Mon, Jun

Point Fortin Civic Under-18 team during the 2018 Flow Youth Pro League season.

Point Fortin Civic captured its first ever club trophy in the Pro League era, finishing ahead of W Connection and favourites San Juan Jabloteh to snatch the 2018 Flow Youth Pro League Under-18 Division crown on the final day of league play with a 2-0 win over visiting Defence Force FC at Mahaica Oval, Pt Fortin on Sunday.

For the Lake Asphalt sponsored Civic (18 points), the historic title win came as a result of the team’s unbeaten run – the only team to do so in the division -- and Club Sando Under-18s narrow 1-0 final day win over Jabloteh (16 points)—stopping the defending champions attempt to complete a record-extending fourth clean sweep of the FYPL.

Jabloteh, champions of all three divisions in the previous three seasons, was denied on three occasions by Sando Under-18 ‘keeper Raheem Lee in the first-half at San Juan North Secondary Ground, Bourg Mulatresse before Jardell Sinclair struck his first goal of the season to put the Oranges ahead four minutes inside the second period, silencing the host.

Sinclair capitalised on space and time above the box to send the ball into the roof of Jabloteh’s Emmanuel John’s net, immediately ran to the touchline to celebrate with his coach Angus Eve, an ex-Jabloteh first team player, captain, first team assistant coach and youth coach.

Down south, at the time of Sinclair’s goal, eventual Under-18 champions Civic were leading 2-0 through first-half goals from Ackeel Jacob and Omari Cobham.

Pt Fortin Civic chairman Garthorn Graig said while his players must be praised for their commitment and discipline throughout the season, he pointed the success of the club’s U18 team to the involvement of PFC youth programme sponsor, Lake Asphalt.

“It was no small feat stopping Jabloteh,” admitted Craig. “This is a huge achievement for Point Fortin Civic and we couldn’t do it without Lake Asphalt. Lake Asphalt’s contribution made sure that most of our needs were met. This is the first trophy for our club [since joining the Pro League] and many thanks to Lake Asphalt.”

Craig hopes the success of the PFC U18s, which boasts the likes of Nion Lammy, Jerren Jackie and Judah Garcia among others can be an inspiration for the rest of the club, first team and youth teams.

Earlier on at San Juan, Jabloteh was held to a 0-0 draw failing to celebrate their title win with yet another victory while its Under-14 claimed a fourth straight crown with a 3-0 defeat of Club Sando through second-half goals by Lindell Sween, Jearon Ellis and “Golden Boot” winner Jaheim Faustin (12 goals) against Club Sando.

Morvant Caledonia had not let up their chase, and simultaneously at Barataria Oval the Eastern Stallions defeated St Ann’s Rangers 8-0 with a goal each from Neegus Jack, Giovani Warner, Jaheim Marshall, Christian Bailey, Ishmael Lewis, Josiah Wilson, Romario Nelson and Khiba Romany to finish one point shy of the Under-14 winners.

Andre Morales, who serves as joint head coach alongside Dave Weeks with the Jabloteh U14s, confessed it was a tense week in the lead up to the final league game with Morvant Caledonia within striking distance “but as the game (against Club Sando U14s) went along we [grew] in confidence for the win.

“We are now relieved to finally have the Under-14 trophy, but there is the (Flow YPL Cup) knockout next and we want to do well in that also,” said Morales.

The inaugural Flow Youth Pro League Cup (knockout competition) kicks off on Sunday with the qualifying round.

Sunday's Results

Under-14 Division

San Juan Jabloteh 3 (Lindell Sween 38’, Jearon Ellis 58’, Jaheim Faustin 69’) vs Club Sando 0

Morvant Caledonia United 8 (Neegus Jack 11’, Giovani Warner 20’, Jaheim Marshall 34’, Christian Bailey 35’, Ishmael Lewis 45’, Josiah Wilson 48’, Romario Nelson 52’, Khiba Romany 57’) vs St. Ann’s Rangers 0

Police FC 10 (Imani Lewis 17’, 20’, 31’, Aydon Caruth 35’, Nathaniel O’Garro 39’, Fabien Ayres 44’, Own Goal Jaden O’Brien 47’, Nathaniel Carrim 54’, Vickel Keane 58’, Caleb Boyce 66’) vs North East Stars 0

W Connection 3 vs Central FC 0 - default

Pt Fortin Civic 3 vs Defence Force FC 0 - default

Under-16 Division:

San Juan Jabloteh 0 vs Club Sando 0

Morvant Caledonia United 1 (Naeem Bisnath 9’) vs St. Ann’s Rangers 0

Police FC 4 (Ajay Warde 40’, Jardell John 66’, J’Dunn Martin 67’, Jesus Delecia 69’) vs North East Stars 0

W Connection 5 (Nicholas Dyett 10’, 40’, Kiron Manswell 65’, 76’, Acelino Medford 80’+2) vs Central FC 0

Pt Fortin Civic 3 vs Defence Force FC 0 - by default

Under-18 Division:

San Juan Jabloteh 0 vs Club Sando 1 (Jardell Sinclair 49’)

Police FC 1 (Zion Mc Cleod 45’) vs North East Stars 2 (Jaydon Prowell 49’, Isaiah Pascall 56’)

W Connection 3 vs Central FC 0 - by default

Pt Fortin Civic 2 (Ackeel Jacob 10’, Omari Cobham 40’) vs Defence Force FC 0