Fri, Feb


St Anns Rangers vs Defence ForceA single item by Josimar Belgrave was enough to send St Ann's Rangers into the Group stage of the 2009 Digicel Pro Bowl ahead of FC South End.

Belgrave netted in the 10th minute to give the Anthony Streete coached side a 1-0 win and secured their place against defending champions Caledonia AIA of Morvant/Laventille on Friday from 6pm at the Larry Gomes Stadium.

Belgrave left the defence beaten after making a run into the area and after his initial shot was spilled by Aquelius Sylvester the Rangers attacker picked up the lose ball and pulled wide before slotting it into the net for a 1-0 score.

Jimmeal Huyghue then failed to put South End back on level terms two minutes later slashing his effort wide of Fortunato Valcourt's upright with only the goalkeeper to beat.

Huyghue missed the target again in the 25th minute after Anthony Rougier headed down a pass onto his feet when he flicked it wide.

Three minutes before the break Troy Moses had a go at goal from distance but Fortunato tamed the shot when he parried it before gathering as Rangers maintained this one goal advantage.

The second half saw less goalmouth action with a couple half chances on either side.

South End's Dennis Burgess had a header on goal in the 75th minute however it was twarthed by Fortunato and later on Dexter Alleyne was inches wide as Anthony Rougier and company failed to level the score.

FC South End 0-1 St Ann's Rangers
 ; Josimar Belgrave 10'

FC South End--Aquelius Sylvester, Anthony Haynes (capt.), Marlon Stoute, Larry Bacchus, Eddison Smart, Adarayll John, Troy Moses (Dennis Burgess (Yellow), Kenrick Ettienne, Dexter Alleyne (Yellow), Jimmeal Huygue (Kegan Bacchus 80th), Anthony Rougier.

Coach--Leroy De Leon.

St Ann's Rangers--Fortunato Valcourt, Devon Modeste (capt.), Husani Thomas, Coneal Thomas (Yellow) (Christon Thomas 62nd), Elijah Belgrave, Josimar Belgrave, Jevon Morris, Javon Wilson (Kerron Cordner 80th), Keston Hamilton (Stephon Morris 76th), Adrian Narine, Nicholas Valentine.

Coach--Anthony Streete

2009 Digicel Pro Bowl quarterfinal round

Friday 20 November 2009

Mannie Ramjohn Stadium
Joe Public vs Police FC--6pm
Ma Pa SC vs W Connection--8pm

Larry Gomes Stadium
Caledonia AIA vs St Ann's Rangers--6pm
San Juan Jabloteh vs Defence Force--8pm

Police stun Petrotrin in Digicel Pro Bowl qualifier

Police FC registered a 2-1 comeback victory (Highlights) against United Petrotrin on Tuesday afternoon at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium to book their place in the Group stage of the 2009 Digicel Pro Bowl.

The lawmen will meet reigning Digicel Pro League champions Bmobile Joe Public on Friday night in the first round of the Pro Bowl.

Police were on the receiving end in the 19th minute when Simeon Augustus had Petrotrin in front in the 19th minute, but a 29th minute equalizer by Randy Harris and a 66th minute winner by Ricardo Peltier booked the lawmen's place in the Group stage of the tournament.

Police goalie Anthony Marshall pulled off a magnificent one handed reflex save in the 17th minute pushing wide an Andre Luis Lima blast which started from a Petrotrin set piece.

However Marshall couldn't do the same two minutes later when Simeon Augustus met another Arnold Dwarika freekick with a header to beat Marshall for a 1-0 advantage.

But Police pulled back the scores level 1-1 in the 29th minute when Randy Harris unleashed a low shot from above the area and it took a wicked bounce over an unfortunate Glenroy Samuel.

And Petrotrin were unfortunate not to retain the advantage before the break after Jamal Clarence controlled a long pass forward by Gyhmo Harper inside the area and unleashed a volley only to see it crash onto the crossbar and back into play in the 45th minute.

Six minutes inside the second period and Petrotrin were denied another scoring opportunity when Marshall pushed Lima low shot wide.

United Petrotrin were then reduced to 10-men after Cyd Gray picked up his second yellow card in the 65th minute for a foul on Ricardo Peltier.

Police made their extra man count in the 66th minute when Ricardo Peltier headed past Samuel from just inside the area after meeting a Jason James cross for the 2-1 win.

United Petrotrin 1-2 Police FC
Simeon Augustus 19' ; Randy Harris 29', Ricardo Peltier 66'

United Petrotrin--Glenroy Samuel, Makan Hislop (capt), Simeon Augustus, Arnold Dwarika, Gary Glasgow (Kerry Frederick 68th), Nigel Pierre (Jason Joseph 68th), Ghmyo Harper, Cyd Gray (Yellow+Yellow), Luis Andre Lima (Yellow), Jamal Clarence, Akeem Adams.

Coach--Marcos Tinoco

Police FC--Anthony Marshall, Keon Archie (capt.) (Yellow), Kenwin Matthews, Daryll James, Jason James, Kelon Williams, Ricardo Peltier (Akeem Marshall 88th), Randy Harris (Yellow), Dwight Elliot, Todd Ryan, Akiba Peters.

Coach--Richard De Coteau