Sports => Football => Topic started by: PATRIOT on March 02, 2010, 01:09:11 PM

Title: Latas is back
Post by: PATRIOT on March 02, 2010, 01:09:11 PM
'Latas' is back...TTFF offer two-year contract as national coach
By Kern De Freitas (T&T Express)

Russell Latapy will get a second chance to prove himself as head coach of the Trinidad and Tobago national team after being re-signed to a two-year contract by the T&T Football Federation (TTFF).

The announcement was made by TTFF special adviser Jack Warner yesterday during a press conference at the President’s Box, Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain.

Latapy replaced Colombian Francisco Maturana during the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for the South Africa 2010 World Cup in April last year and his tenure ended with T&T’s failure to qualify in September.

Now, Latapy is being given more decision-making leeway, including the freedom to choose his assistant coaches ’within the constraints of our budget’, according to Warner.

The national team will retain their entire technical staff, including manager David Mohammed.

TTFF technical director Lincoln ’Tiger’ Phillips, himself a former national goalkeeper, will work with the T&T keepers to get them ’up to standard’, Warner revealed.

Latapy said he has yet to discuss the assistant coach position with longtime friend and T&T teammate Dwight Yorke, but hinted that he would like to have Yorke as part of the technical team.

Warner was on the TTFF panel that selected the T&T management team, that panel including technical adviser Keith Look Loy and general secretary Richard Groden and chaired by TTFF president Oliver Camps.

In addition, Warner said, the TTFF have accepted an invitation by the English Football Association to have Latapy serve an ’apprenticeship’ with Arsenal Football Club of the English Premier League, ’so he can work with (Arsenal manager) Arsene Wenger’.

Latapy, in his statement, said he accepted the offer to return as coach with ’pride and honour’.

He immediately stated his desire to work with a core of ’about 32 players’ between the ages of 20-26. Any other players, he said, would be accepted on his team if they impress him.

’...I’ve always said,’ Latapy related, ’if you’re good enough, you’re old enough to play for the national team.’

Latapy will give priority to the ’best XI’ at his disposal, he said, and is hoping to get his team to gel enough, before exposing them to international fixtures.

’We want to play the best opponents we can play. That’s the only way we’re going to improve,’ the former T&T midfielder said.

Latapy is targeting the 24-team 2010 Digicel Cup and qualification for the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup to assess where his team is before qualifying for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

Former national coach Zoran Vranes, Warner also announced yesterday, will add the Olympic (Under-23) team to his duties as national Under-20 coach.

Vranes can have his pick of local assistants, while he has Michelle Abrams as Under-20 manager.

Before Warner made the big announcement, though, Phillips gave a brief synopsis of the technical issues the national team faces and their intended solutions.

Phillips highlighted the speed of T&T’s game, ’predictability’, and the ability to think on their feet among their problems, along with ’passing, dribbling, ball control, possession, penetration, crossing...’.

’We play a very static game,’ he said, adding: ’...the game is not fluid anymore.’

Phillips put that responsibility squarely on the shoulders of coaches and pointed to the licensing of coaching as one solution on which the TTFF are currently working, in conjunction with the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Sport.

The TTFF have been offering coaching courses, varying from Levels A-F, and are hoping to have all football coaches licensed to a mininum Level D, a ’prepartory level’ and eventually to Level C.

The use of technology is also crucial to the development of the modern footballer, Phillips said, and added that the TTFF have also introduced international exchange programmes to further help prepare coaches to work with players.

Folks, I've been informed by Weary that Latapy has been re-appointed as Senior National Coach, with the freedom to choose his Assistant, Vranes same thing with the Under 23/20 team and LP is still T.D. with emphasis on Goal-keeping...

