March 28, 2024, 02:50:44 AM

Author Topic: The 2nd Annual socawariors.net Year End Awards  (Read 9990 times)

The 2nd Annual socawariors.net Year End Awards
« on: December 23, 2005, 09:16:20 PM »
Welcome to the 2nd Annual socawarriors.net Year End Awards![/color]

Well peeps. It's that time of the year again.  Time for the distribution & nomination of the Socawarriors.net Year End Awards for 2005.  These awards go out to  posters, players, administrators and anyone in general connected with  T&T football in  2005.  So sit back, relax and  enjoy.  Feel free to add more award winners/nominations.  Let's get the ball rolling!!

Team of the Year:
That goes to the T&T Senior Men's National team!  No rocket science here as this was a unanimous decision as nobody in dey right mind would try and dispute dat.  Well....KND mad enough to try & come up wit some kinda dotishness but on dis award...he vote eh countin... ;D

Male Player of the Year:
The nominees are:
  • Dwight Yorke
  • Stern John
  • Dennis Lawrence
  • The entire Team

The winner....Soca Warriors captain Dwight Yorke!!

Female Player of the Year Award:
This Year was a tight race between Maylee Attin-Johnson and Kennya Cordner.  Both ladies were fully deserving of the Award but the winner with a slight edge and the one who takes home the Award is Kennya Cordner! 

Domestic club coach of the Year Award:
This goes to Stuart Charles of W Connection!

Domestic Team of the Year Award:
This goes to W Connection!  Connection or the Savonetta Boys as they are popularly known copped 3 Trophies in all competitions as well as a Final losing 1-0 to San Juan Jabloteh in the T&T Pro Bowl.

Most Promising Young Local Player Award:
This is a TIE between Kerry Noray and Josh Johnson both of San Juan Jabloteh.

SSFL Team of the Year Award:
The nominees are Naparima College & Fatima College.  The winner of the Award for 2005, South Zone and Big 5 Champs, Naparima College!

"It's About Time" Award:
This goes to Fatima College for their first National Intercol Triumph in 24 years!

Evo Stick Award:
This goes to none other than T&T Sports Minister Roger Boynes. Dah man could  stick boy.  After makin Jack foot the majority of de  football team expenses, he want to come and play dem was givin money  all along.     Roger..........WHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!

Cowboy and Indian "Waggonist" Award:
This goes again to Minister Roger Boynes.  AFTER de team start to do good, Roger start  suddenly showin up at matches, showin up to meet de team in de airport, makin speech bout how he so proud.  Boss...yuh eh foolin nobody.  AWATT in yuh tail!

DIS Organization of the Year Award (sponsored this year by Umbala Joseph):
This goes to AWATT!  TICKET!!!!

Nostradamus Award:
This goes to coach Bertille St  Clair who kept telling everyone who would listen that we goin Germany.  He also had the foresight to bring back Dwight Yorke when most had written him off.  Not only bring him back, but make him skipper.  Respeck due BSC!

Mammy Spoil Chile Award (sponsored this year by Huggies):
This goes to none other than Clayton Imps.  No explanation necessary.  Clayton, you have major talent but yuh move bad dey and yuh disappoint many of yuh fans.  Hopefully dat was a one off ting and you come back better than ever because we need you to be at your best and we know at your best, you are the best.  But doh ever pull dem stunts again eh.

Tobago Love Award:
This goes to TrueTrini (co winner last year wit Triniman) and Triniinfinte.

"Arliss Super Agent " Award aka the Carly Simon "Stand by your  man" Award:
This was a unanimous choice. It goes to Triniinfite for his strident advocacy and support of  Kerwyn "Hardest" Jemmot.

Brian Lara Award:
The most prolific poster is none other than Morvantman!  Now, this is a serious achievement because jes earlier dis year, men was sayin no way anybody could beat back Alberta Trini.  But faced with a relentless onslaught from Morvantman in jes a short few months, Alberta Trini fold up like a Patraj roti.

"5 days ole unrefrigerated curry chataigne mix wit ex lax and senna pods" Award:
Fuh de most amounta verbal diarrehea ever seen on a message board, this award goes to poster KND.

Excerpt from his "Side improve under Beenie meh ass" contribution......"Fact is if Yorke could not carry we when he was King of Man U , he sure as hell will not be able to carry we in the Twilight of the career".

