April 27, 2024, 06:17:57 PM

Author Topic: Why, just this once, I'll be cheering for Trinidad  (Read 7921 times)

Re: SAY IT AINT SO ATO !
« Reply #30 on: December 12, 2005, 08:23:57 AM »
Ah ent no waggonnist on T&F.

But all de men who feel that nothing eh wrong with the line other than he test positve for ah illegal substance should read it as if they not from Trinidad.

The line could easily be construed as saying de man use ah illegal substance an he get ketch in 2001 an did'nt bother to compete after that. It also could leave yuh wondering whether the medals he won was by fair means.
This to me is a direct lash at Ato an I for one damn upset about it.

An all de waggonists accusers allyuh could sniff esther hope 1973 addidas track shoes.

Are you trying to be dense?

The waggoinst comment was made IN JEST because Occonnorg is the self-proclaimed anti-waggonist. Therefore it is ironic that he doesn’t remember this.

Also every poster in the thread HAS acknowledged that there is something very wrong with the article and HAS recognized that it does not do justice Ato’s career.

So what yuh beefing about?

Yea fishs.. Doh study it.. I not even gonna trip about what JDB jess say... let it go... Leh we drink beer. :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #31 on: December 12, 2005, 10:47:39 PM »
Ah ent no waggonnist on T&F.

But all de men who feel that nothing eh wrong with the line other than he test positve for ah illegal substance should read it as if they not from Trinidad.

The line could easily be construed as saying de man use ah illegal substance an he get ketch in 2001 an did'nt bother to compete after that. It also could leave yuh wondering whether the medals he won was by fair means.
This to me is a direct lash at Ato an I for one damn upset about it.

An all de waggonists accusers allyuh could sniff esther hope 1973 addidas track shoes.

Are you trying to be dense?

The waggoinst comment was made IN JEST because Occonnorg is the self-proclaimed anti-waggonist. Therefore it is ironic that he doesn’t remember this.

Also every poster in the thread HAS acknowledged that there is something very wrong with the article and HAS recognized that it does not do justice Ato’s career.

So what yuh beefing about?

Go easy son, and you are right about me being dense, I have the thickest skin yuh could dream about.
I write de first and abridged versions of "Trini fatigue 101".
Yuh could pick it up in any book store if yuh does still read an ting.
Oconnorg ... did you say beer  ??? ??? ;D ;D :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #32 on: December 13, 2005, 12:28:04 AM »
Ribbit, ah doubt dat. Is Bahrain he talking about.

Long before that game against Bahrain, the excitement had spread to Trinidadians living in London. On the evening of the match several hundred of them took over the Three Kings pub in south-west London. A Trinidad government minister, who just managed to squeeze his way into the crush, told me he'd never seen anything like this in his life. When T&T, as it's often called, scored in the dying minutes of the game, the noise was like a volcano erupting.

Dat buller is ah bonafide band waggonist.  He only get happy after de last match in Bahrain and he is ah Trini hater by dragging Ato name in dirt like dat.  Why he doh worry bout Brigo horn chile Chambers?  Steups.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2005, 12:34:20 AM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #33 on: December 13, 2005, 11:35:51 AM »
Win some and u lose some eh...after the Guardian nonsense this weekend, over in the track and field section is the news today that TnT moves up to 2nd in the 4x100 and 3rd in the 100m from Edmonton 2001 World Championships, due to Tim Montgomery's ass being busted...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TRACK & FIELD ATHLETES MONTGOMERY AND GAINES RECEIVE SUSPENSIONS FOR DRUG VIOLATIONS

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (December 13, 2005)
The United States Anti-Doping Agency (USADA) announced today the decision by an independent three-member arbitration panel from the International Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), the highest court for sport.  The CAS Panel imposed two-year suspensions on Tim Montgomery of Chapel Hill, N.C., and Chryste Gaines of Lithonia, Ga., athletes in the sport of track and field, for their doping violations based on evidence and testimony connected to BALCO.

Following lengthy procedural hearings and full evidentiary hearings, the CAS Panel unanimously found based on "strong, indeed uncontroverted, evidence" that Montgomery, a former world record holder in the 100 meters, and Gaines, a 2001 U.S. Indoor Champion in the 60m and two-time Olympic medalist, were guilty of doping offenses.   

