General => General Discussion => Topic started by: AirMan on March 16, 2010, 09:08:13 AM

Title: Pensioner tells Manning "You are not Welcome!"
Post by: AirMan on March 16, 2010, 09:08:13 AM
(http://www.newsday.co.tt/galeria/FRONT-1_PM_walk_in_San_Juan.jpg)

ALEXANDER BRUZUAL Tuesday, March 16 2010

click on pic to zoom inHEY FRANKIE: Prime Minister Patrick Manning greets former PNM minister Franklyn Khan who happened to be driving in the San Juan area at the same time ...« prev photo next photo »AN ANGRY pensioner yesterday held on to the shoulders of Prime Minister Patrick Manning as he chased him off his property, after the Prime Minister entered the man’s premises un-welcomed, during a walkabout of the St Joseph constituency. Read the rest..http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,117390.html
Title: Re: Prisoner tells Manning "You are not Welcome!"
Post by: lefty on March 16, 2010, 09:14:02 AM
prisoner  ???
Post by: AirMan on March 16, 2010, 09:17:56 AM
prisoner  ???

Fixed
Post by: truetrini on March 16, 2010, 09:25:57 AM
prisoner  ???

Fixed

You on a campaign!
Post by: AirMan on March 16, 2010, 09:27:12 AM
prisoner  ???

Fixed

You on a campaign!

sure..check this one..http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=48601.0
Title: Re: Pensioner tells Manning "You are not Welcome!"
Post by: Sam on March 16, 2010, 10:46:01 AM
It shoulda been me, Manning woulda get ah buss head.. De ole fella bad for years....

That man will bury Trinidad and Tobago.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 16, 2010, 10:53:25 AM
Shoot he ole arse manning doh let he rile up for you... u is de fadder of Modern Trinidad 2020...
Post by: AirMan on March 16, 2010, 10:54:52 AM
Shoot he ole arse manning doh let he rile up for you... u is de fadder of Modern Trinidad 2020...

:rotfl: :rotfl: *Tears*
Post by: lefty on March 16, 2010, 10:56:16 AM

doh give d man dem ideas..............dat self important fuucka so full of it, u nevva know what he might start doing nex'
Post by: sammy on March 16, 2010, 11:01:41 AM
manning had a terry/bridge moment  :rotfl:

anyhow, manning just disrespect the man and walk past him into his yard yes........... :-\  no respect for the elders, no respect for the youths, no respect for himself, no respect for T&T >:(
Post by: Daft Trini on March 16, 2010, 11:03:25 AM
Manning declares war
‘They coming at me from all angles.... but I fighting to the end’
GAIL ALEXANDER
Published: 16 Mar 2010

This 81-year-old retired public servant blocks Prime Minister Patrick Manning from entering his (the retiree’s) yard in San Juan during a PNM walkabout in the area yesterday. Photo: Kristian De Silva
A war is on between Government and some elements of the construction sector, and some “soldiers” may fall, Prime Minister Patrick Manning declares. “But Government is determined to carry this to a finish, because at the end of the day, it is the people who will benefit,” Manning told PNMites at a St Joseph meeting last night, after a walkabout in the area. Manning added: “See what is happening in the newspapers and you realise it is a plan to kill Manning—when I say ‘kill’ I’m not talking about....you know how they like to misunderstand—but we are not prepared to accept the established order, and we are going to fight until we change it.
The people deserve value for money. “Those who wish to do right have to face the slings and arrows of those who do wrong, and if you want to achieve anything as someone striving for rectitude, you have to have endurance and determination, and must not allow yourself to be scared. “They’re coming at me from every angle, but I fear no man.” Manning’s tour of the East-West Corridor seat took place as Government continued fielding criticism on various issues stemming from ex-Udecott chairman Calder Hart. Addressing the PNM meeting, Manning said he was not “bad talking” anybody, but he felt citizens needed to know the facts.
He said Government’s development drive had run into some construction practices which Government was not prepared to tolerate any longer. He related problems with practices which made Government lose control of its projects, delivery time and other aspects. “We said that doesn’t work, and we‘re not going that way anymore.” Manning added. He pointed out, for example, that the price of a roof for the proposed Carnival centre in Port-of-Spain was $45 million less from a Far East company than it was for another company.
He added: “So what you see happening today is a battle between Government and largely the construction sector and some elements of this. “It is not all; there are some good people in it. Government is saying we’re not prepared to tolerate it anymore. “And it is war, you know, and soldiers may fall along the way.” He said it took eight months to build the Prime Minister’s residential complex, while it took almost three years to build Belmont Police Station. “We are not accepting that, and we will fight until this is changed!” Manning said the people elected him not to fear anyone, but to conduct T&T’s business in the best way, “and I will continue to fight that battle until the people get their just due. “That’s what this is all about!”
Manning said it was not true that Government was out of touch with public sentiment on the issues, since PNMites were touring and holding meetings continuously. Manning was greeted warmly by many along the walkabout. However, at the eastern end of Real Street in San Juan, Manning was blocked from a yard by an 81-year-old retired public servant. The elderly man, who declined to give his name, angrily berated Manning and blocked Manning, insisting that Manning refrain from greeting other members of the family. He told the Guardian he had been a loyal PNM supporter up to the last election, but was now in favour of “change.”
Complaining bitterly about Government, he said he was fed up of the situation in the country and current issues. “I don’t want to hear anything from Manning and them,” he said, complaining about the Udecott issue. Concern about the Udecott issue was also expressed to Manning by another resident, Rev Courtney Joseph, who told Manning he had just returned from Bermuda and he was embarrassed by the situation. Joseph told Manning: “If the Prime Minister is sincere, he has my support, but I am very concerned about the situation with Udecott, and I feel it should be dealt with. “The PM told me he would deal with it and he told me to ‘stay tuned’,” Joseph said.
After the walkabout, Manning told reporters that residents’ response was much better than he had expected. He said the area had a high Muslim population, and the party felt that the PNM had a lot of support in the area. He was heartened by responses. Manning said local government elections would be later this year. The walkabout took place as Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar held a meeting at Himalaya Club, eight blocks away from Manning’s meeting.
Post by: AirMan on March 16, 2010, 11:06:20 AM
manning had a terry/bridge moment  :rotfl:

anyhow, manning just disrespect the man and walk past him into his yard yes........... :-\  no respect for the elders, no respect for the youths, no respect for himself, no respect for T&T >:(

As soon as the pensioner touched Manning, two members of the Prime Minister’s private security detail pulled both men apart. One told the pensioner, “You cannot do that. You can’t touch the Prime Minister!”

As a tense confrontation ensued, the pensioner fearlessly said, “You have to be mad, this is my house!”  :rotfl:
Post by: TriniCana on March 16, 2010, 11:48:18 AM
So allyuh know somebody pension coming late or might just get lost in the mail for the next couple ah months eh?
Post by: Conquering Lion on March 16, 2010, 08:15:42 PM
Manning boldface to walk in the man yard "just so" despite the man telling him to leave.

