Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on September 21, 2008, 02:29:12 PM

Title: Latapy appointed Player/Coach of National Senior Team.
Post by: Flex on September 21, 2008, 02:29:12 PM
Latapy appointed Player/Coach of National Senior Team.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation today announces the appointment of Mr Russell Latapy as Player/Coach of the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Team in the first instance for the two upcoming World Cup Qualifying Matches against Guatemala and United States in October.

Latapy, a former National Captain, will serve as Francisco Maturana’s Assistant and is carded to join the squad in the build up to the matches in Guatemala City on October 11 and Hasely Crawford Stadium on October 15.

The former FC Porto midfielder accepted the offer to return to the T&T team following initial talks with the TTFF earlier this month.

The TTFF at this point can also reveal that the team will play a friendly international in early October. And midfielder Chris Birchall and Dennis Lawrence have been confirmed as members of the squad for the upcoming matches. The TTFF can also confirm the availability of Sunderland midfielder Dwight Yorke for the upcoming World Cup Qualifying matches.

“We are pleased to have Mr Latapy on board with us for the next two qualifying matches in the first instance,” TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner told TTFF Media. “The two matches against Guatemala and USA are of utmost importance at this stage and we believe that Latapy’s role is an asset to the team and the Federation. We wish to welcome him and look forward to his involvement in our efforts to achieve the desired progress in our football.”

“We can also at this stage confirm the likes of Birchall, Dennis Lawrence and Dwight Yorke in the team for the upcoming matches The full squad, as selected and confirmed by the coaching staff will be revealed this coming week but I can assure you that we will give all attempts to ensure we have the best possible chance of achieving the results to continue our progress in the qualification for South Africa,” Warner added.

Latapy also expressed his feelings on the new call.

“I was delighted to get the call to come back and serve Trinidad and Tobago,” Latapy told TTFF Media on Sunday.

“I’ve always said that I would do whatever might be necessary to help our football and being given the opportunity to come back and give the support is one I would not turn down. I will continue to give my support new role that has been offered to me. I am looking forward to working with everybody involved in the team and the football on a whole and hopefully we can achieve our desired goal.”

“Again I want to thank the Association for presenting this opportunity to me and like I said before, I would never turn down the chance to come and help the people… to help the country through football and I’m looking towards us working together to achieve the success that I believe we are capable of ,” Latapy stated.

Falkirk manager John Hughes also spoke to the Scottish Press about Latapy’s appointment, adding “"Russell's a God over there and I'll never forget stepping off the plane on tour with Hibs a few years ago and seeing a brass band on the tarmac to greet the wee man coming home.

"He still has work to do here and there's no better player for our youngsters to learn from. Even if he's only playing for 20 or 30 minutes these days he can still unlock the door and as soon as he steps off the bench other managers shoot a look to say, 'Oh no, here he comes'."

The “Little Magician”  was also featured in The Scotsman on the weekend.

“But the flip side is the mercurial talent, the ability to seduce football fans with greater ease than he does the opposite sex. There is the healthy eating and the willingness to train. He is still an important member of the Falkirk side and has once again been recalled by Trinidad and Tobago, despite the fact he is now a 40-year-old.

"I think that proves I was not as bad as people thought. If I was as bad as some people believe I wouldn't be here. In fact I would probably be dead!” Latapy said.

"I have always liked the way that I chose to live and in some weird way it has kind of justified itself because I am still playing. I'm not saying it's the right way but I think I have always had a balance. I enjoy life but I have always worked hard. I wouldn't still be playing if I didn't."

Latapy , born 2 August 1968,  is a midfield player and first team coach for Falkirk in the Scottish Premier League. He has previously played for Hibernian, Glasgow Rangers, Dundee United, FC Porto, Academica and Boavista. He came out of international retirement to play for Trinidad and Tobago in the FIFA World Cup in Germany, coming on as a substitute in the second half  of the Paraguay vs. Trinidad and Tobago match.

This year Latapy along with  Dwight Yorke were voted among the top 50 foreign players to ever play professionally in Britain by popular football publication FourFourTwo. He became the first Trinidadian to appear in the European Champions' League during his second season in Portugal with FC Porto.

Following his announced retirement from the National Team in 2001, Russell, following the influence of his close pal Dwight Yorke and administrator Jack Warner, decided to make one final return to the Team and did so in fine fashion, scoring in T&T’s 3-2 win over Guatemala in World Cup qualifying action in September, 2005.

Some of Russell’s achievements include:

•    Scotland's Division 1 winner's medal with Falkirk in 2004/2005
•    Scotland's Division 1 Player of the Year in 2004/2005
•    Bell's Cup winner's medal with Falkirk in 2004
•    Nominated for the BBC Scotland “Off The Ball” Overseas Player of the Year in 2004
•    Bell's Player of the Month (for April) in 2004
•    Nominated for the FIFA World Player of the Year in 2000
•    Trinidad & Tobago Olympic Committee Sports Personality of the Year in 2000
•    Hibernian's Player of the Year in 1999/2000
•    Scotland's Division 1 Player of the Year in 1999/2000
•    Scotland's Division 1 winner's medal with Hibernian in 1999/2000
•    Hibernian's Player of the Year in 1998/1999
•    Portuguese Super Cup winner's medal with Boavista in 1996/1997
•    Cup of Portugal winner's medal with Boavista in 1996/1997
•    Portuguese SuperLiga winner's medal with FC Porto in 1995/1996
•    Portuguese SuperLiga winner's medal with FC Porto in 1994/1995
•    Trinidad & Tobago Chaconia Medal Silver (World Cup Squad) in 1989
•    Edinburgh Evening News Sports Personality of the Year in 1999
•    Trinidad & Tobago Footballer of the Year in 1996
•    Trinidad & Tobago Humming Bird Medal Gold (for Sport) in 1996
•    Trinidad & Tobago Footballer of the Year in 1989
•    Trinidad & Tobago Footballer of the Year in 1985
•    Trinidad & Tobago Footballer of the Year in 1983
Title: Re: Latapy appointed Player/Coach of National Senior Team.
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 02:30:43 PM
Ok FLEX Closer 2 believing it need 2 c him in Piarco
Post by: Dumplingdinho on September 21, 2008, 02:39:48 PM
Not surprised, very sad when we still need ah 20 minute sweat from ah 40 year old player but that is how it is.  Hopefully the younger guys can learn from being around latas.
Post by: Cocorite on September 21, 2008, 02:42:06 PM
Eee Ouu Ay, Check D danger Ohhh, Latapy in ah D area.
Post by: vb on September 21, 2008, 02:47:23 PM
Sad indeed that we need a 40 yr old to come and help out.

However, I cah help it...Latas coming back....and I happy and excited.
We need some much need flair in the middle.

Post by: rotatopoti3 on September 21, 2008, 02:49:09 PM
The return of Roger Milla-Latapy Style....will we be the Cameroon Concacaf team in South Africa.... ;D
Post by: dinho on September 21, 2008, 02:51:20 PM
oh gaaad oye... the plot thickens..

And I see Yorke is selected as well...

Well lemme get the ball rolling:

Phillip

Gray        Lawrence    Thomas     John

Birchall     Yorke

Carlos            Whitley               Daniel  (Latapy 70th min)

Glenn/Jones

:wavetowel:
Post by: Preacher on September 21, 2008, 02:52:22 PM
WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is why I can't miss a day on here.  I miss 3 days and Latapy back in the mix.  WOW!!!!!
Ah going an read everybody post.
Post by: Fyzoman on September 21, 2008, 02:55:29 PM
YES!!!!!!
So dey couldn't do this before dey come Chicago so dat all meh American friend dem (and me of course) could see de Latas who jersey ah does be wearing....detractors could say what de hell dey want, I was present to witness de embarrasment at Toyota Park, so bring on de Wee Little Magician.
ummmm, Anton go still be around?
Post by: Cocorite on September 21, 2008, 02:56:49 PM
That Latapy can still hold his own in the middle of the pitch isn't necessarily sad. In fact it is a testimony of his abiding talent and abilities.

That T&T still NEED him is unfortunate yes.  

After the last campaign when TTFF & JW drop the ball with the Blacklist and their failure to keep the core of the Socawarriors while culling the best new talent, is more than sad--its criminal.

The current coach and his questionable selections and tactics is another story altogether.