The CAS Panel issued Montgomery, 30, and Gaines, 35, two-year suspensions, effective June 6, 2005, the date of the Montgomery hearing.  Additionally, because the Panel found that Montgomery's doping behavior began in March of 2001, he will forfeit all competitive results and winnings from March 31, 2001 through June 6, 2005, including his 2001 U.S. 100M Title, 2001 World Outdoor Relay gold medal and his 2002 100M World Record.  Gaines will forfeit all of her results and winnings from November 30, 2003 through June 6, 2005.

"The CAS Panel affirmed that these athletes were willing participants in the BALCO drug conspiracy and between the two athletes invalidated more than six years of competitive results," said USADA Chief Executive Officer Terry Madden.  "It is always a great day for clean athletes when individuals who cheat through doping are held accountable and stripped of the rewards of their deceit.  The unfortunate part of this BALCO chapter is that these two athletes knew they were guilty of doping and they wasted everyone's time and resources attempting to run from the consequences of their actions."

The decision confirmed USADA's ability to bring cases against athletes based on evidence of doping other than a positive drug test ("non-analytical positives").  In these cases, neither Montgomery nor Gaines had received a positive drug test.  Instead USADA presented evidence that Montgomery and Gaines were participants in a doping conspiracy involving various elite athletes and coaches as well as BALCO.  Specifically, USADA presented detailed evidence of blood and urine tests of each athlete over a period of years, along with corresponding expert testimony confirming that the pattern of testing results was consistent with doping.  USADA also submitted documents seized from BALCO by the United States government, including each athlete's respective file containing evidence of the dates and substances used as part of the BALCO doping regiment.  Additionally, USADA presented testimony regarding admissions made by Montgomery and Gaines to other athletes regarding their respective use of designer steroids from BALCO.  With respect to Mr. Montgomery, the Panel's held:  "[T]he Panel is unanimously of the view that Mr. Montgomery in fact admitted his use of prohibited substances."  Similarly, the Panel found that Ms. Gaines had also admitted her use of prohibited substances from BALCO to a fellow athlete.

To date, 14 athletes have received sanctions for violations involving drugs associated with the BALCO doping conspiracy, including five non-analytical positive cases.

USADA is responsible for the testing and results management process for athletes in the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Movement.  USADA is equally dedicated to preserving the integrity of sport through research initiatives and educational programs.

NOTE:  A list of closed cases associated with BALCO is attached. The CAS decisions and the dates associated with the BALCO doping conspiracy are available on the USADA Web site at www.usantidoping.org.

Nirva Milord
Communications & Public Affairs Director
Phone: (719) 785-2009
E-mail: nmilord@usantidoping.org

Closed Cases with Links to BALCO

Non-Analytical Positives

Tim Montgomery2 - 2 years
Chryste Gaines1,2 - 2 years
Alvin Harrison - 4 years
Kelli White[1] -  2 years
Michelle Collins2 -  4 years

Tetrahydrogestrinone (THG) Positives

Kevin Toth1 - 2 years
John McEwen1, [2] -  2 years
Dwain Chambers2 - 2 years
Regina Jacobs - 4 years
Melissa Price2 - 2 years

Modafinil Positives

Eric Thomas - Public Warning
Sandra Glover - Public Warning
Chris Phillips - Public Warning
Calvin Harrison2 - 2 years (second offense)

CHEATERS BUSTED!

« Reply #34 on: December 13, 2005, 11:48:47 AM »
Is ok, this time next year it go be even funnier....I not making joke, every man in here have to start believing not just for kicks believe it seriously, in your head, see it already - just like France in 2002 getting cutarse ------ see it happening from now....if u "cyar see dat" ride out from all now...doh wait til u see it to believe it.

All of all yuh who buy them "IMPOSSIBLE IS NOTHING" shirts that ent no joke thing, it is a serious thing - belief is what make a stupid little skinny boy from Santa Cruz with a big mouth reach where he reach doing TV and movie and documentary and all kinda madness.

BELIEVE!