What is interesting is that the man coulda cuff down or stab up Manning if he had a weapon...
Post by: AirMan on March 17, 2010, 01:34:19 AM

PM stages walkabout in san juan-barataria

http://www.youtube.com/v/uDZDIQXopG8
Post by: just cool on March 17, 2010, 03:23:32 AM
Under all the ole talk, that old fella is ah serious c#nt!!! and iz ppl like him who the yutes model them selves after.

whether yuh agree or hate the man politics, yuhs ah elder and should show much more restraint than what he showed. he must be in opposition to the pnm, Bc i sure if that was ah U.S. president he would chill and deal ah little more equitable wid the head of state.

that's why the country have so much crime and criminals, that's BC elders like him eh have no respect for authority , and they passed it on to the younger generation without even being conscious of it.
Post by: sammy on March 17, 2010, 04:18:15 AM
Under all the ole talk, that old fella is ah serious c#nt!!! and iz ppl like him who the yutes model them selves after.

whether yuh agree or hate the man politics, yuhs ah elder and should show much more restraint than what he showed. he must be in opposition to the pnm, Bc i sure if that was ah U.S. president he would chill and deal ah little more equitable wid the head of state.

that's why the country have so much crime and criminals, that's BC elders like him eh have no respect for authority , and they passed it on to the younger generation without even being conscious of it.

the younger generation - manning- have no respect for the elder,s and some like to flout their authority/position with and take advantage of people mocking them with utter arrogance and disdain. If that was sabga house, u think he woulda walk in jus so? No is only poor black people cud get bobolized so.
Post by: lefty on March 17, 2010, 05:07:03 AM

the younger generation - manning- have no respect for the elder,s and some like to flout their authority/position with and take advantage of people mocking them with utter arrogance and disdain. If that was sabga house, u think he woulda walk in jus so? No is only poor black people cud get bobolized so.

tell im nah, u have the right to refuse entry to anyone who cannot prove lawful right to be on your property
Post by: WestCoast on March 17, 2010, 06:33:29 AM
manning must be figure dat the ole fella was the "yard boy"
he brush by the man oui :rotfl: :rotfl:

what that Man should have done is charge Manning with Tresspassing

dat ole fella out for some serious trouble now doh
is ah good ting he ent working as manning would ah get he fired
manning ent easy eh
Post by: Brownsugar on March 17, 2010, 06:37:30 AM

It reminds me of when the man pelt the shoe at Bush.  Bush's stocks were so low, the pelter ignored the premise of respect the office and let Bush have it.  I suspect its the same thing going on with the ole man....Manning eh nobody's favourite right now....except he either doh know it or he pretending he doh know....
Post by: D.H.W on March 17, 2010, 07:17:08 AM
stueps regardless of who it is, dont walk in my yard without permission. he lucky is not in the US where dem Hicks does live, shoot first ask questions later
Post by: Peong on March 17, 2010, 08:35:51 AM

Who disrespect who now?
It good for Manning.
Post by: Deeks on March 17, 2010, 08:57:48 AM
JC,
          Bro, I beg to differ with you on this one. Is pure fustration causing that. That man must be a staunch PNM all his life and he just can't take it no more. Granted most of us don't know what it like to actually run a country. Patrick has shown little inclination until now to walk the streets to gauge the heartbeat of his OWN constituency. No amount of money and bribery can sway people to shut when there is GENUINE problems at home. All the vicious crime happening in PNM constituencies and he acting like is just a passing cloud.
Post by: Touches on March 17, 2010, 09:41:40 AM
Don't Worry Matrick Panning will pray for the pensioner.
Post by: elan on March 17, 2010, 09:58:11 AM
Any of you all really take in what you all type in response to JC? I don't believe yo all think through those response.

just cool respect fella, if we had more adults who think like you, the country would be in a better place. respect for others is always a good thing, thank you for pointing that out.
Post by: truetrini on March 17, 2010, 09:59:34 AM

Like him, love him, hate him, despise him, HE IS STILL THE PM..respect the office man!
Post by: Brownsugar on March 17, 2010, 10:11:54 AM
Any of you all really take in what you all type in response to JC? I don't believe yo all think through those response.

just cool respect fella, if we had more adults who think like you, the country would be in a better place. respect for others is always a good thing, thank you for pointing that out.

I understand what JC is saying.  However, the old man's actions are a clear indication of how unpopular Manning is.  Question is, is he paying attention??
Post by: Conquering Lion on March 17, 2010, 10:23:05 AM

While I agree with you, it comes from the top as well. Manning had no right to walk in the man yard ESPECIALLY if the man told him that he was not welcome. Manning walk in de man yard because as far as he was concerned, "mister pensioner u could say what u want...I is de Prime Minister and I could walk where I feel!"
Post by: Jumbie on March 17, 2010, 10:40:57 AM

Like him, love him, hate him, despise him, HE IS STILL THE PM..respect the office man!

:applause: EXACTLY!
Post by: lefty on March 17, 2010, 10:54:31 AM

and u hit d nail on d head right there Manning eh respect nobody....give none, get none, two wrong doh make ah right, but

what does happen when "GOOD MEN DO NOTHING" again?.............................

Post by: TriniCana on March 17, 2010, 10:56:23 AM
So basically what you all are saying, is the Prime Minister or any other diplomat can walk into a premises without the owner's permission?

Because I'm thinking if Manning had any respect of the citizens of the country, he would have abide with the man's wishes and move the f**k on. But that's just me!!

Post by: lefty on March 17, 2010, 11:04:35 AM
So basically what you all are saying, is the Prime Minister of any other diplomat can walk into a premises without the owner's permission?

Because I'm thinking if Manning had any respect of the citizens of the country, he would have abide with the man's wishes and move the f**k on. But that's just me!!

:thumbsup: :beermug:
Post by: Boodsy on March 17, 2010, 11:31:39 AM
So basically what you all are saying, is the Prime Minister or any other diplomat can walk into a premises without the owner's permission?

my thoughts exactly :thumbsup:
Post by: fishs on March 17, 2010, 11:33:00 AM

Blame it on Manning handlers (security, constituency people) they should have seen what was going on and directed him past the man's house.
Post by: Jah Gol on March 17, 2010, 12:57:23 PM
He should have known better and avoided the incident. Tell the man to have a nice day, wave to the people in the house and continue the tour. It was very poor judgment in my view.
Post by: Jumbie on March 17, 2010, 01:25:20 PM
doh get meh wrong. Mr Manning and/or his handlers could have avoided this and respected the man wishes. But still - respect the position the man holds.

From the video, does it look as if manning knew what the man was referring to with his arms in the air and crossed? I'm just wondering if in the rush if Mr Manning wasn't clear about the actions of the man.
Post by: D.H.W on March 17, 2010, 01:25:41 PM

exactly!!!!! it doh matter who the person is, is private property get the f&*k off, i cah walk into manning palace and tell he Move, so why must he do it to the small man. position or not, he have to respect the man wishes, Manning is NOT the owner of the property
Post by: Quags on March 17, 2010, 01:47:30 PM
Respect is a two way street ent ?

was it King David take ah man , wife and got  blown out by god.You have to respect a mans property  .King or pauper same rules.
Post by: TriniCana on March 17, 2010, 01:48:05 PM
doh get meh wrong. Mr Manning and/or his handlers could have avoided this and respected the man wishes. But still - respect the position the man holds.

From the video, does it look as if manning knew what the man was referring to with his arms in the air and crossed? I'm just wondering if in the rush if Mr Manning wasn't clear about the actions of the man.

That is Manning's permanent facial expression Jumbie. Dumbfounded!!!
I honestly think that this pensioner just created a thrend. Let's see how many more properties Manning and his detail are allowed into.

On a personal note, I, a proud woman will not bow/curtsy to Queen Elizabeth. Been there, done that and still wears the Tshirt. Same as if Basdeo approach me at my opened gate and extends his hand, I would politely decline the first time.

Respect goes both ways for me.