Being a T&T fan we take the good with the bad
Post by: tempo on September 21, 2008, 03:01:18 PM
The Corneal Coup is ova. For all of JW's faults, blindness ain't one of them. "Yesterday was yesterday and today is today" at its finest. 
Post by: giggsy11 on September 21, 2008, 03:06:57 PM
Step in a positive direction by utilizing his experience on and off the field.
Post by: Cocorite on September 21, 2008, 03:10:44 PM
What about Stern John???
Post by: Bally on September 21, 2008, 03:21:47 PM
All hail the king yes he’s back pancho days numbered I believe they offer him more than what they saying  :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 03:30:03 PM
Cocorite u ah so correck where d number 14
Post by: dinho on September 21, 2008, 03:33:58 PM
I've been advocating this move for latapy to join the coaching setup for a long time with a technical staff under him, but its a pity that he gets to take the reins at a time when qualification is in jeopardy.. I would have liked him to be in charge when he had calmer circumstances so that he could build a legacy..

Also, I'm not sure how his role intertwines with Maturana's.. Just the fact that the TTFF hurries to announce that Birchall will be back in the team tells me that Maturana got a dressing down after the US game about team selection and he is no longer solely pulling the strings (don't think he ever was).

I remember what Berris drop on us a while back about his half time speechlessness in the dressing room when we lost the Bermuda game and I compare that to the influence that a Latapy can have in the dressing room and in the mood of the camp. I hope this one comes off, but if it has the effect it can have this will be a master stroke..

Many questions left unanswered though..

Is Anton Corneal still an assistant coach?

Has Dwight Yorke officially come out of international retirement and is the Roy Keane issue resolved?

What about Stern John?
Post by: dinho on September 21, 2008, 03:34:36 PM

weary now and then yuh must take ah time out and rejoice lil bit u know, how yuh like ah wet blanket so? lol
Post by: just cool on September 21, 2008, 03:35:17 PM
I must've missed something, BC i don't see no where in that article where it's stated that corneal was replaced by lattas. so don't jump the gun folks about corneal coup is over.

jack warner he self is ah true to life buttom ! the man fork up the football for over ah year and ah half, and now when he see he his sponsership money in jeopardy, the same men who he called to old to carry on , is the same men he sending for to mop up the sh!t he left on the lilly white carpet.

jack warner sir , and ah mean this with no disrespect to you , why don't you do the right thing by T&T football and implement justice to the players of the game in T&T!

yuh dun have enough money sir, help the football to grow now nah man! is that too much to ask for from ah man who claim he love trinidad and tobago, and football.                                    positive.
Post by: sub1 on September 21, 2008, 03:38:42 PM
The Corneal Coup is ova. For all of JW's faults, blindness ain't one of them. "Yesterday was yesterday and today is today" at its finest. 
[/quote 

Lets hope so. Although Anton's name was not mentioned, what was glaring is the fact that they went out of their way to assure the faithful that Birchall and Lawrence would be back. A direct indictment against the Corneals and Maturana. They have basically told Maturana that he would no longer be afforded the courtesy of naming the players. Lets see if he has any pride at all. If he has, he would walk away like a wounded dog.
Post by: KND2 on September 21, 2008, 03:47:25 PM
So Pancho get Fired?

what latapy coming to do Play or coach?

Usualy the same tricks dont work twice, latapy save we on the field last time around not sure he could strike twice.

If he coming to coach the side in a long term appointment then it is a good move.

if he coming to sweat in the guatemala and USA we wasting time.

yes he better than the men we have now but the point is we have to build for the future,

He can do that from the coaching staff.

Post by: daryn on September 21, 2008, 03:58:56 PM
What about Stern John???

stern will get his chance 4 years from now: the next time we have an important qualifier against Guatemala.
Post by: Babalawo on September 21, 2008, 03:59:54 PM
Does this mean Anton got fired?  Please tell me so.  :praying:
Post by: legal alien on September 21, 2008, 04:00:59 PM

weary now and then yuh must take ah time out and rejoice lil bit u know, how yuh like ah wet blanket so? lol

Yeah dread, when man like me celebrating yuh wah bring up something negative for the sake of it. Steups.
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 04:02:26 PM
Omar somebody need 2 b sober otherwise d farm will b sold. D dumbtist still around if Latas pull dis off he legacy go extend 2 d next generation
Post by: Coop's on September 21, 2008, 04:14:20 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: Boy this JW is ah boss,all Jack doing here is giving everybody what they want,at least it going to take the pressure of him and the TTFF for a while until we loose again,up to now those players eh get they money and he going to make more money than he made the last time,i wonder what agreement he making with those players this time,i'm sure Latapy eh getting nothing near the money Pacho getting,up to now i have not heard of Stern,i don't care what nobody says this all business because the crowds will be out in full force,Yorke/Latapy involved who missing that,Jack knows the Football public and how to play his game,i could just see him laughing,i personally feel after this one he will resign because i don't think he could catch Trini's again after this.   
Post by: samo on September 21, 2008, 04:35:18 PM
Great News... Congrats to Mr. Latapy...
Ah curious like Bablawo say, sh what happen to Anton??? He not even mentioned..... Not that ah missing him ah just curious...
Post by: just cool on September 21, 2008, 04:42:17 PM
:rotfl: :rotfl: Boy this JW is ah boss,all Jack doing here is giving everybody what they want,at least it going to take the pressure of him and the TTFF for a while until we loose again,up to now those players eh get they money and he going to make more money than he made the last time,i wonder what agreement he making with those players this time,i'm sure Latapy eh getting nothing near the money Pacho getting,up to now i have not heard of Stern,i don't care what nobody says this all business because the crowds will be out in full force,Yorke/Latapy involved who missing that,Jack knows the Football public and how to play his game,i could just see him laughing,i personally feel after this one he will resign because i don't think he could catch Trini's again after this.   
Yuh think!! trini's easier to catch than wabeen bro.
Post by: D.H.W on September 21, 2008, 04:44:01 PM
i confuse i this real am i seeing correct,  :D that thought it was a joke thread yes. Good news
Post by: sammy on September 21, 2008, 05:01:37 PM
Wow!!

hopefully we moving forward full steam ahead now
Post by: Small Change on September 21, 2008, 05:12:53 PM
Moving foward full stem in the "short-term". It's great he can be on the Coaching Staff of Trinidad and Tobago. He will be a great mentor for the youngsters. It's still a shame, that up to this point, we don't have a mid-fielder (s) that can really handle the scenes on the pitch. We have to resort to a 40 yr old, who may not last more than 30 mins on the pitch. Trinidad Football has gone 10 or 15 yrs backwards..................
Post by: asylumseeker on September 21, 2008, 05:17:51 PM
Welcome Russell! Careful not to jump from de frying pan into de fiyah eh. Guidance. Love yuh loyalty.

+++

The obvious four key words are "in the first instance" ... we all hoping for beyond that ...

1. Too many cooks spoil de broth. Dis soup have plenty flavour, nuff ingredients and a few spices ah cyah puh ah name on, but ah very familiar smell.

Hmm? Don Francisco, Pacho brodda, Anton, Latas ... Jack, Dwight ... is a real big pot bubbling ... ah guess everybody going and eat ah food. Maybe iz early days yet.

2. Two heads are better than one ... stands in stark contrast to de crowded kitchen theory of 1 above. Ah wonder who is de head cook and who is de bottlewasher. 

3. If yuh cyah stand de heat get out de kitchen. Hmm. So far nobody volunteering to go siddung and leave de broth to bubble at de hands of one or two capable chefs. Hmm. So, am ... still room fuh poison. It mussee eh get too hot yet in de people kitchen.

4. What you see is not what you get. Somebody in de kitchen gehhin a lil career protection. One man is de common denominator right thru ... he is de only one who wuk wid all de different ingredients involved at some point in time ... nobody else could say that ... yuh hadda call him ah key ingredient if is ah corn soup ... if corn eh in it, de recipe change ... ah doubt is ah split pea soup.

5. Ah wouldn't sign up to be de royal tastetester in dat mansion. Refer to poison in 3.

Who hungry fuh de nex 2 matches to kick off? Meh bowl ready and ah have meh spoon. After allyuh.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 21, 2008, 05:21:09 PM
Honestly... If we going to make a fresh bold change like this why not get rid of Maturana and Corneal and let Latas try his hand at the 3 games ... if we fail we fail... onto 2014  but Latapy should be head coach and Maturana and his staff gone...

eg Jamaica... They did the right thing...get the shit out and bring in fresh blood...

