January 13, 2025, 03:08:23 PM

Author Topic: Jason Scotland needs more protection  (Read 2879 times)

Jason Scotland needs more protection
« on: December 21, 2005, 07:38:07 AM »
Jason Scotland needs more protection
The Daily Record

ST JOHNSTONE boss Owen Coyle fears Jason Scotland's World Cup dream could be wrecked - unless referees give the player more protection.

Coyle believes the elusive Trinidad and Tobago star is being targeted by cynical defenders and insists the former Dundee United ace, who is counting the days to a clash with England in the summer, is a class act.

But he said: "I don't think Jason has been getting the sort of protection from officials he deserves.

"I like to see entertainers - at any club - and Jason is the type of player who lights up games with brilliant pieces of individual play.

"They tell me the tackle from behind is banned but sometimes I wonder. Jason soaks up a lot of punishment and he's a brave player.

"But his reputation now goes before him and he's a marked man. Teams are aware he carries a real threat."

Coyle, meanwhile, suffered a double midfield blow ahead of the crucial festive period.

Ryan McCann suffered medial ligament damage in the 0-0 draw at St Mirren,while Darren Sheridan will start a three-game ban after the Boxing Day clash with Ross County.

Re: Jason Scotland needs more protection
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2005, 07:43:33 AM »
ah vex  >:(

« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2005, 07:48:23 AM »
I thought Scotland boys on our side. Why players in they league want to damage we player so. I happy someone recognising this before things get out of hand

Offline Dundee Mad

• Dee4Life and Beyond
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2005, 01:24:41 AM »
Don't think its jealousy mate he just plays in a poor league. He would get more protection if he was playing at a higher level.

« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2005, 02:38:05 AM »
I don't believe it's only scottish players in that league. Maybe just maybe it players from other countries(England) targeting him.

Offline Kenny

• T&TSC, Tartan Army branch
    • Raskol Records
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2005, 07:56:16 AM »
To be fair, I doubt any of them are thinking about the WC when they're fighting out some grim rainy first division match. It won't be anything personal, they'll just be fed up with getting dumped on their arses as they get skinned again.

« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2005, 08:40:03 AM »
Don't think its jealousy mate he just plays in a poor league. He would get more protection if he was playing at a higher level.

I don't know why defenders would focus any attention on him.  According to the Home Office he's not good enough to play at any higher level  ::)

« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2005, 10:17:58 AM »
they frig up he work permit now dey trying to kill him

scotland..................allyuh doh wa we cum over dey  :devil:

tings go be sticky >:(

« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2005, 10:38:10 AM »
   scottie meh boi....jus use some lamb skin rough riders and yuh go be good tuh go  ;) ;) :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2005, 12:37:15 PM »
I don't believe it's only scottish players in that league. Maybe just maybe it players from other countries(England) targeting him.

Over speculation bout nationality of the culprits.  Is ah poor league and the skill level of the defenders is obviously lacking.  That is why they on they ass so much tackling, instead of reading the game and putting in tackles on the foot more often.

« Reply #10 on: December 26, 2005, 12:24:31 PM »
i hope he gets a move on during the january transfer window

« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2005, 01:34:24 PM »
i hope he gets a move on during the january transfer window
That Extreme and silly. He will be alright.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2005, 02:19:23 PM by Futbol »

« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2005, 08:29:19 PM »
To be fair, I doubt any of them are thinking about the WC when they're fighting out some grim rainy first division match. It won't be anything personal, they'll just be fed up with getting dumped on their arses as they get skinned again.

Ah like dis fella :D