Sports => Football => Topic started by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 08, 2010, 01:43:12 PM

Title: El Clásico • Madrid CF v FC Barcelona • 10 April 10
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 08, 2010, 01:43:12 PM
(http://blackchristiannews.com/news/real_madrid_logo08653.jpg)(http://www.soccerbyives.net/soccer_by_ives/images/2008/04/23/fc_barcelona_logo.jpg)
Saturday, 10 April 2010, 4:00pm Trinidad Time (subject to correction)

(http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/kammourewa/2310733548_72dd4726b6.jpg)

League Ranks
FC Barça, 1st, 77 points, Goal difference, +56
Real Madrid, 2nd, 77 points, Goal difference, +57

Current Form
(La Liga ONLY)

FC Barcelona
away WWWWW

Real Madrid
home WWWWW

Past Meetings
This season
Barcelona - Camp Nou
FC Barcelona 1-0 Real Madrid CF
1-0 : Ibrahimovic 56'

Top Scorers
Real Madrid v FC Barcelona
Higuaín (24) vs L. Messi (26)
C. Ronaldo (18) v Ibrahimovic (15)
Kaká (7) v .Pedro (7)

(http://estaticos01.marca.com/albumes/2009/05/02/realmadrid_barcelona/1241298401_extras_albumes_0.jpg)
Title: Re: El Clásico • Madrid CF v FC Barcelona • 10 April 10
Post by: Spursy on April 08, 2010, 03:45:26 PM
Madrid going to win this by 3 goals.
Post by: D.H.W on April 08, 2010, 05:22:22 PM
go barca.... ?  :'(
Post by: Jah Gol on April 08, 2010, 06:22:09 PM
Madrid going to win this by 3 goals.

(http://biobreak.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/insane-insanity-plea-straight-jacket-crazy-nuts.jpg)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 08, 2010, 06:31:40 PM
Should be Epic

Viva Ronaldo
Post by: Raul on April 08, 2010, 09:31:31 PM
Current Form
(La Liga ONLY)

FC Barcelona
away WWWWW

Real Madrid
Home WWWWW

Let me clarify the form a little better:

FC Barcelona
Away WWDLWWWWWDDDWW

Real Madrid
home WWWWWWWWWWWWWWW
Post by: Toppa on April 08, 2010, 11:35:38 PM
Current Form
(La Liga ONLY)

FC Barcelona
away WWWWW

Real Madrid
Home WWWWW

Let me clarify the form a little better:

FC Barcelona
Away WWDLWWWWWDDDWW

Real Madrid
home WWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

;)

I knew something look off about that.
Post by: Observer on April 09, 2010, 06:18:40 AM
Real should have the upper hand physically. Barca had the midweek game and usually teams are sluggish after that game. Having said that quite a few of their players were not involved so they should freshen up the squad. Can't wait for this one
Post by: spideybuff on April 09, 2010, 07:04:10 AM
Ahh...it's wonderful being a neutral and just being able to enjoy a good game between 2 great sides with great players without getting all frustrated when your side getting licks.

It should be a cracker.
Post by: xixgon on April 10, 2010, 04:02:26 AM
Ronaldo vs. Maxwell = possible ouch haha.

El Clasico Teaser/Prediction

Eduardo Alvarez - ESPN Soccernet

Real Madrid have a bunch of stars who met this season; Barcelona have a top-level team who have played together for years. Real Madrid have at least one issue for each line (as in unreliable full backs, out-of-shape defensive midfielders and under-pressure-to-prove-their-worth strikers), while Barcelona have a solution for each line.

Real Madrid have a goalkeeper who behaves as though he's already made it, while Barcelona's keeps showing his hunger for bigger and better things. Real Madrid have only one shot at silverware this season and will play feeling this pressure, while Barcelona have other options and can play in a more relaxed way.

That being said, this must be a do-or-die match for Cristiano Ronaldo. CR9 was bought by Real Madrid as their own version of Messi, the go-to guy who should win matches by himself whenever required. CR9, appearing unhappy while wearing his baggy jersey all season, must be absolutely fed up with all this Messi talk. As in the case of Pellegrini, this match should be a defining moment for CR9.

