Sports => Football => Topic started by: PantherX on August 16, 2007, 11:00:57 AM

Title: Celtic targets T&T trio.
Post by: PantherX on August 16, 2007, 11:00:57 AM
Bhoys target T&T trio.
By: Peter O'Rourke (Skysports.com).

Bhoys eye trio - Peltier: Highly-rated.

Skysports.com understands Celtic are closing in on the signings of Trinidad & Tobago trio Lester Peltier, Khaleem Hyland and Atullah Guerra. The San Juan Jabloteh stars have been training at the Scottish champions for the past week after being invited over to Glasgow.
Celtic's football development manager John Park has recommended the trio to Bhoys boss Gordon Strachan. The midfield trio are regarded as three of the brightest young talents to emerge from Trinidad & Tobago and Hyland has already featured for the national team.
Portsmouth were keen on signing the trio last season and invited them over for trials. Pompey boss Harry Redknapp tried to sign Peltier last month, but they were foiled in their attempts to sign the youngster after failing to secure a work permit.
Celtic are now ready to offer the trio the chance to win moves to Europe after being impressed by them in training. A number of clubs in Germany and Holland are thought to be keeping tabs on the trio, but Celtic are hoping to steal a march on their rivals by agreeing deals to take them to Parkhead.
Title: Re: Celtic targets T&T trio
Post by: Peong on August 16, 2007, 11:04:56 AM
Mind if I post the text?

Bhoys target T&T trio

(http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa133/peong21/peltier_550054.jpg)
Peltier

By Peter O'Rourke   Last updated: 16th August 2007
Skysports.com understands Celtic are closing in on the signings of Trinidad & Tobago trio Lester Peltier, Khaleem Hyland and Atullah Guerra.

The San Juan Jabloteh stars have been training at the Scottish champions for the past week after being invited over to Glasgow.

Celtic's football development manager John Park has recommended the trio to Bhoys boss Gordon Strachan.

The midfield trio are regarded as three of the brightest young talents to emerge from Trinidad & Tobago and Hyland has already featured for the national team.

Trials
Portsmouth were keen on signing the trio last season and invited them over for trials.

Pompey boss Harry Redknapp tried to sign Peltier (pictured) last month, but they were foiled in their attempts to sign the youngster after failing to secure a work permit.

Celtic are now ready to offer the trio the chance to win moves to Europe after being impressed by them in training.

A number of clubs in Germany and Holland are thought to be keeping tabs on the trio, but Celtic are hoping to steal a march on their rivals by agreeing deals to take them to Parkhead.
Post by: Bourbon on August 16, 2007, 11:06:29 AM
Door closes...window opens........
Post by: grimm01 on August 16, 2007, 11:09:13 AM
all the best to dem men.
Post by: mukumsplau on August 16, 2007, 11:11:12 AM
like fenwick sellin dem 3 in ah pack..
Post by: freakazoid on August 16, 2007, 11:24:45 AM
ah love it  ;D

jus ah borrow
Post by: fatimarima on August 16, 2007, 11:33:47 AM
Hope them fellas get through this time....and shine bigtime  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on August 16, 2007, 11:43:55 AM
Please explain how dey getting a work permit 4 Scotland when they couldn't get 1 for England. I may have missed something
Post by: mal jeux on August 16, 2007, 11:45:05 AM
like fenwick sellin dem 3 in ah pack..

nah, he say is summer special. buy 2 get 1 free.

good luck to the fellas.
Post by: skins on August 16, 2007, 11:46:32 AM
Please explain how dey getting a work permit 4 Scotland when they couldn't get 1 for England. I may have missed something

He probably married a Scotish Girl since then. ::)
Post by: Filho on August 16, 2007, 11:46:54 AM
yes man

sounding very nice

i suspicious until they sign tho'. i was under the impression that Portsmouth was trying to sign all three too. come to find out it was only peltier. so I'll wait and see
Post by: Filho on August 16, 2007, 11:49:26 AM

trial and error. it is likely that they mucked up the appeal process for the portsmouth contract, but they're more confident about navigating the process now. plus..look at what happened to Jason Scotland last season
Post by: Grande on August 16, 2007, 11:59:33 AM
I ain't excited yet, waiting to see. Good luck to the trio.
Post by: Bourbon on August 16, 2007, 12:04:42 PM

I dunno if the regulations different....buh i remember they blank Scottie...so i eh sure.......
Post by: dreintel on August 16, 2007, 12:11:51 PM
dis is great news!!!!!
i hope all de get through.....
more importantly, i hope the rest ah dem cud see dat dey cud make it if dey wok hard.....
fitness is key so.........NO SMOKING!!!!
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:... dis aint so bad.... :rotfl:
Post by: mukumsplau on August 16, 2007, 12:18:57 PM
d 3  of dem shud go juggle d ball outside wim apartment so he cud see dem
Post by: weary1969 on August 16, 2007, 12:44:02 PM
All yuh still on this recommenadtion nonesense if Jan eh get all yuh expect Lester and co to get wake up nah man
Post by: Big Magician on August 16, 2007, 12:50:49 PM
good luck to the boys
Post by: Peong on August 16, 2007, 01:54:40 PM
All yuh still on this recommenadtion nonesense if Jan eh get all yuh expect Lester and co to get wake up nah man

