Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on January 24, 2015, 04:50:55 AM

Title: Shannon Gomez Thread.
Post by: Flex on January 24, 2015, 04:50:55 AM
U-20 skipper Gomez stays hopeful.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T Under-20 Soca Warriors captain Shannon Gomez is still trying to pull himself together from the disappointment of this country’s failure in their quest to qualify for the upcoming Fifa Under-20 World Cup in New Zealand.

Gomez and the rest of the team returned home on Thursday night from Jamaica where they lost their must-win final Group A match, 1-0 to USA, at the Concacaf U-20 Championship at the Montego Bay Sports Complex on Wednesday.

The result meant the Derek King-coached T&T squad were booted out of the tournament with Panama (maximum 15 points) qualifying for the World Cup while USA and Guatemala advanced to the playoffs as second and third placed teams with 10 points each.

Gomez made a call for the current bunch to be kept in training for future outings.

“I would really like for this U-20 bunch to be kept together and training, if not as a team right through, at least for us to be part of a consistent programme,” Gomez said.

“We have the U-23 Olympic Games qualification to look forward to as well as the Pan American Games. This will be a good opportunity for us to continue as a team going forward.”

He noted some of the positives for the team coming away from this tourney, crediting his teammates for their willingness to play down to the wire.

“We had a fight in us to keep playing and not give up. We went out in every game and gave our all for country. We felt like we were the better team in some of our games but we failed to take our scoring chances and it hurt us. It was very disappointing for all of us that we worked our socks off and the results didn’t go our way.

“We were left heartbroken and disappointed but with some hope. What I think will do well for us is proper all round team preparation, more financing and support. These things will factor in our general readiness for international competition.”

Speaking after the match, King was understandably disappointed but saw some positive points to take away from the competition and said progress would continue with the right approach going forward.

“Preparation is the key. We were not outplayed by any of the teams here in this tournament but when you look at their resources and what their preparation looked like it could prove to be the difference. I’m not making excuses but teams like Canada and USA have much more in their build ups to these tournaments. And we still competed with everyone including Panama which went on to qualify for the World Cup.

“I hope we can keep this team together because they are the future players for our country’s senior team. Stephen Hart was impressed and other coaches as well who witnessed the team play.

“As a team and a nation we still have to work to get up to being comfortable playing at that level on a consistent basis. I think the players realised the work that has to be done mentally and physically. We also have to keep working on our finishing and stop conceding soft goals. The guys need to keep their heads up and move on from this. The plus for us here is that we were able to match these teams,” said King.

In today’s final, Panama and Mexico, which also qualified automatically for New Zealand as Group B winners will meet in the final, while in the winner-take-all playoff matches, USA meets El Salvador and Guatemala battles Honduras.

The next assignment for the team is the Pan American Games in Canada later this year. The U-17 men’s team meantime is continuing training at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva for the Concacaf U-17 Final round of World Cup qualifiers in Honduras next month.

Title: Re: U-20 skipper Gomez stays hopeful.
Post by: Deeks on January 24, 2015, 08:08:31 AM
Shannon is a good player. All the best youth man
Title: Young Gomez ready for senior team challenge.
Post by: Flex on March 22, 2015, 12:33:29 PM
Young Gomez ready for senior team challenge.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

‘Warriors’ step up preparations for Panama

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior men’s team will step up the pace of their preparations from today (Monday) as they gear towards Friday’s Friendly International against Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

Head coach Stephen Hart welcomed his players to a live-in training camp on the weekend and will conduct a 6pm training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Monday. There will be double sessions on Tuesday and Wednesday in preparation for the match which will be T&T’s first international outing for 2015.

Among Hart’s new call ups is National Under 20 captain Shannon Gomez. The W Connection wingback is one of several players who will be hoping to make their senior international debut against the Central Americans.

“My intention right now is to get into the team for the game on Friday. I can’t say if I will be in coach Hart’s starting team but I’ll be definitely hoping to at least come off the bench,” Gomez told TTFA Media. “Just thinking about earning my first cap for the country is astounding news to me and for my football career.

“When I got the call that I was invited to join the senior team, it was exhilarating news for me. I’ve been working hard all the while knowing one day this opportunity for me to represent my country at the highest level would come,” he added.

Gomes has lined up against Panama at the Under 20 and Under 17 World Cup qualifying level and expects them to a be stern test on Friday.

“Their football is on the rise and I experienced this directly as we’ve played them at the U-17 and U-20 level. I think they will be a very strong test for us on Friday and the team needs to be ready for this challenge. We want to give a solid showing in front of the home fans. This will be a perfect warm up for us for the Gold Cup and every player will be looking to do well in training and in Friday’s game with the hope of securing a spot in the Gold Cup squad,” Gomez stated.

Hart is also anticipating the week ahead, saying “It’s going to be a really good week for us because we get to see how some of the players adapt to the rigors of preparing for an international game such as this and also against an opponent like Panama. This is important for us because players need to be accustomed to this especially gong into a Gold Cup and a World Cup campaign which also involves playing on the road and traveling between countries for matches.”

Panama have emerged as one of the leading teams in the CONCACAF region in recent times. They finished runners-up in the 2005 Gold Cup and 2013 Gold Cup. Panama reached the fourth round for the 2006 World Cup CONCACAF qualifications.

They also advanced to final round for the 2014 World Cup qualifications. At their last qualification match against the USA, they were about 90 seconds away from beating the United States and advancing but conceded two goals in stoppage time and were eliminated from qualification for the 2014 World Cup.Panama’s head coach Hernan Dario Gomez has selected a full strength team for the encounter.

Among the players called up include German-based midfielder Armando Cooper of FC St Pauli, veteran forward Luis Tejada of Peruvian club Juan Aurich who is the team’s leading goalscorer with 37 goals in 79 matches, Colombian-based defender Harold Cummings, FC Dallas forward Blas Perez, LA Galaxy goalkeeper Jaime Penedo and another experienced defender Luis Henriquez of Polish club Lech Poznan. The Panama team comprised players based in Germany, Poland, Hungary Mexico, USA, Peru, Uruguay, Colombia, Venezuela, Guatemala, Costa Rica and Panama.

Tickets for the T&T versus Panama encounter cost $100 and are available at Fan Club Movietowne (POS, Trincity Mall, Gulf City Mall), All Out Restaurant (QP Oval), Heritage Sports Tobago, Ramsingh's Sportsworld, Couva, Econo Supermart and Kenny's Sports Shops.

Title: Re: Shannon Gomez Thread.
Post by: Tallman on July 02, 2015, 06:32:22 PM
One on one with U-20 captain and senior team defender, Shannon Gomez.

https://www.youtube.com/v/hHJN2He88OA
Post by: Deeks on July 03, 2015, 06:41:59 AM
Nice interview. I am happy he mentioned meh breds, Mikey Grayson. He is one on the local coaches who refused to fall for all the crap the previous TTFF had to offer. All Shannon need to do is spend less time in the mall and more time in the weight room. God Bless and Good Luck yYoung Warrior.
Title: NYCFC trial Shannon Gomez
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 20, 2016, 06:59:57 AM
http://thenycfcnation.sportsblog.com/posts/12659009/2-new-nycfc-trialists-revealed-before-montreal-game-.html

We had some roster news break before NYCFC kicked off against the Montreal Impact. First we saw Federico Bravo with the team in Florida but not dressed.

We reported on February 9th that NYCFC had completed a deal with Boca Juniors to bring Federico Bravo to NYCFC. NYCFC have yet to confirm the deal, however Bravo himself confirmed the move in a radio interview in Argentina.

Closer to kick off we saw a team sheet for NYCFC sent out with some new names on it. Romain Gall and Shannon Gomez are two new players who are on trial with NYCFC.

Gall is a 21 year old French born midfielder. He is a US Citizen so he does not count as an international for MLS roster purposes. He played for the Real Salt Lake and DC United Academies before signing with Lorient in Ligue 1. He played with the B team before moving to MLS and being allocated to Columbus in 2014 where he played 3 games before being loaned out to USL side Austin Aztex in 2015 and scored 3 goals in 12 appearances. Gall has scored 13 goals in 25 games for the U-20 USMNT.

Gomez is a 19 year old right back from Trinidad & Tobago with a cap for the national team and four appearances with the Trinidad U-20 team. He also has three starts for his club team W Connection FC in the CONCACAF Champions League.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 21, 2016, 09:29:09 AM
(https://scontent-ord1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/t31.0-8/12716375_552825108224283_2523096235368891451_o.jpg)

seems he got a start
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 27, 2016, 11:11:09 AM
http://thenycfcnation.sportsblog.com/posts/13086911/nycfc-nation-mail-bag.html

Will we sign any trialists?

MF: I think we may sign some non-internationals for cheap just to fill the roster.

CP: I've been impressed with Shannon Gomez but he's an international and right now we're one over the limit so it's tough. I could see us signing Andre Rawls though given that we haven't seen him this pre-season he may never make the jump to MLS. Maybe Romain Gall.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2016, 12:26:23 PM
Not a green card holder?
Title: New York City FC acquire Shannon Gomez
Post by: Tallman on March 03, 2016, 11:56:00 AM
New York City FC acquire Shannon Gomez
nycfc.com

New York City FC announced that the Club has acquired Shannon Gomez on a one-year loan from W Connection with an option to purchase ahead of the 2017 MLS season. The loan is pending ITC.

Gomez, a 19 year-old Trinidad & Tobago senior international and US resident, has been training with the Club for the duration of the Club’s final pre-season training camp in Sarasota, Florida and will not occupy an international player spot on the New York City FC roster.

Gomez said:

“I’m really excited to be here and I’m trying to take in as many new things as I can to help take my game to the next level. I’m grateful that the club have shown faith in me and have given me this opportunity. To be coached by Patrick Vieira is very special and I’m determined to give my best week in and week out and prove that I can play for this team. There’s a great team spirit in the group after pre-season and we’re all looking forward to the first game”.

