March 28, 2024, 09:45:26 AM

Author Topic: U-20 Women's Team Thread.  (Read 103390 times)

Re: U-20 Women's Team Thread.
« Reply #750 on: February 27, 2020, 02:47:34 PM »
haiti up 2 nil

7 starting T&T players on the bench...

4.Latifha Pascall, 15.Arnelle Douglas, 7.Sarah De Gannes, 8.Maria-Frances Serrant, 9.Afiyah Cornwall, 11.Chrissy Mitchell, 12.Cayla Mc Farlane.

Haiti using their full team except for Flero Supris.

« Last Edit: February 27, 2020, 02:49:55 PM by Flex »

« Reply #751 on: February 27, 2020, 03:28:45 PM »
it's a slaughter right now 7-0 well at least he was honest about where the girls levels were 7-0 without the starters is still scary to think about

« Reply #752 on: February 27, 2020, 04:17:11 PM »
Haiti's lucky 7 vs second string Soca Princesses see them top group.
By Inshan Mohammed.

7 goals scored; 7 starters on the bench.

With seven of its starting players on the bench, head coach Richard Hood took a gamble today which didn't pay off in the end and paid a hefty price for his decision in the hands of Haiti. The Soca Princesses crashed to a 7-0 defeat from a powerful Haitian team in the U-20 Women’s World Cup qualifiers at the Estadio Panamericano in San Cristobal, Dominican Republic.

However, all is not lost for T&T as they have had already booked their place in the playoffs and was already looking towards the next rounds even before the game had kicked-off, hence the reason coach Hood rested some of his starting players.

Still, a 7-0 defeat in todays' football is no excuse, even for a so-called second string team as it would definitely leave a lot of questions to be answered about the T&T players and their coaching staff. But, that's a discussion which will have to take place between coach Richard Hood and his employers.

Haiti on the other hand, have been the sleeping giants of the Caribbean lately and have been so for the past few of years as that country's football team have been very successful at all levels, both men and women. They are becoming the football nation we once knew in the 70s where they were a force to be reckoned with.

The Melchie Dumornay led team got things going as early as the 6th minute through none other than the captain herself. She then doubled the lead 10 minutes later to give Haiti a 2 goal advantage. How ironic, Dumornay likes scoring with the number 6 next to it it seems, she completed her hat-trick in minute 66, (that's 6, 16 & 66).... Sigh!

Valentina Ornis was also having a field day with T&T as well as Florsie Joseph. Both players scoring 2-goals apiece to add to T&T's miseries.

Valentina Ornis got hers in the 21st and 39th minutes and Florsie Joseph matched that with a pair herself in the 22nd and 52nd minutes respectively to seal its 7-0 triumph over their southern Caribbean neighbours.

United States and Haiti have so far the best goal average going into the playoffs with a +24 and +22 respectively.

T&T meanwhile, will now look ahead to the next rounds with a possibility of facing the winner of the Puerto Rico versus Nicaragua match which will be determined later today. While Haiti faces Barbados, both games scheduled for March 01st.

T&T has already beaten Puerto Rico 3-0 in a friendly build-up in preparations for this tournament and maybe coach Hood's decision to rest some of his starting players may not turn out to be a bad idea after all. Time will tell for the Princesses and their coach what lies ahead.

“We are obviously disappointed not so with the result but the magnitude of the result,” Richard Hood told TTFA Media.

“Our plans going into the game were simply to rest players in preparation for that all-important game against Puerto Rico. We had a lot of players who had low energy levels and we had some players who were hurting and they needed to take a break. The thinking going into the game was to rest some of the more important players for that game on Sunday.

“The game plan was to try and resist them as long as possible, to defend deep, to present a block for them and look to hit them on the counter.

”I think the girls lost confidence pretty early having conceded that first goal off the corner and the game plan fell apart a bit. I spoke to them at half time and encouraged them and emphasise some of the things that we weren’t doing well. I think in the second half we got a much better response from them. All in all I was not as displeased with the performance in the second half. I think the girls tried their best considering that many of them haven’t played much and some of them haven’t played at all in the tournament, again under trying conditions in terms of the heat.

“We have two days to prepare for the game against Puerto Rico. First and foremost we will look at how we can recover those players that we expect to have in the starting line up and those who will be on the bench. We will look at the recovery process and prepare as best as we can for Sunday’s game,” Hood concluded.