Most improved poster Award:
This goes to Triniman!  Last year, Triniman was the butt of much ridicule on dis board, so much so dat Lasana Liburd had to mention he in one a he articles.  Triniman still hopin to get a Trinidad passport, but he has gone from ridiculed to tolerated in 1 year.  Congrats Triniman...steeps

Tommy Joseph Jokiest Post of the Year Award:
This goes to the one and only KND for this classic Yorke, Latas, & de 2 Mampees  This post make it all over the world in email.  Gwan wit yuh bad self KND!  Yuh large sah!!

Inspirational Post of the Year Award:
This goes to Kicker for this gem....CLICK HERE

Satirical Post of the Year Award:
This goes to pioneertrini for this  Zamora classic: Zamora ''I'm fully committed''. Everybody get ketch wit dat one.

Trinbago Pulitzer Prize Award:
Fuh de most anticipated & best written posts, this award goes to Touches.   Breds....dem  reports yuh gi we after games was PRICELESS!  Special and honorary mention to men like Andre Samuel, Cowen, etc who also provided their excellent reports.  Special Special thanks fuh de RED TING who was at de games who I'm positive provided inspiration. But Touches have a way wit words fuh real.  As a mutual female acquaintance did tell  meh...Palos boy, Touches rell orally talented in trute yuh know.  Ah didn't boddah axe fuh details.

"Ole time  someting come back again" Award:
It is with great pleasure that we announce that the winners are............Dwight Yorke and Russell  Latapy!!

Haterade Award:
The organisers of the Awards advise that this award has been permanently retired as there is nobody on the planet who does hate on T&T more than RF.  As such, RF has been given this Award for life.  RF...take a bow :notworthy:  Oops...dey say yard man not supposed to do dem ting so ent?  At least, not officially.  Oh well.

Ms. Cleo Award:
This goes to none other than RF for his uncanny ability to incorrectly predict football scores and/or results.   From his "prediction of Jamaica not just easily qualifying for the Hex but actually winning it, to predicting T&T would finish last in the  Hex, then T&T would finish 5th behind Guatemala, to finally Bahrain  would beat T&T".  This poster's prognostications have proven to be so inaccurate, merely choosing the opposite of his predictions would ensure an accurate outcome.  This bodes well for T&T's  games in germany based on RF's "predictions" on the outcomes of those  games.

"Rudolph Charles tell meh where he gone" Award:
This goes to Winnipeg Fury. Ever since the Mexico game, no sight of Winnie on de board.  Not even a mention of de Canada game against Liechtenstein or how it have 700 canadians playin in Europe.  Playin WHAT is de question. Dishonourable mention goes to Bimblast who was last seen in Houston tryin to figure out what de hell happened to he Bajan "Rockets", Sting Pana who mus be lost in he Canal, and Bahraini4Life who uttered the truest words of all...Trini Daddy!

Einstein Award:
This goes to coach Leo Beenhakker.  This man was more like a miracle worker than simply a genius because he helped to literally bring us back from the dead.  MASSIVE RESPECK TO COACH BEENHAKKER AND STAFF!

"All a we is one famalaayyyyy" Award:
This goes to Christopher "Me Mum" Birchall.  A player who decided to take a chance and is now reaping the benefits.  T&T also reap the benefits of having him in the team.  Respeck due Me Mum!

"Manday/Panning" Award:
Fuh dotishness, badmindedness, and plain ole xenophobia, this award goes unhesitatingly to Alvin "Sabo" Corneal, Sedley Joseph, and Edgar Vidale.  3 men who at every turn appear to try to undermine and retard any progress in T&T football once it doh have dem involve in it. Imagine a learned football man like Alvin Corneal bad mouthin Chris Birchall whole WC campaign sayin how he eh good and we have better players in T&T when almost everyone else not named Corneal, Joseph and Vidale (and Colin Murray to a lesser extent) seeing that Brichall brings something to the team that we lacked previously and not just lacked, but NEEDED! To top it all off, Corneal, who had countless opportunities to coach T&T and never had any significant level of success have the GALL to want to tell Coach Beenhakker who to pick after we make the World Cup!  Edgar Vidale gone on radio show saying we should go to the World Cup with a local coach.  WTF wrong with these people?

"Big Chune of de Year" Award:
This goes to Maximus Dan for his Soca Warriors Anthem "Fighter".  Special and most honourable mention must go to forumite Nigel Fabien for his composition "Time for Germany", the song that kicked it all off.  Respeck Nigel!!!

Viagara Award:
The award for longevity goes to T&T's most capped player EVER....Angus Eve!

Robert Nesta Marley "Redemption" Award:
This award goes to none other than Stern John!  After enduring a prolonged loss of form, challenges with his club, and the abuse (sometimes overboard) of fans, his class showed in the games that really mattered.  It was his goals that powered us past Guatemala, Panama and Mexico....3 MUST WIN GAMES!  Massive Respeck to Stern John...A TRUE WARRIOR!