I will help even you with the headline

:o :o :o ENGLAND SUFFERS SHOCK DEFEAT AT HANDS OF FORMER COLONY, Trinidad and Tobago :o :o :o

Aye allyuh ent know Ato was my neighbour up in the Cruz, running small goal on the hills, that time we was a little gangly, and awkward, but spunky for days. We all used to run ball up and down Grace Gardens, best times growing up

Ato I was watching the little spot you did in Bahrain, and it was excellent!!! If you have access to that and the game contact me.
I would like to put together a DVD for the TTFF to sell to the public home and away and your spot is perfect for a behind the scenes look. Let me know who are the persons I need to touch base with.
grskywalker@hotmail.com

« Reply #35 on: December 13, 2005, 12:07:23 PM »
DVD is coming but I ent handing TTFF my product AT ALL.  For what?

« Reply #36 on: December 13, 2005, 03:23:22 PM »
Our company mass produce DVD and CDs, and can turn out an exceptional product. Any idea the company working on it?

« Reply #37 on: December 13, 2005, 04:28:55 PM »
Ato here’s the funny thing about that Montgomery bust.

Just the other day I was thinking that your great misfortune was to peak at the same time as Maurice Greene. I was saying that if you were in your prime now you would dominate because to my mind there is a dearth of really quality sprinters.

Yes Powell break the record but he is not dominant.

I actually used the fact that Tim Montgomery is winning races and setting records an example that the quality of sprinters now is not as it was, because he came from being a non-medal man to suddenly win a WR.

Now Montgomery gone and test positive.

God doh sleep.

« Reply #38 on: December 13, 2005, 06:08:24 PM »
Steups Greg I having to deal with all these porn KING DVD producers here in the LA Valley and all this time you could have done it?? Steups...Get in touch with me please...

« Reply #39 on: December 15, 2005, 08:26:49 AM »
Ato yuh run de man!  :o

Sir Trevor has won more awards than any other UK broadcaster
bbc.co.uk

As he presents his final ITN bulletin, newsreader Sir Trevor McDonald remains one of the UK's most popular journalists.
Sir Trevor became ITN's first black reporter in 1973 and went on to win more awards than any other British broadcaster.

He was born in Trinidad, where his father Lawson worked in an oil refinery and raised pigs.

The eldest of four children, Sir Trevor once recalled: "We lived in a terribly small house with cracks in the walls, which we used to paper over with newspaper."

Although he had little formal education, he read widely and won public speaking contests after refining his English by listening to the BBC World Service.

Sir Trevor began his career in Trinidad in 1962, working in various branches of the media including local newspapers, radio and television.

He joined the World Service's Caribbean section as a producer before relocating to London in 1969 to work for BBC Radio.

Moving to Independent Television News (ITN) in 1973, Sir Trevor rose steadily through the ranks. He served as a news, sports and diplomatic correspondent before becoming a diplomatic editor and newsreader.

By this time Sir Trevor was popular enough to be lampooned on ITV children's programme Tiswas by comedian Lenny Henry, who wore giant glasses, read spoof bulletins and called himself Trevor McDoughnut.

Sir Trevor also became known for quipping "and finally" before reporting a light-hearted story at the end of each bulletin.

He has interviewed such prominent world figures as former US President Bill Clinton, Nelson Mandela and Saddam Hussein and won acclaim for his coverage of the 1985 Philippine elections.

After a stint as diplomatic editor and newsreader on Channel 4 News, Sir Trevor became the sole presenter of ITN's News At Ten in 1992 until the show ended in 1999.

That year also saw him knighted in the Queen's Birthday Honours list for his services to journalism.

"I was born in a little backwater in Trinidad in the Caribbean and never in my wildest dreams did I think I would be knighted," he said at the time.

He was made a knight in 1999 for services to journalism
He subsequently presented ITN's Evening News and late-night bulletins, and will continue to host current affairs show Tonight with Trevor McDonald.

Among numerous awards, Sir Trevor received the Bafta Richard Dimbleby Award for Outstanding Contribution to Television in 1999 and was honoured for his contribution to broadcasting by the Royal Television Society earlier this year.