And Stern better be in that upcoming squad...better be

I guess de TTFF keeping Maturana so incase we fail to get to the hex they will blame Maturana(which is justified) and give Latas the head coach role

i have a feeling Maturana going to resign though 

JACK! we will still love Latas if he didnt take us to the hex this time round ...  he would have always had an uphill battle and we would have accepted that

GET MATURANA AND CORNEAL(S) OUT BEFORE OCTOBER 11TH

AND BRING BACK STERN!

Post by: Socaman on September 21, 2008, 05:25:01 PM
This is Good NEWS!!!! It's time to Vibes It Up!!!!! ;D
Title: Do you think it was the right thing to bring Latas to coach with Maturana?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 21, 2008, 05:35:01 PM
Maturana is obviously a complete waste...and Anton and his dad seem to want to build their own team to qualify so they could get their credit

After all the bullshit performances since Feb 08' ... one would think Maturana would have been sacked due to his crazy selection policy and the sub par performances

Now..Jamaica basically went through the same situation with Simoes making decisions which the fans did not like... so the obvious solution  bring in a fan favourite coach and get rid of Simoes

What we do?  We bring in our King and put him as assistant alongside Maturana and Corneal...

Why didnt the TTFF just sack Maturana and staff and let Latapy have a go at the 3 remaining games?

Reasons:
1) Should we fail all blame will be directed to Maturana and Corneal and Latapy will take over for the 2014 campaign

2) TTFF have no logic

3) If we make the hex Maturana will be sacked and "The Magic Show" will begin

Do you think we should have just brought in Latapy and let him choose his staff

or do you agree Maturana should be there?
Post by: elan on September 21, 2008, 05:40:33 PM
I hope when we get we arse buss and alyuh blaming Pacho alyuh blame Latas too, cause alyuh does blame Anton too. Don't be hypocritical now.
Title: Re: Do you think it was the right thing to bring Latas to coach with Maturana?
Post by: elan on September 21, 2008, 05:41:53 PM
Latas getting set up, and he go get the axe with everyone else after we eh make the Hex. Or he may take over after the fail WC bid.
Post by: Midknight on September 21, 2008, 05:42:48 PM
This is like yuh finally get with a gyul you was tracking for the last 10 years and then first time you manage to grab on to her and kiss her you realise she breath kicking like Jet Li.

It feeling good but something smelling funny.

I go hold mih thoughts on this one.
Title: Re: Do you think it was the right thing to bring Latas to coach with Maturana?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 21, 2008, 05:45:05 PM
Latas getting set up, and he go get the axe with everyone else after we eh make the Hex. Or he may take over after the fail WC bid.

correct is right
Post by: Bakes on September 21, 2008, 05:45:52 PM
This move is unlikely to yield any tangible results on the field... but it bodes well for the future.  I don't know what sort of a coach Latas will eventually make, but at least he's being groomed to be the future coach of TnT, and likely means that Anton's clear path has at least now taken on somewhat of a twist.  Anton very well will be in the future coaching mix... make no mistake, but there will be no dynasty.
Post by: Preacher on September 21, 2008, 05:50:41 PM
The verdict on Matu still out.  I not sure which coach would have made us beat the US.  The draw in Trini is the players fault.  However, Matu seemed to have had a mad/genius streak from the start.  I don't think Matu should be sacked yet because no coach would have helped us against the US.  Would different players have made the difference?  Maybe, we'll have a home game to settle that point.  The way I see it SM we should take at least 7 from the next 3 games.  If we do that we in.  I think with the crop of players back we could do that under Matu.  With Latas back, BIG PLUS.  To put Latas as head coach now would just ruin the man chances of keeping that job long term.

We have a win, a draw and an expected loss.  The biggest disappointment is dropping that point to Guat.  I can't blame the coach for that.  I think Latas would add to the team but i don't think that he may make a better head coach than Matu.  Let Latas prove himself under less do or die circumstances.
Post by: just cool on September 21, 2008, 05:58:36 PM
Maybe anton went back to coaching the under17, or maybe not.  good luck RUSSELL, all the best.            positive.
Post by: fari on September 21, 2008, 05:59:24 PM
things are getting curiouser and curiouser
Post by: just cool on September 21, 2008, 06:03:14 PM
The verdict on Matu still out.  I not sure which coach would have made us beat the US.  The draw in Trini is the players fault.  However, Matu seemed to have had a mad/genius streak from the start.  I don't think Matu should be sacked yet because no coach would have helped us against the US.  Would different players have made the difference?  Maybe, we'll have a home game to settle that point.  The way I see it SM we should take at least 7 from the next 3 games.  If we do that we in.  I think with the crop of players back we could do that under Matu.  With Latas back, BIG PLUS.  To put Latas as head coach now would just ruin the man chances of keeping that job long term.

We have a win, a draw and an expected loss.  The biggest disappointment is dropping that point to Guat.  I can't blame the coach for that.  I think Latas would add to the team but i don't think that he may make a better head coach than Matu.  Let Latas prove himself under less do or die circumstances.
Best post on this topic so far, preach meh brother.                  positive.
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 06:10:26 PM
Please name d coach dat woulda make we beat Bermuda. If we ever tink long term which we don't hex on no hex Latas want 2 coach oui. How much peeps in dat category plus he familiar wit d TTFF that is a huge plus
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on September 21, 2008, 06:10:38 PM
Counting rell eggs b4 dey hatch...........it never good tuh make a deal wit d  :devil:
Post by: Coop's on September 21, 2008, 06:11:46 PM
I don't think what's going on is anything new to our Football,it's something we tried the last time and it worked so we trying it again,Yorke and Latapy was brought out of retirement to bolster the team for 06 WC,the usual short cuts,quick fixes,plasters on sores mentality,lets enjoy the ride.
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 06:17:06 PM
Elan I thought u say if Latas back u gone. U still posting. We blame Anton because we know he pops was pullin d strings via he
Post by: asylumseeker on September 21, 2008, 06:19:09 PM
I cyah see Latas surviving from 2010 to 2014 ... nor do I see any particular advantage or incentive for him to do so aside from the obvious benefit of experience and the ability to move on to somebody else's national team once done with us ... something that Anton should consider as well at some point in his coaching journey ...
Post by: Quags on September 21, 2008, 06:21:13 PM
Latas need to bring een the missing local warriors asap .Noel and guera ect ,he cyah do them things while Tuturanna there,So yeah maybe it would have been better to just hand over the reins ,cause rite now he just working under ah lame duck coach ..................UNLESS he was promised full power ,as a stipulation if he smart!.
Then have Mats waiting in the flanks to smoke he own shit pipe ,if we lose out .
CONGRATS TO THE GREAT ONE ON HIS RETURN"
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 06:34:46 PM
As I said Latas and dem real patriotic 2 b dealin wit d TTFF sleepin wit d enemy if dat is real it eh have nutten on wukin 4 d TTFF
Post by: Baygo Boy on September 21, 2008, 06:45:44 PM
We always knew that Russell was going to get a shot at the national team someday. He's not here to coach , but to motivate, just like he and Dwight did the last time - that's his magic.

Getting rid of Pacho now is going to be counter-productive, and keep Stern where he is, ah want speed upfront.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 21, 2008, 06:50:37 PM
We always knew that Russell was going to get a shot at the national team someday. He's not here to coach , but to motivate, just like he and Dwight did the last time - that's his magic.

Getting rid of Pacho now is going to be counter-productive, and keep Stern where he is, ah want speed upfront.

yeah Speed with no goals.... 

f**k off
Post by: zuluwarrior on September 21, 2008, 06:54:35 PM
Firebran brought this thread the other day and we had ah debate about it, ah doh know weh these men does get they imfo from darm bro alyuh good ,anyhow Weary yuh ha me eating meh words gul yuh not easy yuhself . ah glad that alyuh wish came through for we betterment .
Post by: elan on September 21, 2008, 06:59:53 PM
Elan I thought u say if Latas back u gone. U still posting. We blame Anton because we know he pops was pullin d strings via he

I waiting to see if he go really run out on the field.  ;D

Seriously though I think this is bad timing for Latas to step in. However if it work out then great. Full steam ahead.
Post by: DeSoWa on September 21, 2008, 07:00:36 PM
It's about %*&!ing time....... :beermug:

But remember the TTFF is still running things and with them is always 1 step forward and 10 step back...it seems we just riding the wave and we going where ever it take we...