...so we goin "Back to the Future"... I guess iz true what the Old people say yes, when better cyah be done, let worse continue
Title: Re: Latapy Re-appointed
Post by: just cool on March 02, 2010, 01:16:49 PM
Yuh know what's the worst thing about this, the WC in germany was the mirage that create ah new set of expectations that are so unrealistic and unattainable it ain't funny. and i will go as far to say, we not seeing another WC any time soon, BC all the little minovs like bermuda , grenada, SVG are all playing catch up , while we snooze.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 02, 2010, 01:17:13 PM
whoo hoo!!.... ::) ::)
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 02, 2010, 01:35:32 PM
lord have mercy  >:(
Post by: DeSoWa on March 02, 2010, 01:35:43 PM
funny, with all the church fiasco ah reading bout...ah coulda swear at first glance ah read...Latapy Re-anointed  :D

Anyways...ah hope he prove ppl wrong...inspite of the TTFF...long shot though!

Post by: g on March 02, 2010, 01:38:50 PM
Congrats to Latas on his re appointment, did they say how long the appointment will be for?

I wonder who paying the salary?

With respect to the assistant coach position, I really hope he finds someone with international experience and very defensive minded cause that is where we have been exposed last campaign to telling effect both in open play and set pieces.

Latas will do fine with the tactics offensively and an overall team belief but when it comes down to planning defensively and counter tactics to the opposition, i believe he will need help.

Congrats again.
Post by: Touches on March 02, 2010, 01:51:32 PM
So when is the next friendly?
Post by: KND2 on March 02, 2010, 01:52:08 PM
latapy is the best choice to coach the squad. let see what program he is going to lay out for the next 2 years
Post by: Daft Trini on March 02, 2010, 01:57:05 PM

You did not get the memo... tomorrow against Grenada.... big friendly against powerhouse Guyana, Venezuela and Cuba coming soon...!
Post by: Touches on March 02, 2010, 02:01:37 PM

You did not get the memo... tomorrow against Grenada.... big friendly against powerhouse Guyana, Venezuela and Cuba coming soon...!

>:(  damn and all the while I was anticipating a match between us and our arch-rivals the Bajan Rockets  :devil:
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on March 02, 2010, 02:06:11 PM
I wish him the best, and hope he learned something from our last campaign...

He has plenty time to start now...no more crap, I don't believe many of us can take watching our team play like they did.

My advice to Latas is if you feel you can't win, don't coach.  It have other jobs in developmental leagues if you there to develop players...don't ruin your legacy

Watching this WC 2010 will be fun but real hard, how many of us will watch it and wonder if 2006 was a dream rather than a hope of future things to come
Post by: Daft Trini on March 02, 2010, 02:07:03 PM

>:(  damn and all the while I was anticipating a match between us and our arch-rivals the Bajan Rockets  :devil:

Doh worry it coming... we ah go play Jam Rock yet.... how it go look dey playing a boat load ah friendlies and we eh play none... and we go still handle dey scenes....!

On a serious note... when yuh available fuh games... keep the reports coming... we in de cold depend on them fuh real objectivity and analysis...!  :beermug:
Post by: kicker on March 02, 2010, 02:07:24 PM
Congrats Latas...Best wishes.  
Post by: YoursTruly on March 02, 2010, 02:23:15 PM
Latapy was officially given a two-year contract, at the press conference at the Oval, he revealed that; and his immediate mandate is qualification for the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 02, 2010, 02:45:57 PM
Latapy was officially given a two-year contract, at the press conference at the Oval, he revealed that; and his immediate mandate is qualification for the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup

his first  mandate should be winning the digicel cup .....
Post by: STEUPS!! on March 02, 2010, 02:53:19 PM
congrats latas. ah hope u get a proper opportunity to prove dese naysayers wrong.
Post by: samo on March 02, 2010, 02:54:36 PM
Congrats Latas... ah have faith that you could take the team players..
Post by: Observer on March 02, 2010, 02:58:53 PM
 :applause: :applause:
Post by: 1st touch on March 02, 2010, 03:39:49 PM
Congratulations and good luck Coach.

I will 1st observe and reserve judgement on the man until after the gold cup.