New York City FC Sporting Director Claudio Reyna said:

“Shannon is another good young addition to our squad. He’s a fast right back that can also play as an offensive winger. He’s been in training camp with us for a couple of weeks and has adapted well to the level and the system we are going to play. He also has good experience playing in CONCACAF at the club and national team level for Trinidad & Tobago”

Head Coach Patrick Vieira said:

“Shannon is a really good surprise. He came on trial and he did really well during preseason. He’s young, he’s got pace and is comfortable on the ball. I think it will take a few months for him to get used to the physicality of MLS, but he’s been really good since he’s been with us and is another great prospect for the future.”

Title: Re: New York City FC acquire Shannon Gomez
Post by: Mose on March 03, 2016, 01:27:57 PM
Congrats to the young man!  :beermug:
Post by: vb on March 03, 2016, 03:09:59 PM
New York City FC acquire Shannon Gomez
nycfc.com

New York City FC announced that the Club has acquired Shannon Gomez on a one-year loan from W Connection with an option to purchase ahead of the 2017 MLS season. The loan is pending ITC.

Gomez, a 19 year-old Trinidad & Tobago senior international and US resident, has been training with the Club for the duration of the Club’s final pre-season training camp in Sarasota, Florida and will not occupy an international player spot on the New York City FC roster.

Gomez said:

“I’m really excited to be here and I’m trying to take in as many new things as I can to help take my game to the next level. I’m grateful that the club have shown faith in me and have given me this opportunity. To be coached by Patrick Vieira is very special and I’m determined to give my best week in and week out and prove that I can play for this team. There’s a great team spirit in the group after pre-season and we’re all looking forward to the first game”.

New York City FC Sporting Director Claudio Reyna said:

“Shannon is another good young addition to our squad. He’s a fast right back that can also play as an offensive winger. He’s been in training camp with us for a couple of weeks and has adapted well to the level and the system we are going to play. He also has good experience playing in CONCACAF at the club and national team level for Trinidad & Tobago”

Head Coach Patrick Vieira said:

“Shannon is a really good surprise. He came on trial and he did really well during preseason. He’s young, he’s got pace and is comfortable on the ball. I think it will take a few months for him to get used to the physicality of MLS, but he’s been really good since he’s been with us and is another great prospect for the future.”

Defensive depth is something we can never have too much of in TT.

Post by: asylumseeker on March 03, 2016, 06:09:24 PM
Congratulations!!! Motivation for Cyrus in several ways.
Post by: Deeks on March 03, 2016, 11:47:20 PM
That is good news!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 04, 2016, 02:12:55 AM
Gomez has age on his side cyrus does not .....
Post by: Flex on March 04, 2016, 05:57:11 AM
One on One with ‘new’ York City signing Shannon Gomez.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago defender Shannon Gomez completed his first professional overseas move this week to American Major League Soccer club New York City FC.

The ex-National Under 20 captain who led the junior “Soca Warriors” to the 2014 Caribbean title, spoke to TTFA Media on Thursday, telling us more about his latest move.

The 19-year-old describes the move as the highlight of his career so far and he also mentions some of the people who have helped him along the way so far.

“Being coached by one of the best to ever play the game in coach Patrick Vieira and playing alongside some of the very best and popular names in football in Frank Lampard,Andrea Pirlo and David Villa is an absolute privilege,” Gomez says.

TTFA Media: What is the feeling like after securing your first overseas professional move?

SG: In the last couple of days I’ve been feeling a great sense of happiness! Knowing what I wanted for myself and my career to reach to another level. I feel as if I stepped onto another level and another new start of a chapter in my career by securing my first overseas contract.

TTFA Media: What was the trial period like?

SG: The trial with New York City FC was intense but very enjoyable. Upon joining the NYCFC team & staff, they made me feel very comfortable and they were very welcoming with open arms. It was a joy to come out on the pitch and work with the guys because of their encouragement. It made it easier for me to play and display my talent to show what new I can bring to the team.

TTFA Media: What’s it been like working with a personality and world figure such as Patrick Vieira?

SG: Working with coach Patrick Vieira is an experience any young player would dream of. He is a very good coach who gives his players the confidence and privilege to play and express themselves while carrying out their respective roles & functions simultaneously. This is helping me to give my best each session. So far I’m enjoying and learning new things from him as he was a former great player back in his time as a footballer, which makes it even more exciting for me.

TTFA Media: What are your immediate ambitions having now crossed the first hurdle?

SG: My immediate ambitions are to learn as much positive things as I can to improve my game and work my hardest to break in the first team and stay there. I want to give it my best everytime I get the opportunity.

TTFA Media: What made you fall in love with the game?

SG: I think the beauty of the game itself is what made me fall in love with it. It’s like the beauty of a person or a woman (laughs) inside and out makes you fall in love. The way it changes your life as a person, your family, the people around you, the worldwide love for the game and the respect you can gain as well as have for the sport.

TTFA Media: Tell us in a few words about Shannon Gomez.

SG: I think I am a smiling and very easygoing person. I love to be happy and I will work my hardest to reach where I want to be and not settle for average. And I believe in God. With God anything is possible. Dreams can n become a reality. I am strong because of my family and support. I will work hard to make sure they are comfortable.

TTFA Media: What has been the highlight of your relatively short career so far?

SG: I think the highlight of my career so far is this very moment where I have been able to secure my first overseas contract. Being coached by one of the best to ever play the game in coach Patrick Vieira and playing alongside some of the very best and popular names in football in Frank Lampard, Andrea Pirlo and David Villa is an absolute privilege.

TTFA Media: What has contributed or led to where you are today? Who are some of the individuals who’ve been at your side along this journey so far?

SG: My first club, St Mary’s United definitely has to be on this list.

And the coaches include in W Connection’s Stuart Charles-Fevrier for helping me to develop the tactical side of my game both offensively and defensively and helping me to understand the lifestyle of a professional footballer. Thanks also to the W Connection club.

I also have to mention San Juan Jabloteh and its staff who helped me in my development as a youth and one of their best coaches in Dave Weekes.

I looked closely at players such as Philip Lahm, Dani Alves and Daniel Carvajal as they play in positions on the field where I play and they are the best at it.

TTFA Media: How much has making your senior international debut against Panama last March helped you over the past few months as your progressed towards your position at NYCFC today?

SG: Making my debut for my country has drastically helped me in my approach to games and the level I should be performing at and understanding what it takes in terms of working hard to maintain that standard of performance everytime I step onto the pitch.

TTFA Media : Thank You Shannon for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we’d like to wish you the best in your new position with NYCFC.

SG: Thanks for the opportunity and I will definitely try my best to perform creditably and do proudly for the Red,White and Black.

Post by: Sam on March 04, 2016, 06:29:52 AM
Good going kid.

Make de best and doh look back, T&T have nothing for you.

A Defence Force product.

Post by: asylumseeker on March 04, 2016, 07:28:44 AM
Gomez has age on his side cyrus does not .....

There is ah fella named Paolo Maldini. Got capped fairly young. Likely about the same age as J.Jones and Cyrus. He made his playing position his own (could also play as a central defender) and fended off contenders (for his playing position) of all ages ... for quite some time.

Ah fairly sure J.Jones wants to stamp his name on the team sheet for YEARS. To own de position.

The same thought process probably applies/should apply to Cyrus. Motivation to perform at ah "level".

Healthy in-house competition regardless of where you ball.  :beermug:

Post by: Deeks on March 04, 2016, 09:10:11 AM
I feel that Cyrus should play in front the stopper or a defensive mid. I feel he will be more effective in the middle of the field.
Post by: madness on March 04, 2016, 09:55:52 AM
I agree that Cyrus should play as a stopper but I am concern about his passing abilities and dribbbin in specfic areas on the field.
Post by: Deeks on March 04, 2016, 10:52:22 AM
Madness, true, your concerns are valid.
Post by: Dutty Love on March 04, 2016, 12:41:19 PM
Desailly was a non technical centre back at OM before arriving at Milan. Capello genius.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 04, 2016, 01:40:37 PM
Have any of you considered that Hart has instructed/urged Cyrus to get forward as much as possible?  Or that Hart is confident in his dribbling ability as well as his recovery speed?  It's as if all of a sudden he is our new whipping boy that everyone wants to highlight negatives about.  In the last game he even got blamed it would appear from some here for a goal he had little to nothing to do with.  Cyrus has many great attributes and I also believe he could do well in a pivot/DM position.  His speed will be a great asset on defensive coverage, and his confidence dribbling the ball could help create pockets of spaces for our mids to get the ball and have time to make sensible choices with it.
Post by: Deeks on March 04, 2016, 08:07:09 PM
It's as if all of a sudden he is our new whipping boy that everyone wants to highlight negatives about.  In the last game he even got blamed it

He is no whipping boy as far as I am concern. I always thought he was suited for a mid field role. Like Yaya Toure, Viera or even former TT player, Ronnie Simmonds. It is just that Boucaud, Hyland tend to get more of Hart's attention.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 07, 2016, 09:52:24 AM
It's as if all of a sudden he is our new whipping boy that everyone wants to highlight negatives about.  In the last game he even got blamed it

He is no whipping boy as far as I am concern. I always thought he was suited for a mid field role. Like Yaya Toure, Viera or even former TT player, Ronnie Simmonds. It is just that Boucaud, Hyland tend to get more of Hart's attention.

