June 15, 2024, 09:29:37 PM

Author Topic: Why T&T Cannot Get Quality Opponents for Friendlies?  (Read 5459 times)

Why T&T Cannot Get Quality Opponents for Friendlies?
« on: October 05, 2006, 09:36:02 AM »
since we finish the WC, we get japan 'B', st. vincent (nicaragua before), and panama. how come we can't get better opponents?

but look at jamaica. they playing big sides since they qualify in 1998 - brazil, nigeria, england, uraguay, south africa ghana, australia, ireland. will we be playing sides like this in 8 years when we back to playing st. vincent 4 months after the world cup?

jamaica friendlies since june 1998:

Friendly 2006    MONTREAL CANADA - 04.09.2006    

England (ENG)   6:0 (4:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2006    MANCHESTER ENGLAND - 03.06.2006    

Jamaica (JAM)   1:4 (0:2)    Ghana (GHA)      
Friendly 2006    LEICESTER ENGLAND - 29.05.2006    

USA (USA)   1:1 (1:1)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2006    CARY USA - 11.04.2006    

Australia (AUS)   5:0 (2:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2005    LONDON ENGLAND - 09.10.2005    

Guatemala (GUA)   1:2 (1:1)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2005    FORT LAUDERDALE USA - 01.10.2005    

Jamaica (JAM)   0:0    Honduras (HON)      
Friendly 2005    ATLANTA USA - 04.06.2005    

Guatemala (GUA)   0:1 (0:1)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2005    ATLANTA USA - 20.04.2005    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:2 (0:0)    Guatemala (GUA)      
Friendly 2004    FORT LAUDERDALE USA - 02.10.2004    

Republic of Ireland (IRL)   1:0 (1:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Unity Cup    LONDON ENGLAND - 02.06.2004    

Nigeria (NGA)   2:0 (1:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Unity Cup    LONDON ENGLAND - 31.05.2004    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:1 (2:1)    Venezuela (VEN)      
Friendly 2004    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 28.04.2004    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:2 (1:0)    Honduras (HON)      
Friendly 2004    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 31.03.2004    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:0 (1:0)    Uruguay (URU)      
Friendly 2004    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 18.02.2004    

Jamaica (JAM)   3:0 (1:0)    El Salvador (SLV)      
Friendly 2003    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 16.11.2003    

Brazil (BRA)   1:0 (1:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2003    LEICESTER ENGLAND - 12.10.2003    

Australia (AUS)   2:1 (1:1)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2003    READING ENGLAND - 07.09.2003    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:0 (2:0)    Paraguay (PAR)      
Friendly 2003    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 09.07.2003    

Jamaica (JAM)   1:2 (0:2)    Cuba (CUB)      
Friendly 2003    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 06.07.2003    

Jamaica (JAM)   3:2 (2:0)    Nigeria (NGA)      
Friendly 2003    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 25.05.2003    

South Africa (RSA)   0:0    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2003    CAPE TOWN SOUTH AFRICA - 30.04.2003    

Venezuela (VEN)   2:0 (2:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2003    CARACAS VENEZUELA - 02.04.2003    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:1 (1:0)    Barbados (BRB)      
Friendly 2003    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 23.03.2003    

Cuba (CUB)   1:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2003    HAVANA CUBA - 13.03.2003    

Cuba (CUB)   0:0    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2003    HAVANA CUBA - 11.03.2003    

Jamaica (JAM)   1:2 (0:2)    USA (USA)      
Friendly 2003    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 12.02.2003    

Barbados (BRB)   1:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2003    BRIDGETOWN BARBADOS - 12.01.2003    

Nigeria (NGA)   0:0    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    LAGOS NIGERIA - 20.11.2002    

Guatemala (GUA)   1:1 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    GUATEMALA CITY GUATEMALA - 30.10.2002    

Japan (JPN)   1:1 (1:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    TOKYO JAPAN - 16.10.2002    

India (IND)   0:0    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    WOLVERHAMPTON ENGLAND - 01.09.2002    

India (IND)   3:0 (1:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    WATFORD ENGLAND - 29.08.2002    

St. Lucia (LCA)   1:3 (1:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    VIEUX FORT ST. LUCIA - 11.08.2002    

Grenada (GRN)   0:1 (0:1)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    ST. GEORGE'S GRENADA - 02.08.2002    

Nigeria (NGA)   1:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    LONDON ENGLAND - 18.05.2002    

USA (USA)   5:0 (1:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2002    EAST RUTHERFORD USA - 16.05.2002    

Grenada (GRN)   2:0 (1:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2001    ST. GEORGE'S GRENADA - 01.08.2001    

St. Kitts and Nevis (SKN)   0:0    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2001    BASSETERRE ST. KITTS AND NEVIS - 30.07.2001    