1st
Post by: elan on March 02, 2010, 05:27:19 PM
Matters not, we have no players for the next 4 years. Our top players heading to mediorce college teams whil Mexico top players playing all over.
Post by: College on March 02, 2010, 05:42:53 PM
Congrats to Latas....he has the benefit of a 'do-over', hope he learned from the past and help restore of football to a respectable level.

Watch yuh defence dey coach!
Post by: injunchile on March 02, 2010, 05:47:06 PM
Let us look on the bright side. No money to pay a big coach so Latas will hold the fort until qualifications, If we qualify for the Gold cup his contract will be renewed. so we will say plenty prayers for the magician for the next two years. Why are we surprised at this - This is how Jack operates and as we all know if you keep doing the same thing you will get the same results.Just maybe- Latas will recognise his limitations re the defensive side of coaching and get some help as well as a trainer who can have them run for an entire game.

Post by: congo on March 02, 2010, 05:53:43 PM
Russell Latapy is not qualified enough to coach out national team...This is another calculated moveby Jackula to once again wreck our football....Maturana was fired but he's d been to the world cup twice as a coach and replaced with latapy who previous experience was coaching Falkirk's reserve team??? Jackula is the biggest cancer to the game..we had the blacklist so Wim couldn't make any progress after Beenhaker left...he was replaced with maturana who could not speak english, I'm sure Jack was aware that this would cause a breakdown in communication...How one embryo could make such a dysfunctiional glib like Jack Warner the world would never know...By the way I blame us not making the world cup on dwight's decision to let Stern take that penalty...just my 2 cents.,.
Post by: najee on March 02, 2010, 06:07:00 PM
Well fellas ..... our football is at the bottom of the pit so i have to give my support to Latapy hoping good thing will come out of it... for the next two years...GOOD LUCK LATA
Post by: doc on March 02, 2010, 06:10:51 PM
JW sending him to the Arsenal learn a thing or two..... :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 02, 2010, 06:22:17 PM
yup and Dwight may be the assistant coach  :devil: :devil:
Post by: just cool on March 02, 2010, 08:59:40 PM
I not crazy about this latapy appointment whatsoever, but @ the same time , i not crazy about the administrative aspect of TNT football either.

latapy's last temporary appointment left much to be desired, one major aspect was the team selection when he excluded hyland , C.samuels, K. jagdeosingh and roberts for the seven games despite the fact that these boys are goal scoring threats, and was doing well for their clubs.

all who congratulating this move suffering from some serious lapse in memory, BC latas did nothing special and made ah shyte load of mistakes, in his defence , he did show more organization and ability than mats and looked great against mexico and USA.
Post by: zuluwarrior on March 02, 2010, 09:11:55 PM
Latas i wish you good luck and always ask my God for guideance in your decision making peace.
Post by: weary1969 on March 02, 2010, 09:21:31 PM
D best part Patriot leave JLloyd go still have problems 2 get he ticket as Black Agenda iz still d Manager. So dats all folks Trini_2014 change yuh name.
Post by: dinho on March 02, 2010, 09:38:28 PM
D best part Patriot leave JLloyd go still have problems 2 get he ticket as Black Agenda iz still d Manager. So dats all folks Trini_2014 change yuh name.

HUH??
Post by: Deeks on March 02, 2010, 10:14:13 PM
Black Agenda?????
Post by: soccerman on March 02, 2010, 10:47:27 PM
"freedom to choose his assistant"....I sure hope we can get a defensive mastermind who can instill some structure and organization at the very least. Ah wonder what Beenie doing these days :thinking: (wishful thinking I might add)
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 03, 2010, 01:15:03 AM
Jack like yuh scared to hire Fenwick oh wah....

Yuh hate progress...??

well at least make d man Latas Assistant...
Post by: Socapro on March 03, 2010, 01:46:57 AM
Jack like yuh scared to hire Fenwick oh wah....

Yuh hate progress...??

well at least make d man Latas Assistant...

