Tue, Jun

Hart names his 22-man squad to face Guatemala on November 13th.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Stephen Hart has finalized a 22-man squad for the 2018 World Cup Qualifier against Guatemala on November 13th at the Estadio Mateo Flores in Guatemala City.

The team will depart for fort Lauderdale on Saturday afternoon for a training camp before flying to Guatemala City on November 11th,

The team captain is Kenwyne Jones and there is a recall for South Korean-based defender Carlyle Mitchell who has not played for T&T team since November last year.

“The Selection for the Guatemala game is a balanced one and it also allows for flexibility in our approach,” Hart told TTFA Media about the team selection.

“The camp in Fort Lauderdale will allow us a few days to work without scrutiny and we can simply concentrate on our approach to the game. Players will once again work on their roles & function and we can go over the details of potential scenarios,” Hart added.

Speaking about the environment he is anticipating in Guatemala with the team arriving there on November 11th, Hart said: “It’s a difficult environment and we want to minimize potential disruption with travel, hotel and training.

“This is World Cup qualifying and like it or not, host teams in general try to make it uncomfortable. Now I am not saying Guatemala will do this, per say, but their supporters will try to disrupt you mentally. The game itself will carry a certain stress, so our intention is to make the players as comfortable as possible.”

Hart mentioned that the team is subject to change for the November 17th World Cup qualifier versus the United States.

Meanwhile, the TTFA wishes to clear the air on a report on a local television station this morning which stated, that according to "top sources" National Senior Men's Team head coach Stephen Hart had resigned.

There is no truth to this. Matter of fact, Mr Hart has announced his selection for the two upcoming 2018 World Cup qualifiers against Guatemala and United States.

T&T Team


Jan Michael Williams (Central FC/Trinidad), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United/Trinidad).


Sheldon Bateau (FC Krylia Samara/Russia), Radanfah Abu Bakr (HB Koge/Denmark), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land FC/South Korea), Justin Hoyte (Dagenham & Redbridge/England), Daneil Cyrus (Chicago Fire/USA), Aubrey David (FC Shakhter Karagandy/Kazakshtan), Yohance Marshall (Murcielagos FC/Mexico), Mekeil Wiliams (Antigua FC/Guatemala).


Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge/England), Keron Cummings (North East Stars/Trinidad), Kevan George (Columbus Crew/USA), Neveal Hackshaw (North East Stars/Trinidad), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo/Belgium), Joevin Jones (Chicago Fire/USA), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava/Slovakia), Trevin Caesar (Austin Aztex/USA), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes/USA).


Jonathan Glenn (Breidablik Kopavogur/Iceland), Kenwyne Jones (capt) (Cardiff City/Wales), Willis Plaza (Central FC/Trinidad).