And then you have the Madrid media labelling Arbeloa with the 'Anti-Messi' tag. Really? Arbeloa? This match has to be a Barca victory.
Post by: shotters365 on April 10, 2010, 11:07:22 AM
So anyone have info on what channel the game will be on,  :( :(
Not seeing anything on flow TV guide ??? :'( :'(
If not, what about live streams?
 :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:  :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 10, 2010, 11:30:43 AM
Barca with a last minute goal to win 2-1 after real madrid dominate the game..at least that is what my crystal ball is saying.
Post by: D.H.W on April 10, 2010, 12:30:44 PM
time for some live feeds, flow is shit again

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=71776&part=sports

http://www.atdhe.net/17115/watch-real-madrid-vs-barcelona

http://www.atdhe.net/17072/watch-real-madrid-vs-barcelona

http://www.atdhe.net/17018/watch-real-madrid-vs-barcelona

http://www.atdhe.net/17017/watch-real-madrid-vs-barcelona
Post by: fari on April 10, 2010, 12:53:34 PM
i warming up with fiorentina vs inter...this game start off hot

before that licking barca put on meh side i woula pick them over real...but now i just want to see a good game wid plenty ps3 touches ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on April 10, 2010, 01:27:29 PM
Valdés, Puyol, Piqué, Milito, Maxwell, Keita, Sergio, Xavi, Alves, Messi and Pedro.
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 10, 2010, 01:37:23 PM
what time d game startin?
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 01:38:13 PM
Casillas, Albiol, Ramos, Arbeloa, Garay, Marcelo, Van der Vaart, Gago, Alonso, C. Ronaldo, Higuain.

Not feeling Garay, indifferent about Van Der Vaart and Gago....but I eh no coach...

Madrid will have to play near a perfect game to beat Barca in the form that they (Messi in particular) are in....
Post by: Jah Gol on April 10, 2010, 01:47:24 PM
what time d game startin?

Post by: 2cents on April 10, 2010, 02:01:33 PM
Hope for a good game...as well as that Ronaldo vs Messi live up to the hype.

As a Barca fan must want  a win as well
Post by: richpy on April 10, 2010, 02:01:50 PM
But this Guardiola is a mad man.

Dani Alves, Messi, Pedro up top?

Is Henry injured.

I find this man treating Henry real shabby these days
Post by: 2cents on April 10, 2010, 02:06:16 PM
I'm suprised Madrid gone with 2 finesse men in d middle with Alonso and Gago...no steel with either Lass or Mahmadou
Post by: giggsy11 on April 10, 2010, 02:10:28 PM
Real rell pressin the ball.
Post by: theworm2345 on April 10, 2010, 02:11:03 PM
Bastard deserves it  >:(
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 02:12:27 PM
Cagey first 10 mins.... both teams showing each other respect...\

Ronaldo breed Busquets...
Post by: richpy on April 10, 2010, 02:13:26 PM
Very interesting to see the tactics right now.

Barca trying to establish a rythm, Real trying to mke the game choppy
Post by: giggsy11 on April 10, 2010, 02:14:13 PM
Bastard deserves it  >:(

And he one demensional.
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 02:27:21 PM
Marcelo breeds Alves
Post by: richpy on April 10, 2010, 02:33:58 PM
Real playing stink

GOOOOOOOOOL!!! MESSI!!!!!!
Post by: Babalawo on April 10, 2010, 02:34:18 PM
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL
Post by: Jah Gol on April 10, 2010, 02:34:59 PM
Messi Goal
Post by: giggsy11 on April 10, 2010, 02:36:00 PM
Oh man was dat? And Real tryin tuh break up man!
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 02:37:46 PM
1-0 Messi...First real shot on goal for any team

Ronaldo looks hurt. 

Game has opened up.
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 02:40:43 PM
Real playing stink

Just very physical- nothing over the top.

Alonso shoulda tied it up.
Post by: sammy on April 10, 2010, 02:49:08 PM
pedro now get a flying elbow from the top rope yes  :devil:
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 10, 2010, 02:50:22 PM
dis game not livin up to d hype..........well at least not yet  :-\
Post by: FF on April 10, 2010, 02:50:31 PM
pedro now get a flying elbow from the top rope yes  :devil:

ha ha i now telling meh partner de same ting... my boy hit him ah peoples elbow
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 02:52:26 PM
Decent first half- very very tense and cagey... nothing really separating the teams except the goal.  

Madrid has done a good job of breaking up Barca, and have actually had enough looks at the goal to be even or up in this game.  Barca of course with more possession, but quiet by their standards as far as carving open the back line and creating real chances.

Game definer is one moment of brilliance by the two geniuses- Messi & Xavi...nothing you could really do about that.  

Ronaldo looks hurt- not good...

I don't think any of the keepers have made a meaningful save.  
Post by: sammy on April 10, 2010, 03:03:30 PM
Decent first half- very very tense and cagey... nothing really separating the teams except the goal.  

Madrid has done a good job of breaking up Barca, and have actually had enough looks at the goal to be even or up in this game.  Barca of course with more possession, but quiet by their standards as far as carving open the back line and creating real chances.

Game definer is one moment of brilliance by the two geniuses- Messi & Xavi...nothing you could really do about that.  

Ronaldo looks hurt- not good...

I don't think any of the keepers have made a meaningful save.  

wheres kaka? he injured?

-----

ok got my answer from the commentator
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 03:06:19 PM

wheres kaka? he injured?

