December 06, 2024, 01:18:44 AM

Author Topic: Comment from Zamora  (Read 9981 times)

Comment from Zamora
« on: December 16, 2005, 06:08:29 PM »
was thumbing through this month's West Ham magazine in the shop today and there is a Q&A with Bobby. One of the questions asked if he would reconsider playing for T&T if asked again. He said he had put himself forward but as he had already played ball for the England U-21 team this was not an option.

It was only a Q&A...but the response didn't seem like he was that bothered by 'missing out'.

I know this is old ground and some on the forum believe we should take any player that is elligible once they can prove their worth to the team. Unfortunately, I find it truely distasteful that Zamora and this new fella, Murphy, are/have tried to get in the team when they clearly have no affinity with the team or the country. In Murphy's case, he must think everyone in T&T know nothing about football if he expects to get into the team and yet we listen to his email overtures  >:(  How can a 30 year old man not know his mother has T&T citizenship and somehow she only brings it up when T&T in the World Cup draw? What! She never see 'The news at 10' or watch all them Trini actors (both real and fictional) on Eastenders? That ain't jog her memory? These fellas only in it for their own advancement...at least Birchall, Boucaud, Cox etc came on board when there was no garauntee of any success. I fed up with this...forget about bringing in these kind of people. Concentrate on the T&T US college players and PFL players. Let us concentrate on those who have a genuine desire to play for T&T and not a personal agenda to get some exposure (and a better contract/Club) by playing in a World Cup.

I await the 'Beenie is the coach and go select who he think is best' comments.  :(

Re: Comment from Zamora
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2005, 06:30:15 PM »
Rodney I agree with your sentiments totally.That's why I like Birchall....nothing garanteed and yu still there,plus he's 20.This Murphy guy must be think we're all fools to believe dat story he gave,plus he's 30.

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2005, 06:58:25 PM »
Rodney my boy sad to say but it sounds 'A' typical of some trinis who hide where they were born or make no mention of it to there children for reasons they only Know,until There's a situation where the country is on the world stage and suddenly they are once again happy to mention I'm a trini,I agree with you about zamora, I've been very supportive about bringing in zamora and others in the past but It has been tough,I honestly believe now that he really could care less about joining the squad even if the doors were open to him,lately I've been noticing something about him that's not right It's a kinda arrogance to suggest trini need me more than I need them,in earlier interviews with zamora he would say stuff like that's my father's country and not mines,look I have a big son born in the u.s. and currently plays in the u.s. travels to T&T as often as possible and said to me he would relish the opportunity to play for trini someday.I honestly think zamora and all those other u.k.based players who are reluctant to play for T&T because it may hurt there chances to play for england have their parents to thank for that,It's important to exposed your kids to all cultural differences in the world,particularly the culture and background of the country you came from.But at the end of the day I say F**K all ah them.           

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2005, 08:27:55 PM »
i agree wit yuh rodney de man is a total shithound

Offline cm103

« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2005, 08:48:52 PM »
Just two days ago men here was saying he looking better after he score again...

I still say try him out...if he make it fine, if Beenie doh want him in Germany...fine. At least he available for us to call on later on down d road. Who knows...he might like it here.

We Trinis does forgive and forget easy, if he come in and start bussin d net den we go love he. If he don't den he go home and we forget about him. Either way, we cyah know till he come and show we what he could do.

« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2005, 08:51:39 PM »
 Well said Rodney...Zamora doesn't give a rats ass about T&T

« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2005, 09:10:00 PM »
Just two days ago men here was saying he looking better after he score again...

I still say try him out...if he make it fine, if Beenie doh want him in Germany...fine. At least he available for us to call on later on down d road. Who knows...he might like it here.

We Trinis does forgive and forget easy, if he come in and start bussin d net den we go love he. If he don't den he go home and we forget about him. Either way, we cyah know till he come and show we what he could do.

oh gosh man of course he lookin better buh you go have ah man score goals fuh yuh while spittin on yuh at d same time. Das one step forward and two steps back. fire bun dat tremendous shit hound.

