April 25, 2024, 03:13:31 PM

Author Topic: Warner's family firm monopolises FIFA World Cup tickets  (Read 32805 times)

Warner's family firm monopolises FIFA World Cup tickets
« on: December 24, 2005, 08:49:25 PM »
Warner's family firm monopolises FIFA World Cup tickets.
By Lasana Liburd (Express).

Part I

Lasana Liburd probes FIFA VP Jack Warner's relationship with the T&TFF in a three-part series. Trinidad and Tobago football fans desperate to see the national team's historic debut appearance at the 2006 World Cup tournament in Germany must wait a bit longer to discover why it is so expensive to do so and if they are being exploited by a suspect alliance.
FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Football Federation (T&TFF) special adviser Jack Warner and T&TFF president Oliver Camps refused to say whether it was ethical for the country's ticket allocation to be diverted to Warner's private company and exactly how many tickets were sent by FIFA.

Camps, who is responsible for the country's share of tickets, told the Sunday Express that he did not know whether Warner owned Simpaul Travel Service-the company which has claimed to have purchased all Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup tickets.
"I do not know that is happening," said Camps, when asked why Warner was allowed to divert tickets to his own private company. "Do you know who the owner of Simpaul is? Let us not go there."

Camps refused further comment and claimed that he was sworn to silence by a gag order from his T&TFF subordinates on the executive committee.
"The (T&TFF) executive asked that no one answer any questions at the moment," said Camps.
Camps suggested that the T&TFF will allow questions in a future media conference, although he did not yet know the time or place.
Warner was also in no mood to be questioned on Trinidad and Tobago's tickets and whether it was ethical for his company to profit on tickets that only he could obtain. 'You write what you want to write,' said Warner. "I have nothing to discuss with you."

A company search at the Ministry of Legal Affairs confirmed that Warner is a director of Simpaul Travel Services Limited along with his wife Maureen and sons Daryan and Darryl Warner. Former owner, Simone Petit, also confirmed that she sold her travel agency to Warner in the mid-1990s. But the word "Simpaul" prompted curt responses from anyone involved in the T&TFF or the Warner family.

Maureen Warner, a company director, claimed to be overcome by a combination of fatigue and flu when asked about Simpaul's stranglehold over the Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup tickets at 4.45 p.m. on Wednesday.
"You caught me sleeping," said Warner (M). "I have the flu and I am sleeping."
Trinidad and Tobago's distribution of World Cup football tickets is in stark contrast to its fellow 2006 competitors.
The Football Federation of Australia (FFA), whose only other World Cup final appearance came 32 years ago, informed Australian fans that 8,500 tickets for its opening three group matches would be made available before they went on sale on December 20.

Fans had the option of buying tickets individually, select seats from four categories, purchase all three group tickets in one package or acquire an all-inclusive package, which included airfare and accommodation.
Three Category One group tickets-situated near the half line at both sides of the field-were offered to fans at $528 (Australian dollars) or TT$2,475, which allowed the FFA a profit of TT$204 for each ticket sold.
In Trinidad and Tobago, though, Simpaul insisted that fans must purchase all three tickets along with accommodation-even in cases where fans already made their own arrangements for shelter in Germany.

Simpaul's package costs $30,000, which is exclusive of airfare and ground transport while all hotel rooms are double occupancy. The travel agency's price also ignores the fact that some of its tickets are for Category Two seats, which are situated near the field's corner flags.
At a cost of $2,254 for three Category One tickets, according to the FIFA website, Trinidad and Tobago football fans must pay an additional $27,746 for 12 nights accommodation in Germany.

The Sunday Express contacted Germany's Best Western Hotel, a reputable three-star hotel, which has rooms available from $751. Twelve days, at that rate, would cost $9,012.
Minus a supporter shirt, wristband, flag and travel bag, generously estimated at $400, and the Warner family can rake in $18,334 for each package sold.
If they sold a similar allocation as the FFA, the Warners could be $50 million richer from ticket sales alone. Simpaul is yet to reveal which hotels would house its clients.
On December 13, Warner claimed, in a T&TFF press conference, that Simpaul-his company-paid the T&TFF, the organisation he helps run, $500,000 to be its official travel agent.
Warner refused comment on the ethics of such a deal.
In a further twist, the Sunday Express unearthed a Simpaul Travel legal document which allowed accountant Kenny Rampersad to act on its behalf.
Rampersad is the director of accounting firm, Kenny Rampersad and Company, which audits the T&TFF.