TF will not put up with any BS and BS is JW's middle name!  8)
Post by: davyjenny1 on March 03, 2010, 02:11:20 AM
Latapy to return as Soca Warriors coach
Nigel Simon
Published: 2 Mar 2010

Russell Latapy... Set to return
to national coach position.
Nigel Simon

Former national footballer Russell Latapy is expected to be resume his role as coach of the T&T Soca Warriors ahead of the 2014 Fifa World Cup campaign today. The confirmation is expected to announced by Fifa vice-president and T&T Football Federation special advisor, Jack Warner at a media briefing to be held at the President’s Box, Queen’s Park Oval, Tragarete Road, from 2 pm. In addition to the naming of the national senior team coach, Warner is also expected to name a full technical staff to work alongside Latapy with the aim of preparing T&T for the qualifying campaign to the 2014 World Cup Finals in Brazil.

The 40-year-old Latapy nicknamed the “Little Magician” previously held the position as coach during the 2010 Concacaf Final Round World Cup qualifiers after Colombian Francisco Maturana vacated the post on April 8. This was after a string of poor results during the Final Round qualifiers. However, under Latapy’s reign, T&T did not fear much better in terms of results with one win, one draw and five defeats during the qualifiers which ended in November along with Latapy’s short-term contract. The T&TFF executive and Warner were then expected to meet to determine the fate of Latapy and his assistant, former T&T captain Dwight Yorke two weeks later.

However, no decision was taken and Warner indicated that unless the federation secured financial support, it could turn to volunteerism.
Warner said the T&TFF and its technical committee had a meeting to look at various technical staffs for teams but the underlying factor continued to be funding. “Who will pay for the staff for these teams,” Warner asked. While no known financial support has been sourced by Warner of the T&TFF it is felt that any further delay in the naming of a national coach will severely hinder the team’s progress towards qualifying for 2014.
Post by: Kingk on March 03, 2010, 03:22:14 AM
why cant the announcement/press conference or media briefing be made by the President of the TTFF. "special advisor" has the "special task" of doing everything  :devil:
Post by: PATRIOT on March 03, 2010, 05:10:22 AM
Black Agenda?????
Weary is referring to the re-appointment of David Mohammed, who is the host of a radio program on power 102fm CALLED "The Black Agenda"
Post by: Brownsugar on March 03, 2010, 05:13:07 AM

Jack/TTFF must be really broke for true.....we get Latas AND that clown again??!!....is like a two for one deal....lord have mercy....
Post by: PATRIOT on March 03, 2010, 05:14:25 AM

Oops MY bad, thanks for the follow-up, but I have MORE faith that DM will improve in HIS role than the coach (hopefully he'll prove me wrong, but I doubt it!)
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 03, 2010, 07:05:31 AM
If Jlloyd hadnt played for TNT ...he chances of playing for England might be higher now with Ashley Cole and JT problems...
Post by: Tallman on March 03, 2010, 07:20:26 AM
If Jlloyd hadnt played for TNT ...he chances of playing for England might be higher now with Ashley Cole and JT problems...

When he cyar even get ah consistent sweat with Bolton?
Title: Re: Latas is back
Post by: Tallman on March 03, 2010, 07:29:38 AM
The initial post has been updated.

http://www.youtube.com/v/yh97JP8bse4

http://www.youtube.com/v/rr5Nf1unyiY

http://www.youtube.com/v/KOJMDckur2Q

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image_stretched/articles/images/lata%202%20lead1.png)

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/lata%202%20lead.png)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 03, 2010, 07:36:16 AM
Black Agenda?????
Weary is referring to the re-appointment of David Mohammed, who is the host of a radio program on power 102fm CALLED "The Black Agenda"

I guess that explains Birchy's constant omission
Post by: Brownsugar on March 03, 2010, 10:46:41 AM
Black Agenda?????

