May 22, 2024, 10:04:28 PM

Author Topic: How do you guys think this team will do in the EPL ?  (Read 7799 times)

How do you guys think this team will do in the EPL ?
« on: July 13, 2006, 06:15:46 PM »
Fellas.

I'm not sure if this was a good topic to bring up, but out of curiosity, I would love to see a full Black team (plus subs & coach) play in the EPL. (current players only).

STARTING 11:

1.David James (Manchester City/England).

2.Kolo Toure (Arsenal/Ivory Coast).
3.Sol Campbell (Arsenal/England).
4.William Gallas (Chelsea/France).
5.Asley Cole (Arsenal/England).

6.Shaun Wright-Phillips (Chelsea/England).
7.Michael Essien (Chelsea/Ghana).
8.Lassana Diarra (Chelsea/France).
9.Nigel Reo-Coker (West Ham/England).

10.Thierry Henry (Arsenal/France).
11.Didier Drogba (Chelsea/Ivory Coast).

EXTRA 11:

12.Aiyegbeni Yakubu (Middlesbrough/Nigeria).
13.Anthony Warner (Fulham/Trinidad & Tobago).
14.Claude Makelele (Chelsea/France).
15.El-Hadji Diouf (Bolton/Senegal).
16.Darren Bent (Charlton/England).
17.Jason Roberts (Portsmouth/Grenada).
18.Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Charlton/Holland).
19.Jlloyd Samuel (Aston Villa/Trinidad & Tobago).
20.Marlon Harewood (West Ham/England).
21.Papa Bouba Diop (Fulham/Senegal).
22.Radhi Jaidi (Bolton/Tunisia).

Does anyone know of any good Black Managers in the EPL ?

OVER HEAD LOOK:

James.
        Toure, Campbell, Gallas, Cole.
      Phillips, Essien, Diarra, Reo-Coker.
                   Henry, Drogba.

BREAK DOWN:

England - 7%
France - 4%
Ivory Coast - 2%
Senegal - 2%
Trinidad & Tobago - 2%
Ghana - 1%
Grenada - 1%
Holland - 1%
Nigeria - 1%
Tunisia - 1%
« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 09:10:00 AM by Flex »

Re: How do you guys think this team will do in the EPL ?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2006, 06:18:54 PM »
wey ferdinand and essien and wright phillips..
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2006, 06:32:01 PM »
The only black man to mange in the EPL was Tigana. Viv Anderson was an assistant.

based on the players selected that squad is as good as any other in the prem and it still have men yuh could add.

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2006, 06:44:47 PM »
Good topic, cant see any team beating them though.

Jose Mourinho is the closest thing to Black in the EPL.

« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2006, 06:50:48 PM »
The only black man to manage in the EPL was Tigana. Viv Anderson was an assistant.

Doh fuhget Ruud Gullit. He did manage Chelsea and Newcastle.

« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2006, 06:53:48 PM »
well that look like most of the best right there that would make an all-star team

is up to find that elusive black EPL manager to make that team gel....but I do not think there is any

some thoughts otherwise on Flex's post:

- David James too shaky fuh days, how about Tim Howard?

- that is real fire down the wings

- Diarra has great potential but for his role I think he is still inexperienced. Maybe he can come in for Jay Jay Okocha, who is a boss despite his age

- No Aaron Lennon? He was quite impressive.

- Yakubu or Harewood startin for me over Drogba, I think they will compliment Henry more  :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2006, 06:55:44 PM »
Chris Hougton(sp) at Tottenham is black also.

« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2006, 06:57:11 PM »
Jay Jay Okocha is not in the EPL anymore and wasn't sure if Ferdinand, Lennon and Howard was Black ? they look mix, no ? even though Anthony Warner and David James look mix too I just couldn't find another Black goalkeeper in the EPL, to bad Shaka Hislop left as he might have been the only Black keeper in the EPL.