Warner also boasted that 150 persons from Washington, USA, had booked for Simpaul's package as of December 13. If so, his company could already made $2.25 million on its investment.
In the same press conference, Warner said the T&TFF's estimated budget of $75 million might be insufficient to get the "Soca Warriors" to the World Cup and warned that their participation was at risk.
"Our federation is in serious financial difficulties right now,"Warner told the press. "f we do not pay down money for our stay in Germany, when the finals come around, some other team could have taken up our space." Simpaul Travel has no such feelings of insecurity.

Simpaul official Gerald Baptiste, the project manager for the World Cup package, claimed to have no idea whether the Warners were involved with the company and refused to say how Simpaul arrived at the present valuation for its package and whether it was overpriced.
Rival Trinidad and Tobago travel agencies look on with awe.
Anthony Harford, head of All Sports Promotion, planned a charter for Germany and already has 300 willing clients. However, Harford, who arranged Trinidad and Tobago's charter to Bahrain for a decisive qualifying match, claimed to be stunned at Simpaul's coup.

"I learned like everyone else that everyone who has to buy tickets has to buy through Simpaul," said Harford. "I am trying to get Simpaul to sell me from their allocation and I am still in the process of negotiating with them."
Despite Baptiste's protests of ignorance about the Warners' influence, Harford revealed that he was engaged in cordial negotiations with Daryan Warner and Baptiste about the tickets.
Harford doubts that a plausible compromise can be met.
"Simpaul's package does not include things like ground transport, airfare or sight seeing,""he said. "When you add all those costs, it has to be affordable to my clients."

Nigel Camacho, founder of the Trini Posse supporters' group, had also planned a charter to take his supporters to Germany but claimed that things got very complicated when Simpaul Travel was named as the authorized ticket distributors.
"I am a little bit confused about what is going on," Camacho told the Sunday Express. "It raises a few eyebrows but I don't think anything illegal has been done."

There might be questions regarding ethics and conflicts of interest though. Warner similarly cashed in when Trinidad and Tobago hosted the 2001 FIFA World Youth Cup. Then, his companies controlled exclusive contracts to supply air tickets to all competing foreign teams as well as catering and IT deals for all the stadiums. Camps and the Warner household are not ready to discuss the matter just yet.
Jack Warner: A very special adviser.

Part II

Trinidad and Tobago still reverberates to the 'thud' of Dennis Lawrence's headed goal against Bahrain, which booked the country a historical berth at the 2006 FIFA World Cup football tournament in Germany.

On November 16, Trinidad and Tobago became the smallest country ever to qualify for a FIFA senior World Cup and Prime Minister Patrick Manning, President George Maxwell Richards and the rest of the population swore their love for the team, dubbed the "Soca Warriors".
More than a month later, the national players have not received a cent as tangible reward for the accomplishment.
FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) special adviser Jack Warner is not so patient or charitable.

Warner's family owned company, Simpaul Travel Services Limited, emerged without any public tender as the authorised ticket sellers for the World Cup tournament. And tickets that FIFA priced at $2,254 and $1,339 are being sold, by Simpaul, for $30,000 with the addition of lodging for 12 days in Germany and a national flag, replica shirt and wristband.

Oliver Camps, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF), was given the chance to explain the deal between his organisation and Warner and whether patriotic fans were being financially exploited.
Camps refused on the grounds that he was told not to speak to the press just yet.
Trinidad and Tobago football fans, it appears, are at the mercy of someone who has no tangible post within the local running body.
The post of "special adviser", which falls under the category of "honorary member" in the T&TFF constitution, is not allowed to vote at general council meetings or make decisions.
But Warner boasts of hiring and firing coaches, paying players and receives cheques on behalf of the Federation.

FIFA's motto is "For the good of the game" but it is possible that Warner, one of 13 FIFA vice-presidents, might have modified this watchword.
Exactly what is the relationship between Warner, Camps (as T&TFF head) and the general public, though? And how did it become thus?
Warner, a former school teacher and football linesman, emerged on the national scene in 1974 "soon after T&T's infamous and unsuccessful attempt to qualify for the 1974 World Cup in Germany" and served as general secretary for nearly two decades before reinventing his role to that of special adviser.

The honorary position gave Warner the ability to peer into T&TFF affairs but not to affect it. For Warner to maintain his influence, he needed a supportive president.
Camps, who replaced Peter O' Connor as president in 1992, had just taken the reins and the pair quickly formed an alliance.
Warner publicly supports Camps and declared that, were the president to be ousted, he would immediately insist on collecting money owed to him by the T&TFF and, quite possibly, force the local organisation into bankruptcy.

