Sun, Jun


GUYANA AND the Netherlands Antilles have been moved into the first round of a revamped Digicel Caribbean Cup schedule, announced Thursday by the Caribbean Football Union (CFU).

The new calendar, altered due to a heavy event schedule in the region, has the first stage of the tournament beginning October 6, instead of the previously announced August 18, and will end on December 5. Four teams will qualify for next year’s CONCACAF Gold Cup June 5-25.

Twenty-three teams are entered, one less than originally announced due to the withdrawal of the Bahamas.

Martinique remains as the host of the final stage and will be seeded as one of the last eight teams along with defending champion Jamaica. The last group stage will commence on November 26 with the top two in each group qualifying for knockout semifinals.

Puerto Rico, Saint-Martin, the Cayman Islands and Anguilla are joined in Group ‘A’ in Bayamon, Puerto and will play from October 6-10. Group ‘C’ will be played in Paramaribo, Suriname, from October 13-17 and include the host nation, Guyana, St. Lucia and the Netherlands Antilles.

The Dominican Republic capital of Santo Domingo will be the venue for Group ‘D’, a three-team group including the host nation, the British Virgin Islands and Dominica, also set for October 13-17.

Group ‘B’ will have Barbados, St Vincent and the Grenadines, St Kitts/Nevis and Montserrat. The venue and dates for that group have not been set.

The winners of Groups ‘A’ and ‘B’ will advance to second-round Group ‘E’ from October 22-26 with host Grenada and Guadeloupe. Trinidad and Tobago will host Group ‘F’ from November 2-6 and be joined by Haiti, the winner of Group ‘C’ and one of two first-round group runners-up.

Group ‘G’ in Antigua/Barbuda will be played from November 10-14 with Cuba, the Group ‘D’ winner and another first-round group runner-up.

The three second round group winners and runners-up will then advance to the third and final stage.

More complete schedules will be released at a later time.



Group A: Puerto Rico, Saint-Martin, Cayman Islands, Anguilla

At Bayamon, Puerto Rico

Wednesday, October 6

Saint-Martine vs Cayman Islands

Puerto Rico vs Anguilla

Friday, October 8

Cayman Islands vs Anguilla

Puerto Rico vs Saint-Martin

Sunday, October 10

Anguilla vs Saint-Martin

Puerto Rico vs Cayman Islands

Group B: Barbados, St Vincent and the Grenadines, St Kitts/Nevis, Montserrat

Venue, Schedule TBA

Group C: Suriname*, Guyana, St Lucia, Netherlands Antilles

At Paramaribo, Suriname

Wednesday, October 13

Guyana vs St. Lucia

Suriname vs Netherlands Antilles

Friday, October 15

Netherlands Antilles vs Guyana

Suriname vs St Lucia

Sunday, October 17

St Lucia vs Netherlands Antilles

Suriname vs Guyana

Group D: Dominican Republic*, British Virgin Islands, Dominica

At Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Wednesday, October 13

Dominican Republic

Friday, October 15

British Virgin Islands vs Dominica

Sunday, October 17

Dominican Republic vs Dominica


Group E: Grenada, Guadeloupe, Group A winner, Group B winner

October 22-26

Group F: Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti, Group C winner, first-round group runner-up

November 2-6

Group G: Antigua/Barbuda, Cuba, Group D winner, first-round group runner-up

November 10-14


November 26-December 5

At Fort-de-France, Martinque

Group H: Martinique, Group F winner, Group G runner-up, Group E runner-up

Group I: Jamaica, Group G winner, Group E winner, Group F runner-up


Group H winner vs Group I runner-up

Group I winner vs Group H runner-up


Third Place

Semi-final losers


Semi-final winners