April 20, 2024, 08:24:25 AM

Author Topic: SSFL players  (Read 22353 times)

Re: SSFL players
« Reply #60 on: July 15, 2006, 10:43:32 AM »
CiC had ah ah goal scoring machine,de man use to score hattrick at will.. Luciano Woodley he wasn't no flashy dribbler but cudda put de ball in de back ah de net.Man like Frankie Stone and de Nancoo brothers and  Keith Lookloy in de back had cic dominating de league,they had ah bad keeper too,ah cyar remember he name right now(all yuh help meh nah,ah think is Lester or Nestor I eh sure) Belmont's Len La Forest slap one up in the V from bout 40yrds and he went for it, geh he fingertips on it but cuddn't keep it out and dey loss de final in de oval ...he cry like ah baby.
Speaking bout keepers Yashim Khan,from Tranquil  was also ah boss big big keeper,stop 2 ah Lucino Woodley penalties already.That same Tranquil team had ah Kaiser like defender and captain name Brian Rigbsy real smooth but de man from dah team that was one ah de sickest midfielders was Michael Whiley.Then later on yuh had man like Dereck Lewis and Chinnas from Trinity,keeper use to duck when Chinnas crank up.......

Berris...uh RELL know yuh football sah.  Yuh call Michael Whiley & Brian Rigsby name sah.  Big ballas.  Brian was a special player indeed but he get pick for Trinidad and EVERYBODY had huge expectations and accordin to de man himself, he proceeded to have the absolute worst game of his career.  Maybe nerves.  That was it for his national career.  SAD.

As ah say....respeck because yuh totally know yuh football.

Jes curious bout 1 ting doh....

Fuh a man who so knowledgeable bout footbal and ting...

How come u supportin Stern John?....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Jes playin bro... ;D

« Reply #61 on: July 15, 2006, 10:59:43 AM »
CiC had ah ah goal scoring machine,de man use to score hattrick at will.. Luciano Woodley he wasn't no flashy dribbler but cudda put de ball in de back ah de net.Man like Frankie Stone and de Nancoo brothers and  Keith Lookloy in de back had cic dominating de league,they had ah bad keeper too,ah cyar remember he name right now(all yuh help meh nah,ah think is Lester or Nestor I eh sure) Belmont's Len La Forest slap one up in the V from bout 40yrds and he went for it, geh he fingertips on it but cuddn't keep it out and dey loss de final in de oval ...he cry like ah baby.
Speaking bout keepers Yashim Khan,from Tranquil  was also ah boss big big keeper,stop 2 ah Lucino Woodley penalties already.That same Tranquil team had ah Kaiser like defender and captain name Brian Rigbsy real smooth but de man from dah team that was one ah de sickest midfielders was Michael Whiley.Then later on yuh had man like Dereck Lewis and Chinnas from Trinity,keeper use to duck when Chinnas crank up.......

Berris...uh RELL know yuh football sah.  Yuh call Michael Whiley & Brian Rigsby name sah.  Big ballas.  Brian was a special player indeed but he get pick for Trinidad and EVERYBODY had huge expectations and accordin to de man himself, he proceeded to have the absolute worst game of his career.  Maybe nerves.  That was it for his national career.  SAD.

Jes playin bro... ;D

Brian Rigby!!  i used to lived next door to him  i heard he was a good secondary school footballer and he made the national team mi pop tell meh all that. his daughter kia plays on the national under 20 team..

« Reply #62 on: July 15, 2006, 11:11:54 AM »
The keeper at CIC then was Trevor Leiba.

« Reply #63 on: July 15, 2006, 11:18:20 AM »
I only saw the CFL in the 80 (1980-85). Was at the historic N. Zone intercol final between fatima and JOhn D back in 79.

Ronnie Simmons
Sean Ramdoo
Wayne Sheppard
Sean Roberts
Graeme Rodriguez
Downie the GK (in his first year..GREAT..in his second very medicore)These are all Fatima men.

Non Fatima....a QRC defender who make the national side with Simmons when both were still in From VI.

Colin Rocke...CIC
Leonson Lewis..naps
Clint Marcelle...Mucurapo
Dexter Sandy...QRC
Applwhite...a GK from QRC
Remy....St. Augustine
Garth Pollanais ...St. Aug.
Marvin Faustin ...Hutson Charles...both from Mucurapo..if I remember right.

There were also some good Indian keepers from St. Aug and Naps in those days...but just can't remember the names.