Is like the clubs know something we don't!
I hope they have it under control.
Post by: Filho on August 16, 2007, 01:59:09 PM

who say anything abut recommendations?
Post by: weary1969 on August 16, 2007, 02:20:44 PM
So why d comment bout Wim? loud steups
Post by: Storeboy on August 16, 2007, 02:27:05 PM
How comethese boys so good and they not on the U-23 or National teams?  What going on with the selectors.  Ths should have been playing in the Gold Cup to give them some advantage.  TT football real confusing, yes!  Ah not saying they not good but it look like we selecting old retried players while we should be building with thiss kind of talent forthe WC
Post by: Jayerson on August 16, 2007, 02:41:01 PM

I dunno if the regulations different....buh i remember they blank Scottie...so i eh sure.......

Explain something to me. Wasn't it a U.K work permit they were blanked? How could they now apply for another U.K. work permit after their initial application and subsequent appeal were both rejected? Also, isn't it a year after the appleal rejection that you are allowed to re-apply for another work permit? It just doesn't make sense to me and although I would be ecstatic if they got through, especially with the prospect of Champs League ball, I don't see it happening.
Post by: weary1969 on August 16, 2007, 02:42:36 PM
Lester I sure get call up for Mcommie team I ejh sure bout d rest but Flex/Tallman go confirm whether they was called up.
Post by: Filho on August 16, 2007, 03:39:24 PM

who said anything about Wim? hard luck weary but yuh need to read what I wrote again. What I am trying to say is that those that handling Peltier might feel that they have more experience about the appeals process after not seeming to know how to navigate it that well the first time. And of course, the it's a different club with a different legal team (which I did not mention). I did not mention or infer anything about Wim or any recommendation...just simply stating they may feel the first failure gives them better experience this time around....doh read so much into it

Post by: trinikev on August 16, 2007, 04:11:05 PM

who said anything about Wim? hard luck weary but yuh need to read what I wrote again. What I am trying to say is that those that handling Peltier might feel that they have more experience about the appeals process after not seeming to know how to navigate it that well the first time. And of course, the it's a different club with a different legal team (which I did not mention). I did not mention or infer anything about Wim or any recommendation...just simply stating they may feel the first failure gives them better experience this time around....doh read so much into it

Filho i doh think weary was referring to u at all. This is the one i think he was talking about

he didn't explicitly mention a recommendation but it kinda implied
Post by: Filho on August 16, 2007, 07:20:46 PM

Filho i doh think weary was referring to u at all. This is the one i think he was talking about

cool, thanks...apologies weary. seemed like you were responding to my post
Post by: supporter on August 16, 2007, 07:33:50 PM
boy if this is pulled off, this would be a HUGE step forward for Trinidad & Tobago football
Post by: troy piloy on August 16, 2007, 07:59:08 PM
All the best this time fellas i hope you all get through.

Troy 8)
Title: Re: Celtic targets T&T trio.
Post by: trini supporter on August 16, 2007, 09:21:04 PM
All the best although i think it would still be hard to get a permit but good luck any how :beermug:
Post by: Daft Trini on August 16, 2007, 10:08:32 PM
Blessings brothers, play like warriors, (de expect big things there, since latas set de standard).
Post by: PantherX on August 16, 2007, 10:10:57 PM
Bhoys target T&T trio.
By: Peter O'Rourke (Skysports.com).

Bhoys eye trio - Peltier: Highly-rated.

Skysports.com understands Celtic are closing in on the signings of Trinidad & Tobago trio Lester Peltier, Khaleem Hyland and Atullah Guerra. The San Juan Jabloteh stars have been training at the Scottish champions for the past week after being invited over to Glasgow.
Celtic's football development manager John Park has recommended the trio to Bhoys boss Gordon Strachan. The midfield trio are regarded as three of the brightest young talents to emerge from Trinidad & Tobago and Hyland has already featured for the national team.
Portsmouth were keen on signing the trio last season and invited them over for trials. Pompey boss Harry Redknapp tried to sign Peltier (pictured) last month, but they were foiled in their attempts to sign the youngster after failing to secure a work permit.
Celtic are now ready to offer the trio the chance to win moves to Europe after being impressed by them in training. A number of clubs in Germany and Holland are thought to be keeping tabs on the trio, but Celtic are hoping to steal a march on their rivals by agreeing deals to take them to Parkhead.

Ok admins next time I'll follow the correct format when posting articles.