Yeah sports hernia- supposedly he's been struggling with it all season
Post by: Andre DosSantos on April 10, 2010, 03:14:21 PM
Gol pedro 2-0
Post by: richpy on April 10, 2010, 03:14:41 PM
GOOOOOOL!! young Pedrito!!!!
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 03:15:12 PM
Xavi again dread...lawd....

That could be game over  
Post by: sammy on April 10, 2010, 03:15:31 PM
game over
Post by: Jah Gol on April 10, 2010, 03:15:35 PM
Post by: Babalawo on April 10, 2010, 03:17:31 PM
SAVE Valdez  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: 2cents on April 10, 2010, 03:17:58 PM
Xavi again dread...lawd....

That could be game over  

I hope coaches at the world cup payin attention, stoppin Xavi gonna be key to beatin Spain. Torres and Villa wicked yes...but this is d man gonna be supplyin the amo.
Post by: Reaper2004 on April 10, 2010, 03:19:10 PM
 Is it just me or is the co-commentator to Ray Hudson keeps calling Van Der Vaart Van Der Farrt? LOL
Post by: richpy on April 10, 2010, 03:24:28 PM
Puyol breed Ramos
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 03:26:42 PM
Ramos is begging for a red card....
Post by: sammy on April 10, 2010, 03:31:42 PM
barca lucky it wasnt the ref who was in charge of Ud vs Bayern............ Ramos get a card for asking for a barca man to get a 2nd yellow.
Post by: sammy on April 10, 2010, 03:32:21 PM
what dey bring on raul for?
Post by: fari on April 10, 2010, 03:48:24 PM
to be frank i expected just a little bit more from real but barca is just barca...a cut above the rest
Post by: WestCoast on April 10, 2010, 03:53:05 PM
Més que un club ??

si
Si Señors ;)

MUCHO MÁS QUE UN CLÁSICO :applause: :wavetowel:
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 03:54:42 PM
Barca's game, Barca's season...again

Not the best performance by Barca- but they did enough, and Madrid just weren't good enough.  

Hope for a slip up (well two actually)...but that's pretty unrealistic in all honesty.

Good fight Madrid- See y'all next season  :-\
Post by: D.H.W on April 10, 2010, 03:56:10 PM
Real lol, Ronaldo like he doing all the work for that team.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 10, 2010, 04:04:34 PM
(http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o122/nigbcn/xavi2.jpg)
Born to play
Post by: Observer on April 10, 2010, 04:05:27 PM
Gago and Sergio Ramos just kicking down people all game. And so Gago eat beat today.
Barca back line were very good and in particular Pique. The overall work rate by every
Barca player to win back the ball  is mpressive.

The game was impressive for me. Tactically Barca were spot on. Denying
VandeVart and Alonso the space to dictate Real's rhythm.

PS:Everytime I see this ref he makes questionable decisions.
Post by: sammy on April 10, 2010, 05:00:15 PM

CR getting what he asked for/deserve
Post by: D.H.W on April 10, 2010, 05:45:30 PM

CR getting what he asked for/deserve

ent!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 10, 2010, 06:39:41 PM
Anyone found the free kick Barca got before Messi scored very very soft?

Messi bought that foul with poor playacting  then they took it quickly and scored

If that was Cristiano we wouldnt hear the end of it

poor conduct
Post by: jai john on April 10, 2010, 07:35:49 PM
Every time I see Madrid play I am more convinced that Ronaldo dose not belong on that team. For that matter neither does Kaka , except I think he can adapt to different styles and might still be useful. Ronaldo however is yet to mature as a player ...he can get better if he would just let others play too !

I really see no comparison with him and Messi, Xavi, Higuain, Alves, and a host of other players who have long since realised that football is a team game and while a forward is granted some leeway, there are just so many times you will receive support if you refuse to see teammates in open positions.

Today Messi showed the great Chasm that exists between him and Ronaldo ...while he was patient to play himself in to the game, Ronaldo frustrated himself and his teammates by showing his unwillingness to bring others into the game. It really looks like Ronaldo plays for Ronaldo ...if the team wins great ..but if Ronaldo scores that is better.

Today Barcelona showed they have a team ...Real Madrid however showed that they are still looking ...

The big price tag on some players has not produced the expected results ...it is like when you bring een an imported dog for a show and a locally bred dog beat him .... that is  not easy especially when everyone and his dog knows what you paid for yours!

Real Madrid might well be advised to spend some of their money on developing young players like Barca has done rather than throwing big money behind players expected to bring instant success.

Benzema is like a lost puppy , and Ronaldo is like a handicap because when the ball gets to him the individual begins and the team fluidity ends. If he succeeds the team is happy but if he fails ..all seems lost ...and he has failed many times in the last games.

