April 29, 2024, 03:35:44 AM

Author Topic: Stern John reportedly a target for Paris St. Germain  (Read 6410 times)

Offline JayTheWrecker

Stern John reportedly a target for Paris St. Germain
« on: December 21, 2005, 11:53:20 AM »
It was reported in one of the tabloid papers here in London today, that PSG are to make a "shock move for Coventry's Stern John in January" or words to that effect

There were no other details, the story was literally one sentence in the Football shorts section
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Offline Teflon Don

Re: Stern John reportedly a target for Paris St. Germain
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2005, 12:01:58 PM »
I hope its true....big team in france plenty history....they not at the top of the table but if he goea there he will be partnering portugals starting striker pauleta

« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2005, 12:04:44 PM »
would be nice. we shall see as it is now late december. gossip will abound until the transfer window closes.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2005, 12:10:30 PM »
Good news for Stern, If this is true, he would be a very well travelled local footballer
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2005, 12:15:48 PM »
Careful, dem English journalists not easy.

Offline trinidre

« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2005, 12:25:29 PM »
This is good news if it were actually true but like somebody say it would have real transfer rumours coming up to the tranfers window opening in january but any move for stern where he could get playing time is good news for T&T

vibes it up stern

« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2005, 12:40:24 PM »
Wednesday's rumours
By James Dart (Guardian Unlimited)

Intriguingly, the World Cup striker on Paris St Germain's mind is ... Coventry 'hitman' Stern John. That's right, the Soca Warrior himself could be in line for a £250,000 switch across the Channel. Heading the other way could be Lens forward Olivier Thomert, currently the object of Manchester City's affection.

« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2005, 12:45:47 PM »
I some how find that hard to believe... If it is true, then big up sterny

« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2005, 12:47:18 PM »
well he will b playing regularly, so dis is a good ting

« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2005, 01:00:30 PM »
Could be a blessing...but it could just as easily be a curse

250,000 pounds is peanuts for a man who is supposedly Premiership quality. Stern' sale sounds like a makeweight to lessen the cost of moving an unhappy striker from PSG. Why do you think the striker wants to leave? because PSG plays with 1 forward...and that is Pauleta. He gets support from attacking midfielders Rothen and Kalou. I doh see the system changing and none of them men getting drop for Stern.

Who knows...for now it sounding like a rumor...whatever happens I hope is best for Stern

« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2005, 01:03:55 PM »
He go get real Lorse on dey reserves. Sorry, ah doh think he ready for that.

« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2005, 01:09:31 PM »
maxg  long time boy   where u was?

« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2005, 01:24:07 PM »

how you know that?

« Reply #14 on: December 21, 2005, 01:26:13 PM »
them coventry fans say stern  is lazy lord have mercy

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #15 on: December 21, 2005, 01:27:24 PM »
http://www.psg.fr/fr/home/home.html
anyone know french as I cant find any info about this
i think we all need the facts
Thanks

My French is hardly fluent but I know enoough to get by. There is no mention on that site of Stern John or any other possible transfer targets. That is not unusual as official club sites almost never notify the public of their transfer targets, unless it's a really top player (for example, Barcalona's interest in T. Henry) Usually they prefer to keep such matters behind closed doors so as not to comprimise any possible negotiations/

I've just taken a quick look at the L'Equipe website and again there's no mention of the Stern John story/rumour. However, there was an article about Pauleta injuring his back in training last week and is doubtful for this weekend. Although, the tone of the article didn't suggest that the injury was a long-term concern...

And in reply to your earlier question, I think it was the Daily Star but it might have been the Daily Mirror (neither of which are hardly a beacon for English Journalism)
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #16 on: December 21, 2005, 01:28:10 PM »
ah keeping all meh fingers and toes crossed for this one. Go Stern GO!!! ;D

« Reply #17 on: December 21, 2005, 01:29:51 PM »
well done stern :beermug:

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #18 on: December 21, 2005, 01:37:44 PM »

how you know that?
i reeeel hope he get thru bcuz psg is 6th in the french league and 1 point seperates them from the 2nd place team IE everybody else have d same number of points...The team that is leading is lyon but nobody going to catch them cuz dey ahead by bout 12points or sumtin........ pauleta is having a good season but needs help up front bcuz the one striker tactics not working for psg....

With that said stern is goin to have to work reeeeeeel hard to get into the startin line up....anyone who looks at french football cud tell u that. The good thing tho is that he will get alot of balls to his feet but he gonna have to really step up his work rate to get into the starting line up........ dat french league is reel pace but it is very much his style

« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2005, 01:39:18 PM »
i hope its true........de english eh treatin him good dey anyway. he'll rip up de french ligue.

Offline cm103

« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2005, 01:44:06 PM »
He go get real Lorse on dey reserves. Sorry, ah doh think he ready for that.

I dunno bout dat....ah mean compare the reserves in PSG to reserve team in Coventry. PSG looking like it go more lift he game if he up to it.

Offline trinidre

« Reply #21 on: December 21, 2005, 01:49:21 PM »
well I hope is true because it go benefit T&T but it too early still to read too much into it

« Reply #22 on: December 21, 2005, 02:59:11 PM »
 I int see anything about that on the net but....I want him to get thru and start bussin the net....So all the people like Disgruntled who fighting him down will hush up....Go T&T
« Last Edit: December 21, 2005, 03:08:48 PM by Ponnoxx »

« Reply #23 on: December 21, 2005, 03:05:15 PM »
if this is true i hope he cud break into the startin side and get regular playing time..if so this can only be good for both him and TnT

Offline trinibug

« Reply #24 on: December 21, 2005, 03:44:48 PM »
Yuh sure is not St. Bernard or Plaster of Paris the artice say?
Must rhyme with an O

« Reply #25 on: December 21, 2005, 06:31:53 PM »
dem french clubs pay good money ???.....i taking bets ???  stern staying in britian

« Reply #26 on: December 21, 2005, 06:57:51 PM »
Sounds like total runor mill.  January is ah time when yuh does hear more talk than ah talk show.  Me eh getting hyped up about this until ah see some concrete developments.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #27 on: December 21, 2005, 07:03:14 PM »
Well if  it's true, I think it should be a great move.  The English style of play really doesn't suit most players from Concacaf and South America.  The Spanish, Portuguese, and to a lesser extent the French style suits our players well. 

No sour grapes at all, but I was never a big admirer of the English and their "exciting" style of play anyway.

Won any World Cups lately, England?

My 2 cents
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #28 on: December 21, 2005, 07:34:09 PM »
Well if  it's true, I think it should be a great move.  The English style of play really doesn't suit most players from Concacaf and South America.  The Spanish, Portuguese, and to a lesser extent the French style suits our players well. 

No sour grapes at all, but I was never a big admirer of the English and their "exciting" style of play anyway.

Won any World Cups lately, England?

My 2 cents

And Spain and Portugal won what again??

« Reply #29 on: December 21, 2005, 08:40:26 PM »
hmmmm sounds nice.