April 29, 2024, 08:26:18 PM

Author Topic: Christmas carols, parang, soca parang  (Read 122123 times)

Re: POST YUH FAVOURITE Parang/Christmas Chuune!!!
« Reply #150 on: December 24, 2009, 11:10:26 PM »
New tunes released recently for 2009 Christmas

Spanish Woman (Baron)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7UCSOPV8Jko" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7UCSOPV8Jko</a>

Ah tasting (Ramie)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XB3VlSPxOKM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XB3VlSPxOKM</a>

One for Tito (Crazy)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/fkSGw_wfW0I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/fkSGw_wfW0I</a>

This Christmas (Rootsman)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YRId6oc7dYc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YRId6oc7dYc</a>

Hard Wine (Kenneth Salick)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Br-cItrS5As" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Br-cItrS5As</a>
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 11:09:33 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #151 on: November 09, 2010, 07:26:33 AM »
Thread Resurrection time... de season is upon us   :beermug:

« Reply #152 on: November 09, 2010, 11:58:47 PM »
there are alot of new tunes already out fuh this season..check trinidadtunes.com

« Reply #153 on: November 25, 2010, 07:58:27 PM »
here is a quick mix guys enjoy
http://www.zshare.net/download/8314300033255cf2/

« Reply #154 on: November 26, 2010, 06:35:50 PM »
Hey guys does anyone have this riddim .. it call d wild meat riddim

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/blfUOHKICaw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/blfUOHKICaw</a>

« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 11:10:29 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #155 on: November 27, 2010, 01:13:38 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehnlZofv-L4&feature=related
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ehnlZofv-L4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ehnlZofv-L4</a>

spoiler

The Mighty Sparrow - Home for the holidays
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmSaOpat0vM&playnext=1&list=PLE6FB
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/LmSaOpat0vM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/LmSaOpat0vM</a>
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 11:13:12 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #156 on: November 27, 2010, 09:07:34 PM »
Now sorry eh...but I am a 'purist' ah favour the  old time classics. Growing up ah use to groups coming by from Moruga with Gosein one of the BEST mandolin players; my father's first cousin. Sitting at home when they came by and marveling at the music. So if any one know of links with the following tunes that would be appreciated:

One has to love the old parang classics......  here are some of the old time groups:

San Jose Seranaders

Rio Claro
Santa Theresa
Valencia National Handicraft
Rancho Quemado
San Juan Serenaders
Old Oak Serenaders
Universal

And the QUEEN: DAISY VOISIN

Las Estrellas":

"Tucusito"

' La Pascualidad'-----This is a bomb classic!!!!! ah remember when this was unleashed in Trinidad. Man ah was litening to Holly Bet. on radio.. gosh this song mash up the house in the sixties!!!!

'Manzanare'

"Feliz Ano"

"La Colga"

« Reply #157 on: November 28, 2010, 12:10:39 PM »
RemBunction - MACAFOUCHETTE (OFFICIAL VIDEO)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZAnVZUys6g&feature=player_embedded
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/WZAnVZUys6g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/WZAnVZUys6g</a>
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 11:14:48 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #159 on: November 29, 2010, 08:19:15 PM »
there are alot of nice tunes for this season..search them on youtube

« Reply #160 on: November 30, 2010, 09:14:43 PM »
Some more classics: pure parang none ah this jump up and soca thing; Keep the parang true to its form.

Sonny Christian is a visitor at my folks place. So good to see ah tribute here to him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2hpCA7bi3c&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Mij_fzVFDU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2qS-Ntsr9o&feature=related    trini  Sweetness YES!!!!! WITH PAN

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsdJBFOcIpA&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qcJ4vD0nbA&feature=related

« Reply #161 on: December 02, 2010, 07:36:34 PM »
NEW 2010 PARANG SOCA..