Now that hes found his tiny bit of rythem, he seems to be fine with scoring a goal a month at his EPL side.

To hell with Zamora. Dwight scorin goals wit Sydney especially that one today against AL Ahly (one of the best club teams in the WORLD NO DOUBT)  TO HELL WITH THAT BIG HEADED SHITHOUND

Offline cm103

« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2005, 09:20:01 PM »
This all seeming like men want to cut off dey nose to spite dey face

Nothing really said about d man ability to run ball...allyuh figure we is d only country dat run into dis situation since we make WC? How much goals Stern scoring when he ent getting pick for side? We need depth and options with more versatile players, we better get used to d fact dat some men we might see in germany wasn't there on d ride in. He breaking into he side in EPL when we have men on we team dat doh even make bench in smaller leagues, kinda says something about he ability.

As part of d scouting process give d man a run...Beenie is a professional and I trying to think like a pro would instead of a regular fan. Yuh figure d TTFF appealing for Jlloyd on kicks? Is because d man could offer something in terms of talent as he running ball on d highest level, same with Zamora. Dem ent studying who say and what say, dat is small island mentality. Let dem earn dey spot like everybody else.

If it doh work, den it doh work but yuh ent go know till yuh try...as far as he spitting on we...well all dat in d past now. I looking what could happen on d field not in d newspapers.

« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2005, 09:31:02 PM »
 Beenhakker good but he is not God...allyuh gettin on as though he can't make a mistake

Offline cm103

« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2005, 09:33:57 PM »
Beenhakker good but he is not God...allyuh gettin on as though he can't make a mistake

True...but he ent a Trini either and he doing this longer dan I have years...i ent see him leaving a man out who able to break into d team because he run he mouth early on before Beenie even was on board.

Offline dills

« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2005, 09:39:07 PM »
was thumbing through this month's West Ham magazine in the shop today and there is a Q&A with Bobby. One of the questions asked if he would reconsider playing for T&T if asked again. He said he had put himself forward but as he had already played ball for the England U-21 team this was not an option.

It was only a Q&A...but the response didn't seem like he was that bothered by 'missing out'.

I know this is old ground and some on the forum believe we should take any player that is elligible once they can prove their worth to the team. Unfortunately, I find it truely distasteful that Zamora and this new fella, Murphy, are/have tried to get in the team when they clearly have no affinity with the team or the country. In Murphy's case, he must think everyone in T&T know nothing about football if he expects to get into the team and yet we listen to his email overtures  >:(  How can a 30 year old man not know his mother has T&T citizenship and somehow she only brings it up when T&T in the World Cup draw? What! She never see 'The news at 10' or watch all them Trini actors (both real and fictional) on Eastenders? That ain't jog her memory? These fellas only in it for their own advancement...at least Birchall, Boucaud, Cox etc came on board when there was no garauntee of any success. I fed up with this...forget about bringing in these kind of people. Concentrate on the T&T US college players and PFL players. Let us concentrate on those who have a genuine desire to play for T&T and not a personal agenda to get some exposure (and a better contract/Club) by playing in a World Cup.

I await the 'Beenie is the coach and go select who he think is best' comments.  :(

I todally agree with you Rodney. that's exactly how I feel.

« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2005, 11:00:59 PM »
He said he had put himself forward but as he had already played ball for the England U-21 team this was not an option.

All i gather froim that answer is zamora  think he is inelligible having  played for england. why becuase fifa denied jllotd samuel request for a change.So  he thinks trinidad is not an option anymore .I really try to figure where people does be comming from.

stern eh  even making the bench and men  quiet and making excuses fuh stern saying style ah team play etc.

Offline cm103

« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2005, 11:49:41 PM »

stern eh  even making the bench and men  quiet and making excuses fuh stern saying style ah team play etc.

Dats what ah saying...we need other options, doh drop Stern but like he need a lil more competition for he spot or start coming off d bench.