*edit* Q you were already posting yours, while I was typing mine. I just realized I ended mine with your beginning..... :beermug:

Post by: Brownsugar on March 17, 2010, 02:09:41 PM
There is a song peformed by a woman named Sharon Fraser - "Doh come"....never heard about her before but ah like de song bad, bad, bad.  Ah goh try and find it.....and I'll wait patiently for Manning to pass by me to play it.....
Post by: just cool on March 17, 2010, 03:29:47 PM
Allyuh missin the point man. yes the old fella have ah right tuh allow whoever he wants on his premises, and yes manning had no right to ignore the man's request refusing entry onto his property, but for an elder, he needed tuh set ah better example when dealing with the head of state!

this blantant disregard for our leader is getting terribly out of hand now! manning might be a lot of things like TT said, but respect the office! iz that too much too ask?

and yes, the old fella was right , after all it's his property, but he set ah disgusting example for an elder, and this is why i said, the yutes have no role models on that island anymore, that's BC these new elders into themselves so much , that they forget the yutes watchin and learning.
Post by: TriniCana on March 17, 2010, 04:10:41 PM
just cool and trinity cross, I hear what allyuh saying, but how can we respect the office, when said government and PM don't respect it far less the citizens? The other day Goopesingh insulted the Finance Minister about her deceased husband's money (personal insult in a public forum, in front of the PM and Speaker? nah!!). The rest of them laugh. How many times it had cuss out between Ministers? Even the House Speaker (all of them) get level cuss out from PMs and Ministers. Cell phones and laptop galore that make headline news.  Deplorable behavior from both sides and yet you want me the civilian to respect the office?

Look, only the President is suppose to have the coat of arms on his vehicle. Manning show allyuh he could do what dey hell he wants. Every where else getting new building, what's happening with the President's House? And he getting away with it because nobody wants to tell him no.

I'll stand next to that pensioner!

Again, respect goes both ways!
Post by: WestCoast on March 17, 2010, 04:44:05 PM

so why so many people does HATE on the Colonial masters
They were is charge so we HAD to pay respect to them....not so
and
To arse wid them having any respect for the Country of TnT and just rape the natural resources nuh
dem is we boss let dem take what de arse day wanted
did they show respect by NOT properly building up the infrastructure of the WHOLE country....no no no

man
when this thinking going and stop

He should have known better and avoided the incident. Tell the man to have a nice day, wave to the people in the house and continue the tour. It was very poor judgment in my view.
maybe next time Patos ;)
Post by: Quags on March 17, 2010, 05:27:43 PM
Allyuh missin the point man. yes the old fella have ah right tuh allow whoever he wants on his premises, and yes manning had no right to ignore the man's request refusing entry onto his property, but for an elder, he needed tuh set ah better example when dealing with the head of state!

this blantant disregard for our leader is getting terribly out of hand now! manning might be a lot of things like TT said, but respect the office! iz that too much too ask?

and yes, the old fella was right , after all it's his property, but he set ah disgusting example for an elder, and this is why i said, the yutes have no role models on that island anymore, that's BC these new elders into themselves so much , that they forget the yutes watchin and learning.
I think youall being hash and judgmental ,without knowing all the facts . That man could being really betrayed my Manning in the past .
And it look like his hand X ,was really a cross .
Post by: just cool on March 17, 2010, 05:40:05 PM
That's exactly what he did! the thing happen real fast horse, and when mannin went through the old fella block him and he just turn and walk away, to me he eh really force the issue.
Post by: just cool on March 17, 2010, 05:41:54 PM

Exactly, the thing happened real fast, and when manning got the message he turned and walk right away, like i said no biggy.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 17, 2010, 08:08:02 PM
I wasn't going to post anymore on this but with all the discussions about the video I had to take a look see (I didn't see the original news report either so I might as well).....

Did anybody notice the lady in black with the PNM logo ushering Manning into the yard?  I don't know why she insisted Manning must go into the yard, she could have helped the avoid the incident.  She was there moments before Manning entered the shot and the old man already had his hands up.  The whole thing from start to end seems as though nobody was taking the old man seriously......even in the still shot shown earlier in the thread, it seems as though everyone was having a good chuckle at the old man's expense. 

I am now putting myself in the old man's position, I definitely eh want Manning, nor any politician in my yard (well I share a yard so lets say apartment).  I put up mih hands to block them from entering and yuh push past mih and going een.....nah, nah yuh looking for a good boof!!...
Post by: Bakes on March 17, 2010, 08:53:25 PM
...Manning had no right to walk in the man yard ESPECIALLY if the man told him that he was not welcome. Manning walk in de man yard because as far as he was concerned, "mister pensioner u could say what u want...I is de Prime Minister and I could walk where I feel!"

All ah allyuh who taking that "tresspass" angle talking more from emotion than anything.  First off, watch dat picture accompanying de article and yuh'll see everybody thought is kicks de ole man was on.  Aside from which, I wasn't dey but the article says that as the old man was grandstanding by de gate, simultaneously there was at least one other adult on the premises waving to Manning.  The woman waving to him is clearly demonsrating that she is receptive to his presence... how is Manning supposed to know who has the say between two adults, one who tells him he cannot enter (apparently in jest) and the other who beckons him with a wave?  Not to get technical, but legally as long as someone who is a lawful resident of the address invites him he is free to enter even over the objections of the actual owner.

Only in a jokey country like Trinidad would that man get away with putting he hands on the Prime Minister/Head of State or whatever, and eh get he neck lock  and force tuh eat ah face full ah dirt in return.

Dah ole man play de ass... just because is Manning doh make it right, anymore than de fella pelting he shoe at Bush was right.  If was Obama "Joe the Plumber" had pelt he shoes at all ah allyuh (excepting ribbit) would be singing ah different tune.

I can't disagree with this... seems to me he misread de situation.
Post by: Babalawo on March 17, 2010, 09:02:18 PM

PM stages walkabout in san juan-barataria

http://www.youtube.com/v/uDZDIQXopG8
pensioner looked like a crazy man too me.  Story overhyped
Post by: elan on March 17, 2010, 10:14:42 PM
It does not matter what other people do, it's your response that should be important. This is what President Obama trying to teach Americans (my take) and they cannot comprehend. You should not allow others to DICTATE how you respond or act in a situation. Because Mannning doh respect he office or he does tief or lie means that everyone in the country must be that way? We do not have people responsible and mature enough to say "he is that way, but I can show a different way."?

We does talk about long time, but apparently none ah we eh take nothing away from this so called great era. I remember my mother use to beat into me that when I see my friends doing wrong walk the other way and tell the teacher or come home and say something. I remember that real good.

I think I'm a bit confused by some of these responses. Honestly I am. We bad talk all the guntas and they lack of respect, but condone the ultimate show of disrespect because it convenient to us?  This is where the break down in our society starts. Simple situations like tehse are imprinted in the minds of the younger ones.

I'm disappointed.
Post by: Conquering Lion on March 17, 2010, 10:42:09 PM
It does not matter what other people do, it's your response that should be important. This is what President Obama trying to teach Americans (my take) and they cannot comprehend. You should not allow others to DICTATE how you respond or act in a situation. Because Mannning doh respect he office or he does tief or lie means that everyone in the country must be that way? We do not have people responsible and mature enough to say "he is that way, but I can show a different way."?

We does talk about long time, but apparently none ah we eh take nothing away from this so called great era. I remember my mother use to beat into me that when I see my friends doing wrong walk the other way and tell the teacher or come home and say something. I remember that real good.

