May 31, 2024, 09:19:07 PM

Author Topic: World Cup Power Rankings-jun 14th  (Read 1806 times)

Offline Rymizx

• It's a small world ! - No Really...
World Cup Power Rankings-jun 14th
« on: June 15, 2006, 06:30:22 AM »
First look
U.S. tumbles after opening-round loss to Czechs
Posted: Thursday June 15, 2006 1:56AM; Updated: Thursday June 15, 2006 1:59AM

FRANKFURT, Germany -- The first batch of matches is complete, and now we know a few things about who's in this thing and who isn't. And one thing we know is that the top seeds need to start playing like top seeds. Not one lost its first match, but outside of Spain (yes, Spain!), not one put up a convincing performance, either.

But that's what the first game is all about: chasing away the jitters, getting your feet under you and finding chemistry on the biggest stage in the sport. Here's our second look at the 32 teams in the field, and there's a lot of movement.

Oh, and by the way, did you catch that match in Gelsenkirchen? Can you guess who took one of the biggest tumbles on these rankings?

*Note: All stats, rankings, and records as of June 14.*

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/writers/jonah_freedman/06/15/cup.rankings/index.html

Quite an interesting ranking by SI... 

SEE WHERE THEY PUT THEY USA DREAM   SHIT TEAM

Re: World Cup Power Rankings-jun 14th
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2006, 06:33:48 AM »
Nice link....thanks

Look at what dey say ...

"Trinidad & Tobago
Thursday matchup not to be missed: the Soca Warriors will send their own giant, 6-foot-7 defender Dennis Lawrence, to shroud England striker Peter Crouch, who is the same height. Lawrence outweighs him by 20 pounds, so unless the gangly Crouch can quickly learn how to jump (fat chance there), Trinidad could cancel out one of England's attack options."

And T&T ranked 16th out of 32.

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2006, 08:01:08 AM »
I am amazed at the fact that a US writer would have the humility to put the US that low.... usually they make all kinds of excuses as to why the US lost or played poorly...

I think the US will finish the Cup with 1 point... a 2-2 tie with Ghana ..Italy will beat them 2-1...

Go Warriors!
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

Offline marcel

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2006, 08:08:51 AM »

why did you all complain about the rankings?

NR 16 in the world!!!!

how fast you can rise

and i am happy to see that our friends from the usa are where they belong.
hope they are home within 1 week
byebye

« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2006, 08:44:07 AM »
I am amazed at the fact that a US writer would have the humility to put the US that low.... usually they make all kinds of excuses as to why the US lost or played poorly...

I think the US will finish the Cup with 1 point... a 2-2 tie with Ghana ..Italy will beat them 2-1...

Go Warriors!

nah man i think ghana will run around them like nothing. US getting 0 points.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2006, 09:04:47 AM »
wow sweden down to 21 all thanks to shaka  ;D