Don't know if to laugh or cry, so Mr. Perennially Underachieving TD, takeover/had a team leading 3-1 with a chance to go to a WC and couldn't make the adjustments necessary to not get 6 goals!?!?!?! 6 goals!?!?!?!

If it wasn't some mother c&*t third-world country (hell even if it was some other third world country), he c&*t was fired the same night!!!!

Anton say is the no call on the equalizing goal that cause us not to go to the WC.

Forum Post Here

In a game that featured 10 goals, Corneal singled out one as the turning point.

In the 86th miunte, a Costa Rica attacker headed a ball into the area towards her teammate, Michelle Montero. Trinidad and Tobago defender Otisha David was in her way; but only for a few seconds.

David collapsed in a tangle of legs and Montero ran clear to prod the equaliser past Trinidad and Tobago custodian Keri Myers. Corneal called foul.

“David was shielding the ball and the player clips her foot, she falls and a goal scores,” said Corneal. “I don’t want to say it is a refereeing error but you make your own call. Maybe (David) could have kicked it out. Maybe she was kicked accidentally. But she was tripped.”

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #369 on: January 21, 2014, 01:47:45 PM »
Much has been written about the fitness level of the girls however from what I see technically and tactically the ladies need more help in those areas. No doubt everyone's fitness can improve however the difference between working too hard & working smart must also be explained to the ladies.

Even when the scored was 3-1 one at the 70th minute our ladies seemed to try and individually attack down the flanks exerting way to much energy when they needed it on the defensive side. Once the coaching staff breaks down the film they will see that not enough support was arriving when a midfielder decided to go the attack (however looking at that attacking players ball control most were not looking to pass off anyways). This is where the coaching staff needs to call over the team captain to tell her remind her to remind everyone to ball play with the ball and keep it. Chew up the clock. The ladies spend 3-5 sessions a week on the pitch sometimes twice a day however how much time do they spend in the class going everyone's responsibilities on both sides of the ball ( and at different increments in the game depending on the score at hand) are questions that need to be asked.

The 3rd & decisive goal to tie was not as a result of our player being kicked & tripped IMHO. She accidentally slipped , look at the turf that moved underneath her as a result. The defender was then muscled off the ball however was not in a proper defensive position to defend in the 1st place. Even the 2nd goal (since when are defenders advised to jump in backwards) & then even when the first shot attempt was flubbed a poor clearing attempt (hell foul that player at the top of the 18 if you have too) was made by our defender to allow a beautiful left footed curl to the far side post. Our keeper fell backwards twice trying to get back into position however the bigger question is why did she open handed parry-palm the ball out and not use her double fists. If she double-fists the ball it is cleared outside the 18. Take a look at how the 1st goal develops our back line is flat and a beautiful through ball is sent giving an outright breakaway our keeper comes out and makes herself "BIG" and even gets a piece of the ball which allows #17 to save a goal all 17 had to was left foot the ball out for a corner yet she toe taps the ball back to the CR attacker. One cannot kick a ball with the foot that is planted in front of ones body.

There are a lot of positives to come out of making it to the semi final round & those players who make the jump to the seniors will know what it takes to get the team to the next rounds as well. Can anyone tell us if we have a full time goaltender coach as with the 20's & even the senior's there are a few things that need to be tided up (basic fundamentals). All in all the ladies should be proud of the efforts they gave and know that they can compete with the big four in Concacaf.

I see a few 20's ready to help the senior's for the upcoming CFU's in April.

Cheers    19
« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 01:49:43 PM by Soccer 19 »

« Reply #370 on: January 21, 2014, 03:30:30 PM »
Much has been written about the fitness level of the girls however from what I see technically and tactically the ladies need more help in those areas. No doubt everyone's fitness can improve however the difference between working too hard & working smart must also be explained to the ladies.

Even when the scored was 3-1 one at the 70th minute our ladies seemed to try and individually attack down the flanks exerting way to much energy when they needed it on the defensive side. Once the coaching staff breaks down the film they will see that not enough support was arriving when a midfielder decided to go the attack (however looking at that attacking players ball control most were not looking to pass off anyways). This is where the coaching staff needs to call over the team captain to tell her remind her to remind everyone to ball play with the ball and keep it. Chew up the clock. The ladies spend 3-5 sessions a week on the pitch sometimes twice a day however how much time do they spend in the class going everyone's responsibilities on both sides of the ball ( and at different increments in the game depending on the score at hand) are questions that need to be asked.

The 3rd & decisive goal to tie was not as a result of our player being kicked & tripped IMHO. She accidentally slipped , look at the turf that moved underneath her as a result. The defender was then muscled off the ball however was not in a proper defensive position to defend in the 1st place. Even the 2nd goal (since when are defenders advised to jump in backwards) & then even when the first shot attempt was flubbed a poor clearing attempt (hell foul that player at the top of the 18 if you have too) was made by our defender to allow a beautiful left footed curl to the far side post. Our keeper fell backwards twice trying to get back into position however the bigger question is why did she open handed parry-palm the ball out and not use her double fists. If she double-fists the ball it is cleared outside the 18. Take a look at how the 1st goal develops our back line is flat and a beautiful through ball is sent giving an outright breakaway our keeper comes out and makes herself "BIG" and even gets a piece of the ball which allows #17 to save a goal all 17 had to was left foot the ball out for a corner yet she toe taps the ball back to the CR attacker. One cannot kick a ball with the foot that is planted in front of ones body.