It is virtually impossible to quantify the money owed to Warner for several reasons.
The T&TFF books are audited by Kenny Rampersad and Company, a small accounting firm.
Article 13.2 of the T&TFF Constitution explains that the local body must hire "a firm of qualified accountants" who hold no office in the Federation for obvious reasons of transparency.
Although Kenny Rampersad is not a T&TFF member, Express investigations did unearth a document authorising the accountant to act on behalf of Warner's Simpaul Travel business.

The T&TFF is therefore relying on a man who, at the least, acted as Warner's business partner in the past to give them credible information on how much is owed to Warner.
Considering Warner's relationship with Camps, T&TFF affiliates may also be concerned by a possible conflict of interests when they are briefed on the Federation's financial position.
There was a notable change to the T&TFF constitution as well under Camps' stewardship. In 1994, local clubs lost their right to vote at the general elections. Instead, only regional football associations and "properly constituted bodies" like the Trinidad and Tobago Football Coaches Association and Football Referees' Association are allowed to vote.

In the 1980s, Warner almost lost his position when clubs, buoyed by the financial promise of the Arthur Suite League, tried unsuccessfully to unseat the veteran administrator.
Former Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Captain Horace Burrell was ousted from his post after cries of financial mismanagement from the country's club teams soon after the Reggae Boyz appeared in the 1998 World Cup.
Eleven years ago, Camps-possibly with help from a clever adviser-ensured that it could never happen here and even a vibrant local professional football league could never threaten his position. At present, Camps is the longest consecutive serving president in the history of local football.

While Camps got the power, Warner benefited financially.
The T&TFF constitution allows the general council to "delegate any of its powers to any committee or sub-committee". More often than not, committees are set up outside the T&TFF offices when large sums of money are involved like the Football Company of Trinidad and Tobago (FCoTT) and the 2006 World Cup Local Organising Committee (LOC). The now defunct FCoTT and the present LOC were both chaired by Warner.

The administrator repeatedly boasts of the money he has put into the game without offering a detailed accounting report. This report, done by an impartial accountant, should provide information on the money flowing into the game such as television rights, sponsorship deals, gate receipts and endorsement contracts.
Simpaul is the highest profiled example of a Warner-owned company benefiting directly from the T&TFF. But the Jamad Limited cleaning company, Emerald Plaza and Coal Pot restaurant also received good business from local football.
The Express continues to investigate other companies regularly associated with the T&TFF.
There is still much about the T&TFF that requires explanation in spite of-or precisely because of-our qualification for Germany. Camps is not saying anything just yet.
Finding out Jack.

Part III

The Trinidad and Tobago national football team had hoped for a better Christmas season.
Six weeks ago, the self-titled "Soca Warriors" created history by qualifying for their first senior FIFA World Cup tournament and, in the process, became the smallest country ever to play at such a high level.
But there was nothing in team captain Dwight Yorke and his teammates' stockings on Christmas Day. Not so much as a "Happy Christmas" card.

Bonuses and tangible signs of appreciation might still be on their way to the national football team. But, on the evidence of the past month, the visual picture of the country's sporting heroes has become blurred.
On November 16, the Trinidad and Tobago footballers beat Bahrain1-0 to snatch a spot in the 2006 World Cup tournament in Germany. Yet, it is FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) special adviser Jack Warner and his cohorts who appear to be making the lucrative lap of honour.
Warner stands to considerably enhance his personal wealth from the success of the country's football team even before a fitting tribute is paid to the players. It goes against the principle of sport administration, which is catered towards serving the athlete.

The manner in which contracts were passed out-and, in particular, a deal authorising Simpaul Travel to act as the T&TFF's official ticket distributor-without public tender is particularly disturbing.
Eyebrows were sure to be raised when the T&TFF handed such a plum contract exclusively to Simpaul, which is owned by Warner and his wife, Maureen, and sons, Daryan and Darryl.
The Trinidad and Tobago public needed convincing that Simpaul was indeed the best organisation to distribute tickets and the interests of football fans were sacrosanct.
Instead, Warner announced Simpaul's coup at a press conference without once mentioning that he was a company director while Simpaul official Gerald Baptiste and T&TFF president Oliver Camps also pleaded ignorance of the fact.