I would really like to ask some members...if a man show up now, a youngster, and want to try out, we go watch d manner at which he approach d TTFF and tell him hard luck? Dis ent no small goal side where yuh play favorites and tell a man yuh fall out with he cyah play with yuh.

Its already known that d side we gonna be seeing come June is gonna be a different, how so, ah doh think anyone know yet.

Ah seeing Rodney points also and I ent denying they valid also, but side like Brazil and ting does always run into problems with men who ent want to sweat for qualifiers and want to play WC. Dem coaches also have to deal with player's egos dat bigger dan what we dealing with now. Brazil still run tings cause they play men based on dey ability.

« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2005, 10:44:43 AM »
I think some people missing the point...those who want Zamora in the mix fuh the World cup are obiviously in the 'quick fix' group. Yuh only concerned with T&T not looking sh*t in June/July. I want this World Cup journey to be the start of something..... not the END. Is this World Cup journey all just about how we perform in Germany? I have nothing against Beenie, he aint a Trini  and his remit was and is not to develop T&T football it was to get us to the World Cup and now is make us competitive in Germany. But...are we so desperate to not look bad that we entertaining men like zamora and Murphy. Yes, I dont deny that Zamora will add somthing to T&T football but will it be longterm or just till T&T exit the Tournament!

Triniman say he ent see nuthin wrong with Zamora's response....to me, if he was bothered he would of said something like he really dissappointed about missing out but wish T&T the best instead of 'Ah cyah, play that is that!'. Does that sound like a person that appreciated the efforts of a country to try and get him to play for them at a World Cup...one of the biggest achievements in a Footballers career?

« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2005, 10:58:22 AM »

Nothing really said about d man ability to run ball...allyuh figure we is d only country dat run into dis situation since we make WC? How much goals Stern scoring when he ent getting pick for side? We need depth and options with more versatile players, we better get used to d fact dat some men we might see in germany wasn't there on d ride in. He breaking into he side in EPL when we have men on we team dat doh even make bench in smaller leagues, kinda says something about he ability.

As part of d scouting process give d man a run...Beenie is a professional and I trying to think like a pro would instead of a regular fan. Yuh figure d TTFF appealing for Jlloyd on kicks? Is because d man could offer something in terms of talent as he running ball on d highest level, same with Zamora. Dem ent studying who say and what say, dat is small island mentality. Let dem earn dey spot like everybody else.

If it doh work, den it doh work but yuh ent go know till yuh try...as far as he spitting on we...well all dat in d past now. I looking what could happen on d field not in d newspapers.

i'de rather us lose horribly with our pride intact whether than bring that treachorous dog to play for us. He has no love for this twin island country. He disgusts me.

Zamora has no people anymore. If he became Ronaldo in a week i'd still say f**k YOU.

« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2005, 11:06:23 AM »
hey hey hey rodney you are looking to much not his response it could have been a quick question and answers.I am not inot the "quick fix thing"  but we need striking options and zamora has iinterest in playing for trinidad he could have been a tnt player long time .why hasn't he? for the  same reasons as jlloyd so why yuh hating on the man so is there any local striker who can step up and challege stern sealy scotland? hey they need competition Murphy i am sure is not better than the current set of striker

there is a development program in place rodney and leo is supposed to stay 2 years after the WC I THINK .

« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2005, 11:13:53 AM »

i'de rather us lose horribly with our pride intact whether than bring that treachorous dog to play for us. He has no love for this twin island country. He disgusts me.

Zamora has no people anymore. If he became Ronaldo in a week i'd still say f**k YOU.

how is zamora a treachorous dog  hey jlloyd blacked us many times before .  Yorke and latapy ,lime party in the 2002 WC campaing  they neva even used to train with the team and they retire  after simones sacked them for the game against jamaica after they come back from a vactaion in barbados . lATAPY WAS A NO SHOW IN A DO OR DIE GAME back in 1998 wcq against the usa ENT yuh forgive him . you people just full ah sh1t. Let them players  work fuh they spot and Jefferz how you so sure zamora will make the final  22 much less the starting 11 allyuh does go offf here boy

jusme

« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2005, 11:31:22 AM »
it's really unfortunate that people willing to read so much into a statement in a magazine.  you eh even get a chance to see it on video so that at least yuh could say yuh see the look on the man face.  The man figure he ineligible so he say so.  People want to jump up and figure dey could read the man mind. 

