April 28, 2024, 10:04:44 AM

Author Topic: Who sing dis chune?  (Read 43025 times)

Re: NEED SOME HELP WITH A TUNE!
« Reply #60 on: August 08, 2006, 08:05:14 AM »
That is right again. Do you think Rhyners, Crosby's or any of the record stores still have those records?

« Reply #61 on: August 08, 2006, 11:57:51 AM »
Lovin Pauper is meh alltime favourite rockers.

Dat plus

No Good Girl
Money Worries
Soul & Devotion
Green Bay Killin
Natty Dread a wha de young gyal want
Tenement Yard
Which way u goin Natty
Soul & Inspiration
I'm in the mood for love
Keep on knockin
Palos them is some wicked selections,but can you put the artist who sang them  :beermug:
also,around the time of hav fe fly out ,it had other hits ,this is 88,89 ,90 who was some other big artist and hits .allyah remember,

Cah remember the singers but here are some other big tunes
Police and Tief
Night Nurse-Gregory Issacs
Bam Bam- Tiger
Typewriter
Cabin Stabbin
Somtime ah man a get coof

I had liked a song that went like:

"Feel like jumping, I say right now I feel like jumpin..."
It was a big chune when we was youths (eh Tallest?)

« Reply #62 on: August 08, 2006, 12:20:14 PM »
Feliz...The tune I ent fraid of the Vatican.....Is a Luciano....on the best of luciano collection.

I ent fraid of the vatican...I ent fraid of the hooligan...I ent fraid of the Pope Paul...neither am I fraid of Rome.

I go get the name jest now

« Reply #63 on: August 08, 2006, 01:06:02 PM »

Yeh, dat was "Put it On" by U-Roy. Ah tink Marley did do de original version.

« Reply #64 on: August 08, 2006, 01:27:59 PM »

Yeh, dat was "Put it On" by U-Roy. Ah tink Marley did do de original version.
WAH?? you and yesina know football AND reggae...actually dais more 'rockers' if anyting

But doctor,,yuh know yuh stuff.......................................or yuh googlin??  ;)

Tallman ah need yuh help
« Reply #65 on: August 18, 2006, 07:38:06 AM »
i asking tallman but if anyone can help that would be realy great. there is a song i have been searchign for for a while now. i think the name is "build a nation " by merchant.
the chorus goes..

" come my brother lets go hand in hand
because this is our land
come by brother come my sister
and let us build a nation together"
 ooooooooooooooooooooo
hmmmmmmm hmmmmmmmmmm"

any and all help will be greatly appreciated..real anme of the song, if its not merchant who sang it and  ah recording or links if u can ;D
also ANYONE HAVE ANY SONGS BY MICHEAL BAKER FORM TOBAGO?
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Re: Tallman ah need yuh help
« Reply #66 on: August 18, 2006, 07:51:17 AM »
De name of de song is Come Let Us Build a Nation Together from 1982.

Re: Tallman ah need yuh help
« Reply #67 on: August 19, 2006, 06:43:38 AM »
Organic ah trying to get Merchant song for ya....see i being nice

but Michael Baker go be difficult to get unless ya know Ms Jean personally cause datz all she use to play when she use to sell.
Furthermore Baker wasn't no big entertainer to reach download stage anyways.

What I looking for is Carl Jacob - Limbo
ah busy looking for it . >:(

« Reply #68 on: August 28, 2006, 05:32:56 PM »
Who sing this? Tony rebel? anybody know where ah could get it?

I saw you down the lane girl whoa-oah
I never call out yuh name girl whoa-oah
But I know I know I know girl whoa-oah
I like to see you again girl whoa-oah
I start to wonder and ah start to ponder...

EDIT: doh worry... is Tony Tuff.. ah find it
« Last Edit: August 28, 2006, 10:16:24 PM by FF »

Offline Eh!

OT: Song and Artist
« Reply #69 on: September 22, 2006, 06:41:26 PM »
Eh fellas, whaz de proper title and the name of the guy that sings that song "If yuh have a cat, beat it"?

Offline Madd Ras#13

Re: OT: Song and Artist
« Reply #70 on: September 25, 2006, 10:36:13 AM »
DANGER is de artiste name and

BEAT IT is de song name
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #71 on: September 25, 2006, 10:38:35 AM »
Ok,,, well while we helpin an ting

Who sing "Killin of de President Sadat"....this was when dancehall was called Rockers btw

« Reply #72 on: September 25, 2006, 11:58:31 AM »

Who sing "Killin of de President Sadat"....this was when dancehall was called Rockers btw

when did that song come out ?

« Reply #73 on: September 25, 2006, 12:14:05 PM »
Not sure when exactly...but I'm fairly certain it was not long after sadat was assasinated

« Reply #74 on: October 06, 2006, 02:23:26 PM »

I-Roy had ah song named "President Sadat" but me eh know if is de same one yuh talking bout.

Ah lookin for a tune
« Reply #75 on: October 22, 2006, 08:26:23 AM »
A calypso with the lines:

The Rooooooaaaaadd
Make tuh Waaaaallllllkkkkk
On Canaaaval Daaaaay

A line from A Kitchener tune

and the other line I remember is:
Steel band music is the greatest talent on Earth.

Re: Ah lookin for a tune
« Reply #76 on: October 22, 2006, 10:03:33 AM »
whilst ya waiting try this quiz
http://www.tntisland.com/kitchquiz.html
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #77 on: October 22, 2006, 11:33:00 AM »
whilst ya waiting try this quiz
http://www.tntisland.com/kitchquiz.html
Boy I ent so old. :rotfl:
I must be know only one of those answers from watching Calypso showcase on Ch4.