SM, yuh know the real reason right??...
Post by: Babalawo on March 03, 2010, 12:33:33 PM
Black Agenda?????

lemme hear
Post by: Babalawo on March 03, 2010, 12:49:13 PM
Ent Dave Mohammed is the same man who screw up Lloyd and his plane ticket?
Post by: Brownsugar on March 03, 2010, 01:40:01 PM
Black Agenda?????

lemme hear

Actually while Andre Baptiste was interviewing the players late last year, they revealed that during the last WC campaign, when the players were in T&T to play Costa Rica in June, the TTFF/Jack offered the "Blacklisted 16" money to end the lawsuit. They refused to take it (Birchy included) and the rest as they say is history.....
Post by: Big Magician on March 03, 2010, 04:18:24 PM
Come on Magician...buy a suit
Post by: Tallman on March 03, 2010, 04:24:11 PM

(http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/muppet/images/thumb/4/48/Mumford.jpg/300px-Mumford.jpg)
Post by: FF on March 03, 2010, 04:29:14 PM

(http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/muppet/images/thumb/4/48/Mumford.jpg/300px-Mumford.jpg)

ah shoulda know this was coming but juice still come out my nose  :rotfl:
Post by: weary1969 on March 03, 2010, 06:04:53 PM
Ent Dave Mohammed is the same man who screw up Lloyd and his plane ticket?

D SAMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Post by: STEUPS!! on March 03, 2010, 06:47:44 PM

ah shoulda know this was coming but juice still come out my nose  :rotfl:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Dutty on March 03, 2010, 06:51:01 PM

Post by: Brownsugar on March 03, 2010, 07:02:53 PM
Ah lawd, ah trying to hold back....Jah Gol done kill me enough for the day already....I ent able....
Post by: weary1969 on March 03, 2010, 08:52:39 PM
Ah lawd, ah trying to hold back....Jah Gol done kill me enough for the day already....I ent able....

Gyul u got 2 let it ut doh hold it in. Dey could kill yuh in this place easy easy
Post by: Preacher on March 03, 2010, 09:38:33 PM
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   >:(
Post by: injunchile on March 03, 2010, 09:52:32 PM
Well Lincoln knows what the problems are- Why are we still in this predicament and why then stick with Latapy.
 The only positive is Latapy having a stint with Arsenal and Wenger. I hope he leaves tomorrow because that will really be an eye opener for him. Finally I hope Dwight is not his assistant.
Post by: dinho on March 03, 2010, 10:00:54 PM
In addition, Warner said, the TTFF have accepted an invitation by the English Football Association to have Latapy serve an ’apprenticeship’ with Arsenal Football Club of the English Premier League, ’so he can work with (Arsenal manager) Arsene Wenger’.

ah say just keep squeezing dem english balls Jack, until yuh reduce dem to a powdery substance!!
Post by: Brownsugar on March 04, 2010, 05:44:27 AM

ah say just keep squeezing dem english balls Jack, until yuh reduce dem to a powdery substance!!

Dinho yuh know what would be even worse, if he turn around and vote for the US......
Title: Support grows for Latapy
Post by: Tallman on March 04, 2010, 06:25:25 AM
Support grows for Latapy
T&T Guardian

Technical Director of T&T Football, Lincoln Phillips, believes the country’s football is far from where it should be in today’s modern game. Phillips was among those who threw their weight behind the appointment of Russell Latapy as national coach. Also giving the thumbs up were former national captain Clayton Morris and outstanding current player Kerry Baptiste. Phillips made a presentation on the state of football in the country at the press conference to re-appoint Latapy on Tuesday.

He said gone are the days when a player was confined to one particular role on the field. “The players are extremely skillful. Every player can play anywhere on the field. There are no defensives players, there are no attacking players, and everyone is expected to play his role within the team.” The national icon described T&T’s football as very slow and predictable when compared to the modern day game. “Our speed is very slow, our defenders stay in defence, our half back stay at the half line and our forwards stay in the front line. The game is not fluid any more. That is the challenge we have here in T&T and if we are to dominate in the region, we have to improve significantly.”