I think I'm a bit confused by some of these responses. Honestly I am. We bad talk all the guntas and they lack of respect, but condone the ultimate show of disrespect because it convenient to us?  This is where the break down in our society starts. Simple situations like tehse are imprinted in the minds of the younger ones.

I'm disappointed.

:applause: :applause:
Exactly right, and it starts at all levels (including the top) and both sides (Manning & Old man pensioner). I even remember the scene with Panday and the laptop in Parliament, and the big fuss about it. Up to this day nobody stand up and say de man wrong for breaching parliamentary procedure (as I recall).

People not standing up for the right thing, the leaders tiefing, and we now wondering where all the crime and lawlessnes come from.......
Post by: Quags on March 17, 2010, 11:47:19 PM
Doh put Obama in this ,cause it have plenty homes he will get a similar response in the states if not worst .And trust me I think he would be smart enough not to push past the home owner .But then again he look cocky himself.
Cant beleive alyah putting the failure of a nation on one old guy ,who maybe paid all his taxes and worked hard hid whole life .Maybe lost kids to crime or poor health care ,who maybe asked the PMN for help and never got it .To many unknowns here .
Post by: Daft Trini on March 18, 2010, 03:48:11 AM
Obama and Manning have the same cocky attitude....
Post by: TriniCana on March 18, 2010, 04:24:18 AM
I like this. Good discussion going on in this thread.  :beermug:

I honestly don't care who you are. From public servant to President, if I don't like you, you are not allowed on my property/premises without my permission. Those 4 corners are mine to protect and be comfortable in. I'm certainly no hypocrite, I'm not going to disrespect the office you hold. From one human being to another, if I say you are not welcome on my property, respect my wishes and continue moving down the road.

It's that simple for me.
Post by: Deeks on March 18, 2010, 06:33:45 AM
Ladies, Guys,
                   I was not even looking at the trepassing aspect of this incident. Please,  Manning eh trespassing per se. He is a politician doing things that politicians do. Politicians do walkabout thru their constituenccies. That is the norm, even if it comes across like window dressing. We stretching this thing to far.  As  disrespecting the office of the pM, I agree it was not  the right thing, but I dont think the guy decided to diss the PM or the office of the PM. I don't feel this old fellah is a rogue or disrespectful person. It was just a spontaneous reaction to the situation that has been festering in the country. How often does the PM come around to your house to hear your greviences. There is GENUINE problems facing the country, and some in the PM constituency has express their displeasure. Sorry it came accross like that. But I do hope he gets the message.
Post by: lefty on March 18, 2010, 07:16:32 AM
Ladies, Guys,
                   I was not even looking at the trepassing aspect of this incident. Please,  Manning eh trespassing per se. He is a politician doing things that politicians do. Politicians do walkabout thru their constituenccies. That is the norm, even if it comes across like window dressing. We stretching this thing to far.  As  disrespecting the office of the pM, I agree it was not  the right thing, but I dont think the guy decided to diss the PM or the office of the PM. I don't feel this old fellah is a rogue or disrespectful person. It was just a spontaneous reaction to the situation that has been festering in the country. How often does the PM come around to your house to hear your greviences. There is GENUINE problems facing the country, and some in the PM constituency has express their displeasure. Sorry it came accross like that. But I do hope he gets the message.

some fellas doh understand dat, yuh mus ignore d problems an' behave like ah nice chile...................... in france when d monarchy heads got to big they lost them..................and france was better for it.

It is not jus dis single incident you know, by and large many sections of the electorate have felt largely dismissed and disrespected by dat same office, and feel inclined to give some back if or when given the opportunity.

remember dis democracy ting was supposed to be "by d people" "for d people"...............is time for doctor politics an' dis present incarnation of it to dead...time enough man
Post by: Peong on March 18, 2010, 08:06:07 AM
Ladies, Guys,
                   I was not even looking at the trepassing aspect of this incident. Please,  Manning eh trespassing per se. He is a politician doing things that politicians do. Politicians do walkabout thru their constituenccies.

Deeks that is a powerless argument yuh put forward.
A walkabout doh give anybody any special powers, they still subject to law AND common-sense.

I don't think that he intentionally trespassed, Manning probably didn't understand what was goin on at first but when it became clear he got the hell outta dodge.

That is all fine, Manning not known for being quick mentally, and he probably doh unerstand how strongly ppl feel against him, but doh try to defend his actions by sayin he allowed to do those things because he is PM or because he doin a walkabout.
That is rubbish.
Post by: sammy on March 18, 2010, 08:36:36 AM
allyuh forgetting that the PM suppose to be working for the old man. Is he, as a voter, who helped to put manning where he is today. So who is the boss and who is the servant, and who should command more respect?

Until people know their rights, politicians would continue to take advantage of us. Those people in government are  hired and fired by us. I dont understand the emphasis on respect for the office and not respect for the people who are ultimately the power holders.
Post by: D.H.W on March 18, 2010, 08:40:30 AM

I honestly don't care who you are. From public servant to President, if I don't like you, you are not allowed on my property/premises without my permission. Those 4 corners are mine to protect and be comfortable in. I'm certainly no hypocrite, I'm not going to disrespect the office you hold. From one human being to another, if I say you are not welcome on my property, respect my wishes and continue moving down the road.

It's that simple for me.

exactly i doh get what is the confusion there.
Post by: lefty on March 18, 2010, 08:43:36 AM

It's that simple for me.

exactly i doh get what is the confusion there.

me neither
Post by: Daft Trini on March 18, 2010, 11:39:41 AM
I have been tagged, emailed and skype'd this clip over and over.

Technology is not a good thing for Trini's nah... so too is education...

From what I found out... Manning was hugging Elderly people... de man brakes him... but just because Manning get blank doh mean he has to stop being a Politician... there were members of that household that was willing to accept Manning greeting... the man tried to prevent that...

People saying that Manning infringed on he constitutional rights... Under the constitution the State technically own everything...

Rights My arse... In the Pledge... you have to respect those in authority and dat ole man show no respect for Manning... He is still the Leader of the Nation and how much we hate him... we should not openly disrespect him like that... Manning was doing damage control in de wake of recent incidents... the media, people farseness and macco's have to take some blame for this...! This got blown out of proportion... just do like de UNC supporters of 1991... dey smile in NAR face... take employment and voted behind they back for UNC...!

Post by: Deeks on March 18, 2010, 02:57:17 PM
We getting this thing overblown. If technically the PM trespassing then I guess the postman, the Wasa meter man, the TTec man or Jehoviah witness does tresspass also.

Manning did not go there to harm the man like some bandit. The whole media was there to take in the scene. If Manning did just walk down the road and waved at everybody and did not go to talk to individuals, they would say: " look at he, he is just a pompous so and so, he would not even come and talk to we ..... all he do is wave at we...".

Them bandit and them does tresspass and kill citizens and I don't hear allyuh talk about them infringing on people constitutional rights and respect, except if it is allyuh family or good acquaintances.

