April 28, 2024, 02:06:04 PM

Author Topic: SA puttin a serious licking on we tail 136 without loss at tea  (Read 3784 times)

is this really the best team we could put together?

Re: SA puttin a serious licking on we tail 136 without loss at tea
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2005, 02:08:42 PM »
We only had 3 men who put up any kinda respectable fight on the field.
Lara, Chanders and Bravo.

Gayle face a grand total of 3 balls, Hinds 14 balls, Sarwan and R. Hinds 24 and 27 balls....my word.
WHAT!!!!!
[/b][/size]

SA didn't lose a wicket yet.

Sad to say, but I guess normal order has been restored in this series?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2005, 02:25:36 PM »
After the first test in Guyana,  :-[

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2005, 03:40:53 PM »
246 for one.  Lord put a hand

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2005, 09:32:53 PM »
We missing an inform Collins. Ah would like to see Jermaine Lawson make ah comeback one of these days. I would also like to see Best training with us...not playing...so that Bennett King could control he wildness and develop him. Lawson, Edwards, Collins and Bravo can provide de quick stuff. De fourth specialist could be ah specialist spinner or Best depending on the conditions. It seems like all the Windies quick man have bad back. It start with Bishop den it went like dis... Colin Stuart, Corey Collymore, Jermaine Lawson, Jerome Taylor, Tino Best and Fidel Edwards.

Ah feel we people does wine too much...dat broke waist motion mashing up de quick men.

Reon King look so comatose now is not funny. He had ah foot injury when he was much quicker and he was certaily more animated. Now he as fired up as a sloth. Why he playing for? Powell is de new wildman to take over Best spot. Ah glad Edwards still quick. He bowled pretty fast today. We cyah abuse him though and mash him up again.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2005, 09:48:04 AM by Savannah boy »

SA selector: No big thing to beat WI
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2005, 08:07:06 AM »
Trinidad Express

South African cricket selector Omar Henry has downplayed the importance of a series win against the West Indies, saying it was not "a big feat" to defeat the regional team.

The former Convener of Selectors, whose tenure expires at the end of April, said that a series victory for South Africa therefore should not be viewed as an endorsement of coach Ray Jennings' credentials.

"It is not really a big feat to beat the Windies, even on their home grounds," Henry was quoted as saying in South Africa's Beeld newspaper.

"I could select a team of cricketers who are in South Africa at present who would beat the Windies without any problems. Let us put it this way: If you can't beat the Windies, then you really have problems." South Africa lead the Digicel series 1-0 after drawing the opening Test in Guyana and then winning the second Test in Trinidad two weeks ago.

The relationship between Henry and Jennings is said to have deteriorated in recent times and the tour of the West Indies is being viewed as Jennings' last in charge of the South African team. His contract expires at the end of the tour.

"What has Jennings really achieved since becoming the national coach?" Henry queried. "He could not beat India at home and he lost against England on our own pitches." South Africa, who have struggled in recent times, are scheduled to play New Zealand later in the year before embarking on a tough tour of Australia.

« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2005, 09:06:05 AM »
Trinidad Express
"I could select a team of cricketers who are in South Africa at present who would beat the Windies without any problems. Let us put it this way: If you can't beat the Windies, then you really have problems."

Like we is Bangladesh now.
Wonder if this kinda thing even phase the players.  Should make them want to practise 24/7 to beat people.  I know Lara have the fire to step up when dem statements are made but what about the rest of dem?

« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2005, 10:09:00 AM »
Dem kinda comments doh faze we team. We does be fired up for de morning session and after tea. Is de session after lunch dat man does usually buss we arse in. Me eh know if is ah set of heavy dumpling and blue food dey eating but de sleep walking after lunch has to stop especially when we fielding. The third innings usually determines a Test match especially when the scores are fairly even. In de current Test, we go be batting to save de match...Lara go have to score big to save we yet again. In de last Test, we failed to deliver a decent score in de 3rd innings and gave away de game.  If BK get dis team to play more responsibly in de 3rd innings over de next year or so, it will go a long way to determine if we are to rise up in cricket once again. We have talent...no doubt...but we have one of de worst teams in de world. We only threat is BCL on a consistent basis. He is ah man among boys. Too bad he cannot bowl more dan de occasional leg break because we cyah bowl out nobody especially with dropsy Browne behind de wicket. Dat man cost we de Guyana Test already and allowed at least two SA hundreds which should not have been in dis series already.

« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2005, 01:07:34 PM »
dey playin garbage, plain and simple, de bowling is garbage, along wit de batting, dat whole team should be replaced with de exception of lara, chanders and bravo, de selectors gettin paid off 2 lose, dey making more money throwin de game dan winning, carew and dem need 2 resign, read caribbean criket it will tell u de story, u have gayle taking wickets as a part time spinner, holding even sayin dat is rediculous, carew is an ass, no great player in his time, spinner shoulda b dere, along wit real opening batsmen, dwayne smith should get a chance tuh prove himself