Off coruse there's more Black players in the EPL, I just name a 22 man team who I like watching.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 06:59:21 PM by Flex »

« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2006, 07:24:00 PM »
good call on Bouba Diop and Hasselbaink, Bouba Diop could score from anywhere and ppl quick to write off Hassellbaink since dey think he fall from grace since Chelsea, i feel he coulda cut it in de Dutch squad over Venegoor of Hesselink but I guess if Makaay eh make it, Hassellbaink have less chance

« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2006, 07:36:52 PM »
I want a man to make the mistake of proposing a all indian footballer PFL club made up of all the best of the PFL, the Super League, the SSFL and the other leagues 'out of curiosity'...

« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2006, 07:43:22 PM »
Flexo, I love this post. These are my slight changes.

I need to see Terry in that back line. Campbell suspect…...Terry and Toure holding down the center back position. Then Cole on the left with Galas on the right.

In the midfield, Diarra and Phillips have to go. Pave way for Aaron Lennon and Papa Bouba Diop. As much as I am not a favorite of Drogba, I guess I will keep him there for the time being. Another option will be to play with Henry alone up top and El-Hadji Diouf behind him playing like a withdrawn striker. That team will cause trouble. Or yes, almost forgot…..I need Keller in my goal and Bobby Convey as one of my subs. That grenadian youth could ride out.  ;D  Thanks!  :beermug:

« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 07:46:01 PM by kingman »

« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2006, 08:01:14 PM »
Kingman,

Terry, Convey and Keller is all white players, de man said an all BLACK team.

As for you Midknight, they may not have an all Indian team, because they might be good in other things, so whats your dam point ? a African team never win de world cup right ? but does that mean they no good... what de foock yuh getting at...
« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 08:05:37 PM by Flex »

« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2006, 08:09:28 PM »
what about henri camara on wigan? dunno if that is de right camara. senegal have two camaras.

Kingman,

As for you Midknight, they may not have an all Indian team, because they might be good in other things, so whats your dam point ? a African team never win de world cup right ? but does that mean they no good... what de foock yuh getting at...

watch for ivory coast in 2010...
« Last Edit: July 13, 2006, 08:20:58 PM by trini_madnesss »

« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2006, 08:34:33 PM »
Kingman,

Or shit, once again I did not finish read properly.  :-\  ;D

« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2006, 09:18:05 PM »
Tallaman and Feliz right, I forget Gullit and Hughton.

And Flex I think yuh have to include Ferdinand, Jenas, Lennon etc because they have mixed parentage.

« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2006, 10:02:34 PM »
Latas want to coach. Give him this team if he mess this team up he is not coach material.

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2006, 11:21:34 PM »
good sugestions there flex...of course there are lots more black guys we could add so lets not reserve the list as it is an dimagine we were on da lookout for transfers at this all balck club  some name si would sugest

saha-did not too bad in last few epl outings
richardson- has potential but hey he has england caps and england goals  ;)
lennon-like someone sugested..pace for days
defoe-runs like a devil
adebayor-aint that bad been showing he can get some in da goal
lauren-the arsenal defender would definteyl be on my wishlist.
LEDLEY KING barely mise dout on the england squad btu has the potential to be one of the best.

and quick question does jlloyd still qualify for the soca warriors i thaught that was blocked

« Reply #17 on: July 14, 2006, 12:26:30 AM »
Wonderful now lets pick an all white NBA team and a team of aborigines for the Aussie rules football league.

Yeah...that would be great.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #18 on: July 14, 2006, 03:41:00 AM »
Can't believe you have missed out Linvoy Primus as a reserve centre half.

« Reply #19 on: July 14, 2006, 07:11:06 AM »
could you tell me what qualifies as black ?
since you picking men like Ashley ole whose mum is white as and his dad is mixed
or maybe we should have  red team as well ?

Offline Pompey

« Reply #20 on: July 14, 2006, 07:18:57 AM »
since you picking men like Ashley ole whose mum is white as and his dad is mixed

isn't it anyone who listens to Radio 1 Xtra? It used to be Kiss FM, but that has become a bit multicultural these days ::) ;D

« Reply #21 on: July 14, 2006, 07:30:54 AM »
and you have to like fry chiken as well, so therefore I am black

« Reply #22 on: July 14, 2006, 07:31:20 AM »

yeah the definition of black is very broad.....Ashley Cole, Jermaine Jenas, Bob Marley  ;D, Gullit, Rijkaard, alotta the Brazil team etc.....and the list goes on- a bunch of mixed players commonly referred to as Black players.