Final Group F Results

St Kitts & Nevis 2 (Iyanla Bailey-Williams 4-Pen, Zonia Marshall 70) v Cayman Islands 3 (Molly Kehoe 17-Pen, Alexia Bromfield 47, 84)

Haiti 7 (Melchie Dumornay 6, 16, 60, Valentina Ornis 21, 39, Florsie Joseph 22, 52) v Trinidad & Tobago 0  -  View Full Match  /  Match Highlights

Teams

Haiti: 1.Madelina Fleuriot; 4.Ruthny Mathurin, 14.Valentina Ornis, 2.Tabita Joseph, 19.Maudeline Moryl, 7.Abaina Louis (17.Flero Supris 66), 8.Danielle Etienne, 9.Florsie Joseph (3.Meghan St Cyr 61), 10.Melchie Dumornay (capt), 11.Betina Petit Frere, 16.Dayana Pierre (13.Mariline Guerrier 77).

Unused Subs: 12.Nahomie Ambroise, 18.Rose Alya Marcellus, 20.Rose Pierreline France, 5.Estericove Joseph, 15.Gaelle Dumas, 6.Mirlene Dorce.

Coach: Laurent Mortel (FRA).

Trinidad & Tobago: 1.Klil Keshwar (capt); 2.Roshun Williams (Yellow - 90), 3.Nathifa Hackshaw, 5.Tsai-Anne Fernández, 6.Aaliyah Pascall (7.Sarah De Gannes 57 - 12.Cayla Mc Farlane 74), 16.Sydni Greaves, 13.Megan Rampersad, 14.Moenesa Mejias, 10.Alexcia Alí, 17.Celine Loraine, 20.Tori Paul.

Unused Subs: 18.Chelsea Ramnauth; 4.Latifha Pascall, 15.Arnelle Douglas, 8.Maria-Frances Serrant, 9.Afiyah Cornwall, 11.Chrissy Mitchell, 19.Aaliyan Prince.

Coach: Richard Hood (TRI).

Referee: Katia Garcia (MEX).

Standings - Group F

P  W  D  L  F  A  GD  Pts
Haiti  (A) 3  3  0  0  22  0  +22  9
Trinidad & Tobago (A)  3  3  0  0  8  7  +1  6
Cayman Islands (A)  3  1  0  2  3  12  -9  3
St Kitts & Nevis  3  0  0  3  2  16  -14  0

RELATED NEWS

Dumornay dominates as Haiti rout T&T 7-0, Look Loy explains decision to use reserve players.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

The Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Under-20 Team completed their Group F assignments today on the wrong side of a fierce whipping, as they were routed 7-0 by Haiti in Concacaf Championship action at the Estadio Panamericano in San Cristóbal, Dominican Republic.

The Women Soca Warriors, who were already guaranteed a top two group finish after successive wins over St Kitts and Nevis and the Cayman Islands, advance to the Round of 16 as runners-up while Haiti topped the group after racking up an eye-popping 22 goals in three matches.

Haitian captain and playmaker Melchie Dumornay, who played at the 2018 France Under-20 World Cup and is still just 16 years old, led the way with a hattrick today—which put her joint top of the Concacaf scoring chart, alongside United States forward Mia Fishel with six goals.

Haiti face Barbados next from 1pm on Sunday while Trinidad and Tobago tackle Group D third placed team, Puerto Rico, from 4pm.

Barbados, who finished third in their Caribbean qualifying Group B, were allowed to advance straight to the Round of 16 to face a group winner while the qualifying group champion, St Kitts, competed in the Concacaf group stage and were eliminated today after a 3-2 loss by the Cayman Islands, led by ex-Trinidad and Tobago Women’s coach Stephan De Four.

It is probably not even the most bizarre feature of Concacaf competitions these days. Trinidad and Tobago’s weekend match will be their fourth game in nine days. As a result, coach Richard Hood, encouraged by TTFA technical committee chairman Keith Look Loy, effectively opted to shoulder arms today.

The young Women Soca Warriors did not show up against Haiti in more ways than one as Hood withdrew seven starters from T&T’s last fixture—including team captain Afiyah Cornwall, who was Concacaf’s second highest scorer with five goals—and effectively conceded the result before the opening whistle.