The PM has all the rights and priviliges to tour constituencies in the country, even those that he did not carry. The citizens have a right to express their displeasure. Unfortunately this incident got slightly out of hand. And like I said before, I don't think the pensioner intended to be malicious or disrepectful. He just damn fustrated with the PM
Post by: WestCoast on March 18, 2010, 09:17:41 PM
I read the article in the first post initially, then recently looked at the video and may have hit Patos a bit hard in my other post
Post by: AirMan on March 18, 2010, 09:44:12 PM
Manning declares war
‘They coming at me from all angles.... but I fighting to the end’
GAIL ALEXANDER
Published: 16 Mar 2010

This 81-year-old retired public servant blocks Prime Minister Patrick Manning from entering his (the retiree’s) yard in San Juan during a PNM walkabout in the area yesterday. Photo: Kristian De Silva
A war is on between Government and some elements of the construction sector, and some “soldiers” may fall, Prime Minister Patrick Manning declares. “But Government is determined to carry this to a finish, because at the end of the day, it is the people who will benefit,” Manning told PNMites at a St Joseph meeting last night, after a walkabout in the area. Manning added: “See what is happening in the newspapers and you realise it is a plan to kill Manning—when I say ‘kill’ I’m not talking about....you know how they like to misunderstand—but we are not prepared to accept the established order, and we are going to fight until we change it.
The people deserve value for money. “Those who wish to do right have to face the slings and arrows of those who do wrong, and if you want to achieve anything as someone striving for rectitude, you have to have endurance and determination, and must not allow yourself to be scared. “They’re coming at me from every angle, but I fear no man.” Manning’s tour of the East-West Corridor seat took place as Government continued fielding criticism on various issues stemming from ex-Udecott chairman Calder Hart. Addressing the PNM meeting, Manning said he was not “bad talking” anybody, but he felt citizens needed to know the facts.
He said Government’s development drive had run into some construction practices which Government was not prepared to tolerate any longer. He related problems with practices which made Government lose control of its projects, delivery time and other aspects. “We said that doesn’t work, and we‘re not going that way anymore.” Manning added. He pointed out, for example, that the price of a roof for the proposed Carnival centre in Port-of-Spain was $45 million less from a Far East company than it was for another company.
He added: “So what you see happening today is a battle between Government and largely the construction sector and some elements of this. “It is not all; there are some good people in it. Government is saying we’re not prepared to tolerate it anymore. “And it is war, you know, and soldiers may fall along the way.” He said it took eight months to build the Prime Minister’s residential complex, while it took almost three years to build Belmont Police Station. “We are not accepting that, and we will fight until this is changed!” Manning said the people elected him not to fear anyone, but to conduct T&T’s business in the best way, “and I will continue to fight that battle until the people get their just due. “That’s what this is all about!”
Manning said it was not true that Government was out of touch with public sentiment on the issues, since PNMites were touring and holding meetings continuously. Manning was greeted warmly by many along the walkabout. However, at the eastern end of Real Street in San Juan, Manning was blocked from a yard by an 81-year-old retired public servant. The elderly man, who declined to give his name, angrily berated Manning and blocked Manning, insisting that Manning refrain from greeting other members of the family. He told the Guardian he had been a loyal PNM supporter up to the last election, but was now in favour of “change.”
Complaining bitterly about Government, he said he was fed up of the situation in the country and current issues. “I don’t want to hear anything from Manning and them,” he said, complaining about the Udecott issue. Concern about the Udecott issue was also expressed to Manning by another resident, Rev Courtney Joseph, who told Manning he had just returned from Bermuda and he was embarrassed by the situation. Joseph told Manning: “If the Prime Minister is sincere, he has my support, but I am very concerned about the situation with Udecott, and I feel it should be dealt with. “The PM told me he would deal with it and he told me to ‘stay tuned’,” Joseph said.
After the walkabout, Manning told reporters that residents’ response was much better than he had expected. He said the area had a high Muslim population, and the party felt that the PNM had a lot of support in the area. He was heartened by responses. Manning said local government elections would be later this year. The walkabout took place as Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar held a meeting at Himalaya Club, eight blocks away from Manning’s meeting.

http://www.youtube.com/v/mEz8KEut5eE
Post by: Themanfriday on March 19, 2010, 07:22:43 AM
stueps regardless of who it is, dont walk in my yard without permission. he lucky is not in the US where dem Hicks does live, shoot first ask questions later

That is not true since If Obama was entering someones property they would have recognized his position and either close their doors or speak with him. You make it sound like in the US is a bunch of mindless gun happy animals.

Of course he would not just walk in since arrangements would have already been made as to which homes he would visit and security check would also have been completed.
Post by: AirMan on March 19, 2010, 11:37:46 PM
PM: Man who blocked me lives in Canada
Ria Taitt Political Editor
Saturday, March 20th 2010

Prime Minister Patrick Manning last night revealed that the 81-year-old pensioner from Real Street, San Juan, who attempted to deny him (the PM) entry onto his property, does not reside in Trinidad and Tobago.

Manning’s disclosure, which came during a debate on the Supreme Court of Judicature Amendment Bill in the House of Representatives, was made after the matter was raised partly in jest by Oropouche East MP Roodal Moonilal.

Pulling out a piece of paper from which he read, Manning declared: ’It turns out, Madam Deputy Speaker, that the 81-year-old gentleman is a resident of Winnipeg, Canada.’

’Or-horrrr!’ Government MPs chorused.   :D............ Read the rest http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161611234

Post by: Babalawo on March 20, 2010, 12:45:01 AM

Prime Minister Patrick Manning last night revealed that the 81-year-old pensioner from Real Street, San Juan, who attempted to deny him (the PM) entry onto his property, does not reside in Trinidad and Tobago.

Manning’s disclosure, which came during a debate on the Supreme Court of Judicature Amendment Bill in the House of Representatives, was made after the matter was raised partly in jest by Oropouche East MP Roodal Moonilal.

Pulling out a piece of paper from which he read, Manning declared: ’It turns out, Madam Deputy Speaker, that the 81-year-old gentleman is a resident of Winnipeg, Canada.’

’Or-horrrr!’ Government MPs chorused.   :D............ Read the rest http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161611234

oh gawd, who's Manning PR person?  why Manning giving the old man the importance of attention??  His colleagues laughing at him?  This reminds me of Obama and "Joe the Plumber" , Obama made him huge and give him a career by giving him media attention days after.  Bad move Manning
Post by: just cool on March 20, 2010, 03:28:13 AM

oh gawd, who's Manning PR person?  why Manning giving the old man the importance of attention??  His colleagues laughing at him?  This reminds me of Obama and "Joe the Plumber" , Obama made him huge and give him a career by giving him media attention days after.  Bad move Manning
could it be that the old man was alberta trini? :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on March 20, 2010, 06:23:06 AM

That is not true since If Obama was entering someones property they would have recognized his position and either close their doors or speak with him. You make it sound like in the US is a bunch of mindless gun happy animals.

Of course he would not just walk in since arrangements would have already been made as to which homes he would visit and security check would also have been completed.

Obama and manning is two different people, either way i still stand by my first statement. rank or not, people have a choice.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 20, 2010, 07:35:56 AM
No, no, wait....dem went and find out who the old man is??  Dese people serious??  So let's say I leave Trinidad and Tobago and gone abroad to live.  I come back for a lil R&R by mih house in Tobago and Manning passing and ah tell him doh come een.....so because mih eh living in the house 365, that mean ah cyar tell Manning doh come een?? 

Dese people serious??!!  First Manning take up good Parliamentary time to preach to we some weeks ago, now is to tell we the old man not living here....steups!!.....well this man skin real thin and real swell headed boy, geez!!!   ::) ::)
Post by: TriniCana on March 20, 2010, 08:45:29 AM
No, no, wait....dem went and find out who the old man is??  Dese people serious??  So let's say I leave Trinidad and Tobago and gone abroad to live.  I come back for a lil R&R by mih house in Tobago and Manning passing and ah tell him doh come een.....so because mih eh living in the house 365, that mean ah cyar tell Manning doh come een?? 

