April 28, 2024, 01:58:46 AM

Author Topic: Samuel score today! and he had a dread game  (Read 3853 times)

Samuel score today! and he had a dread game
« on: December 20, 2005, 04:16:26 PM »
Dundee Utd 2-1 Dunfermline
bbc sport.

Dundee United eased the pressure on under-fire manager Gordon Chisolm with a hard-fought victory over Dunfermline.
The impressive Collin Samuel gave the Tannadice men the lead, racing on to a long clearance from goalkeeper Derek Stillie and calmly finishing.

The Pars drew level when Scott Wilson rose highest to head in Lee Makel's fine free-kick.

But Barry Robson's curled free-kick just before the break won it for the home side.

Chisholm desperately needed a result and a performance from his under-pressure side and the players responded early on, twice going close in the opening five minutes.

First Samuel volleyed narrowly wide after a neat turn and Peter Canero then saw a shot flash across the face of goal.

Samuel's pace was causing the Pars all sorts of problems and a neat moving involving the Trinidadian striker almost teed up a goal for Jim McIntyre only for the striker to mis-kick with the goal at his mercy.

The home pressure paid off in the 25th minute when Samuel latched on to Stillie's long punt up field and clipped the ball past Allan McGregor.

But the home side were only leading for five minutes.

Lee Makel swung in a delightful free-kick and Wilson firmly headed the ball into the far corner.

The visitors then got on top and Stillie had to produce a stunning save to deny Greg Ross a fine headed goal and Andy Tod also had a shot blocked as United struggled to regain their composure.

But the lively Samuel won a free-kick on the edge of the Dunfermline penalty box and Barry Robson blasted the ball around the wall into the bottom corner to give United the half-time lead.

Canero went close to extending that lead after the break but his 20-yard strike went wide and Makel saw a long-range effort punched clear by Stillie at the other end.

Samuel blasted another shot from distance just over the bar but neither side looked like adding to their goal tally until injury time when the visitors nearly snatched a point.

Substitute Derek Young received the ball 12 yards from goal but his volleyed effort went agonisingly wide ensuring the points stayed at Tannadice.

« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 04:20:38 PM by Grande man »

Re: Samuel score today! and he had a dread game
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2005, 04:33:50 PM »
Godd boy Sammy !!

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2005, 04:50:28 PM »
 :applause:

« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2005, 04:54:13 PM »
Is about time he ketch himself

« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2005, 05:07:34 PM »
He deserves at least a recall to the squad for the next friendly based on form alone

« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2005, 05:59:13 PM »

well done my fellow samuel!!

« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2005, 05:59:42 PM »
keep that form up for the next 6 months dread!! Rio ent go kno what to do wid yuh. ;D

Offline TARTANARMYOF2

collin samuel
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2005, 10:24:42 AM »
went tae see dundee united v dunfermline. good game an collin samuel VERY impressive(mom) looked fit ,strong lead the line really well an scored a braw goal!bring on the sassenachs(england) :beermug: :beermug:
if you tremble with indignation at any injustice,then you are my comrade!

Offline ironman

• dont joke with u life
Re: collin samuel
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2005, 11:11:32 AM »
Tartanarmy how does Colin look wide on the left for the Terrors
tell them it was me

Offline trinidre

« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2005, 12:39:56 PM »
well done samuel, it seems like the warriors starting to ketch form......vibes is up :)

Offline Falkirk and proud

« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2005, 03:03:12 PM »
While playing for Falkirk Sammy was superb ;D
At Scumdee utd he has never had a run of games,But he has pace and a good football brain.
The Falkirk Stadium where a genius plays.

Offline TARTANARMYOF2

Re: collin samuel
« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2005, 03:26:18 PM »
Tartanarmy how does Colin look wide on the left for the Terrors

actually playin' quite free up front an across the park which wis(imo)why he wis sae good,his pace scared the opposition's midfield an defence.ah think the manager has telt him that here wis his chance ,noo go an tak it ...............an he responded superbly! :beermug:
if you tremble with indignation at any injustice,then you are my comrade!

« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2005, 08:05:12 PM »
and da f**ker marcos whan tell me how i judge him as one of our best players...? STEWPS.

glad to hear he doin so well. He fast boy.

« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2005, 08:34:22 PM »
can anyone say Zamora who ??????????

« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2005, 10:35:30 AM »
i think tallman cud vouge on this

i hav yet to see this blistering pace reproduced on tnt colours

i like the man as a player and on the left wing and in a final 23 but i think benhakker want to see this pace an instict for the warriors

zamora who ??? ??? ???

Offline Collin Mcsamuel

• My band
    • www.myspace.com/mon_the_joe
« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2005, 05:12:45 PM »
I have a season ticket for United and he played wide  left for a while but then begged to be put up front, he gets put up front and BANG the goals start pouring in. He has become a very prolific scorer and is much better as a striker now.
Punk Rock will never die.

Offline bratachdubh

« Reply #16 on: January 01, 2006, 08:31:42 AM »
Unfortunately he was taken off after 35 minutes yesterday against Rangers (we lost 3-0 eventually) with a groin strain.  He'd played really well up to that point, in fact was giving the team its shape, and Utd didn't really do much afterwards - held out till the 68th minute, no mean feat at Ibrox, then conceded the first of 3...

Hopefully he'll be fit again soon, he has been playing extremely well recently and has become a vital part of the team.

Offline ZionYouth

« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2006, 09:35:23 PM »
keep it up :applause:

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #18 on: January 02, 2006, 10:00:40 AM »
Yeah,yeah.............Vibes itUp!  :applause: :applause: :applause: