May 22, 2024, 12:30:36 PM

Author Topic: Trinis in action this weekend(April 4th-5th)  (Read 5673 times)

Offline Aviator

Trinis in action this weekend(April 4th-5th)
« on: April 04, 2008, 12:32:43 PM »
This is the results link for the Florida Relays meet.
http://www.halfmiletiming.com/Datafiles/Spring2008/UFFloridaRelays08/Results/

Texas relays.
http://www.deltatiming.com/events/2008/texrelays/

Richard just giving men ah little sample on the backstretch....
http://flocasts.org/flotrack/coverage.php?c=233&id=12416

The college races are pretty much done for today unless you are interested in a 4x1500, but for 2moro you should be able to watch it live here. All the relay finals and invitational races are being run 2moro.
http://www.texassports.com/results/2007txrel/index.htm
« Last Edit: April 04, 2008, 12:49:48 PM by Aviator »
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Re: Trinis in action this weekend(April 4th-5th)
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 04:02:03 PM »
ALL of our women DNS

Offline Aviator

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2008, 08:11:48 AM »
The only video right nowof Keston's race. X-am comes first,  Mullings is 2nd and Bledman is 4th.
http://flocasts.org/flotrack/coverage.php?c=235&id=12681

Offline Aviator

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2008, 04:47:31 PM »
Ato ah wonder who mashin' up yuh record first this year??? Dix or Thompson ;D
I really hope Shaver doh bunout de man
Event 75  Men 100 Meter Dash Invitational
========================================================================
       World:    9.74  2007        Asafa Powell, JAM                   
    American:    9.79  1999        Maurice Greene, USA                 
  Collegiate:    9.92  1996        Ato Boldon, UCLA                     
   Myers Std: S 10.06  2004        Tyson Gay, Arkansas                 
        Meet: M  9.97  1992        Olapade Adeniken, UTEP               
   NCAA Regl: R 10.55                                                   
    Name                    Year School                  Finals  Wind H#
========================================================================
Finals                                                                 
  1 Thompson, Richard         SR LSU                      10.00S  1.0  2 :o :o :o :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
  2 Edwards, Rae                 USA                      10.13R  1.0  2
  3 Edgar, Tyrone                HSI                      10.25R  1.0  2
  4 Blanton, DaBryan             Reebok                   10.29R  1.0  2
  5 Pugh, Marcus              SR Oklahoma                 10.31R  0.3  1
  6 Gailes, Tyree                Unattached               10.37R  1.0  2
  7 Plummer, Yhann            SR Emerging Elite TC        10.44R  0.3  1
  8 Hayward, Ravyn               Unattached               10.49R  0.3  1
  9 Bynum, Desmond               Unattached               10.50R  0.3  1

Trini-2010 yuh prdicted ah 10.15 opener, but it look like the man not listening.

Kelly-Ann doing the damn thing she self. Opens up with a PB.

Event 74  Women 100 Meter Dash Invitational
=====================================================================
       World:   10.49  1988        Florence Griffith Joyner, USA     
    American:   10.49  1988        Florence Griffith Joyner, WC     
  Collegiate:   10.78  1989        Dawn Sowell, LSU                 
   Myers Std: S 10.97  2004        Lauryn Williams, Miami           
        Meet: M 11.17  1997        Melinda Sergent, Mizuno TC       
   NCAA Regl: R 11.75                                               
    Name                    Year School                  Finals  Wind
=====================================================================
Finals                                                               
  1 Baptiste, Kelly Ann       SR LSU                      11.06M  1.9
  2 Anderson, Alexandria      JR Texas                    11.10M  1.9
  3 Facey, Simone             SR Texas A&M                11.11M  1.9
  4 Wilson, Latonia              USA HP                   11.36R  1.9
  5 Weatherspoon, Alexis         HSI                      11.38R  1.9
  6 Ratcliff, LaShawndra         USA                      11.52R  1.9
  7 Moore, Jatoya                Unattached               12.04   1.9
« Last Edit: April 05, 2008, 05:01:10 PM by Aviator »

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2008, 05:14:35 PM »
Finally, someone to take down 9.86 (AND 19.77)....he has arrived.

I saw it live an in person and it was nothing short of F%^&*N beautiful to watch it done properly. 

Not only will Walter Dix, Mr. "I'm coming back to break Ato's NCAA record" lose in Iowa, but Richard can TRULY medal in BEIJING if they don't burn him out completely.  His race pattern is damn near perfect, and he is more patient than I was at 22.

'member mih tell yuh!

The person who is almost sure to break that NCAA record is a Trini.  ;D

I love my life oui.

Kelly Ann I just want them to not break her because she can have a great year.

Come on LSU!
« Last Edit: April 05, 2008, 05:16:21 PM by A.B. »

« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2008, 05:47:47 PM »
I guess brown has to wach his back now .. All i have to see is his 200 m time both ah them open up with PB.. may be it is a fast track lets see how he runs at penns
« Last Edit: April 05, 2008, 05:54:37 PM by Trini _2010 »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2008, 07:16:51 PM »
Now Richard has to do like Dix last year and disappear to the relays until regionals, but knowing points hungry LSU that ain't go happen. They will most likely make him run at penn's and then again at SEC champs when he doesn't need to. Same for Kelly-Ann.

« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2008, 07:36:11 PM »
BROWN? Which back ??? ???

You ent see the man just became equal the 2nd fastest ever (with BURNS)  in TNT with this 10.00, and it's APRIL!???

No one believed when I said those times in P.O.S in 2005 were bullshit, because, well, what would I know......

oh, except for the fact that NOT A SINGLE PERSON IN THE RACE HAS RUN THE TIME THEY RAN THERE, IN 3 seasons and counting.  What a shock.

It have no watching of no "back" pardna. The line forms behind Thompson, trust me, from what I saw today.  Trinidad has its Asafa prototype.  He is 6'2'' but starts like he is 5'7'', and then once he is ahead of you he let the long legs get going and then well....today was a taste of it.....pulling away.....10.00 easy.

In fact he is smoother than Asafa looks most of the time. Have to find that race to show you all....if anyone has it please post it.

A star is born.  I don't think any who know me know me to give high praise to a bunch of people often.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2008, 07:41:57 PM »
http://flocasts.org/flotrack/coverage.php?c=233

The race should be posted there within the next few hours. Ah cyah wait to see it. I wasn't near a computer to see the live broadcast earlier, but Ato is about the 5th person ah hear say it look real easy.

Offline jw107

« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2008, 10:53:44 PM »
Congrats Richard!!!!!!!!! Anyone can go back to any of my posts, long time I sayin this is the man. Lemme say sumthin eh, this is just April and I have not predicted a thing for any other athlete, but I will break my rule on early predictions, Richard Thompson is going to have an explosive year. I agree with Ato, Dix is gonna lose, ever since I saw that NCAA 60m I know Thompson was gonna do well this year. I can't tell you how happy and impressed with the man I am. Lemme tell ya the standard to which I held the man before today: this run aint surprise me one bit, that's how good I know the guy is. I have followed the guy's progress throughout the years and his progression is inspiring. Go on Richard, go mash up NCAA's, take your time, prepare for the Olympics and show them what you made of.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2008, 09:34:25 AM »
http://flocasts.org/flotrack/coverage.php?c=233&id=13020

thompson race here

kelly ann race
http://flocasts.org/flotrack/coverage.php?c=233&id=13022

Looking good. Kelly-Ann has some stiff competition though. I see Ato already anointing Richard as 100m champ, but if Dix gets his stuff together like he did last year at the right time, it will be very tough. Dix has some gears that are scary to say the least, You have to have real good separation over the first 40m to beat him.

Offline jw107

« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2008, 10:18:49 AM »
Nah, disagree with yuh there Aviator. Thompson will beat Dix and it won't be that hard. Dix is an example of how not to run a 100m. Poor technically and inconsistent. Two things you don't need when running the century. His moves are only scary after 40 when running against lesser oppostion who he can chase down after his typically poor start. A complete race which is what Richard is putting together is something Dix doesn't know how to handle, cause unlike sprinters of Dix's ilk i.e. poor technicians, a complete 100m sprinter will get out well and maintain, Dix isn't gonna pull him back. Don't get me wrong the guy has talent to spare but he to learn the event properly before he becomes a truly dominant force.
Prediction: Thompson to win, Dix wishing he had turned pro last year.

« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2008, 10:19:20 AM »
I'm seeing good things here but...I'm not sold as yet perhaps I'm a lil biased comparing him to Ato but in my rookie eyes I felt he made a decent transition but he didn't look as comfortable after the 60, almost tense. Ato used to kinda explode out the blocks almost dare you to think about catching him. Darryl (as much as he is making me mad) makes a smooth relaxed transition always looked relaxed. Richie I dunno as yet perhaps in trying to keep that upward form he looks a lil rigid at one time I felt he was trying to keep his body upright like Donovan but his technique was seriously flawed so hopefully i'm just looking at things wrong. Shit what do i know anyway i'm a soccer player...but the good thing is there is room for improvement and the prospects excite me...bet Darryl fraid to run him now tho ....hope yuh reading this Darryl tho i know you aint.....

Offline Aviator

« Reply #14 on: April 06, 2008, 10:52:08 AM »
Nah, disagree with yuh there Aviator. Thompson will beat Dix and it won't be that hard. Dix is an example of how not to run a 100m. Poor technically and inconsistent. Two things you don't need when running the century. His moves are only scary after 40 when running against lesser oppostion who he can chase down after his typically poor start. A complete race which is what Richard is putting together is something Dix doesn't know how to handle, cause unlike sprinters of Dix's ilk i.e. poor technicians, a complete 100m sprinter will get out well and maintain, Dix isn't gonna pull him back. Don't get me wrong the guy has talent to spare but he to learn the event properly before he becomes a truly dominant force.
Prediction: Thompson to win, Dix wishing he had turned pro last year.

Yes its true that Dix is inconsistent, but i will say it again if Dix is close to you in the first 40m, you better be able to finish like Carl lewis or Tyson Gay to hold him off and Richard doesn't have that kind of finish yet. If yuh forget Dix could run sub-20 and split 45's, which means he has allot of strength and speed endurance.

Look at this race..........
http://youtube.com/watch?v=8vZdXCHjG60
 Tyson G. was the only man not coming back to him, and the gap between himself and Tyson didn't increase after 60m

NCAA run..........
http://youtube.com/watch?v=NRhFAADJb_U

Like Ngozi said, i am very happy for him, but i am not as confident as others
« Last Edit: April 06, 2008, 10:54:51 AM by Aviator »

Offline jw107

« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2008, 11:27:10 AM »
Nah Aviator yuh gotta come a bit stronger there. Remember my point is this. Dix will claw back inferior sprinters, not superior ones. That US nationals race, he gained on everyone, but then, nobody except Gay ran anything in that race. At NCAA's, had there been a sprinter at his level he would not have won. We saw it the year before when he had no chance at bringing back Carter who by the way also had an average start. His speed endurance comes into play if learns the event properly, right now he isn't maximising that endurance. He runs the race in two disjointed segments, the top sprinters have a complete race where the drive phase is integral to achieving and maintaining maximum speed. Now, besides Powell, Gay and possibly Atkins there is a dearth of truly top class consistent 100m talent, at least in the last few years, it may change this year. When you have Dix's talent you can have your way with less talented guys, however the likes of Thompson if he progresses as we hope, will beat him. The ability to decelerate more slowly than others is the key,as you know most top sprinters top speed is very close and the difference between them is their ability to maintain and decelerate less. Thompson's technique will help him to do that. Dix's technical shortcomings will hinder him regardless of his speed endurance. Remember, Powell "only" has bests of 19.90 and 47 point, but still gets the job done. I aint putting Thompson in the category of a Powell but he has the tools to get the job done. 9.9 will beat Dix, trust me.

« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2008, 12:02:13 PM »
The question is does Richard have a 9.9 in him? As you well know sometimes sprinters take years to make significant progressions in times so a 10 flat doesn't guarantee a 9.9 anytime soon. I don't think his 200's are that strong technique is important but so is strength and endurance to maintain that form Dix may not have the best technique but his strength and endurance is brutal ...he is very dangerous plus that race against Richard last year he blew him away. To run these races you have to be half man and half beast ...Richard is half man is the beast in him that concerns me.

« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2008, 10:43:42 PM »
Thompson will run 9.90 this year. Period. i see a tenth in that race already and its APRIL! remember that...this is his first 100 of the year.....please don't forget how few people have ever run this fast in all of collegiate 100m history this early ( NONE!)

