Tue, Jul


CHAMPIONS Malabar FC escaped with a 3-2 victory over La Horquetta FX in Eastern Conference action in the Emerald Apartments and Plaza-sponsored Eastern Football Association for the Arthur “Jap” Brown Memorial Trophy.

Malabar led 1-0 at half-time on the first of David Power’s two goals, but the La Horquetta team fought back bravely to knot up the scores with a strike from Wesley Elcock.

Keston Alexander restored the Malabar lead only for Elcock to score again for a 2-2 deadlock. But Power fires in the winner nearing the end to give Malabar the victory and maximum points.

Stephen Edwards netted the lone goal of the match for Prisons to edge Tunapuna Titans 1-0. And former champions Joe Public shut out Crowne United 2-0 with goals by Leandro Sibero and Kevin Salma. East/West Coaching School edged Maloney Football Academy 2-1 with Junior Spencer and Christian Okonkwoo scoring for the winners.

The Maloney men got their goal from Nathan Lewis after the Coaching School led 1-0 at half-time. Carib FC strikers found their goal-scoring form to crush Shocking Vibes 5-0 in Western Conference action.

Dexter Joslyn scored twice while Real Dedier, Elijah Gill and Shevon Noreiga got the other goals. WASA got goals from Atiba Williams and Jamal Sebra in the second half to edge New Birth FC 3-2.

Devon Mitchell netted early for WASA and Winston Deraza got the equaliser. Matthew Duram got the other goal for the losers. Barataria Ball Players dumped Young Lions 5-2 after leading 2-1 at the half. Kerwyn Warner had a hat-trick and Raees Abdul Haqq got the other two goals for the winners while Gerome Johnson and Dwayne Cedeno got goals for the Lions.

Real Maracas shut out Don Brathwaite 3-0 after leading 1-0 at half-time.

Prolific Shane Glasgow, Dillon Bartholomew and Yanick Noreiga scored one goal each. Sunshine United got the better of Malta Carib Alcons 2-1 after leading 2-0 at half-time on goals by Ikeba Alexander and Jason Charles. Musa Sarkoon got the lone goal for Alcons.

Malick Togethernesss whipped Valtrin United 3-1 with Dexter Harewood getting a double and Nolan Pope the other. Christopher Collins scored for the losers. And St John’s United and Athletico Sports Institute drew 2-2.