You wonder who makes the football decisions along with the President of the club or is it that he alone makes decisions like the one to sell Inter one of the best midfielders in Europe and now have to watch him lead his team where they cannot go. In the past Madrid used to have their home grown players and these players have brought them their greatest successes. Sadly 250 million euros later they are out of the Champions League, the Kings Cup and some would say ..the league title as well. Now the policy is to loan out their young talent and import the finished product ....

As long as club presidents buy players and do not allow coaches freedom in this area....Ronaldo will limp on in a game while  expensive  fit replacements look on from  the bench ..and no one can dare to sub him.

Pellegrini might have lost his job today as he will be blamed for this season's failure which is a shame , but if he goes some other team will surely grab him up.

Barcelona bought players to fit in to their team Real bought players to make a team .. I even heard Real is lining up ..Ribiery ....to play where ? They have no wingers on either side, playing Ronaldo as forward and that is probably because he will not cross the ball but dribble in, and Marcelo is often at left back.

Madrid lacks balance therefore quite content to play Raul, Benzema and Ronaldo at the same time ...all of them will be challenging each other as their styles are similar they are all  finishers. So it is left to see Madrid's next move but I suspect sweeping changes as it will not sit right to watch your sporting enemy win the world's major trophy ..in your stadium with you having to sit and watch from the sidelines.
Post by: Observer on April 10, 2010, 07:50:11 PM
Every time I see Madrid play I am more convinced that Ronaldo dose not belong on that team. For that matter neither does Kaka , except I think he can adapt to different styles and might still be useful. Ronaldo however is yet to mature as a player ...he can get better if he would just let others play too !

I really see no comparison with him and Messi, Xavi, Higuain, Alves, and a host of other players who have long since realised that football is a team game and while a forward is granted some leeway, there are just so many times you will receive support if you refuse to see teammates in open positions.

Today Messi showed the great Chasm that exists between him and Ronaldo ...while he was patient to play himself in to the game, Ronaldo frustrated himself and his teammates by showing his unwillingness to bring others into the game. It really looks like Ronaldo plays for Ronaldo ...if the team wins great ..but if Ronaldo scores that is better.

Today Barcelona showed they have a team ...Real Madrid however showed that they are still looking ...

The big price tag on some players has not produced the expected results ...it is like when you bring een an imported dog for a show and a locally bred dog beat him .... that is  not easy especially when everyone and his dog knows what you paid for yours!

Real Madrid might well be advised to spend some of their money on developing young players like Barca has done rather than throwing big money behind players expected to bring instant success.

Benzema is like a lost puppy , and Ronaldo is like a handicap because when the ball gets to him the individual begins and the team fluidity ends. If he succeeds the team is happy but if he fails ..all seems lost ...and he has failed many times in the last games.

You wonder who makes the football decisions along with the President of the club or is it that he alone makes decisions like the one to sell Inter one of the best midfielders in Europe and now have to watch him lead his team where they cannot go. In the past Madrid used to have their home grown players and these players have brought them their greatest successes. Sadly 250 million euros later they are out of the Champions League, the Kings Cup and some would say ..the league title as well. Now the policy is to loan out their young talent and import the finished product ....

As long as club presidents buy players and do not allow coaches freedom in this area....Ronaldo will limp on in a game while  expensive  fit replacements look on from  the bench ..and no one can dare to sub him.

Pellegrini might have lost his job today as he will be blamed for this season's failure which is a shame , but if he goes some other team will surely grab him up.

Barcelona bought players to fit in to their team Real bought players to make a team .. I even heard Real is lining up ..Ribiery ....to play where ? They have no wingers on either side, playing Ronaldo as forward and that is probably because he will not cross the ball but dribble in, and Marcelo is often at left back.

Madrid lacks balance therefore quite content to play Raul, Benzema and Ronaldo at the same time ...all of them will be challenging each other as their styles are similar they are all  finishers. So it is left to see Madrid's next move but I suspect sweeping changes as it will not sit right to watch your sporting enemy win the world's major trophy ..in your stadium with you having to sit and watch from the sidelines.

Nice read! Well said!  :applause:
Post by: D.H.W on April 10, 2010, 08:33:50 PM
ronaldo should of picked a better club, or stay put
Post by: Spursy on April 10, 2010, 08:45:50 PM
Your speculation is flawed because you are partial towards messi maybe not even Barca.

This. Coaches influences is key for key figures, you are quick to blame the hand instead of the mind.
Looking for a new head coach. The current head coach makes Real look like Man City.

The big price tag on some players has not produced the expected results ...it is like when you bring een an imported dog for a show and a locally bred dog beat him .... that is  not easy especially when everyone and his dog knows what you paid for yours!

I will be sure to send animal control to your home :/
Real problems are much bigger at the moment.

Benzema is like a lost puppy
One puppy that will be a Legend at United.