I agree that he seems perfectly suited to the role.  But to be fair, Boucaud performs like a champion and always puts in a very strong effort so it's hard to move him for DC. Hyland has basically owned the position and seems to have the versatility enough to push up into a position higher on the pitch.  He also is another workhorse.  So the question begs, how do you move either for DC who is untested in that position.
Post by: maxg on March 07, 2016, 04:51:05 PM

I agree that he seems perfectly suited to the role.  But to be fair, Boucaud performs like a champion and always puts in a very strong effort so it's hard to move him for DC. Hyland has basically owned the position and seems to have the versatility enough to push up into a position higher on the pitch.  He also is another workhorse.  So the question begs, how do you move either for DC who is untested in that position.
Not to pick on the guy..but his early performances were great..his later performances still merits selection, but only as far as the bench IMO. I am only considering the games and few hilights I have seen, and not his practice or league games honours. If he is performing well in those arenas, but it didn't translate in the big games, then hard luck, that's why he was picked..but if I see a suitable, effective replacement, and able to have access and test that replacement, then sure replacement will take place..is not a matter of like or doh like..is a matter of selecting who most demonstrates the ability to excute the plan/strategy/performance  at that time against the desired opposition on the big stage...if a guy plays great in practice games, sure I picking him for the big stage, but after every big game performance, win or lose, adjustments will need to be made, if we are to move on to bigger stages..and hopefully we allways have some understudies in preparation for the difficult or unfortunate times
Post by: asylumseeker on March 07, 2016, 04:53:57 PM
Which player, maxg?
Post by: palos on March 07, 2016, 05:08:09 PM
Good ting dis is a Shannon Gomez thread  :devil:
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 08, 2016, 12:03:39 PM
Good ting dis is a Shannon Gomez thread  :devil:

LMAO ent?!! :D
Post by: maxg on March 08, 2016, 12:42:25 PM
Which player, maxg?
I thought we were talking about Cyrus and Gomez as a possible replacement.. I haven't seen Gomez yet..but if he could get a foreign contract he must be showing something positive
Post by: asylumseeker on March 08, 2016, 01:36:13 PM
Which player, maxg?
I thought we were talking about Cyrus and Gomez as a possible replacement.. I haven't seen Gomez yet..but if he could get a foreign contract he must be showing something positive

Thought so, but wanted to be certain ...because there was also mention of Boucaud above.
Title: New York City FC’s Shannon Gomez talks about life in NYC
Post by: Tallman on April 15, 2016, 12:37:57 PM
New York City FC’s Shannon Gomez talks about life in NYC
amny.com

The youngest member of New York City FC has yet to make his MLS debut, but 19-year-old Shannon Gomez is one of the club’s top young prospects, according to head coach Patrick Vieira.

The native of Trinidad & Tobago is, in the words of sporting director Claudio Reyna, “a fast right back that can also play as an offensive winger.”

With NYCFC (1-1-3, 6 points) set to visit the Columbus Crew (0-3-2, 2 points) on Saturday, Gomez spoke with amNewYork about life in the Big Apple.

What did you think of New York City when you first visited?
I always wanted to come because New York City has a big diversity of Caribbean people. I’m really liking the city so far — everybody back home always had a dream to see the Statue of Liberty and Madison Square Garden. So far, I’ve been to the Statue of Liberty to take some pictures, and it’s really nice. I will go to MSG next.

How do you like riding the subway?
I took it once to this year’s home opener at Yankee Stadium — to experience it with my teammate (defender) Jefferson Mena. We got on and arrived in 30 minutes. I didn’t know it was the express train — I learned after the fact that if we got on the other one it would have taken us almost an hour. But I liked it because it was quick and a smooth ride.

What do you love and hate most about the city?
No hates about the city … but the weather is very unpredictable.

I love how lively the city is, and the people here are very welcoming. There are a lot of top-notch restaurants everywhere. It’s definitely not boring, and very easy to enjoy yourself wherever you go.

Favorite restaurant in the city?
Ali’s Trinidad Roti Shop in Brooklyn.

What is your favorite off-the-pitch memory of the city?
When the season started, they lit the Empire State Building blue for NYCFC and just to see that was amazing.

Favorite New York team other than New York City FC?
New York Knicks

What makes New York soccer fans unique?
They are very passionate about New York City FC. They are very loyal and show us love every game — win, lose, or draw.

Do you have any gameday rituals?
I touch the touchline and make the sign of the cross and point to the sky. The meaning is that God is greatest, and if it wasn’t for him I wouldn’t be here to do what I love and to have the opportunity to display my talents.

Who was your childhood soccer hero?
Didier Drogba — I admire his leadership and presence on the field. Phillip Lahm — same size as me, very quick, plays all the same positions as me. He is certainly someone I have looked up to as a soccer player. And Dani Alves. He was always my all-time favorite.

Do you have a hidden talent?
I can play cricket. West Indies just won the World Cup!
Post by: Flex on April 22, 2016, 05:02:56 AM
Gomez ready for New York FC debut.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former National Under-20 Captain Shannon Gomez wants his juniors now seeking to represent Trinidad and Tobago in upcoming Under-20 World Cup qualification that they must stay focused on the task at hand and prepare themselves for a long road ahead.

Gomez is now in the New York City FC first squad, brushing shoulders, sharing conversations and training with the likes of ex-Italian standout Andrea Pirlo, former Spanish and Barcelona star David Villa and Frank Lampard on a daily basis. Lampard has been recovering from a calf injury.

The 19-year-old, on a one-year loan deal from DirecTV W Connection, captained the T&T Under-20 team to the Caribbean title in 2014.

“I would like to urge the players on the current Under 20 team to dream big and aim for the stars. They have a huge opportunity ahead of them.

“The Under-20 stage was the first big opportunity for me on the international stage like it was for many other players like Dwight Yorke and Kevin Molino. And we took it seriously. But the players there now have to have big ambitions.

“They can’t feel comfortable with just making the final team.

“I think they have good potential and they must go onto retain the Caribbean title and then go on and qualify for the Under-20 World Cup,” Gomez said.

Gomez is working tirelessly as he awaits his debut for New York.

“Working towards my debut is an anxious feeling because I know that while putting in all the necessary work that will help me to be ready for when the opportunity presents itself, I have to remain focused and continue working hard to make sure that I capitalise and get a good grasp of the opportunity,” he said.

Gomez made his T&T senior team debut against Panama last year March but he is yet to get called to the current Senior World Cup team. And he isn’t worried as timing is everything for him.

“I think the currently the senior team is in a very good run of form. Once we keep focused on achieving the goal on qualifying for the World Cup, I know we can go all the way.

“I will continue to work hard to play regularly with the national team. Whenever I'm called up, I will make the most of it,” he added.

Title: NYCFC's Andrea Pirlo: MLS has too much running, too little play
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 29, 2016, 04:36:11 AM
NYCFC's Andrea Pirlo: MLS has too much running, too little play
BY ESPN STAFF

Former Italy midfielder Andrea Pirlo said that U.S. players are not taught technical skills at an early age and that ultimately affects the quality of play in Major League Soccer.

The 37-year-old, who is in his second season with New York City FC, said that more needs to be done at the youth level to bring professional soccer in the United States on par with Europe.

"It's a very hard league to play in. It's very physical, there's a lot of running. So there is a lot of physical work and to me, in my mind, too little play," Pirlo told Reuters at a MLS promotional event. "What I'm talking about is actually a system or culture. I don't mean that the level of technical skills are low. I just mean there is a cultural void that needs to be filled."

On Monday, Pirlo and Toronto FC midfielder Sebastian Giovinco, along with Mario Balotelli, were left off Italy coach Antonio Conte's 30-man squad for the second phase of preparations for Euro 2016.

Former AC Milan and Juventus midfielder Pirlo said that Americans who play soccer at college are already behind in terms of their development when compared with European peers. He stressed that youth training in Europe also includes technical skills.

"They pick them and they train them in much more than just running," he said. "They train them in stopping the ball. Here that doesn't happen.

"So when a young man becomes a professional in the United States he still has some gaps that need to be filled when playing on the field," he said.

Pirlo said he was pleased to see the progress made at NYCFC, which entered the MLS last year.

He praised the work of coach Patrick Vieira and his teammates, incluing Spanish striker David Villa and former English footballer Frank Lampard.

Pirlo said Vieira, the former Premier League star and World Cup champion for France, has made a significant difference to the team's performance this season.

"We are very happy with what he is doing. We are working hard every day, and he is bringing in new things that we are learning," said Pirlo. "There is a lot of hard work, both tactically and technically, as well as things that haven't been done before. The team is really improving and seeing excellent results."
Title: Re: NYCFC's Andrea Pirlo: MLS has too much running, too little play
Post by: maxg on May 29, 2016, 12:25:43 PM
Totally agree, yet culture of physicality hard to change overnight..especially when one has to compete. Like TT vs Conmebol, although we may have the skill to match, we do not yet have the right recipe to compete in that arena, yet our product is still satisfactory to compete in  our region, a combination of both is what SH brings. In MLS which operates where NFL,NHL, WWF and NBA is king (doh say NBA is non contact, or not mile a minute), non-physicality would be hard to sell as well.
Today, Pirlo et al vs Kaka et al. Kaka has already adapted, however NY may not have appreciated the 7 they get last week, so bet they bringing some measure of physicality that Pirlo not happy with.
Title: Re: NYCFC's Andrea Pirlo: MLS has too much running, too little play
Post by: Tobago28 on May 29, 2016, 05:29:31 PM
Very insightful from Pirlo that its not the physicality or the contact but rather the busy "bee" running of MLS and American football lacking actual play. The absence of thoughtful touches and movement is where MLS and American cultural approach to football is disappointing and frustrating to someone like Pirlo. They will outwork you but so much wasted thoughtless energy wasted.

I remember Henry being frustrated by the same thing a Red Bull.
Post by: Deeks on May 30, 2016, 09:00:32 AM
Adapt or die!
Post by: Brownsugar on May 30, 2016, 09:42:25 AM
Very insightful from Pirlo that its not the physicality or the contact but rather the busy "bee" running of MLS and American football lacking actual play. The absence of thoughtful touches and movement is where MLS and American cultural approach to football is disappointing and frustrating to someone like Pirlo. They will outwork you but so much wasted thoughtless energy wasted.

I remember Henry being frustrated by the same thing a Red Bull.

Dais why I cyar watch the US play or like their football....its not nice to watch.....every body plays the same....kinda boring and robotic.....

Well that and 1989.....yeah, we qualify in 2005 but Nov 19, 1989 still does hut mih.......there.....I said it....confession is good for the soul..... ;D
Post by: palos on May 30, 2016, 03:11:04 PM
Any updates on how Shannon Gomez is doing at FC New York?
Post by: Tallman on June 23, 2016, 07:24:32 PM
WATCH: Post-match interview with Shannon Gomez (http://www.nycfc.com/post/2016/06/16/new-york-city-fc-vs-new-york-cosmos-shannon-gomezs-post-match-interview?autoplay=true) after New York City FC’s 1-0 loss to New York Cosmos in the fourth round of the US Open Cup. This was Shannon's NYCFC debut.
Post by: King Deese on June 24, 2016, 02:37:27 PM
NYCFC's Andrea Pirlo: MLS has too much running, too little play
BY ESPN STAFF

Former Italy midfielder Andrea Pirlo said that U.S. players are not taught technical skills at an early age and that ultimately affects the quality of play in Major League Soccer.