And worse, fans interested in purchasing World Cup tickets at a street value ranging between $780 and $2,254 were told to pay $30,000.
For Warner and the Trinidad and Tobago public, it is the continuation of a love-hate relationship that stretches back almost two decades.
In 1989, Warner-as he later admitted in his biography-printed 16,500 additional tickets for the country's crucial 1990 World Cup qualifying match against the United States despite repeated claims to the contrary at the time. It created a potentially dangerous situation at Port of Spain's National Stadium which was overfilled while thousands of fans with paid tickets were unable to get inside.
Warner claimed he was not trying to cash in on the success of the football team, who were then referred to as the "Strike Squad".

The team then comprised of mostly local-based amateur players who went unpaid.
A promise of housing for players by the ruling NAR party went unfulfilled as did a deal for a share of gate receipts in the aftermath of the failed 1990 campaign. At present, retired magistrate George Hislop, whose son Shaka is a current national player, claims that the Strike Squad is still owed $100,000 from the local organising body.
Four years ago, Trinidad and Tobago was again dizzy from World Cup fever as the country staged the 2001 FIFA Under-17 Youth Championship.
Warner was a key member of T&T's bidding committee to host the tournament, which brought talented young players like Florent Sinama Pongolle (Liverpool/France), Carlos Tevez (Corinthians/Argentina) and Fernando Torres (Atletico Madrid/Spain) to local shores.

Again, controversy swirled around his family businesses such as Simpaul Travel, De Coal Pot and the Emerald Plaza Hotel which copped lucrative deals while his son, Darryl, landed a handsome IT contract supplying internet kiosks to all five stadia.
Warner, the deputy chairman of FIFA's Finance Committee, is known internationally for his wheeling and dealings as well.
From 1984 to 1998, under ex-FIFA president Joao Havelange, Warner received television rights for the Caribbean region for just $1 which he sold on to regional television stations.
Warner stands to earn much more from Trinidad and Tobago's participation in Germany. His right to make a living for himself and his family is unquestioned.
Yet surely, Warner's position within FIFA and the T&TFF should make him especially careful not to give the impression of someone abusing his influence for personal gain.

The average Trinidad and Tobago football fan is caught in the crossroads.
Trinidad and Tobago's focus on the 2006 World Cup has shifted from two dozen talented, determined players and an expectant nation to an administrator. Fans might be more concerned about Simpaul than England's Steven Gerrard. The powers-that-be should ensure that T&T's World Cup dream does not become a nightmare long before the first ball is kicked.

Related flash-back News.

Caribbean question turns Sepp into silent type.

Time for a clean-up - Blatter accused of corruption.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2005, 06:36:42 PM by Flex »

Re: Warner's family firm monopolises FIFA World Cup tickets
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2005, 08:59:37 PM »
This just keep getting worst everyday. Jack the ripper at it again.

Somebody tell me please ..... how we supposed to get tickets with these kinda crooks running lose.  >:(

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2005, 09:11:45 PM »
With clear apparent conflict of interests, and the possible availabiity of hard evidence to wrong doings by Jack Warner and his cohorts, why hasn't some legal action been taken?  I don't live in T&T, but in effect this case appears to be one that could be prosecuted as a Civil case AND a Criminal case.  Are not those that represent the citizens hearing the outcry?
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2005, 09:18:19 PM »
PAGING ROTATO POTI & PEG!..and all odders who does BLINDLY support Austin....

STAND AND DEFEND!

Defend de indefensible!   Allyuh special....like dem chirren in de St. Margarets Home special...LOL!
Allyuh so full ah shit ah getting de stench all de way in Virginia.

But is Christmas and unlike Scrooge and de flicking Gringe..allyuh can take ah bligh!

Let us get our Trinity Cross ready for Mr. Warner.

Valentino Singh..ah calling you out too!

You and yuh guardian cohorts feel warner need de Cross....well anyway according tuh allyuh he is de saviour..so why not let him have he cross.

STEUPS....!

Well leh we see wey dis sour grapes man Liburd going with dis story eh Rotato?  facts and innuendo..misplaced allegations and plain old lies.  Right?   ;)

All de old talk I does be resting on de forum about Mr. warner is hating...ent?

Allyuh real good oui.

Look at bacchanal.....!

Now nuff man go come out de wood work and start bashing Jack...but when I was doing it..ah was ah jackass and ah hater.

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

I know de true waggonist dem on dis board...all who eh know what jack really is!

Take allyuh AWATT tickets...even some AWATT Officers have tuh ticket deyself!