Dese people serious??!!  First Manning take up good Parliamentary time to preach to we some weeks ago, now is to tell we the old man not living here....steups!!.....well this man skin real thin and real swell headed boy, geez!!!   ::) ::)

co sign!!!
Post by: Peong on March 20, 2010, 09:56:06 AM
That is just a terrible response by Manning.
How did this fool become Prime Minister again?
Post by: TriniCana on March 20, 2010, 10:24:17 AM

Nah man. In his first year of PM, I can't remember him being so stupid and without a conscience.
I think it was in the last 3 years Patrick has become a different person. Them Cuban doctors fack him up.
Post by: Jumbie on March 20, 2010, 10:26:09 AM
The same breath I say gramps should respect the office of the PM. The same way Patos had the opportunity to say, Gramps, If I somehow infringed on you or your property, I apologize.  No need to take this further and it would have shown that even though I'm PM, I respect your rights. Patos would have stood out as the bigger man.

People does get opportunities and waste them boi. Now where the man living etc is everybody business.
Post by: Jumbie on March 20, 2010, 10:29:08 AM
PM..you have me on the floor laughing. I cud see it now..Patos in a hospital bed in Havana with ah drips bottle full ah shit plugged into he veins and them Cubans singing Guantanamera while calculating they fee.
Post by: Boodsy on March 20, 2010, 10:35:34 AM
PM..you have me on the floor laughing. I cud see it now..Patos in a hospital bed in Havana with ah drips bottle full ah shit plugged into he veins and them Cubans singing Guantanamera while calculating they fee.

Post by: Bakes on March 20, 2010, 08:39:50 PM

I know it trendy to beat up on Manning... but in fairness de man was just responding to some good-natured ribbing he was getting.  Allyuh does take things too serious sometimes.  If Manning fart the press have to collect ah sample to determine what he had fuh dinner.  As fuh finding out where de man live that di'n have to take no effort on dem part, somebody from de area easily could tell de local MP "doh study da fella... he doh even live dey, he living Canada long time".  Word about that reaching Manning ears isn't evidence of misplaced priorities any more than Manning's response to Roodal Moonilal.
Post by: TriniCana on March 20, 2010, 10:03:34 PM
Patrick Manning needs to fire his PR advisors. A damn shame.

Villafana raps PM

.I was born here
ANIKA GUMBS-SANDIFORD
Published: 21 Mar 2010

“I was born a Trinidadian and will die one,” says Percy Martin Villafana, as he dismisses Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s statement that he is not a citizen of T&T, but of Winnipeg, Canada. Displaying proudly a T&T identification card, Villafana, 81, described Manning as “pig-headed.” He was speaking about the incident during the Prime Minister’s walkabout in San Juan last week. An outspoken Villafana, who has no regrets for his actions, said if given the opportunity again he would do the same thing. The elderly man grabbed headlines last week when he crossed his hands and blocked the Prime Minister from entering his Real Street, San Juan home.
“There are so many more important things to do, and the Prime Minister takes the time to investigate me. “I visit my four children abroad and return to my home every year.

I have no idea what the Prime Minister is speaking about. “I am a citizen of T&T for the past 81 years; I was born and grew up in this house and will die here. I am Trini to the bone; so I do not know where he got his information from. “The time he is taking to investigate me he should be fixing the current state of the country...It is because of this I cannot support the People’s National Movement.”

http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/03/21/villafana-raps-pm
Post by: Bakes on March 21, 2010, 01:58:45 AM
Of course Manning never said de man wasn't ah citizen of TnT... tut tut.  Come now Guardian.

De press taking ah li'l gun talk in Parliament and making ah big scene about it.  I agree though, presented out of context this is bad PR, Manning shouldn't be stoking the flames, joke or no joke he only stands to lose.
Post by: Themanfriday on March 21, 2010, 04:22:30 AM
Of course Manning never said de man wasn't ah citizen of TnT... tut tut.  Come now Guardian.

De press taking ah li'l gun talk in Parliament and making ah big scene about it.  I agree though, presented out of context this is bad PR, Manning shouldn't be stoking the flames, joke or no joke he only stands to lose.

Note that a resident and a citizen are two entirely different things. So Manning might actually be correct when he used the word resident.

REsident only means that the person is in receipt or posession on a resident card thus allowing then to travel fresuently in and out of a country with out prejudice. They can legally obtain employment but is limited from state and federal.  Well no need for me to talk citizen talk..... you can be a resident of one country but a citizen of another. This is what most ex-pats are today. 

Post by: Flex on March 21, 2010, 06:17:12 AM
The man who dared to touch the PM
I am no visitor, I am Trini, says Percy Villafana...
Kim Boodram (T&T Express).
Sunday, March 21st 2010

The man who famously blanked Prime Minister Patrick Manning during a People’s National Movement (PNM) walkabout last Monday said yesterday that he is a resident of Trinidad and Tobago and not an annual visitor, as the PM has suggested.

Percy Villafana has become a bit of a celebrity after his actions outside his home on Real Street, San Juan, when he refused to allow Manning to step through his ’gap’ and greet the relatives therein.

Manning was blocked at the gate where Villafana said, ’You are not welcome here’, while holding his forearms in the shape of a cross.

In Parliament on Friday, Manning claimed that Villafana was in a fact a Canadian resident who visits Trinidad and Tobago during the winter season.

Villafana, who said he once supported the PNM as a young man, finds it mostly amusing but slightly disturbing that the PM had him checked out after the incident.

And he stands by his status as a ’Trini’.

’I was born right here, on this spot, grew up here and I live here,’ he said.

’I am a proud father of four with five grandchildren and all my children live in various parts of Canada-including Winnipeg-so I am always visiting them. I travel a lot, as is my right.’

Manning made the allegations on Friday after being heckled about the incident by Oropouche East MP, Roodal Moonilal.

Retrieving a slip of paper from his back pocket, Manning announced: ’It turns out, Madam Deputy Speaker, that the 81-year-old gentleman is a resident of Winnipeg, Canada.’

Chided by Moonilal for taking the time to stake out the man’s business, Manning replied, ’I just have to use the machinery of the People’s National Movement.’

Relaxing on his breezy porch yesterday, in between sips of cold mauby, Villafana calmly stated that if last Monday was to repeat itself, he would still ’brace’ the PM.

The 81-year-old widower, a former Co-operative Development Officer with the Ministry of Agriculture, is not inclined to hide his thoughts or feelings on the present government.

Re-enacting the form of the cross with his arms, Villafana said: ’That sign is to ward off evil.’

But seriously, Villafana did something that even Manning’s most ardent detractors might shy away from were they to meet the PM in person. Why?

’A $2 million flag? You’ve got to be joking,’ Villafana said quietly.

’Not while the Croisee is so filthy and at any given time there are four or five homeless people sleeping in the bus shed. Not while the San Juan River is filled with filth.

’And have you seen the hospitals? A disgrace. The windows are thick with the mess from birds and dust. The facilities are hideous. Terrible. People are suffering. Would I do it again? Absolutely. Too many people are not brave enough to do things like that.’

The pensioner said he has gotten nothing but positive feedback on his actions from residents in the area, a sign that the citizenry is displeased even in PNM strongholds.

Villafana said he was also irked by a remark made by a member of Manning’s security detail immediately after the incident.

’One of his security men told me that there was one thing I ’did wrong’,’ said Villafana, who is still collecting ’fatigue’ from people in the area over the incident.

’I asked him what that was and he said, ’You touched the Prime Minister’. Excuse me? Who the hell is Patrick Manning? If Jesus Christ was walking down this street and people touched Him as He passed, He would be so pleased. So who is Manning?’