The 37-year-old, who is in his second season with New York City FC, said that more needs to be done at the youth level to bring professional soccer in the United States on par with Europe.

"It's a very hard league to play in. It's very physical, there's a lot of running. So there is a lot of physical work and to me, in my mind, too little play," Pirlo told Reuters at a MLS promotional event. "What I'm talking about is actually a system or culture. I don't mean that the level of technical skills are low. I just mean there is a cultural void that needs to be filled."

On Monday, Pirlo and Toronto FC midfielder Sebastian Giovinco, along with Mario Balotelli, were left off Italy coach Antonio Conte's 30-man squad for the second phase of preparations for Euro 2016.

Former AC Milan and Juventus midfielder Pirlo said that Americans who play soccer at college are already behind in terms of their development when compared with European peers. He stressed that youth training in Europe also includes technical skills.

"They pick them and they train them in much more than just running," he said. "They train them in stopping the ball. Here that doesn't happen.

"So when a young man becomes a professional in the United States he still has some gaps that need to be filled when playing on the field," he said.

Pirlo said he was pleased to see the progress made at NYCFC, which entered the MLS last year.

He praised the work of coach Patrick Vieira and his teammates, incluing Spanish striker David Villa and former English footballer Frank Lampard.

Pirlo said Vieira, the former Premier League star and World Cup champion for France, has made a significant difference to the team's performance this season.

"We are very happy with what he is doing. We are working hard every day, and he is bringing in new things that we are learning," said Pirlo. "There is a lot of hard work, both tactically and technically, as well as things that haven't been done before. The team is really improving and seeing excellent results."

Hit the nail on the head, but in TnT it is even worse, these players don't even run, they jog, just look at the so called pro league. Players are not technically and tactically trained from youth level and consequently you have piss poor attendances in the local leagues, piss poor technical and tactical performances on the field at the higher levels.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 14, 2016, 09:50:38 AM
How is he progressing?
Title: Shannon Gomez suffers ACL injury, out for rest of season
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2016, 06:24:02 PM
Shannon Gomez suffers ACL injury, out for rest of season
nyfc.com

New York City FC defender Shannon Gomez suffered an injury in training, rupturing his ACL. He will undergo corrective surgery and will be out for the remainder of the 2016 MLS season.

The 19-year-old was signed on March 3, 2016 as a Discovery Signing on loan from W Connection FC, making his debut for the club against New York Cosmos.

Head Coach Patrick Vieira commented, “We’re disappointed to be losing Shannon for the rest of the season. He’s a player that gives his all on the training pitch and we’ll miss him until he returns. He’s a fantastic professional and I have no doubt he will work extremely hard with our medical team to come back fitter and stronger than ever. We wish him all the best for his recovery and look forward to having him back soon.”

Everyone at the Club wishes Shannon the best in his recovery.
Post by: palos on July 15, 2016, 07:33:58 PM
SALT  :(

Speedy recovery yute
Post by: Flex on July 22, 2016, 02:45:26 AM
Frenchman Vieira disappointed to lose Gomez.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Prior to suffering  a torn ACL last week, T&T full back Shannon Gomez was closing in on making his full MLS debut for New York City FC. And now that he is out for the rest of the season, club head coach, former French star Patrick Vieira is nothing but disappointed to lose the player.

“We’re disappointed to be losing Shannon for the rest of the season. He’s a player that gives his all on the training pitch and we’ll miss him until he returns. He’s a fantastic professional and I have no doubt he will work extremely hard with our medical team to come back fitter and stronger than ever,” Vieira said.

The club took Gomez on loan from DirecTV W Connection and could consider buying out his loan and keep him at the club. The former T&T under 20 captain said he wants to stay at NYCFC.

“The way I look at it is to work the hardest and play to best of every opportunity. Hopefully, in the near future they pick up my option to stay at this club because I really like it here. They know I can keep building as a player and I’m still young. Learning the philosophy of our play, our style of play and what New York City represents, everything I’m learning right now I hope to put in practice and keep working hard at it,” said Gomez who made one start for the club in a US Open Cup clash with New York Cosmos but has been a regular member of the first team training with the likes of Andrea Pirlo, David Villa and Frank Lampard.

Post by: Deeks on July 22, 2016, 06:00:00 AM
Hard luck dude. get well soon. God Bless!
Title: Shannon Gomez expecting to return to New York City FC
Post by: Tallman on September 15, 2016, 07:35:24 PM
Shannon Gomez expecting to return to New York City FC
By Christian Araos (empireofsoccer.com)

Shannon Gomez only made one appearance for New York City FC this season before tearing his ACL. Nevertheless, Gomez said NYCFC wants to keep him and he expects to rejoin the club next preseason.

“My team has been really supportive of me, my coach and the players,” Gomez said. “NYCFC has been behind me telling me ‘you’re going to be back so just keep working, take your time and get the proper healing that you need.’

“It’s been a very supportive process from the team and I’m just trying to take it step-by-step and just keep working.”

Gomez joined NYCFC on loan from W Connection at the beginning of the season and appeared in their Open Cup match in June. He had been working his way towards appearing in league matches before suffering the injury. He said he began physical therapy with the club this week and took an off day Wednesday to participate in the unveiling of a mini pitch in The Bronx.

“From speaking with NYCFC and they’ve been really happy. Unfortunately, I got the injury. Speaking to my coach and Claudio, they’ve been supportive of me and loved how I work so looking at it, I’m going to be back here next year so I can display what I can really do.”

NYCFC does have an option to purchase on Gomez’s loan agreement though it is uncertain if that is exactly what the club intends to do. The club cannot make or announce a move until after the season ends. Gomez was capped by Trinidad & Tobago but has a green card and would not require an international spot.

With his future seemingly secured, Gomez said he can relax and focus on making a full recovery.

“Just getting the opportunity to play for NYCFC again is just another opportunity to grasp the chances that you have and keep working harder and harder. Hard work always pays off, that’s always been my thing. I had a good game, I think, and they saw it as enough to bring me back. Even from playing and off the pitch, I’ve been working my ass off and never getting my head down. It’s my goal to come back here and give them back for what they’ve invested in me.”
Post by: Flex on December 01, 2016, 01:10:33 PM
Gomez eager to push on at New York City FC.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s US-based defender Shannon Gomez is eagerly awaiting the chance to break into the starting team of New York City FC after the club secured his services on a full time basis from W Connection two days ago.

Gomez has recovered from a torn ACL which sidelined for the majority of this season. He made one appearance for the club under head coach Patrick Vieira. Once he was fully fit again, NYCFC did not hesitate in snapping him up on a full contract after he arrived on loan from W Connection.

“I feel extremely happy to be part of the NYCFC family for a second consecutive year and now on a permanent basis,” Gomez told TTFA Media on Wednesday.

“I am very grateful for what they have invested in me and glad to see t everyone at the club is happy to have me there.”

“ At the moment my physical status is really good. There’s work to be done and I’m just working hard to come back stronger and healthy for the new season,” Gomez continued.

Looking ahead to the upcoming season, the former T&T Under 20 captain said he is keen to show his work for the club.

“I’m very anxious for the start of the new season with NYCFC because not only am I coming off injury but I will get the opportunity to show again my worth and repay the club for their investment in me. Last season taught me a lot in terms of my development and there were areas in my game where I needed to improve. I was fortunate to have a good solid start at W Connection and now this opportunity is here for me to push on.

“The entire experience helped me a lot to become a much better player. Settling into the club & adapting to the lifestyle at a different level of my career has played a big part on how I see football and in turn carry out my roles and functions,” he said.

“Last season taught me a lot on and off the field. And hopefully now I can put these things into practice as I go about trying to become a better player for club and country,” Gomez added.

Gomez made his senior international debut in an international friendly against Panama in 2015 at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

(http://ttfootball.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/shannongomez.jpg)

Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2017, 09:18:40 PM
WATCH: Shannon Gomez’s road to recovery after suffering a torn ACL

https://www.youtube.com/v/JrW_2pMozq4
Post by: Big Magician on January 09, 2017, 09:25:12 PM
I actually called his name last week...for a march call up... depends on his readiness of course
Post by: palos on January 09, 2017, 09:32:09 PM
I actually called his name last week...for a march call up... depends on his readiness of course

Even if he were to fully recover, lack of match fitness likely to be a major factor preventing his selection.

Then again....that would be under a normal state of affairs. T&T football is currently the antithesis of "normal"
Post by: coache on January 09, 2017, 09:38:00 PM
I am glad that Shannon is on the road to recovery...I don't know if he would be match fit for our next match ..

for the time being I feel that we should encourage Latapy to start jogging every day and get some fitness in time for March...and we should call back Yorke too.
Post by: Deeks on January 09, 2017, 11:27:24 PM
Guys, I saw a Gomez guy playing Liverpool in the FA against Plymouth Arg. Is he of TT parentage by any chance?
Post by: Thomo on January 10, 2017, 01:04:27 AM
Guys, I saw a Gomez guy playing Liverpool in the FA against Plymouth Arg. Is he of TT parentage by any chance?

No he's not. His father is Gambian and his mother English.
Post by: Tiresais on January 10, 2017, 10:24:14 AM
I remember when I spoke to the man city scouting team that his attitude was a big reason for the coach signing him - I'm sure that he'll come back and do well for that reason. I hope he can push on and show them what he is capable of.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Title: Gomez: It’s good to be back
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2017, 02:15:36 PM
Gomez: It’s good to be back
By Mark Booth (nycfc.com)

It’s been a long road back for Shannon Gomez.

The Trinidadian defender had no sooner worked his way into contention for a roster spot in 2016 before a ruptured anterior cruciate ligament injury cruelly ended his season in July.

Now he’s back on the field for NYCFC’s preseason training camp in Jacksonville and the smile painted large on his face speaks volumes for the relief he feels to be back out there.