He said coaches are ultimately responsible for the performance of the team. “We, as a football federation, have to create an atmosphere where we develop our coaches to teach the modern game. As a technical director, my job is to develop a coaching scheme that will enable our coaches to teach the modern game.” He said the use of technology is another major factor in the modern day game. “No longer can our coaches go into a football game not knowing the opponents. If we do that without technology, it is like sending our coaches out to battle without bullets,” said the man fondly referred to as ‘Tiger’ during his playing days.

Phillips said he is confident Latapy will be able to bring results. “I think we have been looking for far too long at coaches outside the country and spending a lot of money. I feel Russell is the only local coach who would be able to gain the co-operation of the players, and this is a step in the right direction, especially with funding being a problem.” Former Strike Force captain Morris said it is the best thing at this point. “It is good to have a local coach. The Federation does not have enough money and so going local is the best move at this point. Latapy knows the coaches and the culture and he has been around for almost two decades and has a wealth of experience. He will not have the same amount of pressure as he did when he took over from Francisco Maturana,” said Morris.

He is of the opinion that Latapy should have been appointed head coach of the entire programme to ensure the same message is passed on throughout the national teams. Zoran Vranes was retained as Under-23 and Under- 20 coach, but Morris feels this was not a good decision, since he does not know the culture of football in T&T. Baptiste also welcomed Latapy. “That’s great news for our football. He was only in the job for a short period last year but there was evidence that he was doing some great things and now he will have a chance to continue that.

I fully believe Latapy is the right man for the job and positive he will take us to Brazil 2014,” added Baptiste. Also wishing Latapy well was former national player and FIFA technical adviser, Alvin Corneal. “We have to wait and see what he could do. We have nothing to truly base him on, since his previous stint with the team was very short,” said Corneal.

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image_stretched/articles/images/latapy%20shakes.png)
Post by: lefty on March 04, 2010, 07:01:49 AM

an' d alternative is who................ Anton.............I prefer dey give dis anodder shot dan hear dey do dat, he have to change he approach to selection and ah could only hope defensive tactics................ah know d view is dat d man being rewarded for failure eh, but I get d feelin he was setup for dat anyways..............we chances was slim to gone and jack did done close he bank book .............. alyuh believe dat shit bout "not believing in friendlies" jack tell im wuk wit what he have...................which was pretty much nutten......and it will continue to be nutten until jack sees money to be made..............I feeel Latapy contract eh goin an be nutten to talk about money wise............................jack doh like Fenwick head....jack goin' an bring no "big name" coach here any before 2012, Latapy have someting to an two year to prove it.............an' even if he succeeds he could still simple be discarded for d "big name" coach alyuh yearnin for.

man takin what for nex two years, might be ah shit truck wuk an d only ting alyuh could do is cry 'im dong because he couldn't turn around ah already fuucked up campaign.

d problem was I new from d beginnin dat man expectations from latapy being coach was goin to be lofty an' unrealistic, and den d cussin would ah start..................I said as much last year
Post by: asylumseeker on March 04, 2010, 02:05:08 PM
Best of luck to him.

This cyah do his career objectives any harm. Most coaches seek the national coaching position as the pinnacle of their coaching experience. RL gets it early on in his career. What's the downside for him? Regardless of performance, down the road he'll have club prospects opening up for him. Similarly, this will position him to enter the international coaching merry-go-round, for better or worse.

Iz best we get this out of our system now. It's RL's to bring it or drop it.
Post by: Spursy on March 04, 2010, 02:26:23 PM
Congratulations and good luck Coach.

I will 1st observe and reserve judgement on the man until after the gold cup.

1st

what gold cup? we not in it..