“Our team was on the bench resting [today and] will be fresher for the Round of 16 match [against Puerto Rico],” Look Loy told Wired868. “We will have had more rest than our opponents come the weekend’s match and therefore we took a calculated decision. This is the art of war. You don’t win a campaign by trying to win every battle—not necessarily.

“So it was a strategic decision to rest our starting team in this match, concede first place to Haiti—who we would have had to beat outright, which is a formidable task—and accept second place and play against the third place team. And that explains our decision.”

Puerto Rico have used only 12 different outfield players for their three group matches; Trinidad and Tobago have used 18. So there can be little question that the Warriors should be the fresher of the two teams on the weekend.

The psychological impact of today’s lopsided result on the Trinidad and Tobago camp as well as the disappointment for the players who missed the chance to face the Caribbean’s fast rising women’s team is another matter. But Look Loy said pragmatism was the priority.

“As to the other factors about supposed national pride and the ego and the negative effect it might have on the players’ thinking and so on,” he said, “the players know what is happening—this has been explained to [them].”

Hood was the only coach who gave his best players the afternoon off, though. There could be no questioning the intent of the Haitian contingent.

Coach Laurent Mortel started 10 of the 11 players who kicked off the competition for the French-speaking islanders and they seized immediate control of the match.

Dumornay got her first crack of goal within the first minute as Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper K’lil Keshwar, who was named the team captain for the day, was immediately put to work. And by the time the referee signalled the first water break in the 29th minute, Haiti were already four goals clear and the match was done and dusted.

Dumornay, built like a truck with the light feet of a dancer, played a key role in three of them. First, she scored directly off a corner kick in the sixth minute as she penalised Trinidad and Tobago’s decision not to put a defender on the near post. Then, she pounced on a defensive error to burst clear and struck between Keshwar’s legs for the second item in the 16th minute.

For the third item, Dumornay made opposing left back Nathifa Hackshaw look as though she was standing in wet cement, as she flew past her before crossing for Valentina Ornis to finish expertly at the far post.

Haiti’s fourth goal was a tribute to crafty, slender forward Abaina Louis, as she dribbled past T&T right back Roshun Williams and then central defender Tsai-Anne Fernandez before crossing for Florsie Joseph to score with a precise header. Each item seemingly better than the last.

Dumornay almost had an outrageous assist for the fifth, as she scooped a pass into the path of fellow midfielder Danielle Etienne. Keshwar clattered into Etienne for a cast-iron penalty call, only the Haitians spared the match official of the trouble as Ornis volleyed in the loose ball.

The halftime score read Haiti 5, Trinidad and Tobago 0—and, if anything, the scoreline flattered the twin island republic.

“Haiti [are] a genuine World Cup threat within Concacaf women’s football today,” said Look Loy. “Seven of the players in the Haiti squad played in the last Under-20 World Cup. It is a quality outfit… The Haitian Federation has made massive investment in women’s football over the last 20 years.

“I, Look Loy, was the Fifa official responsible for building the first technical centre [there] in 2003 or 2004. Since then they have been concentrating all their women’s selections in the technical centre where they eat, sleep and breathe football—training twice a day and so on.

“Our programme is in no way able to compete with theirs at this point in time.”

Six minutes after the interval, Haiti got their sixth goal as Joseph stabbed past Keshwar off a left side cross. And the scorer did a curious thing with the fixture already over as a contest. She sprinted to the back of the net to retrieve the ball and then ran with it to the half line.

Haiti are not satisfied to win games. They want to destroy opponents—just like the free-scoring American women always set out to do.

Dumornay made it 7-0 in the 60th minute with a beautiful curling free kick around the T&T wall that would probably scored no matter the sex of the opposing custodian. And then, thankfully, Mortel called off his ladies as he replaced his entire front three. They, undoubtedly, have more damage to do in the knockout stages.

And yet Hood’s most painful moment might have come after the goals stopped flowing. He sent on key midfielder Sarah De Gannes in the 57th minute but she lasted just 15 minutes before she appeared to twist an ankle and was replaced.

If the objective was to protect Trinidad and Tobago’s best players, then even that was not an unqualified success.

By the final whistle, the Warriors managed a solitary shot on target, which was a tame effort by Celine Loraine that offered only catching practice to Haiti goalkeeper Madelina Fleuriot. In contrast, Haiti had 11 shots on target and nine off target while the north Caribbean team also enjoyed 62 per cent ball possession.