Just tuh remind allyuh who ah talking about:

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=8404.0
« Last Edit: December 24, 2005, 09:33:28 PM by truetrini »

« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2005, 09:22:15 PM »
Excellent JOURNALISM by Lasana here.  This guy gets my respect more and more.

We are seeing a recurring theme which will surprise no one as it has been in use for a long time.

1 - Warner has links to everything...ticketing, TV rights, etc.

2 - Once again a threat that T&T cannot make it's commitments if the TTFF don't get more money

3 - Everybody involved goes mum when questioned.

After being in a position to pretty much call the cards with his financial backing of T&T throughout the campaign, Jack's apparent greed appears to have offset even that position of strength into one of liability.  Which makes one realize that even the "smartest" of people can be downright dotish when they ready.

But who is me to call anybody dotish anyway?  I and many others have been turning a blind eye to all these goings on as long as we have some success on the field.  If is anybody who dotish, is me.

Wonder what Spalk will have to say about all these allegations?

« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2005, 09:34:34 PM »
Excellent JOURNALISM by Lasana here.  This guy gets my respect more and more.

We are seeing a recurring theme which will surprise no one as it has been in use for a long time.

1 - Warner has links to everything...ticketing, TV rights, etc.

2 - Once again a threat that T&T cannot make it's commitments if the TTFF don't get more money

3 - Everybody involved goes mum when questioned.

After being in a position to pretty much call the cards with his financial backing of T&T throughout the campaign, Jack's apparent greed appears to have offset even that position of strength into one of liability.  Which makes one realize that even the "smartest" of people can be downright dotish when they ready.

But who is me to call anybody dotish anyway?  I and many others have been turning a blind eye to all these goings on as long as we have some success on the field.  If is anybody who dotish, is me.

Wonder what Spalk will have to say about all these allegations?

ent..but you ah could forgive ...because ah know you did always know better and was jes overcome with de joy ah going Germany...de dream ah de big dance materialized....

« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2005, 09:51:14 PM »
So tell meh nah,when Warner say he give 17m to de football team and so on and he give dis and dat,who money he really giving to de team ?

« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2005, 10:06:25 PM »
So tell meh nah,when Warner say he give 17m to de football team and so on and he give dis and dat,who money he really giving to de team ?

Listen Warner doh "give" nutten.

Whne eh threatened to leave T&T football alone, Camps come bawling like ah mewling cat saying Jack is owed much $$$ by de TTFF.

so when he "gives"  it is given in the form of a loan.

From what I know about loans..dem have to get paid back....and usually with interest.

If yuh feel is jes so Jack giving way he money den allyuh eh know nutten about business.

A fool and his money are soon parted...where did I read dis?

Ok

it wa from Rotato Poti's book on common sense

steups.

Listen fella.

FIFA's books are not made public..much like the TTFF's.

de same peole who auditing de TTFF...working for Jack's Simpaul Travel Service...nepotism again.

Jack spouts figures from his mouth all de time...a sensible individual would assume that the TTFF has some budgt etc.

yet why de hell dey cyar provide de government with one yet?

Man here decrying mr Boynes much..but if yuh notice de T&T Business world not to hurry to give Jack money fuh de team eh...yuh ever ask why?

Some time ago..Jack son was de treasurer ah de TTFF.

De broadcasting rights ah WE national team owned by who?

How dat happen?  Why dat happen?  IS dat legal I wonder?  Me eh no lawyer eh..but ah guess de TTFF sell it or lend it tuh Jack ent? We jes play ah big game against Bahrainin Bahrain and we only make 80,000TT dollars from dat?  and dat game show all over de world?

How much dey charge fuh dat?  Or is de TTFF only getting ah small portion ah de prceeds becasue dey owe Jack (rememebr his giving?) for all his loans?

Ah cyar wait fuh Lasana's part Deux!

« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2005, 10:20:28 PM »
f**k jack warner ah man who perpetually throws his hero status into de f**kin gutter. I am so tremendously fed up of him an is chrsitams and im drunk and i cyah affoprd tuoh go tuh germany.

Merry christmas Jack!
« Last Edit: December 24, 2005, 10:26:18 PM by Tallman »

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2005, 10:59:15 PM »
The way we handle these issues, with the BS we are willing to take, and the battles we are willing to fight, is a direct reflection on our society. 
The sad thing is, if no sort of serious official investigation takes place to look into possible price fixing, illegal monopoly, conflict of interest, and fraud, then T&T in my book may very well stand the risk of basically looking like nothing more than a banana republic.  And that'll be a damn shame.  I hope we prevail. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2005, 11:28:55 PM »
FIFA IS AH COMPLETE MAFIA

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2005, 11:43:46 PM »
Ha Truetrini .. Merry Christmas to you too.