There are a lot of positives to come out of making it to the semi final round & those players who make the jump to the seniors will know what it takes to get the team to the next rounds as well. Can anyone tell us if we have a full time goaltender coach as with the 20's & even the senior's there are a few things that need to be tided up (basic fundamentals). All in all the ladies should be proud of the efforts they gave and know that they can compete with the big four in Concacaf.

I see a few 20's ready to help the senior's for the upcoming CFU's in April.

Cheers    19

Some very good observations.

I still believe though in their present state the women could have outplayed CR or at least match them. In the early stages we started establishing a level of play. Some nice passes in midfield, winning the ball back quickly and making good passes to retain possession. Then I don't know what happen.

We have it in we, just we need the proper people to bring it out.

« Reply #371 on: January 21, 2014, 05:51:52 PM »
Elan, we waitin fuh yuh to ship dong dat two footed secret weapon whey does be trainin in yuh backyard
we need de help

OTOH if the Corneal coronation is allowed to continue...we dead

« Reply #372 on: January 21, 2014, 07:01:44 PM »
In the early stages we started establishing a level of play. Some nice passes in midfield, winning the ball back quickly and making good passes to retain possession. Then I don't know what happen.
Yuh gotta be fit to keep dat up fuh 90 minutes.

Yuh also have to be tactically aware to adapt when/if yuh opponent switch strategy

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #373 on: January 23, 2014, 11:00:35 AM »
We definitely do not rest anyone for the match versus the USA. This is what the girls have been training for. We play all our starters as usual, we play the game like we have been all tournament & that is too attack and keep attacking. We saw what happened with the U-17's recently when they tried to defend only. Their is no energy to attack when you are chasing the ball in your half all the time.

I would play a 3-5-2 or a 3-4-3 and instruct our wide mid-fielders of their responsibilities on both sides of the ball (that is providing we have practiced these formations throughout our training-sessions). If we rest our best & then we get smoked everyone's "mindsets" will be deflated. Our confidence is high right now despite what just occurred against the Mexican's & we need every ounce of confidence we can muster moving forward. We will get scored on however everyone's mindsets must be that we can also score. Just my two cents for what it is worth.

Cheers   19

3-4-3 or 3-5-2 vs the USA 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3 is asking to be destroyed.
First off, it doesn't matter what formation is used or who plays, they will be destroyed. These are the facts. The U.S. takes their football (especially women's football) seriously. We do not. The U.S. makes sure their teams are well prepared, well trained (from early) and regularly play against quality opposition, we do not. They put a support system in place so players can excel to and maintain their full potential. Lord knows we do not. It is time T&T stop playing the fool with this try ah thing football. This goes for the men too. Do the research, get the resources,go to work and be consistent with your efforts. That's how you qualify for a world cup. Not hoping and praying for a miracle. Ridiculousness.
Just wondering if resting key players in the US game could have made any difference in the late stages of the CR game since it appeared that the team was exhausted. Squandering a 3-1 lead with 20 minutes left with a WC berth on the line I find very hard to accept.
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #374 on: January 23, 2014, 02:38:32 PM »
TT captain, manager still heartbroken
T&T Newsday

National Under-20 women’s football captain Anique Walker says she is sorry her team had to disappoint the country after failing to qualify for the 2014 FIFA Under 20 women’s World Cup set for Canada from August 5-24.

The national team missed out on a spot in the global tournament after falling to Costa Rica 7-3 in extra time in the third place play-off of the CONCACAF Championships in the Cayman Islands on Sunday. Speaking at a reception hosted by the Ministry of Sports at the Trinidad Hilton yesterday, Walker thanked Sports Minister Anil Roberts for his support.

“I want to thank everybody. (The experience) was amazing and heartbreaking. It will haunt me for the rest of my life. Minister Roberts came out on a Saturday morning (previously) and trained the team. I want to also thank the (technical) staff — Mr (Anton) Corneal, you are one of the best coaches. To my team, it was a wonderful journey; to the country, I never saw so much support (with) Facebook and twitter messages, it made us feel good to continue on. Sorry to disappoint. We just have to keep the faith and move forward,” Walker sobbed.

The combative midfielder netted a double as the Soca Princesses lead the Costa Ricans 3-2 with five minutes left in the game before the Central Americans equalised and sent the game into extra time. However, the opponents hit four goals past the tiring TT women who could not keep them at bay.