Cuba (CUB)   0:0    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2001    HAVANA CUBA - 20.07.2001    

Jamaica (JAM)   4:1 (3:0)    Cuba (CUB)      
Friendly 2001    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 10.06.2001    

Jamaica (JAM)   0:0    Bulgaria (BUL)      
Friendly 2001    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 28.01.2001    

Jamaica (JAM)   3:0 (1:0)    Bolivia (BOL)      
Friendly 2001    MIAMI USA - 26.01.2001    

Cayman Islands (CAY)   0:6    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2000    GRAND CAYMAN CAYMAN ISLANDS - 27.08.2000    

Trinidad and Tobago (TRI)   2:4    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2000    PORT OF SPAIN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - 08.07.2000    

Jamaica (JAM)   5:0    Barbados (BRB)      
Friendly 2000    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 05.07.2000    

Jamaica (JAM)   1:1 (0:1)    Cuba (CUB)      
Friendly 2000    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 02.07.2000    

Japan (JPN)   4:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2000    CASABLANCA MOROCCO - 06.06.2000    

Morocco (MAR)   1:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2000    CASABLANCA MOROCCO - 04.06.2000    

Jamaica (JAM)   0:3 (0:1)    Colombia (COL)      
Friendly 2000    NEW YORK USA - 27.05.2000    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:1    New Zealand (NZL)      
Friendly 2000    GUANGZHOU CHINA PR - 16.01.2000    

Uruguay (URU)   2:0    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 2000    GUANGZHOU CHINA PR - 14.01.2000    

Cayman Islands (CAY)   1:4    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 1999    GEORGETOWN GUYANA - 24.10.1999    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:2    USA (USA)      
Friendly 1999    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 08.09.1999    

Canada (CAN)   1:0    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 1999    TORONTO CANADA - 02.09.1999    

Ghana (GHA)   2:1    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 1999    ACCRA GHANA - 07.08.1999    

Jamaica (JAM)   0:4    Saudi Arabia (KSA)      
Friendly 1999    FULLERTON USA - 15.07.1999    

Jamaica (JAM)   2:1    Saudi Arabia (KSA)      
Friendly 1999    SAN BERNARDINO USA - 13.07.1999    

Sweden (SWE)   2:1 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 1999    STOCKHOLM SWEDEN - 27.05.1999    

Norway (NOR)   6:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 1999    OSLO NORWAY - 20.05.1999    

Jamaica (JAM)   1:1 (0:0)    South Africa (RSA)      
Friendly 1999    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 09.05.1999

Jamaica (JAM)   3:0 (0:0)    Paraguay (PAR)      
Friendly 1999    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 31.03.1999    

Trinidad and Tobago (TRI)   2:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 1999    PORT OF SPAIN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - 28.03.1999    

Jamaica (JAM)   4:2    Guatemala (GUA)      
Guatemala Copa 1999    GUATEMALA CITY GUATEMALA - 07.03.1999    

Jamaica (JAM)   1:3    Paraguay (PAR)      
Guatemala Copa 1999    GUATEMALA CITY GUATEMALA - 05.03.1999    

Jamaica (JAM)   0:0    Bolivia (BOL)      
Guatemala Copa 1999    GUATEMALA CITY GUATEMALA - 03.03.1999    

Costa Rica (CRC)   9:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)      
Friendly 1999    SAN JOSE (CRC) COSTA RICA - 24.02.1999    

Jamaica (JAM)   1:1 (0:0)    Costa Rica (CRC)      
Friendly 1999    KINGSTON JAMAICA - 10.02.1999
« Last Edit: October 05, 2006, 09:42:00 AM by Andre »

Offline Bricktop

Re: Why T&T Cannot Get Quality Opponents for Friendlies?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2006, 09:43:04 AM »
Everybody loves REGGAE. MAAMA MAN love SOCA  ;D

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2006, 09:45:00 AM »
scheups.

Costa Rica (CRC)   9:0 (0:0)    Jamaica (JAM)     
Friendly 1999    SAN JOSE (CRC) COSTA RICA - 24.02.1999 

« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2006, 09:49:36 AM »
Yeah but look at total amount of goals dey get in de first 4 games...4 games 15 goals against ::)

Offline Remie

« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2006, 09:51:14 AM »
If you look at of the big games that Jamaica have played recently you will see that they were played in England. If T&T were willing to play more friendlies in England then i think they would be able to attract better opponents. However we have seen that T&T have their hands full with sides like Iceland, Peru, Wales and Japan. So maybe it is wiser to continue playing against smaller sides.

Jamaican football has gone backwards since 1998. Its not wise to copy anything that the Jamaican Football Federation has done.