Do your thing Little Magician :applause:

Post by: Baygo Boy on September 21, 2008, 07:02:24 PM

f**k off

Small, does your name refer to your dick size, or brain size? - just asking.
Post by: elan on September 21, 2008, 07:02:49 PM

f**k off

Leaving dem nah Small, let them get what they asking for. I am a big fan of Glen and Toussaint,,,,,,,,,, and not to enthusiastic about Stern, but class is class.
Post by: dombasil on September 21, 2008, 07:15:22 PM

f**k off
Since Stern was dropped we have played 3 WCQ games and scored 4 goals. So I don't think that the team has missed Stern. Who we missed was Dwight in the US game.
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 07:18:31 PM
Elan glad 2 c u still wit us. If he take d field or not is left 2 b seen. Scenario 1 we eh make d hex we football dead till 2012 some hound is hired and come late in d day lets pull d Latapy rabbit out ah d hat again.
Post by: WestCoast on September 21, 2008, 07:18:39 PM
just as long as Russell has the money in the bank......FIRST
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 07:20:26 PM
Which money he still owed from 06 WC so he need 2 b sure what d money 4 d past wuk or d wuk 2 come
Post by: asylumseeker on September 21, 2008, 07:21:23 PM
just as long as Russell has the money in the bank......FIRST

Wham? Yuh eh hear the check's in the mail ... ::) Jack doh work banker's hours buh he sure knows how to lock de door to de vault. hehheh

of course an advance hadda be in the mix
Post by: elan on September 21, 2008, 07:27:45 PM
^ >>> I just don't like to hear chupidness like this. Is a national team not a Fete match sweat. I would like to see Latas Involved but not like this.

I think Coops right, appease the masses.
Post by: Kingk on September 21, 2008, 07:28:32 PM
how is this going to work out with his club commitments has a player/coach ?
would he have to be in T&T before the oversea's pro's come in etc ?
this seems kinda strange
Post by: Dutty on September 21, 2008, 07:50:29 PM
 :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o ............... :applause:
Post by: Coop's on September 21, 2008, 08:16:55 PM
this seems kinda strange
       Somebody thinking,these are very important questions.
Post by: kiffysmooth on September 21, 2008, 08:27:38 PM
this seems kinda strange
He is just an assistant coach for now.....He is not de chief scout or anyting like dat.....is jes dat when ever he in de country for de games, he entitled to do ah lil coaching also......Dis is a very big move at this time, and we mnust be thankful regardless ah all who balling is ah mad scene......Latas is ah boss, I jes hope he leggo de cigarette for dese rest ah qualifiers doh
Post by: ChipChipSilver on September 21, 2008, 08:28:27 PM
Think it's a good move at this stage but only time will tell.  
Post by: Daft Trini on September 21, 2008, 08:33:00 PM
BM see this news yet? I waiting for him to voice his wisdom......!

Glad to see Latas in de fold and thick of things, but I have mixed feelings!
Post by: kounty on September 21, 2008, 10:55:54 PM
I feel this latapy thing pointless unless the best players allowed to take the field.
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 11:08:34 PM
Bounty let we hope he side wit d blacklisted players this time because u know he did not d last time. As u say if Edwards continue 2 b ind defence presure 4 oui
Post by: weary1969 on September 21, 2008, 11:10:18 PM
Forever u know dat wit d clowns we dealin wit u just waitin 4 d next shoe 2 drop thus yuh mixed feelings
Post by: fishs on September 21, 2008, 11:56:02 PM
This is like yuh finally get with a gyul you was tracking for the last 10 years and then first time you manage to grab on to her and kiss her you realise she breath kicking like Jet Li.

It feeling good but something smelling funny.

I go hold mih thoughts on this one.

Could not have described it better.

This is Jack , take nothing at face value.
Latapy is youth coach at Falkirk which means he is actually coaching a team on his own, how he going to gel with Pacho , Anton and Maurice etc... bound to have fall out , hopefully after we make it to the hex.
Post by: WestCoast on September 22, 2008, 02:06:35 AM
has been done before
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=606.msg3355#msg3355
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/f/falkirk/4402639.stm
Great Stuff
Post by: fishs on September 22, 2008, 03:02:38 AM
has been done before
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=606.msg3355#msg3355
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/f/falkirk/4402639.stm
Great Stuff
Nah Westcoast. He never got the job in one instance and did not take it in the other
Post by: Jefferz on September 22, 2008, 04:05:51 AM
a large sigh of relief.

some kinda sanity inside the camp.
Post by: Jefferz on September 22, 2008, 04:12:46 AM

good point overall, but still i dont think that a 3-0 drubbing from the US was expected... we havent had such a heavy defeat from the US for a few decades, and i think the players we had were quite capable... its just that they either wernt on the field (scotland and lawrence) and or the fact that our leading player was cyd "reckless" gray and not to mention that throughout the whole match their seemed to be no directions comming from the coaching bench or any restrategizing in any form or manner.
Post by: sjahrain on September 22, 2008, 04:19:23 AM
If the priest could play,who is me

Now this is bacchanal..... :rotfl: :rotfl:

I only hope that Jack work out all them dam details with Falkirk before he announce this

This made my mourning

Now one things Jack is certain of,is that HC will be sold out for the next 2 home games
Post by: Coop's on September 22, 2008, 05:35:25 AM
this seems kinda strange
He is just an assistant coach for now.....He is not de chief scout or anyting like dat.....is jes dat when ever he in de country for de games, he entitled to do ah lil coaching also......Dis is a very big move at this time, and we mnust be thankful regardless ah all who balling is ah mad scene......Latas is ah boss, I jes hope he leggo de cigarette for dese rest ah qualifiers doh
Breds do you know what is an assistant Coach?do you know what's the role of an assistant Coach?Anton does get blame for everything Pacho does,to make it simple if something happens to Pacho lets say fired etc he is the man,he has to be in touch with the team on a daily basis just like the head Coach,knowledge of the players,game plan/strategies team uses,he has to develop some kind of relationship with Pacho(same page) etc etc this is not about a little coaching this is big time full time coaching,it's a national team we talking about not a Minor league team.I too agree Latas is a Boss but i don't have a problem with his smoking or drinking once it does not affect his ability to impart his knowledge/experience to players or teams he deals with,i've observed many quality Coaches with those same bad habits.   
Post by: ann3boys on September 22, 2008, 06:06:02 AM
yeah, this is indeed good news imho (see, I'm learning the short hand thing ;D)
anyhoo, does this mean anton is taking a side- maybe one of the other teams?
I am now thinking that they are serious- let's see if maturana will actually listen to his assistant, like he
listened to the last one... ::)
Post by: arrow on September 22, 2008, 06:08:34 AM
wonder if Latas will bench himself for Theobald?
Post by: JDB on September 22, 2008, 06:50:10 AM
Has Dwight Yorke officially come out of international retirement and is the Roy Keane issue resolved?

Nothing change with Yorke situation other than the fact that we will not take on Keane now.

Probably not missing the chance to have a swansong with Latas. Keane will vex but I think Yorke realize (finally) that he not getting no sweat.

Yuh never know they might come to an agreement to release his registration and he might move to a (championship) club that willing to accomodate his desire to play qualifiers. Or keane hcould have him rot in the stands, either way I don't see him missing these games.
Post by: D.H.W on September 22, 2008, 08:18:09 AM
i will wait after the Guatemala game to rejoice
Title: RETURN OF THE MAGICIAN
Post by: D.H.W on September 22, 2008, 08:31:08 AM
(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2008/09/22/s1.jpg)
STAR TURN: Trinidad and Tobago and Falkirk FC midfielder Russell "The Little Magician" Latapy, right, at a training session during the Soca Warriors' 2006 World Cup campaign in Germany. Latapy has been appointed player-coach of the senior national team. In the background is striker Stern John. -Photo: Robert Taylor

Latapy back in T&T squad as player-coach
Ian Prescott

Monday, September 22nd 2008

Surprising? Yes! But certainly predictable.