Bacchanalist of the Year Award:
This goes to former National player & Scout David Nakhid. 

Burro of the Year Award:
Check allyuh Spanish translation if allyuh eh know what Burro mean, but it goes to San Juan Jabloteh Coach Terry Fenwick.

Eunuch of the Year Award:
For having NO BALLS, this award goes to the administration of the PFL who reduced the 10 game ban on Fenwick to 4 games after he threw an elbow at an opposing player.  They shoulda lorse he tail in Carrera.

Corbeaux of the Year Award:
This award goes to the LOC fuh how dey handle de ticket situation fuh de Bahrain game.  Seems as if the're the front runner for the 2006 Award as well with the Germany ticket situation and  2006 eh even start yet.  Dishonourable mention to the TTFF who so inept they cyah even arrange for sex in a brothel.  We have qualified for the World Cup and STILL cyah organize any practice matches?  Not a single home game before the World Cup and is a whole 7 months to go?  STEUPES!

Hip Hip Hooray Award:
This goes to Bede Wells & Corporate Sponsors who are sponsoring the 1973 team to Germany and who will be assisting the Strike Squad to Germany.  A great gesture!!

"Ah hold meh head and bawl" Award:
This is a new entry this year.  Some of de nominees are:
  • Cyd Gray in de Gold Cup against Panama whe he try tuh butt de ball even doh it was grass height and it resulted in a goal.
  • Dog misread de long ball against Panama in de Gold Cup and it end up as a goal.
  • Dog misread de long ball against Bahrain (in Bahrain) and dey nearly score.
  • Kelvin Jack jump fuh de ball against Bahrain and miss it and Dog had tuh
    rescue him.
  • Dog set up Lawrence fuh ah red card when he make de lame back pass against USA.
  • Kelvin Jack kick de ball straight back tuh Donovan and he had tuh make ah spectacular save to prevent ah goal.
  • Shaka let a feeble 25-yard shot from Ramirez roll through his hands which opened de floodgates fuh Guatemala.
  • De leave out Carlos Edwards give de Mexican left back causin de  man to nearly run off de field while Carlos goin de nex way.

"Watcha Talkin Bout Willis?" Award:
For the most dotish quote of de year, we have the following "worthy" nominees.
  • Bertille St Clair - "Allyuh doh like meh because ah from Tobago"
  • Sports Minister Roger Boynes - "The Soca Warriors have our full and unconditional support.  If allyuh beat Bahrain, then we go talk bout money to bring back de coach"
  • RF - With Jamaica needing a win in the US against an already qualified USA to advance to the Hex, RF explained the USA 3rd string selection thusly...."The USA wanted to win badly because they didn't want to face Jamaica in the Hex as Jamaica too dangerous"  Yup...that's exactly why they picked that 3rd string team huh RF?
  • Prime Minister Patrick Manning - "We know who Mr. BIG is."
  • Austin Jack Warner -  the following interview with Andre Baptiste:

Andre Baptiste: What about Russell Latapy?
    Jack Warner:  I have had a lot of people asking me about Russell Latapy. I do not think that Russell Latapy is an asset to the team at this stage, he also belongs to a previous era. Asking for him now is like asking for Garner or Anill Roberts to improve West Indies bowling. We have to  understand that this is an era past. We have to use the players we have now and we may use Russell Latapy’s experience. We will use him of course like we use David Nakhid today., but to say that Russell Latapy would be the answer to the team’s problems….we would be dreaming!

I eh know bout allyuh, but ah tink Jack take win wit dah one yes.

Bobolee Award:
The award for the poster gettin de most PONG goes to davyjenny for his "rendition" of "Is Jack Warner a drunkard?"  For those who may have missed it, check de link HERE. Not often does someone new come onto a site and have themselves promptly described as a verb AND adjective.  The phrase "Dah man pull a davyjenny on we yes" will live in socawarriors.net message board infamy forever.

Slogan of the Year Award:
This goes to forumite Andre Samuel for "Ah love it"!  Honourable mention to Russell Latapy for "Vibes it up"

"PHEW" Award: (sponsored by Rolaids):
This goes to none other than Austin "Jack" Warner!  What a RELIEF it must be for this man who despite his many critics, me included, saw his ultimate dream  (ok...maybe not  ultimate but right up there) FINALLY realized.  There can be no doubt that Jack walk the walk on this journey.