and now people want to call him treacherous?  Allyuh good oui.  An Englishman who father from trinidad say that Trinidad is his father's country and that he would rather concentrate on his club to try to break into his own national team and we calling him treacherous.  I call that honesty.  The man born and raised in England, probably never set foot in T&T, why would we expect him to give up the dream of playing for his country so easily? It doh mean he eh proud of his trini heritage, none of us will ever know that till we interact with the man. so people should just stop trying to read into the man intentions.

I am ambivalent about men coming on after somebody else put in the hard work myself, but men attacking the man character when in truth and fact nobody on this board know him from adam.

Offline cm103

« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2005, 12:07:42 PM »
I doh agree with d "quick fix" statement for d Zamora supporters. I also feel men getting tie up with the emotions of he-said, she-said business. All I'm saying is if yuh gonna try out new players now and he makes himself available then is it unacceptable to try him also? He ent guaranteed a spot until he earn it and beat out someone else for it.

About him having no love for this country. Straight answer, why would he? He doesn't know it, never been here I think. In d same vein, it have men who born and raised here and gone away and put club in front of country.

Including him with his experience at level he plays at could also help our younger players by bringing up their game and opening doors. Men seem to forget that word of mouth does also work in d EPL.

Losing horribly to keep so called foreigners out of we side is backward. We can all agree in some form we playing for respect and result on the world stage. Yuh think anybody else studying dis Zamora and Jlloyd situation besides we? Dem could care less who we run out as long as it above board. Where we pride getting injured because of that? Is not like we run he down now, him and Jlloyd expressed a desire to play for we now. D timing off and questionable but they came back to us, if that makes any kind of difference.

Try everbody out based on what they can do on the field. Allyuh men want d same side dat play in d qualifiers to run on d field next year? We barely make it and thats with an extra half spot. If we had d usual 3 spots we would be watching d WC at home. Beenie is a great coach but d players play d game.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2005, 12:12:30 PM by cm103 »

« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2005, 01:20:34 PM »
look holland looking to naturalize de guzman and a next player from africa i think people full ah real crap on here ys

Offline Solo

« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2005, 02:26:55 PM »
At this moment, Zamora appears too opportunistic, too selfish and too focused on making his DVD autobiography if he gets picked in our WC squad,....

at this moment I dont trust him, .....it is not for T&T to prove anything to him, it is for him to show us whey we should love Samora the person and it is for him to show Beenie why Beenie should love the footballer in him. Right now he appears to be a lil too prima donna for my liking.

Otherwise Zamora better off getting a try-out and then being left off the team - because I know that during that try-out he will confirm my worst fears i.e that he is bad for the chemistry of the team. Yorke and Latas and dem goin to find his arse our real early and sort him out if he gets on like a prima donna.

« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2005, 02:37:34 PM »
the man still have high hopes of being called up for england,after all he scoring as of recent so he think Erickson will give him the bly,he will only play for us if he elegible and as ah last option

Offline cm103

« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2005, 02:43:39 PM »
the man still have high hopes of being called up for england,after all he scoring as of recent so he think Erickson will give him the bly,he will only play for us if he elegible and as ah last option

I ent think he breaking into dat side anytime soon...he only now really starting for he team

Solo, I agree with you for the most part but I reserve passing judgement until I really hear it from him about what he thinks about playing for us. Like you said, give him a run and see what he can do but don't sacrifice team chemistry for him.

« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2005, 03:59:30 PM »
look holland looking to naturalize de guzman and a next player from africa i think people full ah real crap on here ys

Both of whom have played there for their entire pro-careers (I think) and have lived in the Country, experienced the culture, speak the language etc....you comparing apples and oranges man! Now if yuh was talkin bout Sebra I would have to conceed to your point.