Yesterday, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) issued a release announcing the appointment of former captain Russell Latapy, fondly known as "The Little Magician", as both a player and assistant coach to Colombian Francisco Maturana on the Trinidad and Tobago senior national team.

Latapy's return comes with the Soca Warriors having to travel to Guatemala and get a positive result from their CONCACAF World Cup qualifier on October 11, following a humbling 3-0 defeat against the United States earlier this month.

With the US almost certain to top the group with a maximum nine points from their three matches, Trinidad and Tobago and Guatemala are level with four points and battling to secure the final spot in the Final Round of World Cup qualifying in the CONCACAF region.

T&T have three semi-final qualifying matches left, against Guatemala (October 11), the United States (October 15) and Cuba (November 19).

Latapy, 40, has been appointed in the first instance for the next two qualifying matches, the crucial away game to Guatemala and when the Soca Warriors host the United States.

TTFF special adviser Jack Warner yesterday confirmed Latapy's appointment.

"We are pleased to have Mr Latapy on board with us for the next two qualifying matches in the first instance," Warner told TTFF media officer Shaun Fuentes. "The two matches against Guatemala and USA are of utmost importance at this stage and we believe that Latapy's role is an asset to the team and the Federation. We wish to welcome him and look forward to his involvement in our efforts to achieve the desired progress in our football."

This is Warner's second attempt to install Latapy as an assistant coach of the national team. Three years ago, both Latapy and former captain David Nakhid were announced as assistants when Leo Beenhakker, the former Holland and Real Madrid coach, took over on May 1, 2005.

But, Beenhakker would have none of that, stating that he was coming in at the 11th hour and was bringing his own assistants, Theo De Jonk and Wim Rijsbergen, to Trinidad and Tobago.

Former FC Porto midfielder Latapy, currently on staff at Falkirk FC in Scotland, accepted the offer to return to the T&T team following initial talks with the TTFF earlier this month.

The Federation also announced the national team will play a friendly international in early October. And midfielder Chris Birchall and defender Dennis Lawrence have been confirmed as members of the T&T squad for the upcoming matches, along with Sunderland midfielder Dwight Yorke.

"We can also at this stage confirm the likes of Chris Birchall, Dennis Lawrence and Dwight Yorke in the team for the upcoming matches. The full squad, as selected and confirmed by the coaching staff, will be revealed this coming week, but I can assure you that we will give all attempts to ensure we have the best possible chance of achieving the results to continue our progress in the qualification for South Africa," Warner added.

Since retiring from international football following the 2006 World Cup in Germany, Latapy has been working with Scottish Premier League club Falkirk FC, where he is one of the assistant coaches. He also plays about 20-30 minutes with the senior squad.

"I was delighted to get the call to come back and serve Trinidad and Tobago," Latapy told Fuentes yesterday. "I've always said that I would do whatever might be necessary to help our football and being given the opportunity to come back and give the support is one I would not turn down.

"I will continue to give my support in the new role that has been offered to me. I am looking forward to working with everybody involved in the team and the football on a whole and hopefully we can achieve our desired goal."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=161378614
Title: Re: RETURN OF THE MAGICIAN
Post by: pass(10trini) on September 22, 2008, 09:54:40 AM
Get your popcorn ready, I seeing bachanal at the end of the tunnel. Latapy under Mats. This will be an interesting one.
Post by: palos on September 22, 2008, 09:57:59 AM
Will lightning strike twice?

Guess we'll see.

Post by: Augi on September 22, 2008, 09:58:04 AM
The saga that is Trinidad and Tobago football continues... No visionary strategies  just reactionary ploys to appease the "quick to fete" masses. No immediate sacrifice in order to attain longterm sustainable objectives...In other words,this is real bullshit.
I love latapy bad, bad but I vex with him for allowing Warner to use him for the promise of being head national coach one day.
Player/coach my ass.Latas all you going to get he is a 20min sweat.You going to be used to fill the Stadium with waggonist.You going to be used to distract the public from their call for the head of Maturana.

I we really serious about making change get rid of Maturana, install Latas as the head coach.We give the qualifying campaign to SA our best shot.If we don't make it we have somthing in place for the next 4 years.Anything else is pure folly.
Post by: Big Magician on September 22, 2008, 10:16:43 AM
this is a facking movie that cant end ???...mama...Russell did i not warn you about this in Scotland 2 months ago ??.. mama...

I knew about this early sunday Morning...but i was waiting for it to come out...

boy at least we might see de man take ah sweat yes...
Post by: Big Magician on September 22, 2008, 10:18:52 AM
this is a facking movie that cant end ...mama...Russell did i not warn you about this in Scotland 2 months ago ??.. mama...

I knew about this early sunday Morning...but i was waiting for it to come out...

boy at least we might see de man take ah sweat yes...say wha...
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 22, 2008, 10:27:08 AM
So no stern joh  or darrell roberts and scotland sitting on the bench still
Post by: Weh-it-is on September 22, 2008, 10:30:37 AM
WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is why I can't miss a day on here.  I miss 3 days and Latapy back in the mix.  WOW!!!!!
Ah going an read everybody post.

Same here I missing all this comesss because ah being away. Yuh see how life is. This site is like no other.
Post by: injunchile on September 22, 2008, 10:30:57 AM
A point against Guatemala or a win - look at trouble mama- Fight to get tickets for the USA game. Latapy in the area and overcrowding in the stadium. Jack smiling his way to the bank the next day.
 Say what I myself would relish the opportunity to see latapy on the field.
 He more than anyone carried this team for years.
Post by: grskywalker on September 22, 2008, 10:36:37 AM
only one thing to say

HAAAALLEELUAH!!!!!

Does this mean Cornmeal has been kicked to the curb!!!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on September 22, 2008, 10:40:01 AM
Ah waiting on Lasana's take on this......hhhhmmmm....
Post by: D.H.W on September 22, 2008, 11:03:56 AM
i aint see stern on that list  ::)
Post by: madness1969 on September 22, 2008, 11:15:14 AM
lets c the squad first nah
Post by: NUFF on September 22, 2008, 11:15:18 AM
I doh really see how adding Latapy as an assistant coach will help out team.  Right we have Maturana and Corneal and between the two of them they can't get it right.  Now they going to add a third coach.  What will his role be?  Will he have a say in player selection?  I see this as adding more confusion to an already unstable situation.

I feel this move is more of an inspirational one.  Just like last campaign when were in trouble Latapy came back and provided a morale boost to the team.  I feel this is the same thing Jack Warner trying again.  He know that the next game against Guatemala is very important so he is trying to find the quickest way to lift team morale after the dismal showing against the US. 

I think he knew that Latapy woulda never come back as a player only so he throw in the coach part as bait.  I think it migh work fuh the next couple games but long term we still in a mess.  Jack Warner like a magician he always seem to have one more trick up his sleeve.  Ah well, de soap opera continues.
Post by: elan on September 22, 2008, 11:40:05 AM
Many of us here grow up looking at Latapy play and have great respect for what he has done. Many of the players on and around the National team most likely only heard off Latapy in his prime and may have for a short spell been around or play with him. Do you think that the younger players will accept Latapy as "the massiah" and buy into the motivational aspect he (Latapy) may bring to the organization? Granted Latapy better than most of them at 40, but realistically the youth of today think differently than those of yesteryear. Everyone is a star and does not need a "has been" to teach them anything. They may try to show they are actually better than Latapy leading to counter production.

I just trying to add a different perspective to this whole thing going on now. I believe this the wrong time to bring Latapy into the set up.
Post by: Trini Madness on September 22, 2008, 11:53:14 AM
i dunno fellas but i think this is where the tide turns. i'm seeing birchall, stern, collin and hopefully sancho back in de mix. latapy is de man who knows these players best. i think this is where we start to take off. a big morale boost for me.
Post by: Observer on September 22, 2008, 12:20:57 PM
Give Latas a chance. Why not! I personally believe any decent coach can do well with a T&T team, if given the proper support. Cut out all the tralala, support the needs of the squad and go from there. The fact that T&T had black list and all kinds of shit has not helped the coaching, preparation & competitive game situation at all.
Post by: weary1969 on September 22, 2008, 12:33:35 PM
One plus he can speak english. Dat alone is an improvement from d joker at d helm. BM boi dem fellas is real Patriot sorry Brian but 2 put up wit d kinda nonesense day in day out, yr in yr out, decade in decade out wit JW and still willin 2 serve I bow, courtesy and applaud dem
Title: Jack, next time please use the toilet bowl.......
Post by: Saltanfresh on September 22, 2008, 01:06:29 PM
I am ecstatic over the news that Jack has asked Latapy to return from retirement to be player-coach, in fact this should prove a worthy catalyst for this team as they journey to the Mateo Flores on 1011, but somebody please ask Mr Jack Warner to use the toilet bowl in the future and avoid all this mess.