You wonder who makes the football decisions along with the President of the club or is it that he alone makes decisions like the one to sell Inter one of the best midfielders in Europe and now have to watch him lead his team where they cannot go.
The current head coach have much to blame for his selection and preference also dictatorship maybe the main issue at Real similar to that of Chelsea and if I dare, Man City xD

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: maybe in Argentina, he might know his own people better.
Meh, the Real issue was the accommodation of wesley opted for van de fart and robben for wonderkid cr9.

If Madrid had a better coach the result today would be much different.

In light of what I wrote, sorry for you been the scapegoat lol it was fun taking you apart with your limited soccer knowledge, it was a joy to read your views and analysis, no flame intended.
Glad Wesley is under Jose, they will do great things at inter.
Post by: kicker on April 10, 2010, 09:07:38 PM

In all fairness, that hasn't been the case for a long time.  Both Benzema and Raul have been relegated to Madrid's bench for a long part of this season when the team line up became more stable.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 10, 2010, 10:12:23 PM
All hail King Leo:

http://www.youtube.com/v/jq7FC0pASFo
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 10, 2010, 10:17:48 PM
Should be Epic

Viva Ronaldo

(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/ap/20100410/capt.4e3a9b2200c043b3b2c5794b1f81decf-4e3a9b2200c043b3b2c5794b1f81decf-0.jpg)
Post by: elan on April 10, 2010, 10:30:37 PM
Once again Ronaldo pull a Houdini.
Post by: Bourbon on April 10, 2010, 11:09:11 PM
Dah boots ronaldo cutting go look wet with a barca kit doh.
Post by: xixgon on April 10, 2010, 11:12:58 PM

Nice read! Well said!  :applause:

Higuain is a team player?

Not sure I'd agree with that sentiment.
Post by: sammy on April 11, 2010, 04:49:08 AM
Real need to get Wenger to match barca in that style.
Post by: jai john on April 11, 2010, 06:48:43 AM
Your speculation is flawed because you are partial towards messi maybe not even Barca.

This. Coaches influences is key for key figures, you are quick to blame the hand instead of the mind.
Looking for a new head coach. The current head coach makes Real look like Man City.

The big price tag on some players has not produced the expected results ...it is like when you bring een an imported dog for a show and a locally bred dog beat him .... that is  not easy especially when everyone and his dog knows what you paid for yours!

You wonder who makes the football decisions along with the President of the club or is it that he alone makes decisions like the one to sell Inter one of the best midfielders in Europe and now have to watch him lead his team where they cannot go.
The current head coach have much to blame for his selection and preference also dictatorship maybe the main issue at Real similar to that of Chelsea and if I dare, Man City xD

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: maybe in Argentina, he might know his own people better.
Meh, the Real issue was the accommodation of wesley opted for van de fart and robben for wonderkid cr9.

In light of what I wrote, sorry for you been the scapegoat lol it was fun taking you apart with your limited soccer knowledge, it was a joy to read your views and analysis, no flame intended.

You should know I am a Villareal supporter. I dont support Real Madrid or Barcelona in the spanish league. Pellegrini is not from Argentina he is Chilean. ( even I with limited soccer knowledge knows that ..but you can always google it to make sure ) Juan Roman Riquelme , everyone on this site knows that and I make no apology for it.

Pellegrini fired Riquelme from Villareal then left for Real Madrid. So you see I hold no brief for the man, but one has to give jack his jacket.
I agree with you about Schneider ..I cant see how he could have been allowed to leave while some of the others have stayed.

I am still trying to see where you took apart my analysis ..maybe someone can point this out to me ...
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 11, 2010, 07:03:32 AM
Anyone found the free kick Barca got before Messi scored very very soft?

Messi bought that foul with poor playacting  then they took it quickly and scored

If that was Cristiano we wouldnt hear the end of it

poor conduct

ONE time in how many games Messi maybe dive or carry on with some theatrics and you want to compare him to the reigning mother of all drama queens?  Boy relax yuh self and hush nuh or go back and watch all them manu games where time after time cronaldo dived and dived like it was team tactics.  Of COURSE allyuh wouldn't hear the end of it. And.....as far as him doing all the so-called work for Real Madrid is concerned...is only because he fightin' dong everyting.  He want to take every free-kick, (dat strongman pose must really be working) every penalty (especially the ones he dive for) and like he want every pass in the box (and ALWAYS crying and complaining when he doh get it).  He wants to outdo all his teammates rather than be a team player. Steups.  cronaldo couldn't shine Messi boots.   
Post by: Jah Gol on April 11, 2010, 07:04:23 AM
(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs402.snc3/24397_10150171038805183_851965182_11937456_5201520_n.jpg)
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 11, 2010, 07:08:16 AM
(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs402.snc3/24397_10150171038805183_851965182_11937456_5201520_n.jpg)