Yuh know ah forget to mention Dexter Skeene...a helluva forward for CIC in 1981...Fatima knock dem out in the N. Zoner intercol, but dey had a good team, but a weak keeper.

Now back in the late 70s, I saw a white boy keeping for Saints...highly regarded by those who saw him, he may have played in the 1980 season also. If anyone could remember his name, please feel free to tell me.
We talking abut eras, well..in 1984, Mucurapo had the following side...Marcelle, Faustin, Hutson Charles, Ross Russel and another national keeper by the name of Ali. They had two more nationals on de side, ah just cah remember de names. All dem men used to do was TRAIN like a professional side. Ah used to be in class watching dem train, while i listening to teacher in Fatima.

« Reply #64 on: July 15, 2006, 03:48:26 PM »

Jes playin bro... ;D

Palos, ah plead de 5th on de Stern John ting  ;D

« Reply #65 on: July 15, 2006, 03:55:45 PM »
The keeper at CIC then was Trevor Leiba.

Yes Doc, daiz de man fur real ,Trevor Leiba....thanx !!!!

Offline john_public

« Reply #66 on: July 15, 2006, 05:48:29 PM »
arnold
stern
oliver
thristan
weeks
ratty ( ah cha remember de man real name, he play for arima)
de four
sterling
bago ( cha remember he name either, he play with san juan)

yeah i from de more recent times, ans also ah east man

on a next note who allu backin to take it this year.

i going with san juan to de end  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #67 on: July 15, 2006, 06:23:01 PM »
Ah kinda join this thread late, a lot a great names and memories, but lemme add my 2 cents,  a few of my favorites other than the others already mentioned:

Sean McLetchie ..San juan
Kurt Ford aka mickey rat ...San Juan and St Augustine
Gerald Remy ..St George's
Nicholas Ashby...John D
Ainsley Weeks..Sando
Sherwin Besson...
Steve Francette...Barataria
Sean Euzebe...QRC
Alvin Thomas...San Juan

Offline nazkeeper

« Reply #68 on: January 23, 2007, 10:43:48 PM »
TINTO

« Reply #69 on: January 24, 2007, 05:54:36 AM »
Good Morning Guys,
                             My first year in QRC was 68. The CFL had real good plays. Bain, Henderson, Mathews, rolf Clarke, Sheldon Gomes, Steven Gomez, Husbands, st. Hill, Garcia,  Brewster, Hackett, Texeira, Cooper, Clibert Lennard. 70-71. Peter 'Skippy" Mitchell(the best CFL player), La Forest(Len and Ron), Spann, Sutherland, Leiba, Neil Williams, Frankie Stone, Danny Williams, Cazimir Wright, Wayne Smith, "Wildman Ford, Mervyn Sirju(what ever happened to him), Gregory Martinez, Alvin Rostant, Nancoo, Barrow. 72-73/74: Tom Philips, Mike Grayson, Denis Cuthbert, Kenny Ramdoo, Lenny Afonso, Winty Hacket, Kendal Walkes(Progressive), Chinapoo, Robert Francis, Gerard Homer, Lakhan, Big Bird Brown(Belmont), Roberts(Fatima).

There may be some who I can't remember right now. Guys forgive me. The best of my time, I think was Peter Mitchell.  How do I describe this guy? He was mercurial if there is such a word to describe a person. Skill for days. he is Latas and Jemmot rolled in one. You see them behind the foot pass Ronaldo from Man U does have everybody talking about, Peter could do that with both feet. He coming down the middle, passing he foot over the ball rapidly, Technical wingers and wing backs coming down the flanks. You don't knowwhich behind the foot he doing. Fustration with T&T football, Drive, ambition did him in. The south men on this post could give more info on Skippy.

The other player I want to talk about is Ronnie Simmons. I only knew when I saw him training with the youth many carnivals ago. Then I followed his career at HU and with Espana and the Diplomats. I wish I had 1/4 quarter of this guy's skill and physical attriubutes. He was strong. He had great ball control. Could dribble when he had too. Could bring the ball with ease from 6 yds box to the next 6yds box. Could kick the blasted ball with ease. Could you imagine Ronnie on the WC squad in Germany coming down the center from center back or md field and shooting them plastic balls they have now. When football taking place in Washington and man mention Ronnie. We does just get vex.