Just to clarify im half Trini half Jamaican so i have no allegiance.

« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2006, 09:55:00 AM »
If you look at of the big games that Jamaica have played recently you will see that they were played in England. If T&T were willing to play more friendlies in England then i think they would be able to attract better opponents. However we have seen that T&T have their hands full with sides like Iceland, Peru, Wales and Japan. So maybe it is wiser to continue playing against smaller sides.

Jamaican football has gone backwards since 1998. Its not wise to copy anything that the Jamaican Football Federation has done.

Pick a parent !  :rotfl:

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2006, 10:07:08 AM »
I think we just have to be a lil patient, at least playing against some average sides will give the guys (younger)  a chance to build up there confidence in the short term...we still have plenty football to play....but the TTFF should really look into setting up training camps in England, and have some games across there, especially for the European based guys and those who now join new clubs, it real hard to be back and forth all the time...
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2006, 10:08:50 AM »
Whim said that we have another friendly after these 2. Who is it ?

« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2006, 10:12:30 AM »

Austria on Nov 15

Offline rastafari

« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2006, 10:12:53 AM »

No way it could be wiser to continue playing against smaller sides.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Offline Padams

« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2006, 10:14:08 AM »

D way d schedulin games....Mus be Joe Public and N.E Stars

« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2006, 10:14:39 AM »

Austria on Nov 15
Thanks

« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2006, 10:16:25 AM »
Why do European countries hardly ever play friendly outside of Europe ?

Offline Remie

« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2006, 10:26:33 AM »
Why do European countries hardly ever play friendly outside of Europe ?

I think its because they get enough pressure with the club versus country issue that they don't want their players travelling too far and getting jet lag. Now that more Brazilians, Argentinians, etc are playing in Europe i think you will see most of the bigger nations playing their friendlies in Europe even if they are not European.

« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2006, 10:29:56 AM »
True.

Offline marcpurcell

« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2006, 10:32:10 AM »
We are not going to get many European games because of Euro qualifiers.

That leaves Asia which beyond Japan, South Korea and Australia is not worth the travel.

On this side of the Atlantic in Concacaf you you should pick a decent opponent and in South America a middle power like Colombia, Peru and Ecuador should be available.

I still think it is a waste of time to bring home quality European based players to play Nicaruaga or St. Vincent. It does nothing for the game. This musical chairs of teams that T&T will play is plain stupid.
Born in Montreal
Living in Toronto
But still a Barataria boy at heart

Offline Padams

« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2006, 10:34:58 AM »

Austria on Nov 15

Thanks Tallman, any info on where this game be played though??

Offline Remie

« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2006, 10:37:49 AM »

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Why not? I would say a blend would be good. Maybe play 3 smaller sides to develop organisation, possession, passing, shooting. Then play a good side to test where we are at. If we just play big sides consistently we will pick up positives but we will be on the defensive most of the time. What did Jamaica learn from their games against Brazil, England, Australia? If anything they seemed to get worse as the years went by.

When i say smaller sides, i agree not St Vincent- that is a waste of time. The smaller sides in South America are good tests. Peru showed that they were a good test for T&T this year.

« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2006, 10:44:26 AM »
The selection of opposition must coincide with the developmental goals of the team. Take for instance we are playing friendlies now to expose new players to international football in preparation for the Caribbean Cup. The Caribbean Cup is actually qualification/preparation tournament for the gold cup. We will have to play a team or 2 above the CFU standard to prepare for the Gold Cup. Best case scenario would be against teams that play similar styles to those we'll face. Hopefully we do well at the tournament and we'd be a stronger team by then. Then we could think about playing tougher (top 20) teams.

Offline Padams

« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2006, 10:45:03 AM »

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Why not? I would say a blend would be good. Maybe play 3 smaller sides to develop organisation, possession, passing, shooting. Then play a good side to test where we are at. If we just play big sides consistently we will pick up positives but we will be on the defensive most of the time. What did Jamaica learn from their games against Brazil, England, Australia? If anything they seemed to get worse as the years went by.

When i say smaller sides, i agree not St Vincent- that is a waste of time. The smaller sides in South America are good tests. Peru showed that they were a good test for T&T this year.

I concur....

« Reply #20 on: October 05, 2006, 11:55:46 AM »
Who does our FA approach?
How does our FA approach them?

I wonder if we are being turned down or if our FA just not organizing things well enough.  These fixtures are usually arranged a long time beforehand.  The way our FA is I could see them waiting until too late.

« Reply #21 on: October 05, 2006, 01:11:22 PM »
We get a cut a$$ in Japan.
It is obvious that we have not developed to the point where we could field a team without the Euorpean based. We can't keep calling them back every two months so we need to take time and develop the locals.

