April 25, 2024, 10:38:15 PM

Author Topic: Get prepared!  (Read 4178 times)

Offline lizzard1910

Get prepared!
« on: December 14, 2005, 05:36:27 AM »
Here are some useful links for your trip / stay:

http://www.young-germany.de/living_in_germany.html

http://www.justlanded.com/english/germany

http://www.deutschland.de/home.php?lang=2&

http://wm2006.deutschland.de/EN/Navigation/Home/home.html

http://www.handbuch-deutschland.de/index_en.html (you can order the manual for free)

http://www.jugendherberge.de/international/html/index.jsp

Two personal tips from my side:
1.) Never buy food / drinks inside airports (too expensive, except they have a supermarket inside like Munich). >> Ask for the taxi driver's bistro! Much cheaper!
2.) If you don't want to pay for public bathrooms, in city centers: Look for bigger book stores (like Hugendubel, Thalia etc.) bathrooms are free of chrge there.
 :party:

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/travel_links/view.cfm?topicID=251

Re: Get prepared!
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2005, 11:21:56 AM »
Also there are a very few Caribbean style restaurants, though probably nothing that holds a candle to real Trini food. Choose "karibisch" under "Küche-Stil"

http://www.studentenpilot.de/unterwegs/restaurants/restaurantfuehrer

Also where the Trini consulates are if yuh have passport or other problems when you're there.

http://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/www/en/laenderinfos/vertretungen/ausl_vertretung?land_id=172&path_id=Deutschland
or http://www.konsulate.de/trinidad.php

And a few German-Trinidad frienship/ex-pat/soca association type links:

http://www.friends-of-tnt.de/
http://socalypso.blogg.de/
http://www.steeldrum.de/
http://www.supaduppa.blog.de/main/
http://www.pan-jumbie.com/linksDE.htm

edit: Also a German-English dictionary
http://dict.leo.org/?lang=en&lp=ende

Cheers, E-man.

PS If you need anything translated I can try to help out. I'm originally from Germany and my wife is a Trini. We livin in Brooklyn now.

« Last Edit: December 14, 2005, 11:38:45 AM by e-man »