Offline #8

« Reply #70 on: January 24, 2007, 11:07:24 AM »
Nigel Pierre,Brent Rahim,Sean Cooper,Gary Gibbins(dead ball specialist),Marcus'marky' Rodriquez,Randy Samaroo,Mikhail Germaine,Ethan Stuart

Abiola Clarence,Julius James,Kevon Neeves (discovered and broughtbought from St.James Sec by Nigel'Jose Mourinho' Grovsnor

Cornell Glen,Kerry 'small kerry' Baptiste,Josh Johnson,Dale Findley,Dwayne Jack,Kerwyn Cooper,Kevon Carter

Steve Sealy,Oni Thomas

Conrad Smith,Devon Jorsling,Denzil 'bleeder' Theobald,Damien and Dimilon Westfield,Kareem 'tiny' Joseph(hated when Franco made his intercol players suit up for 2nd eleven games..i was a victim ;D of this at both St. James sec and St. Anthony's)

Scott Sealy,Zane O'Brien,Jeremy Delpino

Kwame Wiltshire,Devin Jordan
« Last Edit: January 24, 2007, 07:46:09 PM by #8 »

« Reply #71 on: January 24, 2007, 11:52:11 AM »

The other player I want to talk about is Ronnie Simmons. I only knew when I saw him training with the youth many carnivals ago. Then I followed his career at HU and with Espana and the Diplomats. I wish I had 1/4 quarter of this guy's skill and physical attriubutes. He was strong. He had great ball control. Could dribble when he had too. Could bring the ball with ease from 6 yds box to the next 6yds box. Could kick the blasted ball with ease. Could you imagine Ronnie on the WC squad in Germany coming down the center from center back or md field and shooting them plastic balls they have now. When football taking place in Washington and man mention Ronnie. We does just get vex.

FINALLY!!!

Somebody else mention this besides me.

I spend the 80 wondering why this man was being ignored so.

He only seemed to get a fair shake when Alvin Corneal had a say.

Deeks, who is Espana?

And is that the Washington Diplomats you talkiing about??

« Reply #72 on: January 24, 2007, 12:35:27 PM »
FINALLY!!!

Somebody else mention this besides me.

I spend the 80 wondering why this man was being ignored so.

He only seemed to get a fair shake when Alvin Corneal had a say.

Deeks, who is Espana?

And is that the Washington Diplomats you talkiing about??

Believe espana was DC/MD club team in the 80's nahkid and also played for them. DC or HU men could confirm.
Diplomats played in the old APSL/ASL the US pro league at the time won it 88 w a trini Ian Bain as coach.

« Reply #73 on: January 24, 2007, 12:41:19 PM »
Cornell Glen,Kerry 'poor boy' Baptiste,Josh Johnson,Dale Findley,Dwayne Jack,Kerwyn Cooper,Kevon Carter

Kerry was "Small Kerry"

Christian Baptiste was "Poor Boy"

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #74 on: January 24, 2007, 04:28:42 PM »
QRC - marco elcock, travis sobers, sterling rivers, gaston
Fatima - gibbons
CIC - zane, scott sealy
Compre - cornell glen, kareem young and josh johnson
Tranquill - akil jules
St anthonys - sean cooper, carlos edwards
Benedicts - cornwall and benjamin
Malick - tiny,jorsling,conrad,westfield brothers and TINTO

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #75 on: January 24, 2007, 04:45:56 PM »
Nigel Pierre,Brent Rahim,Sean Cooper,Gary Gibbins(dead ball specialist),Marcus'marky' Rodriquez,Randy Samaroo,Mikhail Germaine,Ethan Stuart

eve Sealy,Oni Thomas

nah man.. yuh hadda call gibbins when yuh call the Fatima fellas, not the st anthonys

Offline #8

« Reply #76 on: January 24, 2007, 07:52:27 PM »

eve Sealy,Oni Thomas

nah man.. yuh hadda call gibbins when yuh call the Fatima fellas, not the st anthonys

I could only talk bout what i see mister..and de first time i see Gary Gibbins in any intercol uniform was a St. Anthony's uniform..never went to Fatima games(no disrespect) until Steve Sealy and Oni Thomas started playing with them.

« Reply #77 on: January 24, 2007, 08:23:07 PM »
Club Espana was a semipro team from DC/MD/VA. The were quite good. They won the US Open cup. Bain and Nakid were with them. So was Simmonds. Bain did coach the for while. Then they changed to the Diplomants to play in the ASL. They even play Chivas in a Concacaf game.