Bring on the not so special one
Post by: jai john on April 11, 2010, 07:11:18 AM
On fairness to Ronaldo I think he was a good fit at United. Th coach there is a no nonsense person who is large and in charge. Left to his own devices I feel Ronaldo would self destruct ..just like his teammate Quaresma who like Ronaldo is immensely talented.
I cant see him staying at Madrid for too much longer. He cannot ...he cannot ..he cannot ..be compared with Messi !!
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 11, 2010, 07:21:23 AM
On fairness to Ronaldo I think he was a good fit at United. Th coach there is a no nonsense person who is large and in charge. Left to his own devices I feel Ronaldo would self destruct ..just like his teammate Quaresma who like Ronaldo is immensely talented.
I cant see him staying at Madrid for too much longer. He cannot ...he cannot ..he cannot ..be compared with Messi !!

I really think cronaldo is one of the most naturally talented young footballers on this planet and what he did @ manu worked quite well to manu's strengths (counterattacking) and the EPL's weakness (lots of labouring defenders)....but his ego has got his head is all messed up.   
Post by: giggsy11 on April 11, 2010, 07:25:37 AM
Madrid lacks playmakers, yesterday the attack appeared to begin with and end with Marcelo. Alonso had a poor match and Madrid only started creating opennings when Guti came on. They were winning matches based on individual play versus team play. Ronaldo and the Argentine forward (can't spell his name) are playing for themselves and who could score the most goals. Benzema playing and looking like Berbatov when he on the pitch.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 11, 2010, 07:28:19 AM

I really think cronaldo is one of the most naturally talented young footballers on this planet and what he did @ manu worked quite well to manu's strengths (counterattacking) and the EPL's weakness (lots of labouring defenders)....but his ego has got his head is all messed up. 

Yep, and he has no one to tell him no or sit his arse down. Even at United it appeared that Ferguson was sacrificing team play and other teammates for him to flourish. Chow you are still a dog! ;D
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 11, 2010, 08:10:48 AM
Real Madrid CF 0-2 FC Barcelona
0-1 : Messi 33'
0-2 : Pedro 56'

(http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/8873/barcalpbj31b.jpg)
(http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/473/barcalpbj31c.jpg)
(http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/3847/barcalpbj31d.jpg)

-----------Valdés
Puyol -- Piqué -- Milito -- Maxwell
       Busquets -- Keita
       Alves -- Xavi -- Pedro
                 Messi

63' Iniesta for Maxwell
80' Márquez for Milito
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 11, 2010, 08:34:50 AM

Yep, and he has no one to tell him no or sit his arse down. Even at United it appeared that Ferguson was sacrificing team play and other teammates for him to flourish. Chow you are still a dog! ;D

.....you need to call me something worse than a dog because even in their glorified best, I rather be a dog's PISS than a manUre fan!!  ;D
Post by: giggsy11 on April 11, 2010, 08:52:31 AM

.....you need to call me something worse than a dog because even in their glorified best, I rather be a dog's PISS than a manUre fan!!  ;D

Ah see your years of hatin finally payin off! We finally break from the pressure!
Post by: D.H.W on April 11, 2010, 09:15:16 AM

whats new  :devil:
Post by: dinho on April 11, 2010, 09:18:21 AM
Observations..

- Ramos is a shit. Plain and simple, when you think of top right backs in the world he shouldn't figure in that discussion. Defensively he is a liability. Offensively he is good, but not good enough to get back and defend. The sad thing is he seem to think he much better than the really is where he would be better served to going back to basics. Barca make hay on his side of the field yesterday

- Gago and Garay and to a lesser extent Ramos.. wild! Like dem men mandate was to kick everything that move yesterday. And to me it was clear the ref was blowing for Real Madrid because well into the 2nd half and them men eh see no yellow yet.

- I like Pedrito alot as a player but he need to toughen up a lil bit. In big games he getting rough up off the ball and he looking lil nervous.. Yeah he small, but Messi small too and does still play strong.

- Iniesta look real happy to get back in it, the man come on and rip.

- Messi.. what more can be said. Excellent first touch off the chest to take the first goal. One touch to put the ball where u want it and one touch to finish..

- Barcelona looking imperious, but they can be beat. I think if u set up to take their creative players out the game like Xavi, Messi and Iniesta (like what real were doing in first 20 mins), you can frustrate them. Let men like Busquets, Keita and Yaya have it to play with and pressure hard and rough them up when Xavi get it.. Chelsea did that in last year's CL semi to good effect, but it don't make sense trying to out-ball them.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 11, 2010, 09:54:24 AM
 Barcelona looking imperious, but they can be beat. I think if u set up to take their creative players out the game like Xavi, Messi and Iniesta (like what real were doing in first 20 mins), you can frustrate them. Let men like Busquets, Keita and Yaya have it to play with and pressure hard and rough them up when Xavi get it.. Chelsea did that in last year's CL semi to good effect, but it don't make sense trying to out-ball them.