« Reply #78 on: October 22, 2006, 06:17:55 PM »

The Rooooooaaaaadd
On Canaaaval Daaaaay

De name of dat song is The Road:

Ah hear how dey plannin', fuh Carnival comin'
Dey say dey go beat people, and dey doh care 'bout trouble
But tell dem doh worry wit me, is ah different ting in 1963

(Chorus)
Because, de road make tuh walk on Carnival day
Constable, ah doh want tuh talk , but I've got to say
Any steelband man, only venture to break dis band
Is ah long funeral from de Royal Hospital

Ah hear information, 'bout de situation
Dey tell me Tokyo, is ah danger wit Desperado
Dey even call Sun Valley Trinidad All Stars and Tripoli
Dey could play dey mas as long as dey doh tackle me when dey pass

(Chorus)

I make no distinction, in making my assertion
Whether is Invaders, Dixieland, or de Fascinators
Dey all get de same wire, including Cross Road and Cross Fire
I eh making fun, de strongest survive and de weakest run

(Chorus)

I eh sure, but it sound like Pan Talent by the Mighty Terror:

I bound to compliment all de steelbands
For their excellent talent and fame dey brought Trinidadians
Take dis little tip from de Terror, yes sir
Steelbands come to stay forever, why
Ah can't hear my ears in England
Everybody want to learn de big pan
Now dey want to organise a police steelband in Britain, yes

(Chorus)
Doh, re, mi, fa, sol, la, ti, doh
Pan playing music anywhere you go
What a talent, excellent talent you hear what I say
Steelband music is de greatest talent today

« Reply #79 on: October 22, 2006, 07:12:24 PM »

The Rooooooaaaaadd
On Canaaaval Daaaaay

De name of dat song is The Road:

Dey say dey go beat people, and dey doh care 'bout trouble
But tell dem doh worry wit me, is ah different ting in 1963

(Chorus)
Because, de road make tuh walk on Carnival day
Constable, ah doh want tuh talk , but I've got to say
Any steelband man, only venture to break dis band
Is ah long funeral from de Royal Hospital

Ah hear information, 'bout de situation
Dey tell me Tokyo, is ah danger wit Desperado
Dey even call Sun Valley Trinidad All Stars and Tripoli
Dey could play dey mas as long as dey doh tackle me when dey pass

(Chorus)

I make no distinction, in making my assertion
Whether is Invaders, Dixieland, or de Fascinators
Dey all get de same wire, including Cross Road and Cross Fire
I eh making fun, de strongest survive and de weakest run

(Chorus)

I eh sure, but it sound like Pan Talent by the Mighty Terror:

I bound to compliment all de steelbands
For their excellent talent and fame dey brought Trinidadians
Take dis little tip from de Terror, yes sir
Steelbands come to stay forever, why
Ah can't hear my ears in England
Everybody want to learn de big pan
Now dey want to organise a police steelband in Britain, yes

(Chorus)
Doh, re, mi, fa, sol, la, ti, doh
Pan playing music anywhere you go
What a talent, excellent talent you hear what I say
Steelband music is de greatest talent today

You is ah boss. By any chance, do you know where I could get the mp3 for Pan talent.

« Reply #80 on: October 31, 2006, 11:11:35 AM »
I lookin for one too....anybody remember de old rockers called 'Fisherman Scant'.....i assumin it is scant, I was a lil fellah when it was in rotation..so ah hopin is not 'Fisherman Skank'

which would make more sense...but ah hopin dais not de truth

« Reply #81 on: October 31, 2006, 09:35:26 PM »
diz a big tune, dem fellahs doh make tune so no more, diz tune bredda :beermug:

« Reply #82 on: November 01, 2006, 07:53:30 AM »

lawd..ah so chupid I eh even aks de question...WHO is THE ARTIST THAT SING IT???...i want to download it?

« Reply #83 on: November 01, 2006, 08:42:56 AM »

lawd..ah so chupid I eh even aks de question...WHO is THE ARTIST THAT SING IT???...i want to download it?

Big Joe

« Reply #84 on: November 01, 2006, 08:55:59 AM »

Big Joe

SWEET!!!!!....thanks o' knowledgeable one

Boy I tellin allyuh..it eh dreads under he hat  nah...is pure head..like coneheads...wit extra brain

« Reply #85 on: November 01, 2006, 09:18:16 AM »
Ah bet when you type big joe you get ah million fat joe  :rotfl:

« Reply #86 on: November 01, 2006, 09:37:13 AM »
Ah bet when you type big joe you get ah million fat joe  :rotfl:

ah feel so in trute...cause dat tune real old...amd it seem like starboy was ah one hit wonder

ah doubt ah go find it...but I find weirder musical relics...so yuh never know

« Reply #87 on: November 01, 2006, 10:23:09 AM »
good luck man

need help with ah song
« Reply #88 on: January 14, 2007, 08:37:06 PM »
Hey fellars whats the name of this song again I tink is these words but can't find it .

bob marley -.............I know jah never let us down ,be it it right from wrong ,I know jah never let us down .   

not sure if thats the name ,any links for that too thanks

Re: need help with ah song
« Reply #89 on: January 14, 2007, 08:52:48 PM »
i think you thinking of One Drop:

Feel it in the one drop
And we'll still find time to rap
We're making the one stop
The generation gap