« Reply #78 on: January 24, 2007, 08:51:41 PM »
YES DREAD !!!!! TOM PHILLIP was pure trouble one ah de best goal scorers ever in college ranks.He broke  his foot against Belmont in de intercol semis and had to watch Alvin Edwards(Clarke) 'Rabbi'Weeks,Rudy,
Patrick 'jappa' Federick,younger brother of speedy and deadly striker Steven'JAPPA' Federick from Belmont who play along side with Ron and Len La and Wayne Lewis.Tom sit down in de oval pavillion,with he foot in ah cast, an watch Trnquil give Presentation 5-0 in de island wide final.
In dah same oval against Barbados he attempt ah flick bout 4ft from de goal and miss and never play for TnT again,we lost de game.
But Tom was ah joy to watch, ah exciting player who use to destroy defenders at will...big big big player !!!

I think was against Surinam when we needed to score 3 goals, remember Funny did make ah chune bout de team needed tuh score 3.

« Reply #79 on: January 25, 2007, 01:58:07 AM »
ok..i personally know men on this forum name getting call so i go add dem names and add my fav!!!
kona hislop, jerren nixon, shaka, kevin moze, brendon moze, colin roberts, marvin joseph (cah foget the intercol belmont win!!!), kevin barrow from ptown, wesley webb, glen benjamin, yorke, dwarika, tiger, zane, bennet brothers from arima (wham fellas), the unstoppable anthony sherwood, miguel mitchell, ricky aleong, mickey trotman, not many people remeber his brother (rip meh brethren) stephen trotman, martin robertson from qrc, colin rocke, joel gibbons, gabre cummings (dat boy cud ah throw away), latas, faustin, leonsin, clint marcelle, rahim, hardest, irasto knights, shawn david, raeburn, checky (only true ballers know who dat was from qrc), their goalkeeper leacock, garvin moze too, shawn garcia (probably the best sweeper/defender to pass through ssfl), luciano woodley (think he still have the all time goalscoring record), errol mcfarlin (trinity and malick), marlon minguel (trinity and gustine), kevin jeffery, stern, kerwyn emmanuel, marvin oliver, kerry escaye (probably spelt wrong), sterling rivers, marco elcock (heard ah funny story bout him in ohio), cornell glen, dorsett from saints, the rique brothers from gustine, jason suite, mr. kenwyn jones, carlos edwards, and mr ivan sampson!!!

ah man was asking bout ah red man from gustin...think his name was sheldon richardson...not sure...but yuh cah miss the left foot. some other names for consideration too...chelsey waters, westfield brothers!!! :beermug: :beermug:
« Last Edit: January 25, 2007, 02:16:57 AM by fordy »

« Reply #80 on: January 25, 2007, 03:37:26 AM »
ok..i personally know men on this forum name getting call so i go add dem names and add my fav!!!
kona hislop, jerren nixon, shaka, kevin moze, brendon moze, colin roberts, marvin joseph (cah foget the intercol belmont win!!!), kevin barrow from ptown, wesley webb, glen benjamin, yorke, dwarika, tiger, zane, bennet brothers from arima (wham fellas), the unstoppable anthony sherwood, miguel mitchell, ricky aleong, mickey trotman, not many people remeber his brother (rip meh brethren) stephen trotman, martin robertson from qrc, colin rocke, joel gibbons, gabre cummings (dat boy cud ah throw away), latas, faustin, leonsin, clint marcelle, rahim, hardest, irasto knights, shawn david, raeburn, checky (only true ballers know who dat was from qrc), their goalkeeper leacock, garvin moze too, shawn garcia (probably the best sweeper/defender to pass through ssfl), luciano woodley (think he still have the all time goalscoring record), errol mcfarlin (trinity and malick), marlon minguel (trinity and gustine), kevin jeffery, stern, kerwyn emmanuel, marvin oliver, kerry escaye (probably spelt wrong), sterling rivers, marco elcock (heard ah funny story bout him in ohio), cornell glen, dorsett from saints, the rique brothers from gustine, jason suite, mr. kenwyn jones, carlos edwards, and mr ivan sampson!!!

ah man was asking bout ah red man from gustin...think his name was sheldon richardson...not sure...but yuh cah miss the left foot. some other names for consideration too...chelsey waters, westfield brothers!!! :beermug: :beermug:
just so

« Reply #81 on: January 25, 2007, 01:11:50 PM »

Pinto Rd Arima could put out a boss small goal side, they go rip up anybody.