Still just 20-years old, the diminutive right-back has plenty of times on his side and could prove to be like a new signing for Patrick Vieira in the Frenchman’s second year at the helm.

Gomez told NYCFC.com: “I’m just coming back into preseason and I’m excited to be back doing what I love to do best which is playing soccer.

“The recovery has been excellent and I’m feeling really good and I’m raring to go. There’s a little bit of work left to do just to make sure I’m perfect but I’m excellent at this point.

“This year I’m hoping for big things and I’m working hard for that. I want to get back to where I was and to keep going from strength to strength to try and get more minutes in.

“I have set some personal targets and goals along with the team goals – I want to get more minutes this year and to hold down a spot in the team.

“Coming off an injury it’s going to be tough in the early going but I’ve just got to try and hit the ground running.”

Shannon was on loan from W Connection at NYCFC in 2016 but the club moved to make the permanent in the offseason – a telling sign of the esteem he’s held in by the sporting staff.

Gomez is thankful for that trust in his abilities and is banking on being able to show his appreciation with performances on the field over the coming months.

He said: “It meant a lot to me – I’m grateful for the time and the effort the club has invested in me, for what they saw in me that impressed them enough.

“I’m hoping to come back this season and to repay the faith they’ve shown in me. I have to keep working with the club to try and achieve my goals and hopefully I’ll step up this year.”

Gomez is especially grateful for the support and guidance of Vieira who he attributes a great deal of his improvement over the last 12 months to.

Describing playing under the Frenchman as ‘a dream come true’, Shannon is effusive in his praise for the Head Coach.

“Patrick is an excellent coach – he helps you play freely, to express yourself on the pitch while carrying out your roles and functions simultaneously,” the defender added.

“He guides you in the right direction – obviously with the experience he brings to any team that he goes to – coming to New York and playing under him is a dream come true and he’s helped me in so many different aspects of my game.”
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2017, 02:46:20 PM
WATCH: 20 Questions with Shannon Gomez

https://www.youtube.com/v/LmICn9VKQgU
Post by: Controversial on February 07, 2017, 02:57:05 PM
WATCH: Shannon Gomez’s road to recovery after suffering a torn ACL

https://www.youtube.com/v/JrW_2pMozq4

Cummings needs this type of rehab as well
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2017, 03:42:43 PM
WATCH: Shannon Gomez provides the assist on David Villa’s scissors-kick goal against Jacksonville University in a pre-season friendly

https://www.youtube.com/v/dAYdRbapcrk?start=205
Post by: Deeks on February 07, 2017, 05:38:14 PM
Glad for this Yute. He, Levi and a couple others are the future. I hope DL encourage TTFA to form a squad for the next OL in Tokyo.
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2017, 07:27:26 PM
WATCH: New York City FC defender Shannon Gomez talks about the pre-season friendly against Jacksonville University (http://www.nycfc.com/post/2017/02/02/nycfc-v-jacksonville-gomez-reaction?autoplay=true), which was his first game since June 2016.
Title: Gomez: Red Bulls will provide an excellent test
Post by: Tallman on February 14, 2017, 07:48:39 PM
Gomez: Red Bulls will provide an excellent test
NYCFC.com

NYCFC’s first Desert Diamond Cup game is looming into view and Shannon Gomez believes that it will be a friendly with a little added heat.

Any game between the two local rivals will inevitably draw more attention from fans of both teams than your average preseason encounter.

However, Shannon still believes that ultimately this match will just be a case of finding out where the team are at as we build up to 2017.

Gomez told NYCFC.com: “I think for me it’s going to be a game I want to play in but I’d be happy to play against any other team on the field at this stage.

“I think playing Red Bulls is always going to be a heated match in certain aspects of the game but in terms of what we can take away from the game it’s just going to be excellent for us to test ourselves.

“We’ve just arrived in Tucson so we’re just getting the legs going, getting the blood flowing and getting some games in. The intensity is really high in training at the moment and the boys are clearly raring to go.

“I think the first half of preseason was excellent – we tried to carry out the coaches’ instructions and carry out their plans and we tried to implement what we’re trying to do in the sessions in the games, executing on our plans.

“Everybody complied to it and it’s a great sign going into the start of the season. It’s always vital to get off on the right foot in preseason and I think that’s happening, It’s just about sharpening up and getting some more games in while we’re here.”

Shannon featured in his second preseason game against SC Emelec in Ecuador last Wednesday and now he’s eager for more opportunities to impress with competition for places high in Head Coach Patrick Vieira’s team.

A player who endured a cruel 2016 season due to injuries, now the Trinidadian is firmly focused on looking ahead rather than peering into the rear view mirror.

“Ecuador was excellent – great fans, great atmosphere and a match against an excellent team,” Shannon said.

“The whole experience of it was something special for us and great exposure for our club. To experience the speed of the opposition and the physicality for our young team, it was a plus for us and going into a new season you can take some positives from that.

“I’m feeling really good – it was always part of the mind to keep yourself going, staying focused every day and not worrying about injuries or anything like that.

“I’m just trying to do the right things – to be myself on the field day in and day out.”
Post by: Tallman on February 25, 2017, 04:11:23 PM
CLICK HERE (http://www.soccernewyorkcityshop.com/Authentic-Shannon-Gomez-Jersey/) to get your authentic 2016/17 Shannon Gomez New York City FC jerseys
Title: Shannon Gomez joins Pittsburgh Riverhounds on loan
Post by: Tallman on June 29, 2017, 01:58:31 PM
Shannon Gomez joins Pittsburgh Riverhounds on loan
riverhounds.com

The Pittsburgh Riverhounds have received defender Shannon Gomez on loan from New York City FC of MLS. Gomez, who recently became a permanent acquisition of NYCFC after originally signing on loan in 2016, is expected to compete for the Hounds for the remainder of the 2017 campaign.

MLS has entered into a 2017 Standard USL Loan Agreement for Gomez. This agreement contains a right of recall for MLS, which enables Gomez to play for a USL club and an MLS club throughout the duration of the loan period (through the end of 2017), subject to roster rules and compliance.

Head coach Dave Brandt said he expects Gomez to bring much needed depth and talent to a depleted Hounds back four, which has suffered a variety of injuries, including losing right back Rich Balchan in April to a season-ending Achilles injury.

“This was an opportunity for us to acquire a really sharp, quick, experienced young player from a top organization like New York City FC,” Brandt said. “We’ve obviously dealt with some injuries in the back and having a young, talented player like Shannon, who can play right back, will help us moving forward this season.”

Prior to joining NYCFC, Gomez, 20, played at W Connection of the Trinidad and Tobago League, where he began his professional career in 2014. He played every minute of the club’s four-game run in the 2015-16 CONCACAF Champions League appearance, including a 2-1 victory over Costa Rican side Saprissa.

Gomez was initially added by NYCFC as a Discovery Signing on loan in 2016, before officially signing a permanent contract this past offseason. He has yet to make his first team debut for NYCFC, dressing once in 2016 as a bench player for a 0-0 draw against the Chicago Fire on April 11.

A native of Chaguanas, Trinidad & Tobago, Gomez also has extensive experience in international competition, beginning in the T&T youth ranks in 2012. The defender’s most notable playing time with The Soca Warriors came in 2015, as he made two appearances for the national team and played in all five games at the 2015 CONCACAF U-20 Championships.

The club expects Gomez to be available for its next match on Tuesday, July 4 against the Charlotte Independence at Highmark Stadium. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m. Tickets are still available and can be purchased at Riverhounds.com.
Post by: MEP on June 29, 2017, 03:57:29 PM
Not a good place for this kid to be
Post by: Deeks on June 29, 2017, 05:38:47 PM

Does not look good. That is a demotion as far as I am concern. All yuh think Kazakhstan is a better option?
Post by: Tallman on June 29, 2017, 06:59:16 PM

Does not look good. That is a demotion as far as I am concern. All yuh think Kazakhstan is a better option?

Not necessarily. It relly eh no different than how EPL teams does loan some players to Championship teams. De fact is he has never played an MLS game for NYCFC, and he needs some playing time. A few of our players have been loaned out to USL or NASL teams while they were in the MLS. Kevan George, Carlyle Mitchell, Julius James, and Yohance Marshall come to mind.
Post by: MEP on June 29, 2017, 09:45:37 PM
In this instance I'm talking about the organization and how they do things as it is not a good fit for his development
Post by: Storeboy on June 30, 2017, 11:45:58 AM

Not necessarily. It relly eh no different than how EPL teams does loan some players to Championship teams. De fact is he has never played an MLS game for NYCFC, and he needs some playing time. A few of our players have been loaned out to USL or NASL teams while they were in the MLS. Kevan George, Carlyle Mitchell, Julius James, and Yohance Marshall come to mind.

At least he will be playing and have a greater opportunity for development than sitting on the bench in MLS without playing.
Post by: MEP on June 30, 2017, 12:59:15 PM

At least he will be playing and have a greater opportunity for development than sitting on the bench in MLS without playing.

Eh heh yeah sure
Post by: Tallman on November 27, 2017, 09:51:01 PM
Defender Shannon Gomez released by New York City FC. (https://www.nycfc.com/post/2017/11/27/new-york-city-fc-announce-roster-options-2018)
Post by: Deeks on November 27, 2017, 10:00:02 PM
Like is a coordinated effort by mls to release all the Trinis the same time. Conspir-rass-cy.
Post by: maxg on November 27, 2017, 10:29:16 PM
Like is a coordinated effort by mls to release all the Trinis the same time. Conspir-rass-cy.
either that or they join the  "we buss allyuh ass" sing-a-long and management get vex..but seriously, Williams and Cato showed potential but hardly saw improvement or worth.. a la JJ... This does not bode well if we can't get our players to experience higher leagues, and also advertise TT as a potential market for role players, as Jamaica has done, therby increasing their pool and choices.. Pro League experience alone, will most certainly guarantee us more cutass in the future.
Post by: soccerman on November 27, 2017, 10:48:30 PM
Yea that's 4 of our players released by MLS clubs thus far. Hopefully these guys can be picked up by other clubs.
Post by: lefty on November 28, 2017, 09:15:02 AM
apart from Joevin and kevin...who has fallen off some, how many were standouts for those clubs....it may well be a deliberate culling, but can any claim a stake to being indispensably assets.......Joevin flat out tell Seattle to f**k off when dey try to pull dat hold up shit dey pull in away leg and still was "welcomed" back, want to guess why?
Title: Sacramento Republic FC sign Shannon Gomez
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2018, 07:52:40 PM
Sacramento Republic FC sign versatile Trinidad and Tobago national team player Shannon Gomez
sacrepublicfc.com

Sacramento Republic FC have agreed to a USL contract with Shannon Gomez for the 2018 season, with a club option for the 2019 season, pending league and federation approval.