Villafana has said, however, that if the PM wishes to sit down with him for a chat, he is more than welcome.

’Sure, if he wants to come here and ask me a few questions, I would certainly do it. I would tell him everything I said here today about why I did what I did on Monday,’ he said.
Post by: Bourbon on March 21, 2010, 06:32:27 AM

Nah man. In his first year of PM, I can't remember him being so stupid and without a conscience.
I think it was in the last 3 years Patrick has become a different person. Them Cuban doctors fack him up.

Is a UNC heart he have yuh know. I think Tim Goopesingh did organize him with some valve or some pacemaker a while back.
Post by: TriniCana on March 21, 2010, 07:56:09 AM

Is a UNC heart he have yuh know. I think Tim Goopesingh did organize him with some valve or some pacemaker a while back.

Blood transfusion from Wade Mark.
Post by: AirMan on March 21, 2010, 09:16:16 AM
Manning’s image takes a beating

Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s popularity is definitely dwindling, even among his own support base, political analysts have agreed. Manning’s growing unpopularity stems from a series of recent events and his reaction to them, as well as, the “Rowley and Kamla factors,” the Sunday Guardian was told. At least one political scientist felt Manning was “another Panday in the making.” Political scientist Dr Indira Rampersad noted, however, that while support for Manning is declining, it is no indication of declining support for the People’s National Movement. She noted that the ethnic factor always had a major influence on voting patterns and she believes it will be no different in the next general election....
Read the rest..http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/03/21/manning-s-image-takes-beating
Post by: truetrini on March 21, 2010, 09:18:29 AM

Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s popularity is definitely dwindling, even among his own support base, political analysts have agreed. Manning’s growing unpopularity stems from a series of recent events and his reaction to them, as well as, the “Rowley and Kamla factors,” the Sunday Guardian was told. At least one political scientist felt Manning was “another Panday in the making.” Political scientist Dr Indira Rampersad noted, however, that while support for Manning is declining, it is no indication of declining support for the People’s National Movement. She noted that the ethnic factor always had a major influence on voting patterns and she believes it will be no different in the next general election....
Read the rest..http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/03/21/manning-s-image-takes-beating

Keeping yuh agenda alive!
Post by: AirMan on March 21, 2010, 09:21:59 AM

Write to the Guardian if you disagree with the article and quit following me around like a child  :beermug:
Post by: TriniCana on March 21, 2010, 09:47:51 AM
AirMan I appreciate your links plenty. Save me time to go look in other websites during my morning rush hour.
SW.net is the first website I log on too on mornings, I just press ya links to get meh news one time. Ahhh the power of convenience. ;D

But your first link (Haiti I'm sorry) will always be in the SW.net history archives.  :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on March 21, 2010, 10:21:06 AM

Write to the Guardian if you disagree with the article and quit following me around like a child  :beermug:

Following you around?  you make posts, I see them and I say you have an agenda...whats wrong with that?  Why you taking offense.  Do you deny having an agenda?

Answer like a BIG MAN then!

I waiting to see balance in yuh reporting..Mr. Cut Paste from the Guardian etc.

Show me the other side so we can have debate.  Yuh flogging ahd dead horse with yuh agenda anyway.  Those here who going against the PNM already decided as are those whoa re staying with the PNM..So if yuh want to sway, do so in a balanced manner!

Dais all..agenda and all!
Post by: truetrini on March 21, 2010, 10:25:25 AM
AirMan I appreciate your links plenty. Save me time to go look in other websites during my morning rush hour.
SW.net is the first website I log on too on mornings, I just press ya links to get meh news one time. Ahhh the power of convenience. ;D

But your first link (Haiti I'm sorry) will always be in the SW.net history archives.  :beermug:

I use the inks he provides too yuh know...I jes want the odder side...is like he cyar find dem or wha?   Or is it an agenda?  I jes asking and he not answering at all at all.

I have my anti religion campaign/agenda too, so me eh see why he so defensive if is not true what I asserting!  :beermug:

Post by: AirMan on March 21, 2010, 10:31:40 AM
  :rotfl:  Trinity Cross what are you in standard 5 , and no one in the school newspaper is saying anything good about yor favourite teacher at the moment so you feel hurt or something  :rotfl:..why does it concern you so much if another Trinidadian is PNM or UNC?..you would have to get used to this or you would be crying everyday in here..You are the only one who speaking of an agenda so tell me what is my so called agenda i dont know about ...Come fast ah have some food to cook
Post by: Brownsugar on March 21, 2010, 10:38:59 AM

Girl ah chook that fire in another thread just this morning.... ;D ;D
Post by: TriniCana on March 21, 2010, 11:50:35 AM

I'm on this forum I think since 04 or 05, and including AirMan's post, I have 2 others that I consider the best of SW.net. And when I say best, I mean me falling off chair, rolling on the ground, choking and cyah catch mehself kinda bess.

1. Oconnorg - Toliet paper bad mind
2. Trinifinitite - Mother looking for him during WC Germany
3. AirMan - New find of David Rudder (Haiti I'm Sorry video)

I crying here oui :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Boodsy on March 21, 2010, 12:40:48 PM
this thread heading nowhere fast...
time to close it :-\
Post by: TriniCana on March 21, 2010, 01:43:18 PM
this thread heading nowhere fast...
time to close it :-\

go ahead.
Post by: weary1969 on March 21, 2010, 03:12:36 PM

I'm on this forum I think since 04 or 05, and including AirMan's post, I have 2 others that I consider the best of SW.net. And when I say best, I mean me falling off chair, rolling on the ground, choking and cyah catch mehself kinda bess.

So where connorg and TI THREADS
Post by: boss on March 21, 2010, 03:43:55 PM

Nah, sorry...that is the all-time greatest  :rotfl:  :beermug:
Post by: AirMan on March 21, 2010, 04:02:43 PM

Taken from the Trinidad Guardian

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/cartoon_indiv_page/cartoon/walkabout%20toon.png)
Post by: Brownsugar on March 21, 2010, 05:05:58 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Airman you go ahead with this campaign yuh on..... ;D
Post by: D.H.W on March 21, 2010, 05:14:33 PM
manning looking like he have duck mouth  :D
Post by: truetrini on March 21, 2010, 07:15:51 PM
  :rotfl:  Trinity Cross what are you in standard 5 , and no one in the school newspaper is saying anything good about yor favourite teacher at the moment so you feel hurt or something  :rotfl:..why does it concern you so much if another Trinidadian is PNM or UNC?..you would have to get used to this or you would be crying everyday in here..You are the only one who speaking of an agenda so tell me what is my so called agenda i dont know about ...Come fast ah have some food to cook

So where did I mention UNC or PNM?  Yuh come good now.  I understand yuh position.  But truth is yuh is jes ah rabble rousing trouble maker.  You cyar vote in T&T yuh is jes ah trini version of ah carpet bagger.  lol

Talk about standard 5 yuh eh ready for me.  I slumming right now chatting with you.  As for cooking food, go line up for chow and hush breds...do dat
Post by: AirMan on March 21, 2010, 07:30:34 PM
Someone give Trinity Cross a hug  :rotfl:  ...
Post by: AirMan on March 21, 2010, 07:53:19 PM
Following you around?  you make posts, I see them and I say you have an agenda...whats wrong with that?  Why you taking offense.  Do you deny having an agenda?

Answer like a BIG MAN then!

I waiting to see balance in yuh reporting..Mr. Cut Paste from the Guardian etc.