For those who say it is another striking option....what about giving Sealy or Scotland or Jones or Samuel or Mcfarland and extended run in the side to see what they can do in attack. I do not know how more blatant a person can be for you guys not to see that he is using us....just because it is ok for other teams, why does it have to be the direction we take? I guess you don't care  :(  . If Zamora get in the side....so be it, I won't stop hoping T&T do well. As fuh J'lloyod my feelings are not really any different but from what I have seen (Footballers cribs - MTV) and heard, at least he does seem to have some affection for T&T the country (not too sure about T&T the football nation though).

I doh agree with d "quick fix" statement for d Zamora supporters. I also feel men getting tie up with the emotions of he-said, she-said business. All I'm saying is if yuh gonna try out new players now and he makes himself available then is it unacceptable to try him also? He ent guaranteed a spot until he earn it and beat out someone else for it.

About him having no love for this country. Straight answer, why would he? He doesn't know it, never been here I think. In d same vein, it have men who born and raised here and gone away and put club in front of country.

Including him with his experience at level he plays at could also help our younger players by bringing up their game and opening doors. Men seem to forget that word of mouth does also work in d EPL.

Losing horribly to keep so called foreigners out of we side is backward. We can all agree in some form we playing for respect and result on the world stage. Yuh think anybody else studying dis Zamora and Jlloyd situation besides we? Dem could care less who we run out as long as it above board. Where we pride getting injured because of that? Is not like we run he down now, him and Jlloyd expressed a desire to play for we now. D timing off and questionable but they came back to us, if that makes any kind of difference.

Try everbody out based on what they can do on the field. Allyuh men want d same side dat play in d qualifiers to run on d field next year? We barely make it and thats with an extra half spot. If we had d usual 3 spots we would be watching d WC at home. Beenie is a great coach but d players play d game.

in other words you are happy for a player to blatantly use T&T for the benefit of his own career, so be it.

fuh jusme who saying we reading to much into one statement..you obiviously have not been following the Zamora situation which has been going on now since he was at Brighton..that isn't one year or two, we taliking bout around 4 years of giving mixed messages, some supportive, some dismissive, some hedging his bets...yet we still chasing him. You have truely missed the point of this completely if you think it is just based on one statement.

I guess will we just have to agree to disagree. We all want T&T to do well, just by taking different paths.

« Last Edit: December 17, 2005, 04:17:31 PM by Rodney »

Offline firebun

« Reply #24 on: December 17, 2005, 04:15:09 PM »
De ideal situation for us in T&T to be completely proud is to play with the true Soca Warriors side, ie, the side that geh we to Germnany in the fus place.  I agree we should have de best team represented but de victory will be sweeter if we pass the first rounds with those 100% comitted to T&T (man like Birchall who played for we even though things was looking grim)

If Zamora jes want to be on the side for fame, then ta hell wid he and we doh want he (flames for he) and any other who jes want to join de bandwaggon jes to look good.
At de end of de day, if we loss with we current side, i will still feel proud ah dem because dey fight and work hard.  But dat eh happening, we go surprise everybody come June nex year and blaze through all dem countries. :beermug:

Big up we current Warriors! :beermug:

Offline cm103

« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2005, 05:19:34 PM »

Both of whom have played there for their entire pro-careers (I think) and have lived in the Country, experienced the culture, speak the language etc....you comparing apples and oranges man! Now if yuh was talkin bout Sebra I would have to conceed to your point.

For those who say it is another striking option....what about giving Sealy or Scotland or Jones or Samuel or Mcfarland and extended run in the side to see what they can do in attack. I do not know how more blatant a person can be for you guys not to see that he is using us....just because it is ok for other teams, why does it have to be the direction we take? I guess you don't care  :(  . If Zamora get in the side....so be it, I won't stop hoping T&T do well. As fuh J'lloyod my feelings are not really any different but from what I have seen (Footballers cribs - MTV) and heard, at least he does seem to have some affection for T&T the country (not too sure about T&T the football nation though).

in other words you are happy for a player to blatantly use T&T for the benefit of his own career, so be it.

fuh jusme who saying we reading to much into one statement..you obiviously have not been following the Zamora situation which has been going on now since he was at Brighton..that isn't one year or two, we taliking bout around 4 years of giving mixed messages, some supportive, some dismissive, some hedging his bets...yet we still chasing him. You have truely missed the point of this completely if you think it is just based on one statement.