"Frank Sinatra I did it My Way" Award:
This goes to the indomitable Austin Jack Warner!  Say what you want about Mr. Warner but there can be no doubt that were it not for his considerable clout and backing, we would not be in a position to hire a Leo Beenhakker in the first place, far less to qualify for the World Cup.  Thank you Mr. Warner for your tireless effort, playing a significant part in realising this dream.   :salute:

"Most welcome addition to the site" Award:
This is given to the female forumites who have joined.  warrior queen, nobodys angel, ladywarrior, Trin_cana, Toppa, Lil JodieP, etc. it is a pleasure to have you on the site and I sure Truetrini and Morvantman especially endorse those sentiments.  ;D  Keep the posts flowin and much respeck to all the ladies in da house!!!

"Couldn't have done it without you" Award:
This goes to TD Lincoln Phillips!  This man works tirelessly and QUIETLY behind the scenes in the face of incredible odds to get the job done.  It is he who is reported to have recommended Mr. Beenhakker.  He is reported to have gotten Government and Corporate sponsors on board at least in some small way when prior to this, none would touch T&T football.  He has developed many programs and initiatives in his short stint to date.  It is not that he is the only person doing anything.  Jack Warner for example is the public figure of T&T football and rightfully earns the accolades he gets.  But still, many thanks and much respeck TD Phillips.  You have the support of a grateful football public.

"Gone but Never forgotten" Award:
This goes to those who aren't here with us PHYSICALLY to share in our most glorious football moment but who are more than there with us in SPIRIT.   Those like Mickey Trotman, Richard Theodore, our brother and  poster TC,  Touches love, Marvin Lee, Rolston "Sibby" James,  Russell "The Red Wall" Tesheira, Henry Dennie, Carlton "Putty" Lewis,  Rex "Ropo" Burnett, Victor "Sharkey" Henry and any others not  mentioned.  YOU WILL NEVER EVER BE FORGOTTEN!

"We are not Worthy" Award:
This goes to Flex, the originator of our site and Tallman!  Thank you both for giving us a piece of  home away from home.  A place that we can truly call our own, where we can gather in fellowship to indulge in our passion...T&T football.  MASSIVE RESPECK!

Finally, the Award for THE BEST SUPPORTERS IN THE WORLD goes to all of us at Socawarriors.net and T&T football fans, wherever they may be.  We have endured pain and suffering for so long and what happened on November 16, 2005 still seems like a dream somehow.  There is no better Christmas present than the one that was granted to us by our Soca Warriors.  From the bottom of our eternally grateful hearts we thank you!   WE DID IT!!!!  And more  importantly...WE DESERVE IT!   Big up yuhself everybody!

GOD BLESS EVERYBODY, MERRY CHRISTMAS, A WONDERFUL NEW YEAR, PEACE & PROSPERITY TO ALL.  STAY SAFE & ONWARDS TO GERMANY!
« Last Edit: December 24, 2005, 02:26:37 PM by Tallman »

Re: The 2nd Annual socawariors.net Year End Awards
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2005, 09:48:45 PM »
well said!

« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2005, 09:52:45 PM »
This real sweet but ah ent see newcomers like FEliz...Rotato, occorgn......Wey de Freah man award......PLUS...DAVY (something) have to get an award for that sober post.  :)   Alll good Palos, thanks for the run down Happy NEw Year :)

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2005, 09:57:05 PM »
I concur great selections. One corrections however, it was not the PFL that reduce the ban. It was some jokers hiding behind the FIFA banner.

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2005, 10:11:37 PM »
nice dere  :beermug:

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2005, 10:26:36 PM »
Nice, I thought I had The Tommy Joseph Jokiest Post of the Year Award in the bag :'( oh well is back to the drawing board for me. Congrats KND ;D Big up Tallman, Flex and palos for all di hard work :notworthy: 2006 is ah big year so everyone brace yourself for the shitong influx dat commin  :yapping:
« Last Edit: December 23, 2005, 10:32:23 PM by pioneertrini »

« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2005, 10:27:08 PM »
Boi if ah knew at the end of the year ah had ah chance tuh win an award,:

Ah would ah post in every thread

post ah whole lot ah one liners

and ask questions about everything just tuh get meh quota or numbers up.

Ah would have written less of  thesis and essays and  post ah whole lot of  postings in one sentences.

Much respect ; happy holidays and sustained vibes to all posters on the forum.

Palos,
 Congrats  on your new role: much deserving. Maybe we'll connect up in Vancouver one of these days.

AlbertaTrini enjoying ah no snow xmas in Alberta and loving it: parang blasting from meh gallery; neighbours walking by and  have the quizzical look; and meh soca TNT football shirt swaying  on the bannister.