“Shannon is a very dynamic outside back that can get forward and really help us in the attack,” said Republic FC General Manager Todd Dunivant.“After a two-year stint with NYCFC, he is hungry to play and contribute to our squad.”

Gomez joins Republic FC after playing the last two seasons with MLS side New York City FC. Gomez originally joined NYCFC on loan from W Connection F.C., a first division club in Trinidad and Tobago.  Despite not logging minutes in an MLS match, Gomez impressed NYCFC enough to earn a contract with the club. He made his debut with NYCFC on June 15, 2016 during U.S. Open Cup play in which the NY Cosmos defeated NYCFC in the fourth round. 

In 2017, the 21-year-old joined the Pittsburgh Riverhounds on loan from NYCFC.  Gomez made 10 appearances with the Riverhounds, including seven starts and recorded an assist.

Gomez capped for the Trinidad and Tobago Under-20 National Team and led the Soca Warriors to the 2014 Caribbean title. Gomez has been called up to the National Team three times.

Sacramento Republic FC began training camp on Feb. 1 and will host their first 2018 friendly on Feb. 15 against MLS side Seattle Sounders FC, followed by a friendly versus MLS newcomers Los Angeles Football Club on Feb. 25.
Post by: Tiresais on February 09, 2018, 04:27:09 AM
Really wish him the best, but he needs to get out of the USL - a player can get lost and forgotten down there. If he sticks it out the best he can hope for is a change to promotion/relegation that some of the USA soccer head candidates have suggested.

Post by: Tallman on April 08, 2018, 08:47:54 AM
Shannon Gomez sparkles against Seattle Sounders 2 (https://www.indomitablecitysoccer.com/2018/4/7/17211616/you-get-a-red-card-everybody-gets-a-red-card).

“Gomez is a defensive player, but his aggressiveness in offensive attacks really helped create pressure. His constant crosses and speed really made things uncomfortable for Seattle. He also managed to draw the biggest foul of the night which resulted in a penalty and Sacramento’s only goal.”
Title: Defender Shannon Gomez named to USL Team of the Week (#18)
Post by: Tallman on July 17, 2018, 06:03:52 PM
Gomez shone brightly as part of a Republic FC backline that allowed just one goal across 180 minutes, with Sacramento picking up a clean sheet against Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC and conceding one goal against Swope Park Rangers. Gomez made 12 interceptions and won seven tackles across the two-match road trip.
https://www.sacrepublicfc.com/news_article/show/934837

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DiWHx6RVMAAofFm.jpg:large)
Title: Sunday Spotlight with Shannon Gomez (Friday edition)
Post by: Tallman on July 20, 2018, 08:40:36 PM
Sunday Spotlight with Shannon Gomez (Friday edition)
By William Hodges (indomitablecitysoccer.com)

I recently caught up with Sacramento Republic FC defender Shannon Gomez. It was something that I wanted to do for some time, so it was good to finally talk with the first-year defender from Trinidad and Tobago. We talked about the season so far, how he would evaluate his play, what he does away from the pitch, and more.

Normally I would have scheduled this to publish on Sunday as part of our Sunday Spotlight series, but with swim championships set for this weekend (yes, all weekend), I’m pushing this interview out today.

I found Gomez to be extremely personable, funny and someone that is really happy to be in Sacramento. It’s worth noting because sometimes this doesn’t come out in a transcribed interview. Anyway, enough of the chit chat. Below is my interview with Gomez.

We’ve been trying to catch up with your some time now Shannon. Have you enjoyed your time with the Republic so far?

I have. I’m having a lot of fun with Sacramento Republic. I am just trying to do well in the games, interact with the fans and the city. I’ve fallen in love with this club. The atmosphere [at Papa Murphy’s Park] is very crazy. It’s something that I think anybody would want to come and experience.

The city is very much behind us..win, lose or draw. The [fans] are always there. As the season has progressed, I’ve just become more comfortable and confident. I feel like every time I go out on the pitch, I owe Sacramento something.

How would you evaluate your own play? You seem to be comfortable in the left back spot, which was key to the two wins last week.

I think it’s just a mental thing. Obviously, I am a right-wing back, can play right-winger probably too. I think it’s more on the mental side when the coach decides...hey, we need you to play this position, [you have to say] I’m just going to give it 110 percent. I’m going to play to the best of my abilities. When coach Elliott put me at left back, I was just ready to my job. I think it was better for the team and we came away with two wins in a row, which is big for us. We needed that.

Where do you think the club is at right now?

I think we’re in a good place right now in terms of the season. We’ve put some pressure on teams with the last two wins. We’re not satisfied. We’re hungry for more. We want to be that team at the end of the season. That’s everyone’s individual and common goal.

I think right now, we’ve been doing well, but we want to hold ourselves to higher standards. We want to win games more convincingly. We want to close games out with clean sheets. We want to make our home field a fortress. Somewhere that opposing teams don’t want to play.

We have little areas where we still need to improve, which we’re working on. The trophy is there for us. Everyone is going to fight to get there, but it comes down to who wants it the most. We are going to prepare ourselves to be that team as best as we can.

Talk about your experience with your national team. What is it like putting on the uniform and representing your country?

I think it’s an honor for any player to represent their national team. I’ve cherished the opportunity. Every moment that I’ve gotten to play for the national team, even starting back from U20s, was a special moment in my life. As soon as I put on the red, black and white, I’m very honored to play for my country.

[And] I look forward to being back there at some point. Trinidad and Tobago is a small country, but has a big passion for the game. They take pride in terms of what they want you to bring to the national team. There is always a lot of belief going into games...we’ve done it with some of the best. We’ve done it with local players also. What can you bring to the table?

When you’re not on the pitch, what do you like to do to unwind?

I like hanging out with my teammates. It creates a closer bond between us. [It allows] us to understand each other better because we come from all walks of life. I like going to places where you can relax, like the pool or going to a water park. Just somewhere where you’re not thinking about soccer the whole time. We’re always locked into the week to get ready for games, but at some point, [you need] to refresh yourself, [go] get some food with some friends and learn something new besides soccer.

I usually hang out with our captain Jeremy Hall because of his knowledge and expertise. He’s been in the game a long time and shares his experiences and things he does to prepare himself for games, but he’s also a guy who knows all of Sacramento, so he’s someone I hang out with most of the time. We listen to music, play some basketball...which I am terrible at by the way [laughs].

Any fun, quirky thing about you that fans wouldn’t know?

[Laughs]. I’m a joker. I really try not to take life too seriously. Some moments I’m funny, some moments I’m not, but most times...I’ve very goofy. Most people probably know that by now. But on the field, I’m a whole different character. I just transform when it’s game time. At the end of the day, I probably want to win the game more than the opponent does, but off the field, I’m probably one of the biggest jokesters and that’s what my teammates know me to be. I’m one of the guys always dancing in the dressing room, horsing around with Wilson [Kneeshaw], playing music.

That’s just me. I just like to smile. Nothing too crazy. Just [trying to have] fun...it keeps us from being too uptight and serious with each other sometimes.

Thank you to Shannon Gomez for spending some time talking with us. You can follow him on Twitter at @ShannonGomez02.
Post by: Tallman on March 14, 2019, 05:39:31 AM
WATCH: Interview with Sacramento Republic FC Defender Shannon Gomez. He talks about preparation for the 2019 USL Championship season and more.

https://www.youtube.com/v/B6a1YC359Vc
Post by: pull stones on October 25, 2019, 02:46:31 AM
While we’re on the topic of searching for fresh faces to boost the senior team, whatever happened to Shannon gomez, is he healthy and willing?
Post by: Tallman on October 25, 2019, 05:07:13 AM
While we’re on the topic of searching for fresh faces to boost the senior team, whatever happened to Shannon gomez, is he healthy and willing?

He is one of those who have been ignored despite being a consistent starter at his clubs (apart from New York City FC) and turning in good performances for his club. Unfortunately, he suffered a torn ACL in his right knee in August, so he will be out for a while. Like Molino, that is the second ACL injury of his young career. Up until the injury, he played the most minutes of any player for Sacramento Republic FC for the season.
Post by: pull stones on October 25, 2019, 10:53:42 AM

He is one of those who have been ignored despite being a consistent starter at his clubs (apart from New York City FC) and turning in good performances for his club. Unfortunately, he suffered a torn ACL in his right knee in August, so he will be out for a while. Like Molino, that is the second ACL injury of his young career. Up until the injury, he played the most minutes of any player for Sacramento Republic FC for the season.
even though I’m not supposed to believe in magic and bad omen i can’t help but acknowledge since the appointment of mr DJ williams we have been very unlucky in various aspects. Cummings shooting  molino’s injury  then hodges  then the string of bad decisions going against us by referees then missing out on the copa the gold cup and all the other age groups losing terribly missing out on other concacaf tournaments and the obvious decline of women’s football, has all been a thorn in our paw. never have I seen such a bad string of events.

honestly the past four years was a big gloomy ugly cloud that rained nothing but bad luck and disappointment on TT football, can’t wait to see the end of it, what a very gloomy disappointing four years it has been with absolutely nothing to look forward too.
Title: Shannon Gomez rejoins Sacramento Republic FC for 2020
Post by: Tallman on December 05, 2019, 05:16:05 PM
Shannon Gomez rejoins Sacramento Republic FC for 2020
Republic FC Communications

Sacramento Republic FC announced today it has reached a new agreement with defender Shannon Gomez. Terms of the new deal were not disclosed.