Look Loy said today’s heavy defeat showed the weakness of the TTFA’s development programme in ensuring that each squad has a deep reservoir of quality players available for selection. That, he said, will be addressed in time.

For now, he is anxious for the quarterfinal finish that he requested of Hood’s outfit before the tournament kicked off.

“We understand the importance for the women’s programme of this team going forward as far as the quarterfinal,” said Look Loy. “This is the objective that I, as the chairman, set for the team—and which I have set for all our teams.

“So we understand the political importance and the spiritual importance of getting this team into the quarterfinal and hopefully beyond, in this first tournament that the new administration is playing.”

Cornwall, who scored a hattrick against Puerto Rico in T&T’s pre-tournament win, will hope to compensate for today’s day off when her team face them again on Sunday.

But today belonged to the devilishly skilful Dumornay and deft Haitian women’s squad.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 1.K’lil Keshwar (GK) (captain); 2.Roshun Williams, 5.Tsai-Anne Fernandez, 14.Moenesa Mejias, 3.Nathifa Hackshaw; 13.Megan Rampersad, 6.Aaliyah Pascall (7.Sarah De Gannes 57 [12.Cayla McFarlane 73]); 16.Sydni Greaves, 10.Alexcia Ali, 20.Tori Paul; 17.Cecile Loraine.

Unused substitutes: 18.Chelsea Ramnauth (GK), 4.Latifha Pascall, 8.Maria-Frances Serrant, 9.Afiyah Cornwall, 11.Chrissy Mitchell, 15.Arnelle Douglas, 19.Aaliyah Prince.

Coach: Richard Hood

Haiti (4-3-3): 1.Madelina Fleuriot (GK); 11.Betina Petit-Frere, 19.Maudeline Moryl, 2.Dougenie Tabita Joseph, 4.Ruthny Mathurin; 8.Danielle Etienne, 10.Melchie Dumornay (captain), 14.Valentina Ornis; 9.Florsie Joseph (3.Meghane St Cyr 60), 7.Abaina Louis (17.Flero Surpris 56), 16.Dayana Pierre (13.Mariline Guerrier 77).

Unused substitutes: 12.Nahomie Ambrosie (GK), 5.Estericove Joseph, 6.Mirlene Dorce, 15.Gaelle Dumas, 18.Rose-Alya Marcellus, 20.Rose Pierreline France.

Coach: Laurent Mortel

Wired868 Player of the Match: Melchie Dumornay (Haiti)

« Last Edit: March 03, 2020, 12:16:48 PM by Flex »

« Reply #753 on: February 27, 2020, 04:55:36 PM »
it sad dat we often have to choose between resting starters, losing momentum and d added effect of denting d confidence of d backup players does also be ah factor, not to mention dat d first team does miss d opportunity of a tough test

« Reply #754 on: February 28, 2020, 05:04:10 AM »
it sad dat we often have to choose between resting starters, losing momentum and d added effect of denting d confidence of d backup players does also be ah factor, not to mention dat d first team does miss d opportunity of a tough test
Absolutely correct about momentum.. Did they need a rest or did they need a tougher test ? Also what about destroying the confidence of the substitutes. A reserve player plays with the top players against any opposition. Resting one or two players for knocks is sensible, but more than half the team... is a not practical imo
« Last Edit: February 28, 2020, 05:29:11 AM by maxg »

« Reply #755 on: February 28, 2020, 05:29:06 AM »
Why not give Keshwar the day off too? As it is she didn't get one.  Chelsea Ramnauth?

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #756 on: February 28, 2020, 07:22:28 AM »
I don't get his logic. Was he trying to avoid playing Barbados? I mean why not giving your best players a chance to try themselves against the best opponents they would have faced so far, especially in a low risk match where both teams already qualified? I would understand Haiti not playing its best players versus Trinidad because honestly we already know Haiti is the better team at least on the paper and also Haiti has faced better opponents (they played France, Jamaica, and other African teams). They beat Jamaica 4-1 just two weeks ago. However, to bench not one or two starters but 7 is ridiculous. In my mind, it is like denying the kids a chance to try themselves against a decent opponent,
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #757 on: February 28, 2020, 07:49:44 AM »
I don't get his logic. Was he trying to avoid playing Barbados? I mean why not giving your best players a chance to try themselves against the best opponents they would have faced so far, especially in a low risk match where both teams already qualified? I would understand Haiti not playing its best players versus Trinidad because honestly we already know Haiti is the better team at least on the paper and also Haiti has faced better opponents (they played France, Jamaica, and other African teams). They beat Jamaica 4-1 just two weeks ago. However, to bench not one or two starters but 7 is ridiculous. In my mind, it is like denying the kids a chance to try themselves against a decent opponent,

I agree with we coach.