TOMORROW IS SOme SERIOUS BLACK CAKE cooking; RUM AND A PARANG LIME AT MY HOUSE.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2005, 11:41:04 AM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2005, 10:34:20 PM »
Damn!!!!!!! Is real action ah miss out on boy .... Nice work Super P :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2005, 11:09:47 PM »
i would juss like tuh thank all my fans and all my people in trinidad and tobago who have supported me over de years, i am honoured to receive dis award, god bless

via satellite from toronto   ;D

merry christmas, put christ back into christmas

Offline cm103

« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2005, 12:02:55 AM »
AMEN brother Palos...i ketch real kicks off dis

And about d "It's about time award"....good things come to those who wait..

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Seasons Greetings everybody

« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2005, 12:37:09 AM »
how i get tobago love award breds?

steups.

merry chrismas and ah happy new year!

Offline Strip

« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2005, 01:32:38 AM »
thas ah nice annual wrap up dey palos

merry christmas everybody!

« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2005, 01:49:28 AM »
Nice wrap up dey Palos...a nice way to end de season. Thanks and big up to everyone mentioned.

Yuh forget the Information and Research Award sponsored by Google goes to: Tallman

Merry Christmas and a Happy SOCA WARRIOR New Year .
« Last Edit: December 24, 2005, 01:52:37 AM by Grande man »

« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2005, 02:39:11 AM »
Wheeys.. AWATT Get an award..

lovely... lol

Offline KND

« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2005, 07:08:42 AM »
At least I get 2 Awards

Tallman , I see you taking pictures with Jack see if you could organize a few free tickets for the awards winners nah

Palos givin man award and is like I aint win nothing no trophy no nothing.

Well at least now I know how to spell sha-tine is really chataigne

I will like to congratulate the fellow award winners and thank the award committee.

Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #15 on: December 24, 2005, 09:11:03 AM »
Nice piece de Palos, took some thought an creativity...........NUFF REspek to you, Flex an Tallman to have we people from all ovah on one site givin we all to our common goal.

To everyone on de board.......have a SAFE AND MERRY CHRISTMAS! Yuh hear!
To those of us who have children........hug dem ah lil tighta tomorrow eh!

[BLESS]

« Reply #16 on: December 24, 2005, 09:49:53 AM »
Whey boy, how AWATT get d nod ahead of the STERN JOHN FOR GOALS COMMITTEE guess it was a close one.

Great job palos

Seasons Greetings to Everyone

« Reply #17 on: December 24, 2005, 09:56:38 AM »
yes palos...yuh wukkin.....good stuff...tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2005, 11:01:49 AM »
Damn nice work. Congrats to all the winners. Yes even RF. :devil:

« Reply #19 on: December 24, 2005, 11:34:17 AM »
Palos  look like we go have tuh have an award 'fuh  foreign Trinibagonian' contribution to the sustaniability and profund contribution on the board. Wait nah Palos" you win that award already; yuh get the job!!!!
Congrats again from out here in the west.

« Reply #20 on: December 24, 2005, 11:37:53 AM »
thank you thank you 

i got 2 awards awatt included 

thanks oconnorg :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: December 24, 2005, 11:47:20 AM »
NO AWARDS FOR THE STERN FOR GOALS COMITTEE??

BIG UP TO AWATT ANY WAYS OCCONOR NEED DEM TING

« Reply #22 on: December 24, 2005, 12:18:55 PM »
Nice nice nice.....

Ah like it .

Hold it dong !

« Reply #23 on: December 24, 2005, 12:27:00 PM »
Palos, you ha real time on yuh hands oui. It funny doh, especially the RF predictions :rotfl:

« Reply #24 on: December 24, 2005, 12:38:11 PM »
Award for the most glaring misses in front of goal - Stern John

Award for the most lacadasical player ever in a T&T uniform - Stern John

The Award for receiving the most amount ah simultaneous steups and "modda c__t" - you guessed it Stern John missed penalty against Mexico, National Stadium

« Reply #25 on: December 24, 2005, 12:58:31 PM »
disgruntled trini....thats why stern cuss yuh in de stadium.....

« Reply #26 on: December 24, 2005, 12:59:04 PM »
poster with the most hatred for stern john- :-X DISGRUNTLED TRINI

« Reply #27 on: December 24, 2005, 01:09:31 PM »
disgruntled   still vex st vincent and the grenadines get knock out....thats all i could say......stern john....not sean john

« Reply #28 on: December 24, 2005, 01:42:35 PM »
sigh

when will you'll see the light