“Shannon has been excellent for us the past two seasons,” said Republic FC General Manager Todd Dunivant. “He takes his defending personally, and we look forward to getting a healthy Shannon Gomez back on the field next season.”

Despite missing the last three months of the 2019 season, Gomez still finished sixth on the team in clearances (37) and seventh in tackles won (25).

The 23-year-old had successful surgery in August to repair a meniscus and torn ACL in his right knee that he sustained during the second half of the regular season. Prior to the injury, the defender led the entire team in minutes played (1,495) and made 18 appearances in league play this season (21 in all competitions), 17 of which were starts.

In 2018, the defender was a mainstay in the Republic FC back line where he made 34 appearances, 33 as starts. Gomez contributed a goal and an assist as he helped to lead the Sacramento defense to the best defensive record in the Western Conference. 

The fullback arrived in Sacramento prior to the 2018 season after playing two seasons in Major League Soccer with New York City FC. Gomez originally joined NYCFC on loan from W Connection FC, a first division club in Trinidad and Tobago. While under contract with the MLS-club, Gomez was loaned out to the Pittsburgh Riverhounds where he made 10 appearances and tallied an assist.

Gomez has also represented his national team, having been capped by the Trinidad and Tobago Under-20 National Team. He’s led the Soca Warriors to the 2014 Caribbean title and has been called up to the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Team three times.
Title: Resiliency and toughness, just two of Shannon Gomez's many strengths
Post by: Tallman on July 02, 2020, 10:50:38 AM
Resiliency and toughness, just two of Shannon Gomez's many strengths
By William Strome (sacrepublicfc.com)

While the Indomitable Club’s right back has been recovering from a leg injury, Shannon Gomez’s razor-sharp focus and positive frame of mind has the defender feeling fantastic and dreaming of his debut return upon the restart of the regular season.

Toughness isn’t defined strictly by stature or strength. It’s not defined by a particular amount of weight one can lift or a length of distance one can run. Toughness is about grit, determination, and a ruthless desire to overcome obstacles – no matter how daunting or painful they may be. 

Shannon Gomez personifies every sense of the word – tough – and he plays with that tenacious resolve every moment he’s competing in a match.

The speedy fullback whose previously been called-up to the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Team isn’t a towering a guy, but he’s the type of defender that lets his tackling do all the talking. And he’ll be the first to tell you, whether it’s the ball or the man, he never lets both get by him while patrolling the back line.

“That's the mindset I always had growing up, a lot of my coaches would tell me is I’m one of the players who is going to refuse to be outworked,” Gomez said. “On the field, it’s either you go, or the ball goes because both of you aren’t going to pass. Pick one because this is what they pay me to do, I can’t let both pass so either I get the man, or I get the ball. That’s just my mindset and I feel like I’ve never strayed away from that.”

Gomez takes a no-nonsense, business-like approach to his defending. While he’s arguably one of the toughest players in the league, both mentally and physically, he’s unquestionably also one of the most kind and genuine. Gomez is effortlessly cool and smooth, and he carries himself that way on the pitch.

He’s also willing to sacrifice himself for the greater good of the team and give everything he has for the guys alongside him – his own body included.  That means fighting through fatigue or sometimes, even playing through pain.

And a July encounter against Orange County in 2019 was the moment Gomez knew something was wrong.

Midway through the midseason USL Championship regular season fixture against OCSC, as the wing back was manning the flanks as he always does for the boys in Old Glory Red when the injury was first felt.

“I remember the exact moment it happened during the game but I don’t remember feeling like, ‘oh, my ACL is torn,’ but I knew my meniscus might have been torn because I heard a pop,” Gomez said when thinking back on the injury. “It was right around the 33rd minute and I played the whole game, so I didn’t have a lot of problems there.”

He was aware something was off, but his toughness and competitive hunger – both of which are second nature to the Trinidad and Tobago international – kept him out there.

“I finished the game  and then the team [physicians] told me to shut it down because if it’s up to me, I’m playing,” Gomez said. “I was told to get an MRI and the results said I had a torn meniscus and when they went in there it looked like my ACL was torn and it was. They said it could have been torn a long time ago and I could have been playing like that for a long time and who knows, maybe the meniscus tearing triggered that.”

Gomez is a tough guy who fights through pain frequently, and he even did so in this contest by logging every second of the 90-minute match. But the medical results indicated this time around it was going to be some time before the supporters of the boys in Old Glory Red would see the fullback on the flanks again.

Luckily for Gomez, a team of incredible doctors, trainers and physicians were in his corner helping him in the rehabilitation process every step of the way. All of the operations were done successfully by UC Davis Health team physician Dr. Cassandra A. Lee M.D. and the Indomitable Club’s team of physios Luke Rayfield, Katy Norton and trainer Betty Olmedo have also played the role of hero in helping Gomez get back to full health.

“You just want to do everything fast and it helps having our physios like Betty and Katy and Luke, they’re amazing and they’re in touch with what the best plan is for me, so they really take care of me,” Gomez explained. “When you have people like Katy around you, Katy’s not just a physio, she’s an inspiration. Katy’s always pushing you and finding the small victories like ‘oh, you got two or three more degrees today, that’s amazing’. Just being around someone that’s just that positive and pushing you every day is someone you need, and you need people like Katy and Luke around you.”

Gomez is grateful for having each and every member of the medical staff guiding him towards being game ready, and he needs them to remind him that the recovery process isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon.

“Some days I’ll be talking crazy like I’m ready to do some long balls and clearances and cut hard in the box or tackle somebody and they’ll be like ‘woah, hold on buddy, not yet, it’s coming, just wait’ even though I’m ready to test it,” Gomez joked. “I feel good, but I don’t want to push it too hard. I feel like I can, but they say that’s the moment when you have to hold it back a little bit.”

And of all current members of the Indomitable Club, Gomez would know.

Given Gomez had once before endured a recovery process lasting longer than a few weeks, he knew exactly what it was going to take to do it again. He maintained his Zen-like focus, did everything possible to prevent himself from losing his positivity like reading scriptures his mother would relay to him, and taking a slow approach despite an endless desire to want to return to the pitch as quickly as possible.

“Hard work is embedded in me, that’s all I ever knew coming from the Caribbean, I had to work hard for everything so that part [of the recovery process] I wasn’t worried about,” the right back said. “The part I was worried about was when I was going to be back, I want to be able to contribute too. I wanted to rush it and I wanted to get back, but I also knew this was not my first rodeo, I knew what to expect. But the twists and turns kind of caught me off guard, one of the things you tried to do today failed.”

Staying motivated is something that might be easier said than done. For Gomez, it was the toughest challenge of all.

“It’s the hardest part,” he said. “Mentally, you want to be strong. When you let negativity step in, even if you doubt yourself just one time, that’s when you lose focus on what you’re really working towards. But for me, I know what I want for myself, I know there isn’t anybody that’s going to do it for me. People will tell you, ‘oh, speedy recovery’, which is nice, but if you don’t work for it, it’s never going to come.”

Months went by without kicking a soccer ball and Gomez kept working. He was seeing and experiencing a tremendous amount of progress, but every now and then the fullback would find a small setback.

“In my recovery, I’ve had some ups and downs, I’ve had some problems with it, the knee not really doing what you want it to do,” he said. “But then I hit this very steady incline where everything was right, my knee was bending, I started doing things I couldn’t do before and now I’m closer to the last phase and I’m seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.”

Hope began to set in. The tough defender was feeling like he was getting closer to closer to returning to his passion, and to say he’ll be grateful for that moment will be a tremendous understatement.

“I will never take for granted just being on the field for one minute,” Gomez said. “The day when I step out onto the field, which is soon, and thank God for that, I’m going to put on that number two and that badge for Sacramento, I’ll know that I’m able to overcome and fight through difficulties and hopefully I’ll be an inspiration to somebody else.”   
Title: Shannon Gomez's game a glorious combination of grit and grace
Post by: Tallman on November 20, 2020, 06:38:06 PM
Shannon Gomez's game a glorious combination of grit and grace
By William Strome (sacrepublicfc.com)

The reliable right back returned from a lengthy absence with something to prove and now, the fan-favorite confirms he’ll be wearing Old Glory Red for another anticipated season in Sacramento.

The 2020 USL Championship campaign was defender Shannon Gomez’s chance to return to top form and the right back rose to the occasion every time stepped on the pitch for the boys in Old Glory Red.

And after such a strong finish to the season, Gomez will be looking to build on this year’s positive performances and carry the momentum into the 2021 campaign.

After earning his first appearance in the 84th minute on August 22 against Portland Timbers 2, Gomez was a dependable staple in the Republic FC backline as the right back made defensive contributions in seven of the Indomitable Club’s final nine games this season including two starts. In just the seven appearances Gomez made in 2020, he still managed to finish tied for fifth on the team in blocked shots with three and a successful passing percentage of 84% was the second-best by a defender on the squad.

Of his blocks, perhaps none were more memorable this season than his dramatic goal line clearance on September 12 to deny what looked to surely be a goal for Reno 1868 FC before the RB soared into the air and headed the shot away to safety. His heroics to rob Reno of a score was nominated for the Suncrest Bank 2020 Save of the Year.

It took the tenacious right back a few games into the season to grace the pitch after Gomez sustained an injury the season before. Prior to his injury, the defender had logged the most minutes of any Republic FC player midway through the 2019 Championship season.

He picked up the knock in late July 2019 during a scoreless contest against Orange County SC but after a lengthy yet successful rehabilitation journey, the resilient right back was called into action to help his side see through the 2-1 win over T2 at Papa Murphy’s Park. During his rehab, his focus never wavered, and his determination never faded.

And now that he’s returned to full health, he’s fully committed to helping the boys in Old Glory Red make a run at capturing USL Championship glory in 2021 as well as competing for a shot at securing the starting RB role for the Indomitable Club once again.
Post by: Tiresais on November 21, 2020, 04:42:32 AM
So glad to see him back, his is a career stifled from factors not his own fault. I remember talking to the head of Man City scouting about how he had the qualities the NYFC manager wanted - it's a shame injury has hampered that.
Post by: Tallman on January 18, 2021, 04:47:00 PM
WATCH: Former National U-20 captain Shannon Gomez speaks to the press about his sessions with the Senior Team this year ahead of upcoming 2022 World Cup qualifiers

https://www.youtube.com/v/nQBgH2ZqxGk
Title: Shannon Gomez earns Team of the Week honor
Post by: Tallman on May 19, 2021, 01:26:36 PM
Shannon Gomez earns Team of the Week honor
By Republic FC Communications

On Tuesday, the league headquarters announced Republic FC players Shannon Gomez and Darek Formella were named to the USL Championship Team of the Week for Week 4.