Please excuse my crude analogy but it is clear that he "sh*t in his own hand and now trying to wash it off"...Jack there is such a thing as a toilet. After qualifying for the last World Cup and playing so well, we have no right to be begging Latas and Yorke to put on they boots again; as coaches that is another thing.

It is clear that Jack single handedly derailed this campaign with all his antics and bad-pay, and "blacklist". Could you imagine if he had used the toilet properly, then his hands would be clean today and there would not be a stench emanating from TTFF.
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 22, 2008, 01:16:07 PM
I see this as a rebuilding the bridge initiative.  It's obvious that relations between the Germany core and the administration has not completely thawed out.  I could see this being the influence of players like Yorke and Stern John.  Next step will be an invitatin to John to return to the team.
Post by: Grande on September 22, 2008, 02:04:27 PM
I eh have the energy to go and over-analyze this development nah. It have cause for both exuberance and hesitance.

All I will say is Good Luck Latas and all the best...you still have my support whatever de outcome.
Post by: PATRIOT on September 22, 2008, 02:20:30 PM
This MIGHT APPEAR on paper to be an excelent SHORT-TERM solution to our IMMEDIATE problems, i.e strengthening the midfield (even if all we gettin is 20 mins of magic, REMEMBER our 3rd 2006 WC game vs Paraguay!) HOWEVER our memories are TOO SHORT - THIS EXACT strategy was tried in the 1998 WC campaign where (By POPULAR DEMAND from Fans and certain sections of the media) one Gally Cummings was brought in to "assist" then Head Coach Zoran Vranes, when bachaanal ensued - with Gally carring out morning training sessions and Vranes in the evening, because their philosophies were so FAR APART they simply could NOT work TOGETHER, we lost 1-0 to Costa Rica, and Vranes got fired immediately after their first game in charge together. GAlly was then joined by some obscure Brazilian, we drew our next game then went on to lose all remaining games except the final home game against an already qualified USA team with whom we drew 0-0... MAYBE things will turn out better this tme around....maybe NOT..but it makes for an interesting ride should we make it to the Hex...I still have plenty Caribbean Airways miles to use  ;D
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on September 22, 2008, 03:04:54 PM
1) What will be Latas role?

2) Will he have a strong say in player selection?

3) Do dey have DuMaurier in Scotland?
Post by: Deeks on September 22, 2008, 03:07:07 PM
Good luck, warriors!!!!!
Post by: palos on September 22, 2008, 03:32:22 PM
Dis is how tings mighta go down.

Yorke realisin de team in trouble.  It could do plenty better dan it doin and there is a good chance to make de Hex if we stop de forkin around.

After de US game...Jack and dem shoppin fuh a name coach but nobody want to step een dis situation because it eh lookin too promisin.  Everybody who available want MEGA $$$ fuh de nex 3 games and sayin dem want guarantees dat if de team doh make de Hex....dey still colleckin dey pay.  On top a dat, dey want MORE $$$ if de team DOES make de Hex.  Jack cuss all a dem....so we back to square one.

Yorkie say...well...ah could talk wit Latas.  Jack see $$ signs one time.  It have 2 home games left....Latas & Yorke togeddah would guarantee sell out fuh both.  Plus if Kenwyne comin back....daz a chance to raise ticket prices to $500 fuh grounds.

Anna talk wit Latas but Latas bawl me eh comin back jes so.  I want a coachin wuk.  Yorke tell Latas....doh study it hoss....dat done taken care of.  Dah imps Maturana done.  He go jes be a figurehead anyway.  All de REAL coachin go be done by you.  He jes want to colleck he paycheck so he eh rockin no boat...plus you could do all de interviews and ting.

Latas - You know me eh no lyrics man so dah interview ting is small ting to me.  Buh wha bout Anton?

Yorkie - Wha bout Anton?  None a we does lissen to he anyway so it doh matter.  Dis eh de U 17 team yuh know.

Latas - Scene.   How much we talkin about anyway?

Yorkie - Name yuh price.  Remember is Jack we dealin wit.

Latas - Arrite...well as long as Jackula could promise meh de head coach wuk after dese 3 games, I go fall een.  Of course...u go be meh assistant coach.  It go be like ole times.  Ah could even take a lil 10 mins if need be if dem boy playin de ass.

Yorkie - Breds....de way how dem fellas playin, you need to hit de gym NOW.  You might have to play a half at least!

Latas - Steupes.....gym?  De only Gym I hittin is if it have a gyul or a bottle name so.

Yorkie - Easy breddrin....yuh is a national coach now. Anyway....ah go tell Jack de good news and ah bet yuh he go mek you a FIFA Ambassador and gi yuh a diplomatic passport jes like me fuh dat!

Latas - Me eh ask fuh it but me eh go refuse it needah.  Oh one nex ting ah insistin on.  Birchall have to play.  Yuh know you ole, I ole, and de ress a dem yute doh like to wuk hard so mek sure dah white boy on de team or me eh comin no way eh.

Yorkie - Fuh real! Consider it done horsie.  Plus....all dem ting in Zen & 51 go be happy he back een de mix and yuh know once dem happy, ALL A WE HAPPY!
Post by: lefty on September 22, 2008, 03:56:42 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :'( :o :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ;)
Post by: WestCoast on September 22, 2008, 04:27:23 PM
Nice one Palos
"hittin ah Gym".......dais "doin ah Latas"? ;D
Post by: Midknight on September 22, 2008, 04:28:54 PM
wonder if Latas will bench himself for Theobald?

he recommend him to Falkirk. stranger things have happened...
Title: Who making the call on Latas playing time and what if!!
Post by: Coach on September 22, 2008, 04:38:14 PM
If Latas say he want to play for this amount of time and Maturana have different ideas who leading who.

So far some of the selecting by Maturana just tell me that he don't know our players and one key factor to a coach's success is to know his players.

A good example is how could Maturana leave a veteran like Denis L on the bench vs US and we got goals from crosses, in which DL height would have been a factor on those crosses.

In Latas case is just how much say he would have in the main decisions, and what if Latas think that he needs to play and Maturana don't think so we would have a problem.

We all can remember what happen with Beenie and Latas in the last WC and when he finally decide to give Latas a sweat vs Paraguay, it shows that Latas probably could have got us to the second round if he had played from the beginning. I just hope they work things out before and Latas get to have some kind of control.
Title: Re: Who making the call on Latas playing time and what if!!
Post by: palos on September 22, 2008, 04:42:56 PM
If Latas say he want to play for this amount of time and Maturana have different ideas who leading who.

If YOU was de coach, what would you have done?
Post by: Coach on September 22, 2008, 04:50:19 PM
Just the track record of Latas I  would give him the respect.

But also I would use my intelligence as a coach and keep in mind that he is 40. I would have a close look at him in practices and warm games vs with the rest of the guys and then I will be OK to sit with him and give my opinion, but respect must be given first!!
Post by: palos on September 22, 2008, 04:54:09 PM
Just the track record of Latas I  would give him the respect.

But also I would use my intelligence as a coach and keep in mind that he is 40. I would have a close look at him in practices and warm games vs with the rest of the guys and then I will be OK to sit with him and give my opinion, but respect must be given first!!

Was Latas disrespected in his last campaign?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 22, 2008, 05:04:01 PM
Palos yuh on fire today sah  :devil:
Post by: Baygo Boy on September 22, 2008, 05:23:30 PM
Many of us here grow up looking at Latapy play and have great respect for what he has done. Many of the players on and around the National team most likely only heard off Latapy in his prime and may have for a short spell been around or play with him. Do you think that the younger players will accept Latapy as "the massiah" and buy into the motivational aspect he (Latapy) may bring to the organization? Granted Latapy better than most of them at 40, but realistically the youth of today think differently than those of yesteryear. Everyone is a star and does not need a "has been" to teach them anything. They may try to show they are actually better than Latapy leading to counter production.