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/BS-hxngA4p0&amp;feature=sub" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/BS-hxngA4p0&amp;feature=sub</a>

« Reply #162 on: December 02, 2010, 08:45:56 PM »
Not sure if this was posted before... Chinee Parang

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/R5pIwDxKMr8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/R5pIwDxKMr8</a>

« Reply #163 on: December 03, 2010, 08:44:51 AM »

One of my favs
El diablo Suerte by Daisy Voisin

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ByhpVqXvjMY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ByhpVqXvjMY</a>

Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #164 on: December 03, 2010, 08:45:43 AM »
Nice collection there.

Still can't find those other Relator songs, but here's some more info

'Christmas on Sesame street' came out as a 7" record in 1975 with 'People to People' on the flipside. (Pan 3150 Arranged by Art DeCoteau)

in 1981 a 12 inch had 'Bottle & Spoon'/'Christmas is Yours Christmas is Mine' (RAPE RAPE 0001, Makossa MD9072 Arranged by Earl Rodney)

and 1983 had a 4 track LP called Friendship with 'Make a Friend for Christmas'

RAPE RAPE 0004
Arranged by Pelham Goddard 
A-1 Make a Friend for Christmas 
A-2 Bottle and Spoon 
B-1 Make a Friend for Christmas (Instrumental) 
B-2 Christmas is Yours, Christmas is Mine

Every yr i check for these songs on the internet and as yet...no luck!!!!!
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #166 on: December 14, 2010, 01:13:23 PM »
mi side thing always telling mi bout you is a indian yu eh eating no pork right?. I tell she you know what listen this chune and then come to mi wid eating pork..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VkneT2H7WC0

« Reply #167 on: December 14, 2010, 01:16:59 PM »
I find this thing on a web site

Latin Caribbean Party Vol. 1-Various Artists
latin caribbean party vol 1
1.le anuncio by los alumnos de san juan
2.soreno soreno bylos tocadores
3.por primrea vez by la divina pastora
4.burbujas de amor by flores de san jose
5.galeron by rebuscar
6.la gaita by lara bros.
7.bolero instrumental by los buenos parranderos
8.cantando gloria by los alumnos de san juan
9.si yo pudiera by flores de san jose
10.el camino by los buenos parranderos
11.la historia trinitaria by la divina pastora
12.que vega by lara bros.
13.anda parrandero bylos tocadores
14.don alberto by rebuscar
15.bring back sweet parang by big b

http://hulkshare.com/sdoz9e9zp9tt

Strictly Parang Vol.2-Various Artists
STRICTLY PARANG VOL 2
1.PASEN PASEN-LARA BROS.
2.SABANEANDO-LOS PARANDEROS DE UWI
3.DAISY MEDLEY-LOS ALUMNOS DEN SAN JUAN
4.NACIMIENTO-LOS PASTORES
5.RIO MANZANARE-VIVA NUEVA
6.SINTIENDO LANAVIDADE-VOCES JOVENES
7.CANTEMOS PASTORES-SHARLENE FLORES
8.PASEO-SOTERO &DOMINGO GOMEZ
9.EL GUARAPO-LOS COLORES DE NAVIDAD
10.NOSOTROS NOS VAMOS-LOS PARANDEROS DE UWI
11.NACIDO-VIVA NEUVA
12.DA ME EL VINO-VOCES JOVENES
13.FRIO FRIO-SHARLENE FLORES
14.VAMOS VAMOS-LARA BROS.
15.LA GALLINA-PAPA GUHN & SOTERO GOMEZ

http://hulkshare.com/wrgfzs2xb9iu

Christmas memories
« Reply #168 on: December 16, 2010, 05:29:20 AM »
This song brought back a lot of memories being a little boy around Christmas Time. How many of you had to perform this song with your classmates for Christmas concert?  ;D

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/zfMvSVJA4JI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/zfMvSVJA4JI</a>

Re: Christmas memories
« Reply #169 on: December 16, 2010, 12:24:15 PM »
pure nostalgia for me on that one :beermug:

« Reply #170 on: December 16, 2010, 01:28:31 PM »
Absolute classic and a beautiful piece of music!   :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

And this one was nice too...