DIX fools (some of) you all because he runs against guys with no top end speed who are maxed at 40m and over at 60m....like Trindon Holliday.....too many are using that NCAA race from last year as an example of him blowing by people....he didn't blow by anyone at US nationals though did he? Dix will be behind Thompson if they are both having a good race, but will not be able to pass him late - and I expect it to be close at Nationals but Thompson wins in 9.90- 9.95 if the wind/climate is right. 200/400 speed endurance will not help against a 6'2'' man with better technique who is not decelerating....which Thompson on film is not doing too badly at all.

Don't get me wrong either, its not like Thompson walks away with it or is guaranteed based on this race, but indoors was a hint...you can fool the 60 - this showed me what I needed to see in terms of a whole race - because I haven't seen Dix this year yet - no NCAA title in any sport is a walk, but I am going out on a limb (and yes I damn biased as we all should be)....because as you saw this 10.00 was with an awful first 20m.....he ran them down (which rushed his drive phase a bit), then pulled away.  Dix has problems with someone who is patient in the drive phase, trust me.

Oh and when I ran 9.93 in April 12 years ago I didnt know what the hell I was doing...right now u put Richard in the right race and give him the starts he was having indoors and he is 9.9x already....so is no set of "beast" really required...beast is the 9.8 territory...

The race is not as perfect on tape as my eyes saw it in Austin, but still exceptional for the first weekend in April.  The first 20m has almost a tenth there already - the guy next to him from Great Britain is an HSI guy I see in practice everyday so I have a sense of how poor that start was from RT.  That 6.51 indoors told me this was going to be a 10.0 race BTW...

Just wait and see...
« Last Edit: April 06, 2008, 10:58:51 PM by A.B. »

« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2008, 10:56:55 AM »
Ato yuh see how yuh start to excite people again I hope this yute pan out the way yuh figure else ah goh reall cuss yuh lol. Listen did you see this kinda potential in Richard coming from last year and what are your thoughts on Keston Bledman?

Offline Aviator

« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2008, 11:56:24 AM »
Ato I am not doubting that Richard will pan out and drop some sub-10's but when we talking about the NCAA champs i just ain't that sure. Some here are talking as if Dix is going to stagnate, and i see him as more of a threat just by the fact that he's more technically flawed, which means he has more to improve on. Yuh predicting ah 9.90-9.95 winning time, but what is to say that Dix doesn't run faster than that. The man ran 9.93 in still wind last year, and if you were to give him the tailwind that Richard had on Saturday yuh would have been looking at a nice 9.88/89 for a winning time. I think the question at the end of the day is, can Richard put enough distance on him in the first 60m to hold him off, because he will be coming back on him.

« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2008, 12:17:21 PM »
Ey thanks for all the info.

« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2008, 12:52:49 PM »
Put it this way - the last 2 people I was sold this way on were Kerron Clement and Yohann Blake, so you tell me how those two have done. ;D. Dix was running ROUNDS in Sacramento and also on probably the 2nd fastest track in the country, in mid JUNE, so be careful when you start to lend tailwinds etc. 

If you want to go deep, we certainly can lol.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2008, 12:55:12 PM by A.B. »

« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2008, 05:25:37 PM »
Guys Good Evening,
                           I don't know all the intricacies of TF like all yuh. But it was just great seeing two Trinis win. The verdict is still out on them. The season is young. It is also an important year. Beijing. Like Ato has been saying for some time now, lets hope that LSU coach don't burn them out. I am not craving over the NCAA outdoors. All that matters to me is Beijing. Let us pray that all our athletes TF, swimming, etc stay healthy for China. God Bless!!!!

« Reply #23 on: April 07, 2008, 06:22:13 PM »
Amen Deeks, the NCAA record thing is a personal for me, that is all, not to mention I have to call the race - and to be quite honest, I think if Dix and Thompson miss the record, it stays there forever, because anyone running 9.9 low will leave early with the money out there.....

I PERSONALLY have seen the contract Dix has awaiting him (the one he left on the table to go back specifically to chase this record as he has said) and it is a million dollars a year from adidas.   That is unheard of for a college athlete coming out with ZERO international credentials.