Men talking bout how SVG is a waste of time. Until we prove that I not taking it for  granted. 
Until we start beating these so called lesser sides convincingly it doh make sense to play better sides. We might get lucky against the bigger sides and win a few but that does not mean that the team is fundamentally sound.

In order for us to start possesing the ball and owning opponents we need to get practice doing at a slower pace and then speed up.

Right now qulaity opponents is relative to who looking at the situation. Personally for where the team is I think Panama and maybe even SVG is a quality opponent.

Offline rowdy

« Reply #22 on: October 05, 2006, 01:34:11 PM »
Austria on Nov 15
Thanks Tallman, any info on where this game be played though??

Vienna Austria, Ernst Happel Stadion
http://www.oefb.at/show_bericht.php?ber_id=3075&fpid=297

Or did you mean on TV?

« Reply #23 on: October 06, 2006, 05:49:50 AM »
Financial considerarations ...we pay the same to see lesser opponents especially if the TTFF builds us up to prepare ourselves to pay a lot to see a class opponent. the TTFF thgen reverts to what they had in mind and announces a change in everything but the price of admission.
A good strategy dont you think ?
everyone knows you have to pay less to a lesser opponent so jack shows us how it is done but we dont see ....... or just done see !

« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2006, 06:36:30 AM »
We talk about this topic before.....I go find the thread but until then.

Its because we are a shit side with no pedigree and aging stars.

The few competent players we have, we get trouble getting them and we have no marketability.

We do not have a sustainable population abroad that is willing to play an exorbitant ticket price to fill a stadium.

Also we doe provide no kinda test for any Big side....side want to play technical football, not scruffle, grit and deterrmination.

Added to that fact our administration and their history....we have arranged and cancelled games quite a few times with many federations. I am sure a few federations may not want to have dealings with us again.

it is about economics and we not worth playing.

Get vex if alyuh want but I doe see nobody running we down to play friendly. 
« Last Edit: October 06, 2006, 06:52:55 AM by Touches »

« Reply #25 on: October 06, 2006, 06:43:22 AM »

We talk about this topic before.....I go find the thread but until then.

Its because we are a shit side with no pedigree and aging stars.

The few competent players we have, we get trouble getting them and we have no marketability.

We do not have a sustainable population abroad that is willing to play an exorbitant ticket price to fill a stadium.

Also we doe provide no kinda test for any Big side....side want to play technical football, not scruffle, grit and detrermination.

Added to that fact our administration and their history....we have arranged and cancelled games quite a few times with many federations. I am sure a few federations may not want to have dealings with us again.

it is about economics and we not worth playing.

Get vex if alyuh want but I doe see nobody running we down to play friendly. 

Touches yuh mad or what?

we is ah big side we play in de world cup. 

We have real talent

we is de perennial caribbean champions

we go be in blistering form for de Digicel and de Gold cup

we small but we potent

we federation makingz ah upswing
we.....we....we...

ok

weeeeee,,, weeeee   weeeeee

enjoy de ride.

weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
« Last Edit: October 06, 2006, 06:45:50 AM by truetrini »

« Reply #26 on: October 06, 2006, 06:50:44 AM »
Not to mention location. No team of any real stature going to fly thier first team to Trinidad, unless they bringing the team for a vacation camp. Jamaica does play against good teams but how many of those games are played in the office.

Offline sting_pana

« Reply #27 on: October 06, 2006, 06:54:32 AM »
...Right now qulaity opponents is relative to who looking at the situation. Personally for where the team is I think Panama and maybe even SVG is a quality opponent.

You have all the reason...Panama is and will be a very quality opponent for Your squad this Wednesday!

Andre don't know anothing about quality opponents!

« Reply #28 on: October 06, 2006, 06:58:10 AM »
...Right now qulaity opponents is relative to who looking at the situation. Personally for where the team is I think Panama and maybe even SVG is a quality opponent.

You have all the reason...Panama is and will be a very quality opponent for Your squad this Wednesday!

Andre don't know anothing about quality opponents!

but what de arse is dis boy?

Like today is let ah mad f**ker out ah de mad house day or what?

Stinky dat is you? Is it really you?

Nah..it have tuh be an imposter...what next Bimbalst de Bajan buggerer making ah cameo?

what de???????

How tings sting?  did you back T&T in de world cup?  I mean since we wuk allyuh arse like ah does ah bad Noreiga salts.

Yuh say allyuh is quality opposition?

we coach say he want some sorf side tuh blood de new players.

we go see how good allyuh is....lol

Offline sting_pana

« Reply #29 on: October 06, 2006, 07:02:15 AM »
Sorry but...at this moment WE ARE FAVORITES!!!

things are changed! sonce last meet!

2 - 0 PANAMA WINS!

Sorry