Wed, Aug

National Under 17 coach Nigel Grosvenor has selected a squad of forty (40) players to continue preparations for the Caribbean Football Union Under 17 qualifiers in September.

Following a number of screening session throughout the twin-island over the past month, Grosvenor came up with a squad which will now go into a level of preparation to take them through to the period shortly before the competition at which time a final squad will be selected. Grosvenor pointed out that screening will take place in Tobago at a date to be determined. He added that based on the players seen so far, there was obvious talent to be developed. "The screening went well and we still have to go Tobago because we need to get everyone involved. We have seen some good talent but we are sort of weak on defenders because everyone wants to play midfield and forward. But other than that we have seen some talented players and now just actually looking forward to stating actually training," Grosvenor told TTFF Media on Thursday.

W Connection duo of Aaron Downing and Kemuel Rivers who impressed during a stint with English First Division club Walsall last year are among the players selected for training. Also included is Queen's Royal College midfielder Marvin James who already ahs experience at the national under 17 level as well as Silas Spann, son for former national Leroy Spann.

Another screening session will take place at the end of this month to give an opportunity to those who may have missed out on the previous dates. The first session takes place on Saturday at the Defence Force grounds from 9am and will continue three times weekly.

Players called:


Brendon Boucaud, Mykhael Bain, Keston George (St Anthony's College), Chad De Freitas, Frank Dinzay, Sean Ramdoo, Zeronn Forte (Fatima College), Marvin James, Kyle McIvor (Queen's Royal College), Hackim Phillip (Morvant/Laventille), Jernal Farrel (Woodbrook Government), Keon Quow (Excel Composite), Keron Ross (Belmont Junior Sec), Lester Peltier (St Pierre's Secondary), Nigel Thomas (Mucurapo SC), Qian Grosvenor (St Mary's College), Tigana Forde (Diego Martin SC).

Kemuel Rivers (Waterloo High School).

Adrian Foncette, Kareem Charles (Tranquillity Government), Ian Edwards, Carlon Hughes (Mayaro Composite), Demitri Villaroel (North Eastern College), Larry Jnr Mitchell (Curepe Junior Sec).

Matthew Bartholomew, Silas Spann, Kendall Penny, Kareem Gray, Stefan De Las (St Benedict's College), Aaron Downing, Javed Mohammed, Cion Samuel (Naparima College), Akeem Parris, Ronald Joseph (Fyzabad Composite), Kurt Williams, Sherlon Swan, Andre Mitchell (Point Fortin SC), Diron Smart (Point Fortin Junior Sec), Dwayne Thompson (Siparia SC), Denzin Richardson (Penal Junior Sec).