Sidebar

Fri, Apr

Trinidad and Tobago Interim Head Coach Angus Eve
Typography

FORMER T&T youth football manager Anthony “Hess” Alexander said new interim head coach of the T&T men’s senior team Angus Eve was always a special talent, and is not surprised by his appointment.

Eve was named as the interim coach over a week ago, days after Terry Fenwick was fired.

Fenwick failed to get T&T past the first round of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying tournament.

Alexander was the T&T Under-20 manager at the 1991 Youth World Cup in Portugal.

Bertille St Clair was the coach and the team was captained by Dwight Yorke. Many players from the 1991 T&T Under-20 team made the transition to the national senior team. They included Eve, Yorke, goalkeeper Clayton Ince and Jerren Nixon.

Speaking to T&T Football Association media, Alexander said the technical staff of the youth team knew Eve had a gift.

“In 1986 when we were appointed…we always felt that Angus had the ability and the determination to reach as far as he possibly could in the football fraternity. He was very consistent, he was very disciplined and I must say that seeing him progress over the years between 1986 and now both Bertille and myself are extremely proud of his achievements.”

Alexander added, “It is no surprise to us really, but we do wish him all the best and we believe that once given the opportunity he can go even further.”

Eve’s first responsibility as interim coach is to lead T&T past the Concacaf Gold Cup qualifying tournament in early July.

Reflecting on the team that represented T&T at the Youth World Cup, Alexander said a greater effort should have been made to keep the team together.

“When we returned from Portugal and I submitted my report to the TTFA one of the recommendations was that we should keep this team together. I even stated in the report in writing if we have to get rid of the entire technical staff, including yours truly, the manager, no problem, but keep the players together.”

T&T qualified for their first and only senior World Cup in 2006, but Alexander is sure it would have been possible to qualify sooner if the 1991 T&T youth team had stayed together.

“I believe if that was done we would have gone to a World Cup before 2006. Unfortunately it was not. We had players like Angus, Clayton Ince, Dwight Yorke (and) Anthony Sherwood. It was a team that really should have been kept together.”

Alexander said before the Youth World Cup T&T defeated the Brazil youth team 4-2 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium without Yorke. Alexander said in that match Eve demonstrated his quality, which led to attention from the public. “They came to me after the game and weeks after (asked), ‘Where all yuh get that young fella?’”

SOURCE: T&T Newsday