I just trying to add a different perspective to this whole thing going on now. I believe this the wrong time to bring Latapy into the set up.

Elan, ah hear yuh but I have to disagree. What is sad is that he may be on the team because we don't have a legit playmaker. If he can provide motivation for the 06 team he can certainly do it here. However, I like you would have preferred to not have to resort to him at 40.
Post by: WestCoast on September 22, 2008, 05:24:46 PM
I remeber reading Beenie's opinion that he thought that Latas could not play a full game.
I cant find that thread or post.
anyone else remember that?
Post by: palos on September 22, 2008, 05:58:48 PM

Elan, ah hear yuh but I have to disagree. What is sad is that he may be on the team because we don't have a legit playmaker. If he can provide motivation for the 06 team he can certainly do it here. However, I like you would have preferred to not have to resort to him at 40.

I disagree.  In my opinion, we do have a legit playmaker.  But he playin left wing right now.
Post by: weary1969 on September 22, 2008, 08:31:08 PM
Nice banter between  number 19 and number 10 could c dat playin off
Post by: Deeks on September 22, 2008, 08:39:57 PM
No!! Latas was not disrespected.
Post by: jai john on September 22, 2008, 08:45:48 PM

So far some of the selecting by Maturana just tell me that he don't know our players and one key factor to a coach's success is to know his players.

A good example is how could Maturana leave a veteran like Denis L on the bench vs US and we got goals from crosses, in which DL height would have been a factor on those crosses.

In Latas case is just how much say he would have in the main decisions, and what if Latas think that he needs to play and Maturana don't think so we would have a problem.

We all can remember what happen with Beenie and Latas in the last WC and when he finally decide to give Latas a sweat vs Paraguay, it shows that Latas probably could have got us to the second round if he had played from the beginning. I just hope they work things out before and Latas get to have some kind of control.

Coach I eh mean no disrespeck, forumites go know I doh go down dat road ...but you is really ah coach ?
Post by: just cool on September 22, 2008, 09:35:49 PM
Stern and latas could destroy any team ! providing they come off the bench for the last 30 mins . them men don't produce as much when they're starting.

now i don't know if it's psycological or lack of interest, but if yuh run them in the last 3rd of the game them boys will produce tenfold. JMO though.

let the youngons do all the breaking down, and then bring the wrecking balls in to finish the job. boom !!!!!!
Post by: dreamer on September 22, 2008, 10:55:26 PM
Palos, yuh come good dey. Niceness.
Post by: Baygo Boy on September 22, 2008, 11:40:08 PM

I disagree.  In my opinion, we do have a legit playmaker.  But he playin left wing right now.

Palos, permit me to change the word legit to "top quality"
Post by: palos on September 23, 2008, 01:32:41 AM

Palos, permit me to change the word legit to "top quality"

All he need is opporunity and time breds.  Truss meh on dat.
Post by: Coop's on September 23, 2008, 03:00:08 AM
Stern and latas could destroy any team ! providing they come off the bench for the last 30 mins . them men don't produce as much when they're starting.

now i don't know if it's psycological or lack of interest, but if yuh run them in the last 3rd of the game them boys will produce tenfold. JMO though.

let the youngons do all the breaking down, and then bring the wrecking balls in to finish the job. boom !!!!!!
         :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:I like this plan,why don't you tex/send it to Pacho may be he run out of ideas or don't know how to use players,all you good yes.
Post by: sjahrain on September 23, 2008, 04:13:05 AM
Jack move over

Is The Power of the People who made it all possible

If the Magician did not love his country it would not happen

Jack remember this

PEOPLE   POWER

Too   RAS

No Worries

Just Love

Count I will take the job but I still want you to know I want my backpay....
Title: Now that Latas is Back, What Happens to Guerra, Dwarika, Jemmott?
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 23, 2008, 06:15:57 AM
its great news to hear Latas is back as a player coach but what happens to players like guerra, who is under 22 years old, dwarika who is still able to play and is under 33 and jemmott who they were saying was training with caledonia who is also under 30 years of age?

I think Latas will call upon these players in the near future to guide the midfield ship, which is much needed, hopefully latas steps into a permamnent coaching role and identifies creative midfielders as a replacement for himself. Latas being from laventille will understand that youths like Guerra who have the talent was being left out by the Corneal regime, lets hope some positive selections are the result of Latas presence on the team as he supports Maturana.  :beermug:
Title: Re: Now that Latas is Back, What Happens to Guerra, Dwarika, Jemmott?
Post by: arrow on September 23, 2008, 06:24:31 AM
On de block I think someone hacked into your account...
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 23, 2008, 06:31:04 AM
On de block I think someone hacked into your account...

:devil: nah TI dont have the password
Post by: ckhan on September 23, 2008, 08:11:21 AM
This soap opera is much better dan Dallas and Falcon Crest on their best days!!! Dis OJT thing is real drama.  Good luck Latapy cause you have roughly 3 weeks to make sense out of non-sense.
Post by: just cool on September 23, 2008, 02:21:55 PM
its great news to hear Latas is back as a player coach but what happens to players like guerra, who is under 22 years old, dwarika who is still able to play and is under 33 and jemmott who they were saying was training with caledonia who is also under 30 years of age?

I think Latas will call upon these players in the near future to guide the midfield ship, which is much needed, hopefully latas steps into a permamnent coaching role and identifies creative midfielders as a replacement for himself. Latas being from laventille will understand that youths like Guerra who have the talent was being left out by the Corneal regime, lets hope some positive selections are the result of Latas presence on the team as he supports Maturana.  :beermug:
Breddren , no disrespect to dwarika, but when last you saw him play ? if yuh seen him lately then you wouldn't make that statement, i've seen him twice in the last month, and his performance was horrid !!

i thought kick away cyde  was the turn over king until i saw his (dwarika) last two performances against NE revolution and the montreal impact. ain't no way he could make more of an impact than ah 40yr old latas as a play maker and ah ball distributor.

as for guerra , i like him, and even though i've never seen him play, to many football addicts gave ah positive revue on him for me to think other wise.     

IMO, he needs more time in the oven, let him get ah 15 mins here and ah 15 there so he could be groomed properly.

all in all, latas 30 mins ah game would produce greater results than any play maker we have to date, even @ 55yrs old. ;)                            positive.
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 23, 2008, 03:24:51 PM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=38973.msg478508#msg478508

Cyar say I didn't call it. ;D
Post by: kicker on September 23, 2008, 03:37:10 PM

How much birthpapers Dwarika have to be under 33?

Dwarika is easily 35 pushing 36...and since when is 33 a benchmark age to be under?

I hadn't seen Arnold play for some time and I actually asked the same question of a pardner of mine....then I watched him play against N.E. Rev....and I think if Dwarika was a little more mobile and physical he could still help us out....but Dwarika come like Valderrama now man...a kinda stand up and chook player....That is 70's and 80's football breds...that kinda amateur football doh cut it at the highest level again.  His passing seems to have gotten kinda suspect too...
Post by: FF on September 23, 2008, 03:45:05 PM
Dwarika turn 35 last month...
Post by: kicker on September 23, 2008, 03:50:11 PM
Dwarika turn 35 last month...

Just checked- Wiki have him born Feb 23rd 1973....

But then again how much anniversary and birthday bash Doctor Hyde iz throw per year tuh .... so ah guess anything is possible.  ;D

Edit: socawarriors.net have him at Aug 23rd 1973.... So ah guess the original question about his birthpapers was more appropriate than I thought....  :D

Either way he's 35....
Post by: vb on September 23, 2008, 04:45:46 PM
I could swear Dwarika make his national debut as a 17 yr old in 1992 but then again who is me? Maybe Wikipedia right.

Post by: elan on September 24, 2008, 09:13:42 AM

Breddren , no disrespect to dwarika, but when last you saw him play ? if yuh seen him lately then you wouldn't make that statement, i've seen him twice in the last month, and his performance was horrid !!

i thought kick away cyde  was the turn over king until i saw his (dwarika) last two performances against NE revolution and the montreal impact. ain't no way he could make more of an impact than ah 40yr old latas as a play maker and ah ball distributor.

as for guerra , i like him, and even though i've never seen him play, to many football addicts gave ah positive revue on him for me to think other wise.     