The SRFC duo were key contributors in Sacramento’s 3-1 win over Las Vegas Lights FC at Heart Health Park on May 12. The win was the second in as many matches for the boys in Old Glory Red to kickoff the 2021 regular season.

Gomez finished the contest with one assist – setting up his sides’ opening goal – when the defender delivered a ball into the box that found Formella who slammed his strike into the back of the net. Gomez also completed 38 of 42 passes, was credited with two key passes and collected four interceptions against the Pacific Division opponent.

This is Gomez’s first Team of the Week selection since earning a spot during the 2018 season for Week 18.

Formella was also named to this week’s Team of the Week after the Polish playmaker notched one goal, contributed one assist and registered five key passes against Lights FC. Formella’s strike was the opening goal of the game after Shannon Gomez picked out Formella in the box who fired his effort on target and into goal. Darek also set up his sides’ third and final goal when the forward spotted Jaime Villarreal near the penalty spot and Formella delivered a ball that Villarreal merely had to steer on-target.

This is Darek’s first Team of the Week honor this season after earning the accolade three times in 2020 – Weeks 4, 8 and 15.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 19, 2021, 03:19:18 PM
Shannon Gomez earns Team of the Week honor
By Republic FC Communications

On Tuesday, the league headquarters announced Republic FC players Shannon Gomez and Darek Formella were named to the USL Championship Team of the Week for Week 4.

The SRFC duo were key contributors in Sacramento’s 3-1 win over Las Vegas Lights FC at Heart Health Park on May 12. The win was the second in as many matches for the boys in Old Glory Red to kickoff the 2021 regular season.

Gomez finished the contest with one assist – setting up his sides’ opening goal – when the defender delivered a ball into the box that found Formella who slammed his strike into the back of the net. Gomez also completed 38 of 42 passes, was credited with two key passes and collected four interceptions against the Pacific Division opponent.

This is Gomez’s first Team of the Week selection since earning a spot during the 2018 season for Week 18.

Formella was also named to this week’s Team of the Week after the Polish playmaker notched one goal, contributed one assist and registered five key passes against Lights FC. Formella’s strike was the opening goal of the game after Shannon Gomez picked out Formella in the box who fired his effort on target and into goal. Darek also set up his sides’ third and final goal when the forward spotted Jaime Villarreal near the penalty spot and Formella delivered a ball that Villarreal merely had to steer on-target.

This is Darek’s first Team of the Week honor this season after earning the accolade three times in 2020 – Weeks 4, 8 and 15.

lets hope he get a call up from terry
Title: San Antonio FC signs defender Shannon Gomez
Post by: Tallman on January 13, 2022, 01:26:35 PM
San Antonio FC signs defender Shannon Gomez
By San Antonio FC Communications

San Antonio FC has signed defender Shannon Gomez pending league and federation approval, the club announced today. Per team policy, terms of the deal were not disclosed.

“We are pleased to add Shannon to the SAFC community,” said SAFC Head Coach Alen Marcina. “He is a dynamic wingback with exceptional speed who is very good in defensive duals. His team-first mentality, ultra-competitiveness, and demonstration of resilient behaviors throughout his career fit our team identity.”

Gomez joins SAFC after spending the previous four seasons with Sacramento Republic FC in the USL Championship. A pivotal member of the Republic squad over that span, Gomez amassed 80-plus appearances during his time in Sacramento, recording over 6,000 minutes played. Gomez recently surpassed 100 professional games played which started in 2015 with W Connection Football Club in his home country of Trinidad and Tobago.

Following his time with W Connection, Gomez joined New York City FC if Major League Soccer where he spent the 2016 and 2017 seasons prior to be loaned out to the Pittsburgh Riverhounds of the USL Championship in 2017.

The 25-year-old has appeared in CONCACAF Champions League and Open Cup matches along with his league appearances during his career. The defender has represented Trinidad and Tobago at the full international level, receiving his first callup to the full national team in 2015. Gomez has also represented Trinidad and Tobago at the U-17, U-20, U-21 and U-22 levels.

Gomez will wear No. 22 for the club.
Post by: Tallman on June 25, 2022, 05:34:05 PM
San Antonio FC defender Shannon Gomez has now amassed 100 appearances in the USL. He achieved the milestone during a 1-0 win against Colorado Springs Switchback on Friday, June 24th 2022. The win moved them into the top spot in the USL Championship.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FWIqBTqXEAAhbWT?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2022, 06:12:36 PM
San Antonio FC defender Shannon Gomez has now amassed 100 appearances in the USL. He achieved the milestone during a 1-0 win against Colorado Springs Switchback on Friday, June 24th 2022. The win moved them into the top spot in the USL Championship.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FWIqBTqXEAAhbWT?format=jpg&name=large)

Dahis ting to applaud. :applause:
Post by: Peong on July 30, 2022, 09:02:41 PM
He now score a 96th minute equalizer with his team down to 10.
Post by: Tallman on August 01, 2022, 07:37:07 AM
WATCH: Shannon Gomez scores with 90 seconds remaining to earn 10-man San Antonio FC a 1-1 draw with LA Galaxy II.

https://www.youtube.com/v/OZTaT66Ye6A?start=120
Post by: Tallman on August 20, 2022, 09:28:57 PM
WATCH: Shannon Gomez turns, shoots and scores San Antonio FC's first goal in their 2-2 come-from-behind draw with Rio Grande Valley FC Toros.

https://www.youtube.com/v/0GKFuQ3oSAg
Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2022, 06:15:01 PM
WATCH: Shannon Gomez shows determination to win the ball and deliver it on a platter for San Antonio FC's second goal in their 2-0 win over Oakland Roots. This is Shannon's fifth assist of the season.

https://www.youtube.com/v/vns90ELFLeg?start=177

Post by: Tallman on September 10, 2022, 03:34:35 PM
WATCH: Walking the Field with Shannon Gomez - Shannon talks about the success he's had so far this season, and the work he's been doing  in the community.

https://www.youtube.com/v/_LNHpATrYQM
Post by: Tallman on September 29, 2023, 06:36:31 AM
Warrior Profile: Shannon Gomez giving his all for the Red, White and Black
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

Right back Shannon Gomez was recalled to the national senior team in 2021 after a five-year hiatus. Since then, he’s worked assiduously to now become a regular face in the set-up.

Gomez, 26, was part of the Trinidad and Tobago men’s football team which churned out back-to-back victories against Curacao and El Salvador in the Concacaf Nations League A recently.

Wins in their two upcoming matches against Guatemala at home (October 13) and away to Curacao, four days later, will affirm T&T a spot in the quarter-finals, and draw them closer to a possible berth at the prestigious Copa America next year.

The San Antonio FC (United Soccer League) player has one goal and a couple of assists for his nation and wants to use their last two victories as fuel to continue striving towards returning T&T to the top of the Caribbean.

With a recent jump in the FIFA rankings, which carried T&T into the top 100 nations, from 102 to 98th, Gomez wants more.

“I’d like to see T&T football continue making strides, the recent jump in the FIFA rankings is good but I want us going back to being a powerhouse in Caribbean football.

“Not only here but internationally as well, with teams wanting to play us. Seeing T&T go back on that international map, with respect, it takes time, but I want to be involved and contribute, to give 110 per cent for the red, white and black,” he said.

He hailed the Nations League’s recent results as a positive step but Gomez is hell-bent on consistency. The winger wants T&T to regain their competitive respect in the world of football.

He hopes these results, and those to come, inspire the younger generation to keep working.

“I want to inspire another young one or generation to take up that mantle when it’s that time to carry T&T football to greater heights. That’s what I want to see.

“With me being in the set-up, I want to enjoy flying the flag, but also winning at a high rate, playing against top opposition that allows us to get the best possible mix, allow people who are eligible to represent us.”

Looking ahead at the upcoming contests, Gomez said the mentality in T&T’s camp is highly motivating, and he believes they can carry that winning momentum into the next stage.

Six points is the only goal for Gomez right now.

“It’s important to pick up maximum points to put us in the best situation to qualify for the quarters. It would be a massive achievement to be much closer to Copa America.

“Just having an opportunity to play amongst the best in the region. It’s important to put ourselves in the driver’s seat in the group. That would allow us to maintain our place in league A and potentially qualify for the quarter-final round and we need to put our best foot forward.”

When asked what formula would achieve such success, Gomez said it must be a total team effort.

“We have to check our egos at the door and let’s come in and give it our all; play with grit and respect. Grasp the opportunity to make somebody proud. These are things that I strive to do and a lot of guys have the same goals for themselves.

“It felt good to put ourselves in a position to stand up to teams. There was a time when teams feared us. Allowing ourselves to feel and do that will be the ultimate feeling. Contributing towards it will allow us to do that.”

Gomez started playing football at a young age with Waterloo Institute then transferred to a minor league club St Mary’s United from Freeport/Carapichaima, where he grew up.

He transferred to San Juan Jabloteh from age 11 to 17. During those years, Gomez played for St Augustine Secondary “Green Machine” in the Secondary Schools Football League and captained them to the Coca-Cola Intercol title in 2013.

He played national U17 and U20 football and climbed the ranks.

In 2015, he transferred to W Connection and played half a season with the club. That year, however, he received his first national call-up, and debut, against Panama, under then-coach Stephen Hart.

The next season, he went to trial to New York City FC in MLS, signed a contract on loan from Connection, went through a tough injury that same year, and while recovering from the injury, the US club decided to make it a permanent deal and they bought him fully from Connection.

Gomez spent the 2016 and 2017 seasons there and that’s how he started his career in the US.

In 2018, he moved to Sacramento Republic (USL) and played four seasons there until 2021. Last season signed with San Antonio FC and is now into his second year.