Team manager Lynda Hoyte-Sanchez was in tears as she spoke to the audience which included Minister Roberts, Trinidad and Tobago Football Association president Raymond Tim-Kee, former Strike squad players Clayton Morris, Leonson Lewis, World 400m hurdles champion Jehue Gordon and Commonwealth medallist Cleoptra Borel.

“The journey for this team was long. We had some really rough roads, there were obstacles along the way. We were able to surpass obstacles and move forward,” Hoyte-Sanchez said, while acknowledging the support of Roberts.

“This team created history as it was the first time we had the Minister of Sport come out and train with the team and motivate them and I really want to say thanks. We are thankful to the Ministry of Sports and the Sports Company. Without their help I am not sure we would have been anywhere close to where we were,” she continued.

Meanwhile, the TT manager sobbed as she revealed the team anticipated the game against Costa Rica to be a tough one.

“Before we left (Trinidad), we knew Costa Rica was the game that we had to face. Everything worked according to the plan that technical director Anton Corneal had. Without him, we would not have been that close to getting to the World Cup. We knew the Costa Rica game would have been the game of our lives. We went out there, we stuck to the plan, I just don’t know what happened. We had 85 minutes of glory, we were in Canada (for the World Cup). We saw ourselves there but the plane turned around and brought us back home,” she said as tears streamed down her face.

“We wanted to do this so bad for the country and also to lift women’s football in Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean. We had full support of Cayman Islands and Jamaica. It is hard as we feel we let the country down,” she concluded.

Sport Minister Roberts commended the players for their efforts and promised the Ministry’s support of the team. He said with their performance, he can argue for more funding for sports.

TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee also praised the players but believes fitness played a part in their demise.

“As I saw it, you (TT) are the better team than Costa Rica but fitness was an issue. I am proud that you are pioneers. You were the first women’s team to get that close to qualifying for a World Cup,” he declared.

« Reply #375 on: January 24, 2014, 12:37:17 PM »
CWU20: Passion, Power and Progress
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/x9JwkJzDnvc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/x9JwkJzDnvc</a>

Liked how T&T's Soca Princesses sung Machel's "Float" at the end of the video!
They did their best and did our country proud and should be given a nice welcome back home!!

BEST GOALS - CWU20
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/L3pVaRAW-H0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/L3pVaRAW-H0</a>

T&T is featured in 2 of the best goals of the CONCACAF Women's U-20 Championships, one for and one against.

U-20 Women's World Cup CANADA 2014
« Reply #376 on: August 05, 2014, 06:34:47 AM »
Starts today. Show de young ladies some love. It's unfortunate we are not in the mix.

Today:

Finland v North Korea
Germany v US
China v Brazil
Canada v Ghana

Re: U-20 Women's World Cup CANADA 2014
« Reply #377 on: August 08, 2014, 04:23:07 PM »

« Reply #378 on: August 08, 2014, 06:47:13 PM »
Germany vs China is rel bachanal right now is 5-5 in the 80th.

« Reply #379 on: August 16, 2014, 06:01:04 PM »
After 1-1 through full time and extra time, the USWNT U20 goes down to PRK on PKs.

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #380 on: August 18, 2014, 05:00:16 PM »
NGA is getting stronger by the game.I think they will do it.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2014, 03:54:45 PM by mwanasoka »
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #381 on: August 20, 2014, 03:35:19 PM »
PRK 2  NGA  6 @ min 85.

OSHOALA #4 4 goals.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2014, 03:56:13 PM by mwanasoka »

« Reply #382 on: August 20, 2014, 09:37:21 PM »
KOREA DPR 2 vs  NIGERIA 6

GERMANY 2 vs FRANCE 1

« Reply #383 on: August 24, 2014, 06:59:40 PM »
NGR just 'unscored' a goal with a Chris Webber type moment. So enthusiastic to smash the ball into the net, a fwd in an offside position needlessly touched a ball that didn't need her help to make it into the goal. If GER wins this WC, she will never live that moment down!

« Reply #384 on: August 24, 2014, 07:02:27 PM »
Game gone past regulation exclusively thanks to her ... advantage GER.

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #385 on: August 24, 2014, 07:10:17 PM »
The German keeper just barely save the Nigerian shot on goal which put the second Nigerian onside.That is a francomente goal .That ref and announcer ain't got no shame. Robbery.This is how they are World Power.

« Reply #386 on: August 24, 2014, 07:11:11 PM »
Never bet against the Germans ... #18.

« Reply #387 on: August 24, 2014, 07:12:43 PM »
The German keeper just barely save the Nigerian shot on goal which put the second Nigerian onside.That is a francomente goal .That ref and announcer ain't got no shame. Robbery.This is how they are World Power.

How this making sense?

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #388 on: August 24, 2014, 07:19:17 PM »
The keeper got her hands on the ball which puts the second Nigerian attacker onsides.Simple.

« Reply #389 on: August 24, 2014, 07:26:15 PM »
The keeper got her hands on the ball which puts the second Nigerian attacker onsides.Simple.

Well this is quite wrong. If you were offside when the shot is taken, you remain offside for the rebound.