T&T didn't play a lot of build up games and he didn't want to exhaust or risk injury to de players to much.

I guess he figure Barbados or Puerto Rico are beatable, save them for them.

Ask yuh self if yuh best player did get injured vs T&T in a meaningless game and had to miss de rest of Haiti games.

« Reply #758 on: February 28, 2020, 08:15:48 AM »
Absolutely correct about momentum.. Did they need a rest or did they need a tougher test ? Also what about destroying the confidence of the substitutes. A reserve player plays with the top players against any opposition. Resting one or two players for knocks is sensible, but more than half the team... is a not practical imo

There are valid arguments on both sides to rest or not rest multiple starters. But this is a common strategy in tournaments. We know our teams are typically not among the fittest, and the girls have been playing games every two days. None of the girls have really been active because SSFL and USA Colleges are not in season, and the team has not been together long. So what yuh really want dem to do?

But I do agree that psyche of the team has to be managed well. In any event, the margin of defeat just shows us that the squad lacks depth. There are other players that could have been brought in, but school commitments prevent some from being here.

Of course if we don't achieve the stated objective of reaching the quarterfinal then it would be shown to be a colossal error.

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #759 on: February 28, 2020, 05:46:55 PM »

There are valid arguments on both sides to rest or not rest multiple starters. But this is a common strategy in tournaments. We know our teams are typically not among the fittest, and the girls have been playing games every two days. None of the girls have really been active because SSFL and USA Colleges are not in season, and the team has not been together long. So what yuh really want dem to do?

But I do agree that psyche of the team has to be managed well. In any event, the margin of defeat just shows us that the squad lacks depth. There are other players that could have been brought in, but school commitments prevent some from being here.

Of course if we don't achieve the stated objective of reaching the quarterfinal then it would be shown to be a colossal error.
I too criticize the Haitian coach for not resting his starters after the first Half when the game was 5-0  at half time. But I still don't understand the logic of avoiding Barbados to play Puerto Rico, on paper PR is higher rank and a better opponent historically..Barbados only really beats Anguila and Grenada and losing 4-1 to St Kitts that both T&T and Haiti anahanilated. Bbn.        PR had a tougher route to get here than Barbados
« Last Edit: February 28, 2020, 08:57:26 PM by truehaitian »

« Reply #760 on: February 29, 2020, 06:57:39 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Women battle Puerto Rico in Round of 16 clash
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Women’s team will be seeking a place in the quarter finals of the CONCACAF Women’s Under 20 Championship when they face Puerto Rico in the Round of 16 clash at the Estadio Panamericano in San Cristobal from 4:00pm on Sunday.

T&T are coming off two wins in their three group stage games including a 7-0 loss to group winners Haiti on Thursday. Head Coach Richard hood rested seven of his starters in that encounter but T&T are expected to be at full strength for the Puerto Ricans. T&T defeated this same team 3-0 in a warm-up match prior to the start of the competition.

“I think the players are really look forward to getting on the pitch tomorrow. They are confident in their abilities to do the job against Puerto Rico… confident without being over-confident. Of course we know we have played them before and we have beaten them. Tomorrow obviously is a different game and we will approach it accordingly. We look forward to the challenge, working hard and achieving the goal which is getting into the quarter finals,” Hood told TTFA Media on Saturday.

“The mood in the camp is great, Everybody is upbeat. We had a couple of players with niggling injuries but for the most part everyone will be available for tomorrow.”

T&T captain Afiyah Cornwall is among the top five goalscorers in the competition with five goals so far.

Once T&T progresses, they will face the winner of the Mexico versus Grenada encounter in the quarter finals. Those two teams will also face each other at 4pm. Haiti faces Barbados at 1pm an Guyana meet Cayman Islands at 7pm.

In his post-game comments, head coach Hood admitted he took the decision to rest his key players for the next fixture.

“We are obviously disappointed not so much with the result but the magnitude of the result,” Hood told TTFA Media.