I guess will we just have to agree to disagree. We all want T&T to do well, just by taking different paths.

Well I think you're taking my thoughts a bit out of context. I all for letting d current guys a chance to prove their worth but also newcomers to see what they have to offer. It goes without saying that the breaking into this side and unseating a starter or even a man riding d bench would (or should) be more difficult at this stage. I'm a big Glenn supporter and think he will surprise the world come next year.

Its true I haven't been following Zamora since his Brighton days, he only came on my radar when he went to West Ham. Thank you for pointing out the situation as it stood before as I was unaware. Even though I'm only in my mid 20's I find it hard to begrudge a player for being uncertain of his future allegiance when initially asked to play for a country he hasn't seen or known about at age 19. Thats a tough decison to make for anyone since it will affect his future.

Even Yorke and Latas needed a lil time to mature a bit after they left during the 02 campaign and have taken on mentor roles since rejoining.

Whether he or Jlloyd holds any genuine affection for TnT or its just the fasionable thing to do is a question only those two know. I wanted to know what they can do for the side in terms of ability.

Birchall did the admirable thing and jumped in early and is a shining example for all others to follow but thinking everyone will do the same is unreasonable at best. Shaka blank us for a lil while waiting for an England callup and he came though strong when he came on board, we still back him. Why is it different now for these 2?

I guess I'm an optimist when it comes to these things...and you're right, we do want the best for the team and country but on different paths

« Reply #26 on: December 17, 2005, 07:54:17 PM »

hey he did say if leo made the call he would consider it before bahrain . Plus rodney we all know what these guys can do and zamora is better in my opinion than the striker you mentioned

oh  samuel is more of a winger

« Reply #27 on: December 17, 2005, 08:19:44 PM »
and he also blanked Leo and St Clair ah few months prior to that.

I disagree that we all know what those guys can do...when was the last time any of them (plus Glenn...well pointed out cm103) had 2 or 3 consequtive games STARTING for T&T too actually make a fair judgement.

I do not dislike Zamora the person (I don't know him) but the only other similar situation I can think of in International football was David Johnson and Jamaica. They did not tolerate his attitude to them and discarded him (at the time anyway..don't really follow Jamaican ball much)...even had death threats for a while...as they had considered his 'yes/no/maybe/hold on' attitude disrespectful. Yet....we keep hoping. Are we really that desperate that we even going to appeal what seems a cut and dried case to FIFA for such a player? Does it not make local produced footballers and the current warrior's squad members look like absolute KaKa (and I don't mean the Brazilian  ::) )

we won't agree on this issue as there is nothing you or I can say to the other that can convince us to change our minds. The simplest thing will be for T&T to lose their appeal so Beenie can concentrate on less controversial players.

« Reply #28 on: December 17, 2005, 09:33:15 PM »
 Does it not make local produced footballers and the current warrior's squad members look like absolute KaKa (and I don't mean the Brazilian   )

nope it makes them have to work harder for a spot raise their game if there is no player who can challenge them locally we have to look else where like what other countries are doing

Offline Ramizinho

« Reply #29 on: December 18, 2005, 01:43:55 PM »
Under no circumstances should we bring Zamora (or any other late commer) at this stage into the side:

1) We got the WC without him, we will do just as fine without him there
2) All the &$)%^£ time he had his chance...we dont want nobody jumping on the bandwagon now...now that things nice and dandy...and we in the WC...we dont want yuh!
3) Why deprive the players who have worked hard to put us in the WC Finals a chance at playing on the grand stage...NOT FAIR!!
4) HE IS NOT EVEN THAT GOOD...Stern and Kenwyne will do JUST GREAT!
5) Need I say more

Done