IMO, he needs more time in the oven, let him get ah 15 mins here and ah 15 there so he could be groomed properly.

all in all, latas 30 mins ah game would produce greater results than any play maker we have to date, even @ 55yrs old. ;)                            positive.

When was the last time alyuh see Latas play?
Post by: berris on September 24, 2008, 04:36:43 PM

I cyar believe you serious on this JC, 30 mins for proven players (the least Latas should play is 70 mins ) Stern is a threat  to score from the time de whistle blow to start the game. JC ah realize yuh really hook on de youths,but yuh have to be real here ,they are not ready and cannot take us out of this round.Their main accomplishment was a win over Cuba (ah rank shit side ). IMO we look like we din have ah clue about the game against the US . The time for expierementing is over ,according to Obama ENOUGH !! Time to use the players that have proven they could get us to a WC.The youths will have 2014 to look forward to and should be well primed when their turn comes, but right now we need Latas,Birchall,DY,Stern,DL,Scottland,Avery,Whitley,Spann,Sancho .
Is pure dotishness by Maturana to have a healthy Stern John and not select him ,we do not have another striker that could deliver like SJ ,and that is a plain and simple fact. #14 haters argument was always ''nobody doh get a chance to show dey could score becuse Stern always starting''.. Well dah argument is boo now as others have gotten their chance and have shown they not ready .This doh mean we football dead after #14 hang up he boots, as someone so ignorantly asked in another thread, but while he's playing we do not have another that come close to providing the goals we need to qualify. Yuh ever hear de saying beat the iron while it hot ..well we need to use our best players now. :beermug:
Post by: just cool on September 24, 2008, 05:18:11 PM

I cyar believe you serious on this JC, 30 mins for proven players (the least Latas should play is 70 mins ) Stern is a threat  to score from the time de whistle blow to start the game. JC ah realize yuh really hook on de youths,but yuh have to be real here ,they are not ready and cannot take us out of this round.Their main accomplishment was a win over Cuba (ah rank shit side ). IMO we look like we din have ah clue about the game against the US . The time for expierementing is over ,according to Obama ENOUGH !! Time to use the players that have proven they could get us to a WC.The youths will have 2014 to look forward to and should be well primed when their turn comes, but right now we need Latas,Birchall,DY,Stern,DL,Scottland,Avery,Whitley,Spann,Sancho .
Is pure dotishness by Maturana to have a healthy Stern John and not select him ,we do not have another striker that could deliver like SJ ,and that is a plain and simple fact. #14 haters argument was always ''nobody doh get a chance to show dey could score becuse Stern always starting''.. Well dah argument is boo now as others have gotten their chance and have shown they not ready .This doh mean we football dead after #14 hang up he boots, as someone so ignorantly asked in another thread, but while he's playing we do not have another that come close to providing the goals we need to qualify. Yuh ever hear de saying beat the iron while it hot ..well we need to use our best players now. :beermug:
First of all berris , thanx for not cussing meh out :devil:. ah glad yuh deal wid yuh bredder on ah humble vibes, much appreciated.

berris , i real like stern john, BC no stern john = no WC ever!! the bredder is truly ah legend. all i was saying is stern is more of ah threat when he comes of the bench ,and was not implying that he's not ah threat from the start, like you said, stern is ah threat from the whistle blow which is so true.

what i mean't to say was, after  KJ and roberts/ glenn break down the defence, ah fresh pair of sterntininio legs would reap havoc, but i was in no wise implying that stern should not start .it was just ah strategy i thought should be considered. no disrespect to the LEGEND.   :beermug:                           positive.
Post by: SUPA on September 25, 2008, 10:15:13 AM
Greetings to and all. Well yuh boi eh gone against de forum, ah just running too crazy to even sign in here. Yuh boi and de crew, we just trying tuh make a lil paper, while it is there. Hopefully by de grace of de man above, beyond 11/04/08, things will be blessed and going in de right direction so we here cud continue tuh get some more paper (give thanks every day).

Well as usual ah doh have 2 much time, but meh boi took ah read and called meh on de cell about dis Latapy news. Well ah was in de middle of a serious meeting and when ah returned ah had ah big smile on meh face and meh mood totally changed for the other part of dat meeting. Well ah kind ah felt embarrassed in ah way, cuz people wouldn't understand dat is de Latapy news dat made my day, dey probably think ah went and smoke some thing and come back happy :-\.

Well Latapy, welcome back my lord. Yuh know as a player, Supa love yuh, love yuh, love yuh, like cook food. So wid dat said congratulations and all de best in achieving your goals and our national team goals. TI nothing against yuh eh family, but yuh know I does say it as it is, ah will not talk behind yuh back. So wid dat said, ah just want tuh remind yuh about yuh post yuh had about Latapy. Lol..de 40 yr old man yuh was talking about, he is back, just like Supa always been suggesting on dis forum. Ah hope when he does his job on de field and assist de team to reaching SF, you and others cud be responsible adults and admit dat you all were wrong wid you all posts and apologise not to me, but to Latapy.

Stern, ah cah forget yuh, dis is yuh boi Steve in Florida. Well best of luck on yuh recall meh breddah, I always believed in you leading our attack, in my opinion, you was and still is our number one striker. Ah yuh know dem other countries in CONCACAF will be worried, cuz dey know in situation like dis, yuh coming back wid blood in yuh eyes and dat is real problems for dem. Watch de ride people, member dat combination for our last WCQ, wid Latapy and Stern, member meh told yuh. Ince large yuh self to meh boi, dis is Steve from by Roy and Fats in Malonie, all de best to family.HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: kicker on September 25, 2008, 02:19:51 PM
Greetings to and all. Well yuh boi eh gone against de forum, ah just running too crazy to even sign in here. Yuh boi and de crew, we just trying tuh make a lil paper, while it is there. Hopefully by de grace of de man above, beyond 11/04/08, things will be blessed and going in de right direction so we here cud continue tuh get some more paper (give thanks every day).

Well as usual ah doh have 2 much time, but meh boi took ah read and called meh on de cell about dis Latapy news. Well ah was in de middle of a serious meeting and when ah returned ah had ah big smile on meh face and meh mood totally changed for the other part of dat meeting. Well ah kind ah felt embarrassed in ah way, cuz people wouldn't understand dat is de Latapy news dat made my day, dey probably think ah went and smoke some thing and come back happy :-\.

Well Latapy, welcome back my lord. Yuh know as a player, Supa love yuh, love yuh, love yuh, like cook food. So wid dat said congratulations and all de best in achieving your goals and our national team goals. TI nothing against yuh eh family, but yuh know I does say it as it is, ah will not talk behind yuh back. So wid dat said, ah just want tuh remind yuh about yuh post yuh had about Latapy. Lol..de 40 yr old man yuh was talking about, he is back, just like Supa always been suggesting on dis forum. Ah hope when he does his job on de field and assist de team to reaching SF, you and others cud be responsible adults and admit dat you all were wrong wid you all posts and apologise not to me, but to Latapy.

Stern, ah cah forget yuh, dis is yuh boi Steve in Florida. Well best of luck on yuh recall meh breddah, I always believed in you leading our attack, in my opinion, you was and still is our number one striker. Ah yuh know dem other countries in CONCACAF will be worried, cuz dey know in situation like dis, yuh coming back wid blood in yuh eyes and dat is real problems for dem. Watch de ride people, member dat combination for our last WCQ, wid Latapy and Stern, member meh told yuh. Ince large yuh self to meh boi, dis is Steve from by Roy and Fats in Malonie, all de best to family.HIGHLY BLESSED.

Welcome back SUPA!!! 
Post by: slates on September 26, 2008, 08:07:53 AM
Just Cool, I understand what yuh tryin to say about Stern and Latas in the last third of the game eh.

De problem with that is, by that time, de team will be in such a sink hole (with regards to the score line), that it go take Stern, Latas and JC (not you eh, the other JC) to pull we outta it.
Post by: SUPA on October 08, 2008, 05:49:52 PM

Welcome back SUPA!!! 

Ah sorry boi Kicker, ah late wid acknowledging yuh post (respect every time). Yuh see how ah showing up once ah week and thing, so forgive me bredda. HIGHLY BLESSED.