I still maintain my position on recognition for Jack Warner's unwavering  support of the Sr. Football Team. He put HIS money where his mouth is. That's not changing if that was what you would expect - so no stocking stuffers there for you.

However, I will give you a little trinket and voice my displeasure on the ticket monopoly. Well just like you - and the rest of the forumites, I do have to pay for my tickets regardless of all the "supposed" connections I have with the Warner's and TTFA ... F.   ;)
Hence, if push comes to shove in the next three weeks and the tickets I thought I would receive all of a sudden becomes unavailable, I will be forking over my USD $5K to sit in Category 2 type seats come next June.

Even though the WC is a unique experience, made moreso by our debut on the World footballing stage - the economics of the situation will show that demand will way outstrip supply - but given that we do live in a free market economy - it opens up avenues for businessmen to capitalise - something that yes, Jack Warner is shrewdly arranging and cleverly proceeding with. It also means that some consumers will be priced out of the market because other consumers are willing to pay a premium for consumption of that product, and thus prices will follow - that's from my book on common sense.

Thus, the question then becomes, how much is it worth to you to see TT play in Germany?
Are you willing to put aside bias and go regardless, even if it means paying a "criminal" price for tickets?

eBay and the rest of the ticket brokers and scalpers should be in prime form once the redistribution of TST is awarded - will Jack's ... umm Maureen's package seem more attractive at that point?

You and I are in a business where we see people refinance their homes to go to the Superbowl in February .... and that's a once a year opportunity.

But like the offical card of the World Cup states indeed, everything with Mastercard is priceless.

I just hope your list made it to Santa in time. I'm waiting up this year with all forms of bribes to trade for WC tickets.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2005, 11:46:22 PM »
FIFA IS AH COMPLETE MAFIA

Actually talking about Mafia, I'll be over by Frankie Knuckles neighbours this weekend - usually he shows up in the afternoon because he loves JW Blue. I'll ask him if he knows anyone named Sepp or Jack.

« Reply #13 on: December 25, 2005, 12:10:52 AM »
rotato, you outdoing yourself again.  You real speaking piles.  you need to come back to the real world and stop talking BS about inelastic supply and demand and supply models.  Fidel I preaching what you saying long time, this is a crime against the people of Trinidad and Tobago, somebody need to put this man in jail quick.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #14 on: December 25, 2005, 12:16:23 AM »
...the economics of the situation will show that demand will way outstrip supply - but given that we do live in a free market economy - it opens up avenues for businessmen to capitalise - something that yes, Jack Warner is shrewdly arranging and cleverly proceeding with. It also means that some consumers will be priced out of the market because other consumers are willing to pay a premium for consumption of that product, and thus prices will follow - that's from my book on common sense.

Thus, the question then becomes, how much is it worth to you to see TT play in Germany?
Are you willing to put aside bias and go regardless, even if it means paying a "criminal" price for tickets?

eBay and the rest of the ticket brokers and scalpers should be in prime form once the redistribution of TST is awarded - will Jack's ... umm Maureen's package seem more attractive at that point?

You and I are in a business where we see people refinance their homes to go to the Superbowl in February .... and that's a once a year opportunity.

Rotato, a true free market economy is one where the market representing possible buyers and sellers get to decide on price, thus arriving at the particular price/supply equilibrium.  Based on the article (not saying that the article should or should not be taken as fact), what Jack Warner appears to be doing is unfairly creating a price without the market's involvement in the decision making process.  The price of the package quoted by Simpaul's has nothing to do with prevailing market conditions.  Granted, the demand may in all likelihood outstrip supply, thus raising prices relatively, however, the accusation against JW deals with the fact that he took away the opportunity for the market to naturally decide on fair pricing based upon all available information.  Clearly that is not the definition of a free market.  It is the antithesis of a free market.

Sadly, yes, many of us may end up paying for the package, thus empowing JW moreso.  Sadly, that makes us part of the problem.  That may make me part of the problem.    
« Last Edit: December 26, 2005, 11:57:29 AM by fidel2xl »

« Reply #15 on: December 25, 2005, 12:18:53 AM »
If Simpauls really paid the TTFF $500k for exclusive rights then they could sell d tickets however dey want to. But my thing is was this process of rights acquisition tendered publically with a transparent bidding process. I would like to hear more about that tendering process if it was legit. If it was then Simpauls could do what they want ethics doh mean shit when $$$ passing.