Show me the other side so we can have debate.  Yuh flogging ahd dead horse with yuh agenda anyway.  Those here who going against the PNM already decided as are those whoa re staying with the PNM..So if yuh want to sway, do so in a balanced manner!

Dais all..agenda and all

So where did I mention UNC or PNM?  Yuh come good now.  I understand yuh position.  But truth is yuh is jes ah rabble rousing trouble maker.  You cyar vote in T&T yuh is jes ah trini version of ah carpet bagger.  lol

Talk about standard 5 yuh eh ready for me.  I slumming right now chatting with you.  As for cooking food, go line up for chow and hush breds...do dat

(http://www.boston.com/yourlife/family/blog/baby-crying%20jpg.jpg)
Post by: just cool on March 21, 2010, 07:58:51 PM

You slummin? nah! i cyar believe that. :devil:
Post by: truetrini on March 21, 2010, 08:06:14 PM

send yuh sister.  I go show she the snake in the balisier.
Post by: AirMan on March 21, 2010, 08:11:19 PM

:rotfl: She said she could now understand why the snake & baliser need desperate help from an obeah woman
Post by: D.H.W on March 22, 2010, 08:26:10 AM
lord hmmmm  :D alyuh not easy nah
Post by: Daft Trini on March 22, 2010, 08:42:48 AM
Mama yo... look what dis facking pensioner do this thread eh... he should ah keep his canadian arse quiet, shake the Emperor hand. He causing strife in Parliament... dem Parties, Communities and even between forumites....

Post by: sammy on March 22, 2010, 09:00:44 AM

:rotfl: She said she could now understand why the snake & baliser need desperate help from an obeah woman

allyuh eh easy nah
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 22, 2010, 11:09:16 AM

This is the Trinity Cross I know.
Post by: fari on March 22, 2010, 12:36:14 PM

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/cartoon_indiv_page/cartoon/walkabout%20toon.png)

dat hot...dey should make t-shirts with that
Post by: Touches on March 22, 2010, 01:04:15 PM

Check out These Comments From Express Readers (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161611234)
Post by: Andre on March 22, 2010, 02:14:42 PM
a lil cutlass play from uncle woulda make this more interesting.
Post by: Dutty on March 22, 2010, 02:43:18 PM
dat CIA tactic really backfire on he oui......but even without the benefit of 'handlers' common sense should dictate dais ah imps move
Post by: STEUPS!! on March 22, 2010, 04:51:56 PM

dat hot...dey should make t-shirts with that

is a navel breakers muh boy have on dey!  ;D
Post by: Andre on March 23, 2010, 10:47:20 AM
percy gone facebook!

i feel he should run for PM.

PERCY 2010!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161612893
Post by: boss on March 23, 2010, 12:07:29 PM
And twitter!  :rotfl:

http://twitter.com/percyvillafana

Post by: D.H.W on March 23, 2010, 12:23:26 PM
the man is a icon now. lol
Post by: Dutty on March 23, 2010, 01:04:45 PM
Czechs--Velvet
Ukraine -Orange
Lebanese-Cedar

T&T-the Percy revolution
Post by: dinho on March 23, 2010, 05:34:27 PM
percy gone facebook!

PERCY 2010!

big hit on facebook.. 40 fans!  ::)
Post by: TriniCana on March 23, 2010, 06:07:01 PM
percy gone facebook!

PERCY 2010!

Percy Villafana - Citizen Supreme  <------more like 1057 facebook fans.

edit* I now saw this response on the page. See where they reach?

Caribbean Hindus Let us make the X or the + the symbol for our contempt and disgust at these politicians like Manning who betrayed the trust of the people. Whenever they approach us, show them the X or +. Like the Mexican wave at sports events, the people should show them a collective X or + ... they can't arrest anyone for that, the new non-violent symbol of civil disobedience.

Post by: just cool on March 23, 2010, 06:09:24 PM
I will repeat, that ole fella iz ah serious neanderthal, and trini ppl iz turning him into ah cult hero. and why am i not suprised?

BC these are the same ppl who applaud nonsense, while ignoring the issues @ hand! these are the same ppl who who reward mediocrity while they scoff @ simple progress.

these is the same ppl who will spend their last tuh play mass and leave their bills unpaid. so i guess i'm not really surprised.
Post by: mukumsplau on March 23, 2010, 06:46:11 PM
feel i bodderin wit trinidadians...dem like ah fad like ah fashion ting tuh follow...one of the common comments is that he 'liberating' ppl to do what they've always wanted to do but were afraid...pot boilin...leh we hope it doh have an incident like wha happened wit berlusconi
Post by: AirMan on March 23, 2010, 06:57:05 PM
Czechs--Velvet
Ukraine -Orange
Lebanese-Cedar

T&T-the Percy revolution

Post by: Deeks on March 23, 2010, 08:59:53 PM
percy gone facebook!

PERCY 2010!

Percy Villafana - Citizen Supreme  <------more like 1057 facebook fans.

edit* I now saw this response on the page. See where they reach?

Caribbean Hindus Let us make the X or the + the symbol for our contempt and disgust at these politicians like Manning who betrayed the trust of the people. Whenever they approach us, show them the X or +. Like the Mexican wave at sports events, the people should show them a collective X or + ... they can't arrest anyone for that, the new non-violent symbol of civil disobedience.

It looks like the cross will be coming back in fashion.
Post by: Peong on March 26, 2010, 08:00:34 AM
 http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161614927
Manning booed
Protesters call for PM to resign
Camille Bethel South Bureau
Friday, March 26th 2010

Prime Minister Patrick Manning faced an unprecedented protest outside his San Fernando East constituency office yesterday, involving union members pushing for him to reverse unpopular decisions amid growing public discontent.

They also asked that he resign.

Manning refused to meet with protest leaders, ignoring them as he left at around 6.30 p.m. He was booed by protesters but cheered by office staff.

Police SUVs were used to form a barricade to prevent protesters from getting close as a smiling Manning left.

Manning normally meets constituents between 4 p.m. and 10 p.m. every Thursday.

UNPOPULAR: Prime Minister Patrick Manning was booed by union protesters but cheered by his San Fernando East constituency office staff yesterday. Members of the Oilfields Workers' Trade Union (OWTU) are demanding that Manning reverse unpopular decisions and resign. -Photo: Trevor Hackett

The protest was kept secret. The media were invited to attend an emergency general council meeting of the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) at its San Fernando headquarters, and then taken by bus to Manning’s Coffee Street office of 13 years.

Union president general, Ancel Roget, said he did not bother asking for a meeting with Manning ’because we don’t expect him to come in his arrogance’.

The protest was kept secret until the final minutes to prevent the police from finding out, the Express was told.

Southern Division Task Force officers arrived during the protest and ordered protesters off the road as they chanted ’we will keep on struggling until Manning goes away’ and ’Manning in the office hiding from workers’.

Roget said the protest was meant ’to bring the message to Manning that he must go. This PNM government is the most corrupt in the history of Trinidad and Tobago. If Manning wants to say this is political, then it is’.

The OWTU is one of the largest unions in the country and represents workers of Petrotrin, T&TEC and more than 60 other companies involved in oil and gas, manufacturing, agriculture and financial services.

Roget said the union learnt on Wednesday that Cabinet had instructed Petrotrin to give $46 million toward a development at Plaisance Park, Pointe-a-Pierre, as an act of political patronage.

’We see it as further politicking to support themselves in office, as they brace themselves for what will be a very turbulent general election to come,’ he said.