Jose on the case.
Post by: Observer on April 11, 2010, 10:00:26 AM

Why would anyone blame a coach at Real Madrid rather than the club's administration is beyond me. Here is a club that fired a two time La Liga and CL winner, with their club. Coincidentally they have not featured in a CL final since and again coincidentally its the same president and Director of coaching that are now back in charge. Those two also made the choice to sell Schnider, Pellegrini should be applauded for what he has managed to pull together under that climate. As for Benzema, he has played 20 games for Real, most as a sub and still managed 7 goals. He came on in the 80 minute yesterday (after a long layoff with injury) and man make analysis on his performance. Allyuh good we ???
Post by: sammy on April 11, 2010, 10:30:25 AM

, I rather be a dog's PISS

wow, nice to see you've accomplished your goals in life  :devil:
Post by: richpy on April 11, 2010, 11:06:48 AM

- Gago and Garay and to a lesser extent Ramos.. wild! Like dem men mandate was to kick everything that move yesterday. And to me it was clear the ref was blowing for Real Madrid because well into the 2nd half and them men eh see no yellow yet.

- Barcelona looking imperious, but they can be beat. I think if u set up to take their creative players out the game like Xavi, Messi and Iniesta (like what real were doing in first 20 mins), you can frustrate them. Let men like Busquets, Keita and Yaya have it to play with and pressure hard and rough them up when Xavi get it.. Chelsea did that in last year's CL semi to good effect, but it don't make sense trying to out-ball them.

Good points.

Like I said during the game, Real was playing stink. I see men collecting tackles AFTER they pass off the ball.

But stopping Barca like you said is much easier said than done. For one, Chelsea was built to defend/counter-attack. They had the most organized, physical midfield in Europe with Essien running things. Plus Drogba to study. Real does not have that, although they did good yesterday. Not sure if Inter is complete enough to do it.
Post by: D.H.W on April 11, 2010, 11:33:15 AM

Post by: Mango Chow! on April 11, 2010, 12:11:05 PM

...coming from a manu fan I am quite sure you see it as an accomplishment!  ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on April 11, 2010, 12:15:34 PM
So its official now, Messi better than Ronaldo??....
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 11, 2010, 01:01:42 PM

Nope!  Not according to all the manu/cronaldo fans.
Post by: WestCoast on April 11, 2010, 01:39:45 PM
Ron..... who ???
no way

but he did get some parise
"The world’s most expensive player, Cristiano Ronaldo, has still to break his duck against Barcelona since joining Real Madrid in the Spanish La Liga, but Barca’s manager Pep Guardiola was quick to praise the former Manchester United winger.
“He’s an enormous talent, very strong. We tried to isolate him and keep him away from the game,” Guardiola said.

“He’s very dangerous when we have the ball, because they find him very quickly if we lose it and he’s hard to stop then. Just because he’s not scored against us yet doesn’t mean he’s not a very good player.”"
Post by: xixgon on April 11, 2010, 01:59:38 PM

Methinks it's been official haha.

36 goals & 9 assists in 36 games.....Jesus.
Post by: D.H.W on April 11, 2010, 03:02:25 PM

Aye Aye, u ever here me say Ronaldo better than messi???  >:(  :busshead:
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 11, 2010, 04:13:37 PM

Aye Aye, u ever here me say Ronaldo better than messi???  >:(  :busshead:

Oh GAWD, yuh go buss meh head fuh dat?!?! If de shoe doh fit yuh eh hadda wear it yuh know!  :busshead:
Post by: Observer on April 12, 2010, 06:36:42 AM
Yesterday I sat down through a Barca marathon watching some of their games from the last few weeks. Right now Messi is on everyone lips and quite rightly so, but Barca true conductor is Xavi. He dictates the link up from the back line and then too the front. He also dictates the speed, knowing when to speed it up and/or slow it down. The beauty about Barca is that when Xavi is not at his best, which is still better than most midfielders in the world. Barca then has a carbon copy in Iniesta, who is not only an efficient and creative passer of the ball, but also has an added dimension of having the ability to beat players effortlessly and go past them. With both players on the pitch it must be like playing against two ghost. I can't say that Barca will win the CL or the League again, but what I do know is that I am very happy to be around to witness such football. Having the good fortune to see many great teams over the last 40 years, I thought Cruyff's Barca teams were as elegant as anything I have ever seen (maybe Tele Santana's Sao Paulo would be a close rival). I would be the first to put my hand up and say Barca's football, from a purist perception is the best football I have ever seen.
Post by: Marcos on April 12, 2010, 10:47:29 AM
Messi is the current boss. And has set out on a mission to prove it since we had this small debate a couple weeks ago.