Fellas.

No room for segregation, however, I'm not sure if this was a good topic to
bring up, but out of curiosity, I would love to see a full Black team (plus subs & coach) play in the EPL. (current players only).

Flexos , ah feel iz only cause yuh name is Flex yuh get away with this one...... ;D :beermug:

and you have to like fry chiken as well, so therefore I am black

;D Along with everyone else in Trinidad.......KFC & Royal Castle run tings !!

« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 07:33:19 AM by kicker »

« Reply #23 on: July 14, 2006, 07:41:58 AM »
Wonderful now lets pick an all white NBA team and a team of aborigines for the Aussie rules football league.

Hmm....

Jason Williams PG
Steve Nash  SG
Larry Bird F
Keith Van Horn PF
Kevin McHale C

Reserves
Toni Kukoc
Andrew Bogut
Steve Kerr
John paxson
Luke Walton
and
Drazen Petrovic permanently on the injured list

dias ah death squad!!

de aboriginal fellahs I eh know too much..croc could habdle dat
« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 07:49:05 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #24 on: July 14, 2006, 07:46:55 AM »

Mih point have nothing to do with whether ah all indian team could win anything or not. I dont know how you manage to twist my words so badly... People does hear what they want to hear. I don't even know how you went from a all black epl team to talking about african teams never winning the world cup... That quantum leap is way out of my league

Since you didn't seem to ketch it, mih point was: i want to see someone propose something like that just to see how long it will take for men to start pounding him for being racist (racial?), narrow minded, rabble rousing, Sat horn chile etc etc when to be quite honest, Flex's hypothetical 'out of curiosity team' boils down to the same basic principle...

But then again I forget...no room for segregation  ::)

« Reply #25 on: July 14, 2006, 07:49:22 AM »
I agree this is one shit topic

so leh me hear your suggestions for an all black Ice hockey team

« Reply #26 on: July 14, 2006, 07:56:24 AM »

isn't it anyone who listens to Radio 1 Xtra? It used to be Kiss FM, but that has become a bit multicultural these days ::) ;D

1xtra is the bomb.

now if you listen to the bbc asian network, what does that make you  ;)?

« Reply #27 on: July 14, 2006, 07:57:03 AM »
I agree this is one shit topic

so leh me hear your suggestions for an all black Ice hockey team

Grant Fuhr in de nets
Kevin Weekes
Fred Braithwaite (he could play defence too)
Dale Craigwell
Georges Laraque
Mike Grier
Anson Carter
....oh and mih boy Don Brashear

Herb Carnegie could coach

dis is not ah death squad...but dey go do all right and sell tickets
« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 08:05:16 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #28 on: July 14, 2006, 07:59:03 AM »

Hmm....

Jason Williams PG
Steve Nash  SG
Larry Bird F
Keith Van Horn PF
Kevin McHale C

Reserves
Toni Kukoc
Andrew Bogut
Steve Kerr
John paxson
Luke Walton
and

dias ah death squad!!

WHAT THE f**k WRONG WITH YOU?

no DIRK NOWITZSKI?...arguably the best player in the NBA right now?

what about dejan stojakovic? jason williams? manu ginobli?

do tony parker, shawn battier, and tim duncan count as "white"?

scheups!

« Reply #29 on: July 14, 2006, 08:01:32 AM »

Hmm....

Jason Williams PG
Steve Nash  SG
Larry Bird F
Keith Van Horn PF
Kevin McHale C

Reserves
Toni Kukoc
Andrew Bogut
Steve Kerr
John paxson
Luke Walton
and

dias ah death squad!!

WHAT THE f**k WRONG WITH YOU?

no DIRK NOWITZSKI?...arguably the best player in the NBA right now?

what about dejan stojakovic? jason williams?

does tony parker, shawn battier, and tim duncan count as "white"?

scheups!

Nowitzki goatee dos bodder mih...he go siddong fuh dat

Jason williams is de first man on de list....dem 3 yuh call dey aint no white fellahs...dey hair cyah perm enough to shake at ah bon jovi concert..dey eh white