“Our plans going into the game were simply to rest players in preparation for that all-important game against Puerto Rico. We had a lot of players who had low energy levels and we had some players who were hurting and they needed to take a break. The thinking going into the game was to rest some of the more important players for that game on Sunday.

“The game plan was to try and resist them as long as possible, to defend deep, to present a block for them and look to hit them on the counter.

” I think the girls lost confidence pretty early having conceded that first goal off the corner and the game plan fell apart a bit. I spoke to them at half time and encouraged them and emphasise some of the things that we weren’t doing well. I think in the second half we got a much better response from them. All in all I was not as displeased with the performance in the second half. I think the girls tried their best considering that many of them haven’t played much and some of them haven’t played at all in the tournament, again under trying conditions in terms of the heat.

“We have two days to prepare for the game against Puerto Rico. First and foremost we will look at how we can recover those players that we expect to have in the starting line up and those who will be on the bench. We will look at the recovery process and prepare as best as we can for Sunday’s game,” Hood concluded

« Reply #761 on: February 29, 2020, 08:42:03 PM »
I too criticize the Haitian coach for not resting his starters after the first Half when the game was 5-0  at half time. But I still don't understand the logic of avoiding Barbados to play Puerto Rico, on paper PR is higher rank and a better opponent historically..Barbados only really beats Anguila and Grenada and losing 4-1 to St Kitts that both T&T and Haiti anahanilated ..PR had a tougher route to get here

This has been at the back of my mind since I saw the Starting XI. Ordinarily getting PR at the potential expense of not getting Barbados would undercut the rationale of not playing the most competitive XI, but in this instance the scales are tipped by what the likely outcome of the Haiti match would have been. It is less likely than likely that we would have defeated Haiti. We both know that.

Yet, having played PR in a scrimmage prior to competition ... with Cornwall as the focal point of the attack and likely not much tactical variation or reposturing to be coming in the rematch, I would have preferred Barbados as an opponent for stylistic and pragmatic reasons. It's not unlikely that the PR bout could  be a more drawn out affair than the Barbados match would have been.  Certainly, I don't see PR ignoring Cornwall or not better coming to terms with her proposition.

At the end of the day doh, this is what the cut and thrust about managing decisions are all about and there is not necessarily an absolutely correct answer to solving how to progress to the next stage.

I note that Hood takes comfort from the defensive errors involved in each of the seven goals,  but still I think that optimism ignores or minimizes the issues of collective defensive understanding implicated in those goals although there are undeniable examples of 1 v 1 exposure. While the 1 v 1s are as plain as looking in a mirror,  the cloud in collective understanding can't treat or remedy in 48 hours what was Haiti's superior decision-making and thought and what will be a more ambitious PR.

Your players knew where they would play the next pass and were prepared to impose themselves on us regardless of how many opposing players were presented to them defensively around the ball. The coaching intention to which they were exposed is clear. Kudos to Haiti for that.  Some moments reminded of a younger Deyna Castellanos responding to the supporting players around her.

Regardless of who starts for Trinidad/Tobago, I'm looking to see if we arm ourself to not drag out Sunday's affair versus PR. 

A closing note: I would like to see Serrant operating on the right (not on the flank,  but attacking goal via one of the internal corridors moving R to L). She's overly conscious about preferring her dominant foot and has tended to try to accommodate that preference. In my view she could be influential and incisive operating in an orthodox role that takes her R to L diagonally  or decisively R towards the line/goal.  It gives her the option of penetrating directly or combining with Cornwall or of supporting Cornwall and/or a 2nd joining player. Aside from not overly thinking or favoring her R foot,  I think she has the goods to challenge the PR GK from considering shooting options taken early from outside/at the edge of the penalty area.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2020, 06:07:30 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #762 on: March 01, 2020, 11:28:42 AM »
I just tuned in to Haiti v BGI. They were taking the ball out of the Bajan net.  Match restarted at the center circle  and Haiti immediately retrieved the ball and scored in a matter of seconds. 5-0 with less than 30' on the clock. Both of those goals by Dumornay.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2020, 11:32:56 AM by asylumseeker »

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #763 on: March 01, 2020, 12:52:15 PM »
I just tuned in to Haiti v BGI. They were taking the ball out of the Bajan net.  Match restarted at the center circle  and Haiti immediately retrieved the ball and scored in a matter of seconds. 5-0 with less than 30' on the clock. Both of those goals by Dumornay.
make that 12-0 Haiti, Haiti has now scored 33 goals in 4 games.