When I got 150K a year in 1996 people were stunned since it was unheard of back then.

« Reply #24 on: April 07, 2008, 06:31:16 PM »
Fellahs,
             We born to early!!!!

Offline Aviator

« Reply #25 on: April 07, 2008, 06:42:55 PM »
Amen Deeks, the NCAA record thing is a personal for me, that is all, not to mention I have to call the race - and to be quite honest, I think if Dix and Thompson miss the record, it stays there forever, because anyone running 9.9 low will leave early with the money out there.....

I PERSONALLY have seen the contract Dix has awaiting him (the one he left on the table to go back specifically to chase this record as he has said) and it is a million dollars a year from adidas.   That is unheard of for a college athlete coming out with ZERO international credentials.

When I got 150K a year in 1996 people were stunned since it was unheard of back then.

How yuh go buss de man files so ;D But seriously I am glad for him. It's sad that the best athletes in this sport get paid as much as an NBA bench player or a 2nd/3rd string QB. Unless you are in the top 10 in your event you pretty much making small change and will have to find something to do after you stop running. Since we on the topic of contracts, how much Bledman sign for....the usual 250k? Also how you think Richard might be able to bargain for, since its an olympic year.

« Reply #26 on: April 07, 2008, 07:52:36 PM »
That ent no "buss files" everyone in the industry knows adidas has a mil for him and he gone back to chase a record which makes no big difference in his career. He has run 9.93 and 19.69 as a collegian.....he is by far the best ever. WHY?

Dont think everyone is getting big money. The ones who are locks for medals will get huge money, but yes there are hurdlers who haven't even made US teams yet making 350K a year. Xavier was 750K and he is still yet to do anything internationally, but he is a pick on my USA 2008 Olympic team in the 200 with Gay and Spearmon.

If Thompson is SUB TEN and NCAA champ, he can get 750 a year if he has my agent or someone with good negotiating skills.  Easily.

And yes I def born too early.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #27 on: April 07, 2008, 08:24:56 PM »
That ent no "buss files" everyone in the industry knows adidas has a mil for him and he gone back to chase a record which makes no big difference in his career. He has run 9.93 and 19.69 as a collegian.....he is by far the best ever. WHY?

Dont think everyone is getting big money. The ones who are locks for medals will get huge money, but yes there are hurdlers who haven't even made US teams yet making 350K a year. Xavier was 750K and he is still yet to do anything internationally, but he is a pick on my USA 2008 Olympic team in the 200 with Gay and Spearmon.

If Thompson is SUB TEN and NCAA champ, he can get 750 a year if he has my agent or someone with good negotiating skills.  Easily.

And yes I def born too early.

That the same question i ask, because if i was to sit down and talk to him, there couldn't be one logical reason he could have give me for not turning pro last season. He lost out on a valuable experience by not going to the WC which might hurt him this year if he makes it. He lost himself well over $1,000,000 and as far as school goes, that is a non-issue as tuition is easily negotiated into most of these contracts. He's pretty much running this season like a pro would, so why not get paid to do it. Plus he has to worry about holding his peak for 3 weeks, when he could have just focused his  energies on the OT.

Offline willi

« Reply #28 on: April 10, 2008, 01:13:49 PM »
A million wha???

But how he can command that? Does Asafa, Tyson, Bolt, Wally, Carter, etc get that??

They have WAAY more achievements so far.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #29 on: April 10, 2008, 01:31:50 PM »
A million wha???

But how he can command that? Does Asafa, Tyson, Bolt, Wally, Carter, etc get that??

They have WAAY more achievements so far.

Xavier carter is making 750k per year and his accomplishments were less that Dix's at the time of signing. The 19.63 was after he signed. What X-Man did at the 2006 champs was super impressive so maybe i shouldn't say that his accomplishments were less that Dix's but 9.93 and 19.69 score more points on the IAAF table than the 10.09 and 44.54 that X-man had the time of signing. I can't find the article right now, but Bolt is also making 7-figures and that contract again was signed before his silver medal at the WC. So maybe the new thing is that as long as the shoe companies see superstar potential, you get superstar money. Pretty sure Asafa is making 7 figures, don;t know about Wally. BK just signed for about 350k i believe, so go figure.