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/88Vdy-lgP78" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/88Vdy-lgP78</a>
« Last Edit: December 16, 2010, 09:52:14 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #171 on: December 16, 2010, 07:59:30 PM »
anybody have Lets be Friends by Relator ?

don't have the original, but found a pan version on youtube
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/olP6OZEAqYY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/olP6OZEAqYY</a>

« Reply #172 on: December 17, 2010, 08:58:32 AM »
anybody have Lets be Friends by Relator ?

don't have the original, but found a pan version on youtube
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/olP6OZEAqYY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/olP6OZEAqYY</a>

ah go take it!!  ;D

« Reply #173 on: December 17, 2010, 09:45:08 AM »
btw,,,does christmas reggae still exist?

when I was small, 'chrismus rockers' was as common as parang.....I doubt man like busy signal and movado go sing dat......it have anybody does still do it?

« Reply #174 on: December 17, 2010, 02:34:54 PM »
Nice collection there.

Still can't find those other Relator songs, but here's some more info

'Christmas on Sesame street' came out as a 7" record in 1975 with 'People to People' on the flipside. (Pan 3150 Arranged by Art DeCoteau)

in 1981 a 12 inch had 'Bottle & Spoon'/'Christmas is Yours Christmas is Mine' (RAPE RAPE 0001, Makossa MD9072 Arranged by Earl Rodney)

and 1983 had a 4 track LP called Friendship with 'Make a Friend for Christmas'

RAPE RAPE 0004
Arranged by Pelham Goddard 
A-1 Make a Friend for Christmas 
A-2 Bottle and Spoon 
B-1 Make a Friend for Christmas (Instrumental) 
B-2 Christmas is Yours, Christmas is Mine

well Zandolie just found the Sesame steet song :
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32746.msg713501#msg713501
« Last Edit: December 17, 2010, 10:01:15 PM by E-man »

« Reply #175 on: December 17, 2010, 10:02:39 PM »

well Zandolie just found the Sesame steet song :
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32746.msg713501#msg713501

Here is an mp3 version I extracted from the youtube video
http://www.mediafire.com/?qf22cwy1qwqkiyc
« Last Edit: December 18, 2010, 01:18:21 PM by E-man »

Ah need help allyuh.
« Reply #176 on: December 23, 2010, 01:35:01 AM »
Fellow forumites, there is a christmas song that i used to here as a kid, but since i in foreign i never heard it play once, so i'm of the opinion that it's either caribbean or trini in origin. please help me to identify this song so i could aquirre it for my little nephews and neices, and of course the meh children, and don't forget mama.

the lyrics goes like this. " little children heard of mr santa, teddy bears and dollies saying maama, the fragrance of black fruit cake and red wine, lets toast to a special friend of mine, his name is jesus"

chorus. "come little children round my christmas tree, lets have ah very merry timeeee. lets sing dance and sway, to the break of new years day, we'll listen to the church bells chime."

if ah could get ah yutetube or audio sample would be ah plus, but will settle for the name of the song.

Mods please bare wid meh. ah know this topic don't belong here, but since this is ah regularly visited forum, i would most likely find what i'm looking for here.

thank you guys, and happy holidays.

Re: Ah need help allyuh.
« Reply #177 on: December 23, 2010, 01:52:00 AM »
That is Lennox Grey song called "Around the Christmas tree." or around my christmas tree.

One of my all time faves.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2010, 01:55:05 AM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #178 on: December 23, 2010, 02:13:34 AM »
That is Lennox Grey song called "Around the Christmas tree." or around my christmas tree.

One of my all time faves.
Well i'm shocked! :o today was really ah strange day, first the DADT repelled, latas still in charge, and now you an atheist having a favorite "CHRISTMAS" song. well ah day.

BTW TC, no kiddin, thanx for that, i was trying meh best tuh find that song for meh mother and the kids but to no avail. ah know it had to be a local song.                       much appreciated.

« Reply #179 on: December 23, 2010, 02:16:23 AM »
Dahs the damn ting self! thanx again TC. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k7og8aTLPtc  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfMvSVJA4JI&feature=related

« Last Edit: December 23, 2010, 02:22:55 AM by just cool »