« Reply #764 on: March 01, 2020, 02:05:16 PM »
link for the Game?

Got it. You Tube

T&T 1 PR 0
« Last Edit: March 01, 2020, 02:17:33 PM by Cocorite »

« Reply #765 on: March 01, 2020, 02:54:01 PM »
some observations:
they should press the CBs and GK especially when d GK drops the ball to feet, it have an error there to force
d wingers should be covering d channel between CB and FB similar to point 1 it have errors dey to force

big takeaway, we too passive in PR third off d ball

« Reply #766 on: March 01, 2020, 02:56:28 PM »
As alluded to above, the match is going to be a dragged out affair.  At half time,  the teams are tied 2-2.

We need a dose of adrenaline.

« Reply #767 on: March 01, 2020, 03:04:07 PM »
I'll say again d PR GK have ah error if we press

« Reply #768 on: March 01, 2020, 03:04:36 PM »
some observations:
they should press the CBs and GK especially when d GK drops the ball to feet, it have an error there to force
d wingers should be covering d channel between CB and FB similar to point 1 it have errors dey to force

RE: the CB and FB comment

It appears that we are deliberately conceding that space and ceding them time on the ball. It's a time-tested resource in T&T of which I'm not a huge fan, particularly when overused or not varied to keep the opposing players honest/guessing. But considering fitness levels, it's perhaps a good fit for intermittently pedestrian football.

I think the distances we are establishing between front and back are a bit less than ideal, but this is one of the characteristics that I expected would drag the match out and to our detriment. Makes everything more opportunistic than imposed. 

« Last Edit: March 01, 2020, 03:07:06 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #769 on: March 01, 2020, 03:12:05 PM »
what a miss :banginghead: :banginghead: come on girls  :challenge: :challenge: :challenge: :bringiton:

« Reply #770 on: March 01, 2020, 03:14:58 PM »
See what Serrant just did? Declined to shoot because the ball was accommodated for her L,  then pivoted and retreated with the ball 30 yards.  SMH. 

« Reply #771 on: March 01, 2020, 03:17:56 PM »
some observations:

RE: the CB and FB comment

It appears that we are deliberately conceding that space and ceding them time on the ball. It's a time-tested resource in T&T of which I'm not a huge fan, particularly when overused or not varied to keep the opposing players honest/guessing. But considering fitness levels, it's perhaps a good fit for intermittently pedestrian football.

I think the distances we are establishing between front and back are a bit less than ideal, but this is one of the characteristics that I expected would drag the match out and to our detriment. Makes everything more opportunistic than imposed. 

agree we need to be more compact d CBs lil to far in possession, they need to get up to the half line like in previous games we have been pressing more at the start of the half hopefully we can keep it up

« Reply #772 on: March 01, 2020, 03:21:51 PM »
See what Serrant just did? Declined to shoot because the ball was accommodated for her L,  then pivoted and retreated with the ball 30 yards.  SMH. 
I have seen our girls not being able to figure out efficient ways to get into their stronger foot, usually it involves some awkward movement that can put the player in trouble

« Reply #773 on: March 01, 2020, 03:27:08 PM »
We are needlessly complicating a not complicated opponent.

« Reply #774 on: March 01, 2020, 03:48:25 PM »
we could of had this tied up at least 2-3 three times

« Reply #775 on: March 01, 2020, 04:01:10 PM »
decisions seem more mechanical than logical at times

« Reply #776 on: March 01, 2020, 04:05:06 PM »
What stand out to me and absolutely peeves me is the number of times defenders kick the ball out of bounds under no pressure.  :frustrated:

We not valuing the ball at all

« Reply #777 on: March 01, 2020, 04:07:21 PM »
Painful to watch . . .I gave up before half time. Dais we bess coach?

« Reply #778 on: March 01, 2020, 04:09:19 PM »
What stand out to me and absolutely peeves me is the number of times defenders kick the ball out of bounds under no pressure.  :frustrated:

We not valuing the ball at all

dais what ah mean above, is like only one instruction she using, no initiative or creative thought going on

« Reply #779 on: March 01, 2020, 04:13:14 PM »
well finally.....goal!!