Madrid played well today but Barca is just an unstoppable juggernaut right now.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 12, 2010, 03:31:46 PM
Yesterday I sat down through a Barca marathon watching some of their games from the last few weeks. Right now Messi is on everyone lips and quite rightly so, but Barca true conductor is Xavi. He dictates the link up from the back line and then too the front. He also dictates the speed, knowing when to speed it up and/or slow it down. The beauty about Barca is that when Xavi is not at his best, which is still better than most midfielders in the world. Barca then has a carbon copy in Iniesta, who is not only an efficient and creative passer of the ball, but also has an added dimension of having the ability to beat players effortlessly and go past them. With both players on the pitch it must be like playing against two ghost. I can't say that Barca will win the CL or the League again, but what I do know is that I am very happy to be around to witness such football. Having the good fortune to see many great teams over the last 40 years, I thought Cruyff's Barca teams were as elegant as anything I have ever seen (maybe Tele Santana's Sao Paulo would be a close rival). I would be the first to put my hand up and say Barca's football, from a purist perception is the best football I have ever seen.

Well said, Observer.  This Barca team is as great a club team as I have ever witnessed and the greatness is an extension of and revolves around those three key players on that team.  Samuel Eto'o was a work horse when he was on that team, a better fit than Ibra, I think.  Ronaldinho was highlighting in the role (not by position, but by greatness) that Messi had not stepped into yet.  Their defense is solid and their GK is quite good (even underrated, as far as I am concerned)

Messi is the current boss. And has set out on a mission to prove it since we had this small debate a couple weeks ago.

Madrid played well today but Barca is just an unstoppable juggernaut right now.

Messi really don't seem to be playing like he's trying to prove anything (like cronaldo does).  He's not a selfish player and he really doesn't seem to be trying to hog the spotlight. I think he is just one of those people that was put on this earth to do one thing and one thing only. And now is his time.   
Post by: giggsy11 on April 12, 2010, 04:32:31 PM
Something I stole from somewhere

Madrid's optimism should be now:

YOU LOOK IN THE SKY
WATCH THE BIRDS FLY
THEY SHIT IN YOUR EYE
YOU DON'T MIND, YOU DON'T CRY.
JUST THANK GOD THAT COW DOESN'T FLY.

Because it could've been worse. Cheer up Ray Hudson.
Post by: Spursy on April 12, 2010, 04:59:29 PM
Lol Jose Mourinho dont even want Ronaldo at the San Siro.. He doesn't even want Quaresma... hmm wonder why? Selfishness? Self Centered? Not a Team player... Don't like to defend...Loose the ball in awkward positions leavin the team gaspinig to get back....

The list goes on.. Inter sells quaresma soon mark my words
Post by: kicker on April 12, 2010, 05:10:51 PM

Iniesta and Saviola started this weekend. Iniesta is a boss, but I understand why he only now coming out of Xavi shadow. Before last season's injury you couldn't come round Xavi at all. Best midfielder in Spain.

Meh bredren and massive Barca fan Filho (who doh really post anymore) large up Xavi way back in '06.... If yuh check that thread yuh would see how he get some pong for it too lol...

Palos said once Xavi is like a good ref - sometimes yuh doh even realize he's there, but when he's gone it could all fall apart.

As a youth growing up playing, coaches always used to bawl "simple first!!!"... yuh could replace that command with "Xavi"...

Glad to see he is finally getting his props. 
Post by: Marcos on April 12, 2010, 05:19:44 PM
  Messi really don't seem to be playing like he's trying to prove anything (like cronaldo does).  He's not a selfish player and he really doesn't seem to be trying to hog the spotlight. I think he is just one of those people that was put on this earth to do one thing and one thing only. And now is his time.   

By "set out" I was actually just referring to the discussion some of us had a couple weeks ago about CR9 and Messi. It SEEMS like he has been playing like he has something to prove to his doubters in that convo.  
Post by: Observer on April 12, 2010, 06:01:14 PM

Iniesta and Saviola started this weekend. Iniesta is a boss, but I understand why he only now coming out of Xavi shadow. Before last season's injury you couldn't come round Xavi at all. Best midfielder in Spain.

Meh bredren and massive Barca fan Filho (who doh really post anymore) large up Xavi way back in '06.... If yuh check that thread yuh would see how he get some pong for it too lol...

Palos said once Xavi is like a good ref - sometimes yuh doh even realize he's there, but when he's gone it could all fall apart.

As a youth growing up playing, coaches always used to bawl "simple first!!!"... yuh could replace that command with "Xavi"...

Glad to see he is finally getting his props. 

What happen to Filho fuh real? I miss his insightful post. Tell him to drop in on the block nah