April 20, 2024, 04:54:54 AM

Author Topic: Birchall in the soup  (Read 4444 times)

Birchall in the soup
« on: December 22, 2005, 12:03:50 PM »
Birchall in the soup
Thu 22 Dec, 3:52 PM - teamtalk.com

Chris Birchall's transformation from little-known Port Vale winger to Trinidad & Tobago national hero has not been seamless - he cannot stomach the Caribbean soup.

The Vale midfielder is now an intrinsic part of the Trini squad that scribed their names into the history books by qualifying for the World Cup for the first time in their history.

But although his assimilation into his new team and new found culture has on the whole been smooth, he remains dubious about the local cuisine.

Birchall said: "The lads have been great with me to be fair and they take me out when we are over there and look after me. I eat most of the food, which is very nice, but I'm not too keen on the chicken soup, though.

"The players have been very welcoming and helped me to settle in."

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Re: Birchall in the soup
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2005, 12:08:29 PM »
Ah hear was ah chicken foot souse them boys make him eat..
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2005, 12:12:27 PM »
Ah hear was ah chicken foot souse them boys make him eat..

It hadda be, because I eh know about no "chicken soup"...unless he talking about Maggi Chicken Noodle Soup

Offline cm103

« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2005, 12:15:09 PM »
Yeah he talk bout dat earlier in d campaign....Dwight make him eat a chicken foot soup, he say he try it buh not in dat again.

« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2005, 12:23:02 PM »
they hadda start him off smarlll.. First corn soup, then cow heal soup, then pig tail soup.. de chicken FOOT souse and soup anh he en ready for dat, I en even like dat eiddah

Offline trinidre

« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2005, 12:24:01 PM »
yeah he say he had chicken foot soup and it wasnt bad but he aint trying it again  ;D

Offline cm103

« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2005, 12:42:20 PM »
for 07 dey need to bring he down for Carnival and feed him some rum...he ent go study what he eating den and he go start craving dat kinda pavement food afterwards

English food does be bland though, yuh really have to start he out small...if he bussin d net like he did in the hex now, imagine if he stary by Dwight moms and get a blue food ration. Dem defenders in d WC go dead if dat bullet touch dem

« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2005, 12:55:10 PM »
My mother-in-law made some chicken foot soup ah time and them yankee boy in meh office tell meh bring some nah man ah dying to taste it,so ah carry some in the next day to my surprise all ah them start to digg in the soup,oh my word this is some great tasting soup and up pops the chicken foot oh gawddddd man start to bawl it's voodoo.   

Offline Wilson

« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2005, 12:59:44 PM »
Doh forget de callaloo. I find ppl who never eat it before say it taste good, but don't like how it does look.....an how it does slide down

Offline trinidre

« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2005, 01:25:02 PM »
yeah real americans doesnt like how it does look but the say it does tastse good after they try callaloo. when i bring my americans to a Trini lime they does love the west indian food and they always asking for recipe  ;D

« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2005, 01:31:41 PM »
2 things yuh had to keep in mind

1. part of eating is seeing
2. although we use to it when somebody from abroad especially England eat them thing it doh agree with them cause it real rich

I doh blame nobody who doh like callaloo cause when yuh really look at it it does look like green slime but we love it.

Dwight and them must be make the man eat some chicken soup/souse somewhere and make the man shit like ah duck.

Offline trinidre

« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2005, 01:35:52 PM »
yeah ah have to agree because even though ah love it now i is ah man didnt too like how it use to look when I was small until meh mother make meh eat it and ah aint had no choice  ;D

« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2005, 01:44:33 PM »
Mih cousin was studying Hotel Management in Germany last year and win the school cuisine competion with a trini callaloo....he get de bush from a caribbean market, but had to substitute some of herbs though....So Germany done get ah taste of trini cuisine already.  Dey done know !!!

« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2005, 03:04:48 PM »
i agree with birchall on this.

2 trini food i hate:
1. chicken or souse soup
2. stew chicken. i eh know why trini's so obsessed with all things stew.

Offline trinidre

« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2005, 03:08:51 PM »
ah not too big on the chicken foot soup or souse even tho ah does eat it occasionally buh ah real like meh stew chicken though  ;D

« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2005, 03:13:51 PM »

Sacrilege
bite your tongue

« Reply #16 on: December 22, 2005, 09:09:18 PM »
IS SOUSE the man eat ?

« Reply #17 on: December 22, 2005, 09:37:07 PM »

I speechless

Offline monty

« Reply #18 on: December 22, 2005, 09:42:02 PM »

I speechless

A.W.A.T.T could issue ticket for this too, right?

« Reply #19 on: December 22, 2005, 09:55:20 PM »
look like i might get ban yes.

Offline monty

« Reply #20 on: December 22, 2005, 10:01:10 PM »
look like i might get ban yes.

I doubt it that serious, but to hate on stew chicken or stew *anything* is a first yes. I hope you are the only one with this sentiment. One of the fastest thing you can cook is a stew chicken and you can eat it with anything! I had some stew oxtail today with some potato bread. It went down real good...

Offline naps_girl_7

« Reply #21 on: December 23, 2005, 03:49:16 PM »

2 trini food i hate:
1. chicken or souse soup

buh what trouble iz dis? stew chicken iz good food.
and somebody need to give Chris some hot Debe doubles, an den we'll see what he have to say against Trini food. ;)
T&T... WE WANT AH GOAL!!!

« Reply #22 on: December 23, 2005, 04:37:47 PM »

2 trini food i hate:
1. chicken or souse soup

and somebody need to give Chris some hot Debe doubles, an den we'll see what he have to say against Trini food. ;)

Or some doubles from de Sauce breddas in Curepe junction, an patraj roti.  ;)

Offline cm103

« Reply #23 on: December 23, 2005, 08:11:07 PM »

2 trini food i hate:
1. chicken or souse soup

Or some doubles from de Sauce breddas in Curepe junction, an patraj roti.  ;)

allyuh go kill meh here...meh kictchen getting rebuild so iz Wendys right through for a 2 weeks now :(

Offline triniwarrior

« Reply #24 on: December 23, 2005, 08:28:48 PM »
for 07 dey need to bring he down for Carnival and feed him some rum...he ent go study what he eating den and he go start craving dat kinda pavement food afterwards

English food does be bland though, yuh really have to start he out small...if he bussin d net like he did in the hex now, imagine if he stary by Dwight moms and get a blue food ration. Dem defenders in d WC go dead if dat bullet touch dem
I fine  somebody should give meh boy chris some hot doubles and a bottle of apple J. (Chris real nice by d' way)

« Reply #25 on: December 23, 2005, 10:40:57 PM »

I speechless
Next thing youh know, somebody ent like curry... ???

Offline cm103

« Reply #26 on: December 23, 2005, 11:43:10 PM »

I fine  somebody should give meh boy chris some hot doubles and a bottle of apple J. (Chris real nice by d' way)

triniwarrior...if I could get dat right about now ah would give yuh meh firstborn...plenty peppa and subs a peardrax or red solo for apple j

« Reply #27 on: December 24, 2005, 04:29:08 PM »

i ent like macafouchette! :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

So yuh'n like stale pelau neither? Whaaa