« Reply #16 on: December 25, 2005, 01:30:40 AM »
I never thought that a Trinbagonian would do that to his ppl :devil:

Offline concerned

« Reply #17 on: December 25, 2005, 05:06:55 AM »
The Manfriday......please take this article and forward it to your contact at FIFA

« Reply #18 on: December 25, 2005, 06:07:57 AM »
Ha Truetrini .. Merry Christmas to you too.

I still maintain my position on recognition for Jack Warner's unwavering  support of the Sr. Football Team. He put HIS money where his mouth is. That's not changing if that was what you would expect - so no stocking stuffers there for you.

Jack indeed put his money where his mouth is.  He also puts his foot where his mouth is.  It seems that he also stuffs something in your stockings.  His unwavering support is for Jack and Jack's family..not for T&T football.  Get it straight.

However, I will give you a little trinket and voice my displeasure on the ticket monopoly. Well just like you - and the rest of the forumites, I do have to pay for my tickets regardless of all the "supposed" connections I have with the Warner's and TTFA ... F.   ;)
Hence, if push comes to shove in the next three weeks and the tickets I thought I would receive all of a sudden becomes unavailable, I will be forking over my USD $5K to sit in Category 2 type seats come next June.

I absolutely refuse to pay Jack Warner one red cent for the tickets!  Every other Federation is making a profit.  Is the TTFF making any profit?  NOPE!  Jack Warner is the one who continues to handsomely profit from T&T Football to the detriment of the development of the sport and the players!  The only connection you have to the TTFF is your political support to the UNC and as Jack is your UNC saviour..well we all know he doh give ah Jack about anyone.  He is high handed, despotic and downright unethical.  Yet you turn a blind eye.  Why is dat?  I have a theory,,but I will discuss that privately ;)

Even though the WC is a unique experience, made moreso by our debut on the World footballing stage - the economics of the situation will show that demand will way outstrip supply - but given that we do live in a free market economy - it opens up avenues for businessmen to capitalise - something that yes, Jack Warner is shrewdly arranging and cleverly proceeding with. It also means that some consumers will be priced out of the market because other consumers are willing to pay a premium for consumption of that product, and thus prices will follow - that's from my book on common sense.

JAck Warner is profiteeering.  It is nepotism!  It is downright wrong.  Those tickets DO NOT BELONG TO JACK WARNER!  THEY BELONG TO THE FEDERATION!  But then again according to you, Jack put his money where his mouth is, so he deserves to tief we blind ent?  So all this talk about6 selfless sacrifice he made,,is jes old talk..nah..Is jes shit talk from shit talkers den?  De true patriot that he is, he can capitalise and monopolize and downright rip poor people off?

And dat is de man you tout to be ah Jedi Warrior and de next leadere ah de UNC?  hahahahah take ah hard look at de men you support.....bandits all.  May God destroy de UNC~!

Is it worth your integrity to justify the black market profiteering of Austin Jack Warner?  Notice how his cronies and Lackies all disavow any knowledge of his connection to Simpauls?  hahahahahaha  spineless, cowardly no-balls fools.....!  And now you support that by declaring some will be out priced?  You are a fake..phony....and spineless too!

Do you really believe all the shit you write? Or do you get a rise out of your putrid diatribe?

I am in no such business, and if I were, I would strongly advise against such fool hardiness!  Besides what does thaqt have to do with Jack's treachery?

But like the offical card of the World Cup states indeed, everything with Mastercard is priceless.

What is priceless is your little dance to avoid the reality of what your boy Jack really is.  You have in the past proclaimed that his detractors were liars, sensationists and haters.  I see that true to form you maintain your stance of blind support.  time to open your eyes....he will rape you.  LOL!   why not use some of your "education"   dont waste mommy and daddy's money son.

I just hope your list made it to Santa in time. I'm waiting up this year with all forms of bribes to trade for WC tickets.

Never mind my list..I stopped believing in fairy tales long ago.  Let me clue you into something:

There is no Santa Claus, No Easter Bunny, but there is a boogie man..and his name is Jack Warner.  Make your bribes, mortgage your your home, sell your soul, but sont try to fool others into thinking that what Jack is doing is legitimate business.

Offline concerned

« Reply #19 on: December 25, 2005, 06:55:02 AM »
This article is FRONT PAGE NEWS

« Reply #20 on: December 25, 2005, 07:14:46 AM »
And to think some men here complaining about Crime in T&T with one breath but idolising ah crook and glorifying crime in another breath.

steups.

