April 29, 2024, 03:58:08 AM

Author Topic: Christmas carols, parang, soca parang  (Read 122012 times)

Re: POST YUH FAVOURITE Parang/Christmas Chuune!!!
« Reply #120 on: December 15, 2009, 10:29:30 AM »
anybody have Lets be Friends by Relator ?

Help find a tune!!
« Reply #121 on: December 20, 2009, 09:04:02 PM »
Hey ah enlisting allyuh help. I just heard ah trini version of "Oh there is no place like home for the holiday" it sounded like it was sung by Nat king cole. He met ah man from" port of spain who was heading san fernando" etc and he even mentioned maracus.
Will appreciate it please and thank you.

It bloody cold!!
 :-X
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Re: Help find a tune!!
« Reply #122 on: December 20, 2009, 09:12:23 PM »
« Last Edit: December 20, 2009, 09:17:21 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #123 on: December 20, 2009, 09:25:20 PM »
thanks..
i am also looking for no christmas on sesame street. sung by oscar!!
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #124 on: December 20, 2009, 09:40:26 PM »
Hey ah enlisting allyuh help. I just heard ah trini version of "Oh there is no place like home for the holiday" it sounded like it was sung by Nat king cole. He met ah man from" port of spain who was heading san fernando" etc and he even mentioned maracus.

It bloody cold!!
I find this

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=HNMXQ7M1

« Reply #125 on: December 20, 2009, 09:45:40 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/JF6TsXJ-Xuc&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/JF6TsXJ-Xuc&amp;feature=related</a>
this is what it's ALL about
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #126 on: December 20, 2009, 10:00:35 PM »
Is this it
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sp5lcBZnJho&feature=related
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sp5lcBZnJho" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sp5lcBZnJho</a>
or what bout ,wrong season doh
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/lorraine.htm
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 10:55:35 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #127 on: December 21, 2009, 12:44:31 PM »
anybody have Lets be Friends by Relator ?

And Christmas on Sesame Street as well??....

« Reply #128 on: December 21, 2009, 12:45:13 PM »

It bloody cold!!

http://www.mediafire.com/?nwkj3zomcoz

Home Sweet Home/Kiss Me For Christmas  -- Can someone identify the singer though?

« Reply #129 on: December 21, 2009, 01:26:17 PM »

It bloody cold!!

Home Sweet Home/Kiss Me For Christmas  -- Can someone identify the singer though?

I ent even listen... but ah guessing is Kelwyn Hutcheon...

also Eman... as you is de best internet detective... i looking for Lord Relator - Lets be friends for Christmas

EDIT: ha ha ha ah listen and is not even a man... lol... i ent know who it is
« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 01:30:09 PM by FF »

« Reply #130 on: December 21, 2009, 01:58:10 PM »

It bloody cold!!

I ent even listen... but ah guessing is Kelwyn Hutcheon...

also Eman... as you is de best internet detective... i looking for Lord Relator - Lets be friends for Christmas

EDIT: ha ha ha ah listen and is not even a man... lol... i ent know who it is

I only have his 'Bottle & Spoon' at the moment

« Reply #131 on: December 21, 2009, 03:28:50 PM »
thanks guys sparrow sung the original. i got it from a few people. now if only i can find that oscar x mas carol....that is real kicks. use to hear it alot in the 80's and 90's.

« Reply #132 on: December 21, 2009, 03:56:23 PM »
I thought I had the answer, but I had to wait until after work to check it.

The tune "Home Sweet Home/Kiss Me For Christmas" is sung by Karen Eccles off of the album " Pelham Goddard Christmas Classics"

« Reply #133 on: December 21, 2009, 05:34:44 PM »
Oscar singing "I hate Christmas"
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/HHVcBSpQMjA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/HHVcBSpQMjA</a>
the script
« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 06:02:57 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #134 on: December 21, 2009, 05:37:01 PM »
If one of allyuh could get "Green Christmas" by Frankie Atwell, yuh good.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #135 on: December 21, 2009, 08:51:43 PM »
Anybody have Xmas coming by Signal Hill Alumni Choir? Is years now I looking for that one.
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #136 on: December 21, 2009, 09:03:44 PM »
I set this up for another group last year it is a free account so there are daily download limits

http://www.trinichristmas.keepandshare.com

At Christmas – Arlene Bereaux

Around the Christmas Tree – Karen Eccles

Parang Medley – Candice Antoine

Bottle and Spoon – David Bereaux

What’s the Use of Getting Sober – Pelham Goddard, Neil Bernard, Audra Perez, Brandon George

