Lets put all the cards on the table.........After coming off the countries greatest football achievement, which many of our forerunners did'nt live to see, and after missing out on '90, being denied a second time.There seems to be one question that is plaguing us all. Whether we want to admit it or not,whether we support Beenie or not,whether we are a high flying coach or player or one who never kick a mango.
We may be divided on tactics,we may be divided on player selection etc.
We don't know how much minutes Wise played or Jones orSamuels or Glenn or any other player who came off the bench but we do know that one player got 23 mins of the world cup.
It leads to my question:Why as Trinis we believe almost unanimously Latas should have played/featured more in the world cup and Beenie did'nt.Is it that we knew something that he did'nt ? or Bennie knew something that we did'nt ?
Sometimes I get the distinct impression that some people felt the main purpose of our WC appearance was to be some sort of "testimonial to Russell Latapy". An opportunity to show the entire world what we had known and/or believed in our hearts all along....
that Latas is one of the greatest players ever in World football and here was the perfect opportunity to demonstrate to one and sundry that T&T could produce such a footballing gem, right up there with the Zidane's, Ronaldinho's etc of the footballing world.You see statements like "I have been following Latapy for the past 20 years". Interestingly, not "I have been following T&T"....but Latapy. Is almost as if the results of our TEAM were inconsequential, as long as Latas was given his turn in the biggest spotlight in football. Other statements like "How Beenhakker could diss Latas like that? Doesn't he know how much he means to the people of T&T?" etc. reinforce my speculation that some would rather us have lost heavily, as long as Latas was able to play. Now, there is no correlation between Latas playing and us losing heavily, but in the system that was designed for us to COMPETE, it was obvious that Latas was not foremost in that plan. To be honest, while my sentiment was very disappointed, I couldn't argue with the logic of the reality.
Well, I am an unabashed Russell Latapy fan. I endorse 100% the statement in bold above to the extent that I truly believe Latas to be among the best footballers I have seen. That he is Trinbagonian makes the sentiment that much stronger and I make no apologies for that.
However, the facts of the matter are that while I will always consider Latas to be among the best I have seen in the game, T&T DID NOT go to Germany to play a personal testimonial. We went there not just to show up, but to compete. As far as I am concerned....mission accomplished from that standpoint.
Was I disappointed that Latas did not play more? Of course. That goes without saying. I wasn't able to stay to see the Paraguay game so I never saw Russell Latapy LIVE at the World Cup....one of 2 things that I had fervently wished for (the other being able to witness us score a legitimate goal in the opposition net) that didn't happen.Â
The thing is, I trusted our technical team to prepare our team to perform in the best way possible. I believe they did so. At the end of the day, this was the same technical staff that did not select Latas in the starting line up against Bahrain in our crucial WC playoff game on Novermber 16, 2005. We went on to win that game and the decision to play Latas at the start was deemed then to be GUTSY, and TACTICALLY CORRECT. Beenhakker was then hailed as a coach had the courage of his convictions. Even the public naysayers were forced to concede that it was the correct move.Â
Had we lost that game however, I'm somehow thinking that the whole Latas debate would have been ignited right then. In the final tally, when you win....people have to eat dey biscuit and hush dey mout. But lose and heaven help yuh.