Thanks for the edit ;).
Post by: just cool on August 17, 2007, 04:18:21 AM

d 3 of dem shud go juggle d ball outside wim apartment so he cud see dem

Kev! it's she.weary 1969 is a lady not a fella.       positive.
Post by: Rodney on August 17, 2007, 06:22:46 AM

Explain something to me. Wasn't it a U.K work permit they were blanked? How could they now apply for another U.K. work permit after their initial application and subsequent appeal were both rejected? Also, isn't it a year after the appleal rejection that you are allowed to re-apply for another work permit? It just doesn't make sense to me and although I would be ecstatic if they got through, especially with the prospect of Champs League ball, I don't see it happening.

Scotland has its own internal government so they issue their own permits and deal with their own appeals. They may even have slightly different qualification criteria....not sure about that though. Ah still not convinced they will get ah permit unless Celtic gonna farm them out to Europe. Did'nt know they were some of T&T's brightest talents, Fenwick must have been one of the world's best 'door-to-door' Salesmen in a past life. Ah wish them all the best though.
Post by: Carib-Briton on August 17, 2007, 07:11:54 AM
I hope they get signed & work permits
Post by: fishs on August 17, 2007, 07:15:21 AM

Because he is an imps.
Post by: trinikev on August 17, 2007, 07:43:56 AM

d 3 of dem shud go juggle d ball outside wim apartment so he cud see dem

Kev! it's she.weary 1969 is a lady not a fella.       positive.

haha thanks.......when i said 'he' i was referring to mukumsplau though
and if mukumsplau is a lady too, i apologize  :beermug:
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on August 17, 2007, 12:13:13 PM
best ah luck yes fellas
Post by: just cool on August 17, 2007, 05:42:17 PM
Filho i doh think weary was referring to u at all. This is the one i think HE was talking about.
Nah kev doh try dat, look at this . guilty as charged. :devil: :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on August 17, 2007, 05:52:21 PM
Wim the imps wuk 4 free for months. I hope you will do d same
Post by: WestCoast on August 17, 2007, 05:55:16 PM
Weary, some people in TnT are GAAGAA bout Jackula and do NOT want to admit he has been our problem for YEARS, so they blame everyone else...I surprise that they doh blame waz he name for the 89 loss like Jackula did.  ;) Everald “Gally” Cummings
Post by: fishs on August 17, 2007, 10:44:03 PM
Wimp de imps can't find work anywhere else.
Post by: Bakes on August 17, 2007, 10:53:46 PM
Maybe your first question should be "Does all of the UK march lockstep on the Work Permit issue...or do they have their own tweaks?"

My guess is since the stringency of the regulations in England are viscerally tied to competing in the English leagues that their regs may be different from the requirements in say Scotland, Wales or Ireland.  Granted that the U.K. is one country and follow the same regulations, keep in mind that all four compete separately (don't ask me how) on the international front for one thing...and one of the key arguments in having high restrictions in England has been the development of English football, by restricting opportunity to English footballers and only the most skilled foreign players.

The Scottish, Welsh and Irish leagues aren't as competitive as the English leagues, as such they likely won't be in such an uproar over keeping foreign players out.  To the contrary, obviously talented players would be welcomed in all likeliness and the regulations, such as the 75% national cap requirement...may be relaxed in certain cases, shoot England already does it for Brazilians and those others they see as having the obvious talent.

All this is just an (educated, I suppose) guess on my part, but if true it only goes to bolster what many on here, myself have been saying:  The 75% national cap requirement isn't hard and fast, but simply a weeding out mechanism to deter/reject all but (whom they rate as) the most highly skilled, in which cases exceptions are made.
Post by: Bakes on August 17, 2007, 10:58:18 PM
Lmao...ent!

Nah what they need to do is tuh flim dey first practice session and send him de friggin tape, lol

...nah, but in all seriousness I ent counting mih chickens before they hatch, hope this time it works out.
Post by: Bakes on August 17, 2007, 11:10:49 PM

If I ent know better ah say Wim is yuh fadda?  Then again, I really ent know better so...lol

At any rate, Wim arrite wid me but I think us Trinis (and the good Don himself) are the only ones who really rating up Wim so.  As I said in another thread I spoke with this Dutch guy at work just over a month ago about him and the guy (big football fan) was very dismissive of him as a coach.  So even in his own country...a coaching hotbed at that, they think he's nutten special.

Fishs probably on point wid he comment in other words.
Post by: Jefferz on August 18, 2007, 02:06:58 AM

Because he is an imps.

well with the recent light illuminating a  room of which i found mostly pretty vaguely light in the beginning... i can say that i agree.

I dont see any excuse for his negligence, so i have little remorse for him.

It seems like these boys especially Lester, are big talent... so why tha fack isnt he out there trying to get them signed to the best possible club...right now with the senior team stand still i think it should have been one of his top priorities... but apparently he had other plans... or perhaps a complete lack of one... he eh even say nun... stewps.

tuh hell wit he.

Post by: Jayerson on August 21, 2007, 09:17:14 AM
What's going on with the trial. On Celtic's site they said the trio has been training with them for the past week.
Post by: weary1969 on August 21, 2007, 12:01:08 PM
Lester was selected for the under 23 I sure bout that. I see he play in d under 20 competition I eh no expert but I eh scream like how I did when I saw Latas and Yorke back in d day