Only thing tnt will be doing next couple years is the Caribbean Cup. SHAME SHAME SHAME
Post by: Deeks on March 04, 2010, 03:43:02 PM
Well don't we have to at least place in the top 3 to go to the GC. We don't have auto. bid for the Caribbean. An exception was made for JA because they had qualified for France.
Post by: Preacher on March 04, 2010, 06:39:46 PM

an' d alternative is who................ Anton.............I prefer dey give dis anodder shot dan hear dey do dat, he have to change he approach to selection and ah could only hope defensive tactics................ah know d view is dat d man being rewarded for failure eh, but I get d feelin he was setup for dat anyways..............we chances was slim to gone and jack did done close he bank book .............. alyuh believe dat shit bout "not believing in friendlies" jack tell im wuk wit what he have...................which was pretty much nutten......and it will continue to be nutten until jack sees money to be made..............I feeel Latapy contract eh goin an be nutten to talk about money wise............................jack doh like Fenwick head....jack goin' an bring no "big name" coach here any before 2012, Latapy have someting to an two year to prove it.............an' even if he succeeds he could still simple be discarded for d "big name" coach alyuh yearnin for.

man takin what for nex two years, might be ah shit truck wuk an d only ting alyuh could do is cry 'im dong because he couldn't turn around ah already fuucked up campaign.

d problem was I new from d beginnin dat man expectations from latapy being coach was goin to be lofty an' unrealistic, and den d cussin would ah start..................I said as much last year

I know you love Latapy.  I am a big fan too.  However, Trinidad have enough money to hire a serious coach for the next 4 years dread.  This story going like this:  Let's take a break from serious senior football for the next 2 years. Then fire Latapy and scramble last minute.  Seen the script and bought the DVD.  If they want Latas so much, pay a proven coach to develop us, keep Latas as the assistant for 2 years and then pass on the job.  I could see the headlines.  Trinidad beaten by Barbados out of Gold Cup Latapy Resigns  A nation's football should not be charity.  What has Latas done since Jack said he needs to develop his coaching? 
Post by: just cool on March 04, 2010, 07:01:24 PM

I know you love Latapy.  I am a big fan too.  However, Trinidad have enough money to hire a serious coach for the next 4 years dread.  This story going like this:  Let's take a break from serious senior football for the next 2 years. Then fire Latapy and scramble last minute.  Seen the script and bought the DVD.  If they want Latas so much, pay a proven coach to develop us, keep Latas as the assistant for 2 years and then pass on the job.  I could see the headlines.  Trinidad beaten by Barbados out of Gold Cup Latapy Resigns  A nation's football should not be charity.  What has Latas done since Jack said he needs to develop his coaching? 

Like you eh see the man was busy palancing wid dwight and brian ahought! i don't mind latas style of play as ah coach, ah just don't agree wid his power tripin and the bad selection policies.

how did i know jack was goin and re-instate latas boy? allyuh could die for this team all allyuh want, but i'm no longer ah true fan, izz just ah casual supporter from now on, once bitten ah whole lot ah times shy! 
Post by: davidephraim on March 04, 2010, 07:40:15 PM
Congrats to Latas on his re appointment, did they say how long the appointment will be for?

I wonder who paying the salary?

With respect to the assistant coach position, I really hope he finds someone with international experience and very defensive minded cause that is where we have been exposed last campaign to telling effect both in open play and set pieces.

Latas will do fine with the tactics offensively and an overall team belief but when it comes down to planning defensively and counter tactics to the opposition, i believe he will need help.

Congrats again.

I like what your saying G. I think someone like Whim under latas could work. I dont think Dwight cuts it. except for being the offensive coach.
Post by: davidephraim on March 04, 2010, 07:50:32 PM

Post by: lefty on March 04, 2010, 09:32:28 PM

my point is simple, let see what can be done wit ah clean slate, we both know how d administration does drop it, I would prefer to see an experienced coach on board too, but unless d admin suddenly grows ah brain, we not seein dat before 2012, sad I know, but true

in latas own eer apparently lackadaisical way he seems to have more of ah handle dis coachin ting dan Mr. Anton "blame everybody else for mi failure" Corneal, hell I'll take Vranes over Anton

for d next two years ttff lookin for cheap an available...............an all I seein is d best out of ah bad set ah choices...............no blind love..........an dat in itself real sad.

peace :beermug:

Post by: Brownsugar on March 05, 2010, 05:25:57 AM

Aye, aye....doh let me and you have to fall out eh....we start back talking national football and ah have to start policing the forum again.... ;D
Post by: Sam on March 05, 2010, 06:22:48 AM
We doomed !!!!!!   :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Latas go have de team training in Tobago for de next six months and no friendly in prep for de Caribbean Cup.
Post by: jai john on March 05, 2010, 09:55:36 AM

Latas go have de team training in Tobago for de next six months and no friendly in prep for de Caribbean Cup.