Sir Trevor has been married twice and has three children. As a member of Surrey County Cricket Club, he is a passionate cricket fan and has written biographies of cricketers Viv Richards and Clive Lloyd.

He edited two poetry anthologies and wrote his autobiography, Fortunate Circumstances, in 1993.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2005, 08:28:57 AM by boss »

Offline dombasil

« Reply #40 on: December 15, 2005, 08:47:10 AM »
Some of Alyuh is imps or wot? Dat thing wit Ato was long time ago wit de cold medicine.And dey basically tell him to read de label next time.
As to Sir Trev or who ever add the bit on at de end. Dey moddaass. Ato sue dem but yuh doh ha to account to we.

« Reply #41 on: December 16, 2005, 12:22:02 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=122896340

What a week. 

First the Guardian in London disses me in a football article, then ah get ah world championship medal in mih sleep, mid-week, now Keith Smith write an article as though my world championship in 1997 never happened lol....

TRINIDAD eh!? Ah love it!  :-*

« Reply #42 on: December 16, 2005, 05:33:45 AM »
Ato check de hypo conversation.

Pardner on de block : "Buh Kieth how de ass yuh write dat article an fuhget Ato did win gold in de 200 in de world championships ?"
Kieth: " Yuh lie".
Pardner : "No boy is true" , " You ent go an look at it in RBTT or wha ?"
Kieth: " No boy, ogad how ah could mek dat mistake bwoy, dat man mouth eh good nah ah ent want him tuh call mih an ting, what tuh do ?"
Pardner " Ah hear he in dat socawarriors forum ting , join up an sen him ah pm apologising on de side".
Kieth: " Oh gad more computer ting, dais why ah mek de mistake in de first place , all de archives on computer so ah ask de cleaner son who bright because he going fatima, fuh de information , buh like he didn't know about de gold medal because he only 11 an in fus form "
" Ah go jus write about old calypso an pan fuh de nex four months an maybe Ato go fuhget"

« Reply #43 on: December 16, 2005, 06:38:54 AM »
LOL. Nah Keith is a man always understood me.  He write a column after I retired that would make u bawl.  He go apologize and might even do it in the column itself tomorrow.  Watch.  I agree with the article, though. Why are we really trying to pick a #1...you could make a case for anyone, really.  Celebrate all.

Offline willi

« Reply #44 on: December 16, 2005, 06:43:04 AM »
JDB,

Why you think that the 100m is a breeze now???

You have Powell and Gatlin tearing up the place Gatlin ran 9.89s and 9.88s this year to back up his 9.85s last year. Asafa ran 9.84s, 9.85s and 9.77s this year (in half a season) to back up his 9.87s last year.

You mad if you think it is an easy passage now. On top of that, you have the 2 Trinis, Frater, Scott, Bigga Thomas, Crawford,Pognan,  and a host of other athlete looking to break through.

Ato did well in his time. He played with the hand he was dealth and I am sure he has little if any regrets.

Infama
Ato, knows I am a big time supporter for years.

Offline ladywarrior

Re: Why, just this once, I'll be cheering for Trinidad
« Reply #45 on: December 17, 2005, 08:54:22 PM »
Torn between two countries.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2005, 09:00:26 PM by Tallman »
The only thing to fear is fear itself.

« Reply #46 on: December 17, 2005, 10:30:46 PM »
This is the attitude we goin to Germany with.....We NEW slogan and chant.....

IMPOSSIBLE IS NOTHING

« Reply #47 on: December 18, 2005, 12:10:23 PM »
This is all the proof you need that you can't sell citizenship, and you can't buy loyalty...

Whey de waggonists posse dey? ah say whey dey dey?

« Reply #48 on: December 18, 2005, 12:56:01 PM »
Aye allyuh ain't know a few years ago some people were calling for Sir Trevor to recieve the Trinity Cross?
I ain't know were he grew up in Trinidad but I know just before he left for England he us to live in Belle Vue St James.

« Reply #49 on: December 18, 2005, 02:09:19 PM »
Maybe he should get the Trinity Cross. IT doh mean he ent a T N U C!

(Excuse me, ladywarrior)