Offline shooter

« Reply #82 on: January 26, 2007, 12:02:25 PM »
for all the south men....
p. town....clifton gomez....andre cooper....ike jurawan....vijay samaroo
Benedicts....addison belfon....ravi rampaul...kester corwall...akil jordan....isa arazi...toussaint...
south men add some more.....

« Reply #83 on: January 26, 2007, 12:09:47 PM »
Arima run things in de 80's too..

In 2001 Princes Town had de badest SSFL team, they had a all star squad, Dean Logan, Pacheco, Noreiga, Marvin Phillips, Lindsie Sherwood etc etc, and in 1988 Benedicts, Pres in 1989 too.

What ever happened to Vijay ? de man had some quality in him. How old he is now.

Belfon fall of bad, big things was expected of him.

Offline shooter

« Reply #84 on: January 26, 2007, 10:43:09 PM »
Arima run things in de 80's too..

In 2001 Princes Town had de badest SSFL team, they had a all star squad, Dean Logan, Pacheco, Noreiga, Marvin Phillips, Lindsie Sherwood etc etc, and in 1988 Benedicts, Pres in 1989 too.

What ever happened to Vijay ? de man had some quality in him. How old he is now.

Belfon fall of bad, big things was expected of him.
Vijay was with starworld up until 2004  but he left and he not playing right now....i think belfon in the army......

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #85 on: January 28, 2007, 10:17:42 AM »
Clauzel had de crowd boy, way sah, dat youth couldda bring out de crowds.
De Sando Tech team with Latas, Leo and Marvin,Garth Pollonais, de Hislop breddahs,de Moze brothers,Sean Le Gendre (ah tink he play Gustine).

Because ah from South, ah lil partial  ;D......Colin Osbourne, Sherwood,larry Joseph from Pres.
Also for the Pres and Naps boys on de site........Leonson, Gustave, Kirk Martinez ALL come from Benedicts !! At dat time 'Fat Neck' Cains the principal, nevah wanted Benedict's to play football afta he took ovah fro de DOM. SO when he retired, Jan Steadman was appointed as coach, first year he came in, he knew Benedicts was not goin to play serious balla dat level, he arrange for dem fellas to go on ah transfer.........and as dey say, dey rest is history.
De 88 or 89 team with Ivan, Webb,Jordan,Benjamin and Neverson........'WOW',one of the best keepers I have seen in my time. If he could only keep his head on........Nuttin was passin him in de goal!!! He used to run out an beat man rel Barthez like eh !!
De only team dat beat we dat year was in de HC against Dwight and company, rain did rell fall dat day and de field was heavy, which favored SH, needless to say dey score was 3-1 I think, ah could be rong but it was ah long time ago ;D

Offline QRC '85-'90

• Arranging pixels to meet your needs...
« Reply #86 on: April 01, 2007, 12:28:26 AM »

martin robertson from qrc.. I see dat fella kick a ball when he was in 1st form at the U14 level...

could have been massive for T&T... plying his trade in his "native" Holland for a small squad... spoke to his mom about a montha ago... he's in good spirits...

Sean Euzebe... massive player!!!
Marvin Gollop...Free kick in the stadium anyone?....
Kirk Carrington...(went to QRC and play for Saints...Sissons paints boy?....)
Roger Guiseppe QRC No.20. according to Rudy Piggott Pele and Maradona combined into one hence the No. 20...
Joel Ribero... Massive Keeper!!!
Jeremy Shortt..(checky)
Sterling Smith, (Trinidad had a Rooney long before England...)
Shawn Garcia... Massive Player...
Roger Prince Massive in defence for QRC
Sean Ramdoo...
Anthony Sherwood's "spanner"...
the fella who score from a corner for QRC...Clint... Clint...
Applewhite from QRC, Warren Steele from QRC, Leacock from QRC...
Lemuel Nelson...
The Moze clan... Darragh especially... Gavin in Goals was a legend too...
the dread dribbler...
Latas
Pollainais from 'gustine...
Trotman...
loads more...................................................................................................................2nd to Brazil in churning them out...
« Last Edit: April 01, 2007, 12:57:56 AM by QRC '85-'90 »
running the line gasping, but with flair...

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #87 on: April 01, 2007, 09:51:54 AM »
benedicts-tousaint,davis,spann,hunte,bartholmew (in belgium),cornwall, benjiman etc, then there was there was  :)the legends like de leon them
football in meh veins football in meh blood