Posted on: Today at 01:18:53 AMPosted by: g 
Insert Quote
If Simpauls really paid the TTFF $500k for exclusive rights then they could sell d tickets however dey want to. But my thing is was this process of rights acquisition tendered publically with a transparent bidding process. I would like to hear more about that tendering process if it was legit. If it was then Simpauls could do what they want ethics doh mean shit when $$$ passing. 

so yuh agree dat warner could sell warner the tickets?  and in any other nation in de world...warner would have been barred ethically from bidding on dem tix...come on man.

« Reply #21 on: December 25, 2005, 08:46:15 AM »
No the government doh really like to give the ttff money.There is another part to the story continued tomorrow 

then there is warners side of the story so lets  wait on dat

« Reply #22 on: December 25, 2005, 08:55:39 AM »
Like the song goes " you aint seen nothing yet.........buh buh buh baby you aint seen nothing yet" friend and business partner  ex fifa referee  Ramdhan got the contract to sell socawarriors merchandise. And people want to know why Warner so tight with Panday. Hmmm I wonder why? I wonder what they both have in common?

The johnnys-come-lately sing his praise and say how much he has done for football not having a clue as to how much he has harmed football.

If he is spending now i dont say thanks ....I say its about time and why so little since you have made millions off the backs of Trinbagonians and the concacaf votes.

Imagine Roy Augustus, his childhood friend and ex principal now has a TTff and fifa role thanks to Warner. But Roy is also big in the UNC dance.

More to come....stay tuned.......
« Last Edit: December 25, 2005, 09:11:25 AM by sub1 »

« Reply #23 on: December 25, 2005, 09:44:37 AM »
Dwight Yorke must be does shake he head when he read these sort of things yes....

How a man will do anything for money and de men (all de players) who make T&T proud dont get nothing.....

Jack invest 10 million and its ok if he gets back his 10 million, thats only fair if he have to go that route,,,,, but when he done is like 50 million he go collect and flea.

Politics..... when yuh feel Jack was doing this becuase he was a fan, it really seems like just another business deal for him....

For a man of his calibre, its embrassing, no wonder no one respects TTFF. Is only wheel and dealing does go on there....

Have a heart Jack, for once, money is NOT everything Pardna, yes I will be happy to get some myself, but not the way you do it.... it will never last....

God dont like ugle, he will forgive you, but you WILL have to paid for your deeds, so enjoy it while you can... because it dont last...
« Last Edit: December 25, 2005, 09:51:16 AM by Flex »

« Reply #24 on: December 25, 2005, 09:51:47 AM »
how can people defend jack I will never understand, this is the guy who had me standing on November 19th because 8,000 extra people were in the stadium

« Reply #25 on: December 25, 2005, 09:52:06 AM »
The Manfriday......please take this article and forward it to your contact at FIFA

AND MANFRIDAY..... Please also forward your emails and findings to Lasana Liburd!!!

Ppl I not seeing enough letters.... ah tell allyuh weeks now write some bleddy letters  >:(

« Reply #26 on: December 25, 2005, 10:06:01 AM »
Camps, who is responsible for the country's share of tickets,

This is such a scary thought that Ollie Camps is in chardge of anything

"I do not know that is happening," said Camps,

A further indictment of the incompeptence of our President, either that or a big lie.

Camps, who is responsible for the country's share of tickets, told the Sunday Express that he did not know whether Warner owned Simpaul Travel Service-the company which has claimed to have purchased all Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup tickets.

This is a bold-faced lie.

« Reply #27 on: December 25, 2005, 10:16:59 AM »
mama

« Reply #28 on: December 25, 2005, 10:23:13 AM »
well me and shotta go buy ah big tv and watch and allyuh enjoy it fuh me cause like meh ticket aint comming >:(

« Reply #29 on: December 25, 2005, 11:19:40 AM »
Beore ah start let me say ah Merry Christmas to one an all. .

Everybody know me eh no Warner fan buh leh we know dat is he money dat pay for de boys an dem qualification so he have to get all preference when coming to any money making adventure in TNT Football . Nobody should be surprised to note dat Jack have ah hand in tings where making money is foremost .

So gih de man ah breeze and leh he hold he business eh . He ha tuh mek back dem millions he put out . It take two hands tuh clap as meh late Granny use to say........ he give ah great portion to de team so is only natural he be given de opps to get it back .