...and no training rong carnival time !!!
Post by: Small Change on March 07, 2010, 06:22:34 PM
TTFA! Ah efffn joke yes!!! Latas is not experienced enough! Oliver Camps and Jack Warner are the same jokers for years. No change!!

Latas would be a great assistant coach; a bridge between a high profile, experienced international coach and the players!!!!!!!!
Post by: Preacher on March 07, 2010, 07:41:10 PM

Doh Sweat Brownsugar go be trowing them party.   ;D
Post by: STEUPS!! on March 07, 2010, 09:10:17 PM
waiz wit all d doom an gloom in here dread? allyuh in here is psychic ah wat? lewwe see wat goin an happen before we talk . yuh never know.... d team cud do a complete 180 on we.

as fans we hadda do better dan dat. it dont make sense throwin tantrums an gettin on like babies cuz allyuh didnt get wat allyuh want. all who callin 4 foreign coach! allyuh really believe any big name coach will want to coach our soca warriors? keep dreamin.

latas is our coach. he have two years, lewwe see how he handles d team without being under d pressure of qualifying  for d world cup.  if he fork up, den all d bashin on him is deserved.

scene?
Post by: just cool on March 07, 2010, 09:15:38 PM
waiz wit all d doom an gloom in here dread? allyuh in here is psychic ah wat? lewwe see wat goin an happen before we talk . yuh never know.... d team cud do a complete 180 on we.

as fans we hadda do better dan dat. it dont make sense throwin tantrums an gettin on like babies cuz allyuh didnt get wat allyuh want. all who callin 4 foreign coach! allyuh really believe any big name coach will want to coach our soca warriors? keep dreamin.

latas is our coach. he have two years, lewwe see how he handles d team without being under d pressure of qualifying  for d world cup.  if he fork up, den all d bashin on him is deserved.

scene?
We already know what going and happen, and it's nothing different than what took place from may to november 2009. but like yuh said, maybe he would do ah total turn around and surprise we.   i just here watching and :waiting:
Post by: injunchile on March 08, 2010, 04:04:25 PM
Well Miracles do happen do happen. I still waiting for a burning bush experience with this T&T team.
 Maybe the Prime Minister prophetess told Jack something. Hey Is Trinidad we talking about. Brown sugar I deliberately left out Tobago as Tobago football culture different from the mainland.
Post by: WestCoast on March 08, 2010, 05:29:26 PM
right leh we see now
congrats Coach
is a two year constract he say ??? :whistling:
ent the next world cup in 2014 ::)
anyway....show dem coach...day go have to leh you tek we Brazil

Dinho yuh know what would be even worse, if he turn around and vote for the US......
if de US put MORE money in AJW bank account.................no problem
Post by: dreamer on March 08, 2010, 07:52:40 PM
Go Latas!!!!  :wavetowel:
You is de damn ting self. Take it away ......
2 delicious years to transform our football from the START not with no last minute ting under Jackula's blacklisting gun. Yeah Jackula still dey, but yuh have room and time (kind of) to do it properly
Post by: arrow on March 09, 2010, 03:35:16 PM
Congrats to Aklie Edwards and Densill Theobald on cementing their place for the next 2 years
Post by: Preacher on March 09, 2010, 03:40:12 PM
Congrats to Aklie Edwards and Densill Theobald on cementing their place for the next 2 years

::)
Post by: Brownsugar on March 09, 2010, 08:03:34 PM

Aye Arrow, long time no see..... ;D
Post by: weary1969 on March 09, 2010, 09:08:59 PM

Aye Arrow, long time no see..... ;D

COSIGNNN WELCOME BCKKKKK