The Christmas Waltz – Arlene Bereaux

Home Sweet Home/Kiss Me for Christmas – Karen Eccles

Father Christmas – David Bereaux

Mamacita – Karen Eccles, Candice Antoine

The Thirteen Days of Christmas – Pelham Goddard, Neil Bernard, Audra Perez, Brandon George

Anita by scrunter,
trini christmas,
indian parang chick,
muchacha by crazy,
aye maria by francine,
si lo puerdia by flores de san jose

there is also  this one  which is a direct link to Ribbons by Marilyn Williams, it was the most requested song so I gave it it's own link.

http://www.keepandshare.com/doc/view.php?id=973775&da=y
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #137 on: December 21, 2009, 09:22:20 PM »
Oscar singing "I hate Christmas"
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/HHVcBSpQMjA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/HHVcBSpQMjA</a>
the script

...trouble is dis,,I never realize mr. hooper was jewish.....henson run de stereotype and give him de corner store to own too

« Reply #139 on: December 22, 2009, 01:50:04 PM »
Nice collection there.

Still can't find those other Relator songs, but here's some more info

'Christmas on Sesame street' came out as a 7" record in 1975 with 'People to People' on the flipside. (Pan 3150 Arranged by Art DeCoteau)

in 1981 a 12 inch had 'Bottle & Spoon'/'Christmas is Yours Christmas is Mine' (RAPE RAPE 0001, Makossa MD9072 Arranged by Earl Rodney)

and 1983 had a 4 track LP called Friendship with 'Make a Friend for Christmas'

RAPE RAPE 0004
Arranged by Pelham Goddard 
A-1 Make a Friend for Christmas 
A-2 Bottle and Spoon 
B-1 Make a Friend for Christmas (Instrumental) 
B-2 Christmas is Yours, Christmas is Mine

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
'Round my Christmas Tree
« Reply #140 on: December 23, 2009, 08:16:54 AM »
Somebody just sent me this...
beg pardon if it was posted already.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfMvSVJA4JI&feature=email
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/zfMvSVJA4JI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/zfMvSVJA4JI</a>
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 10:56:54 AM by Socapro »

Re: 'Round my Christmas Tree
« Reply #141 on: December 23, 2009, 12:53:42 PM »
The greatest Christmas Song on the planet earth.  Merry Christmas

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #142 on: December 23, 2009, 01:59:52 PM »
I vaguely remember it but it is nice, yes..
Merry Christmas dude!
« Last Edit: December 23, 2009, 02:20:09 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #143 on: December 23, 2009, 11:05:02 PM »
This is probably in the thread so mea culpa.
it's my favourite:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0cypBRp8jg
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/y0cypBRp8jg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/y0cypBRp8jg</a>
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 10:58:50 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #144 on: December 24, 2009, 02:10:19 AM »
Very, very nice memories... thanks for posting.

I must confess that I totally forgot about this song... has to be at least 20 yrs since I last heard it... yet instinctively I knew every word.  :beermug:

« Reply #145 on: December 24, 2009, 02:16:01 AM »
Wow .

« Reply #146 on: December 24, 2009, 01:41:30 PM »
Sorry if repost but this tune here is the best tune released for 2009 Christmas ..<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Br-cItrS5As" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Br-cItrS5As</a>
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 11:00:46 AM by Socapro »

Offline empressarlanna

Re: LosPajaros.ca and LOS AMIGOS! By De Empress Arlanna Parang/Christmas Chuunes
« Reply #148 on: December 24, 2009, 03:54:15 PM »
Season's Greetings to awl ah we SocaWarriors.net Family !

ENJOY LISTENIN' TO DE PARANG CHUNES OF DE SEASON !!

Turn up de speaka volume !  Feliz Navidad !   Musically yours, De Empress !  "Mrs. Arlanna Alie"

LOS PAJAROS

click on link here:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/0PauAF69K10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/0PauAF69K10</a>

LOS AMIGOS

click on link here:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/und_Y1-QGcs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/und_Y1-QGcs</a>

THE ARLANNA TV NETWORK

www.youtube.com/arlannaTV

www.ARLANNA.com

« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 11:04:08 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #149 on: December 24, 2009, 08:10:17 PM »
The download is in the other  (2 versions)