May 22, 2024, 08:37:10 PM

Author Topic: Queen's Park after Avery  (Read 18092 times)

Queen's Park after Avery
« on: December 28, 2006, 11:59:13 AM »
Queen's Park after Avery.

Trinidad and Tobago defender Avery John is set to become this country’s latest defender to join the English professional scene.
John, of American Major League Soccer’s New England Revolution, has been targeted by Queen’s Park Rangers and according to club manager John Gregory, will be signed on January 2 just as the transfer window opens.
John had been on trial at Leeds United but was unsuccessful. However soon after Queen’s Park of the Championship Division took note of him. Over the last couple of weeks, the club’s administration had been in contact with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation, requesting information on John and his overall international appearance status to which the TTFF cooperated.
Sampsa Timoska, of Finnish club MyPa  is also expected to sign with Queen’s Park and along with John could make his  debut for the club in the FA Cup third-round tie against Carlos Edwards’ Luton Town  on January 6.
“We have a couple of people in mind who are ready to come straight in, and they will be registered on January 2. I think they will enhance the squad. There is no point bringing someone in if he is not better than what we have, because we have 35 professionals,” said Gregory who once managed Dwight Yorke at Aston Villa.
Meantime, Sunderland, club of Yorke, has expressed interest in the services of Edwards. The former Wrexham player is now being targeted by Celtic, Newcastle United, Charlton Athletic, Watford and Birmingham City.
Sunderland manager Roy Keane added “Carlos Edwards is a player that I admire and he is someone I would like to add to the squad. We do intend to follow up our interest but it would be premature to assume that anything will definitely happen in that direction. We'll have to see what Luton's position is on the matter but he is someone we're interested in, yes."
It is also understood that St Johnstone striker Jason Scotland has received interest from and English club but time will tell what the former Defence Force striker decides on. And striker Stern John has been offered a contract extension at Coventry City but is still undecided. John has also been reportedly offered a lucrative deal by Israeli club Beitar Jerusalem.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2006, 08:30:21 PM by Flex »

Re: Avery John to sign with QPR
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2006, 12:07:49 PM »

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2006, 12:12:43 PM »
Good news for de blade specialist. All de best Avery!

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2006, 12:19:53 PM »
NICENESS!    Congrats Avery :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2006, 12:22:50 PM »
good news, but im very surprised... :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2006, 12:27:28 PM »

Why TI? Yuh doh think he could make it at QPR or yuh think he could do better?

« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2006, 12:30:28 PM »
Congrats Avery well deserved....hardworker you'll fit in well in England

« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2006, 12:31:26 PM »

avery wasnt our best defender, he dont have de touches or dribbling skills to play at that level, de man passing is atrocious, sancho could more than make qpr or higher if john make qpr... juss my opinion

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2006, 12:35:09 PM »
yuh have meh blessins sah, congrats!
All American

« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2006, 12:35:43 PM »

and gray still in de pro league and he was a better defender than john, that doesnt make sense atall, its all about agents I guess, gray and sancho need a new agent...

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2006, 12:40:50 PM »

yeah i agree with you its how the agent can market a player to the clubs.

and gray still in de pro league and he was a better defender than john, that doesnt make sense atall, its all about agents I guess, gray and sancho need a new agent...
All American

« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2006, 01:02:13 PM »
some people should just not speak ??? and i guess hardest could play for manchester cause he hit a man a cap in training right??

« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2006, 01:04:21 PM »
Congrats Avery John.

« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2006, 01:31:04 PM »

avery wasnt our best defender, he dont have de touches or dribbling skills to play at that level, de man passing is atrocious, sancho could more than make qpr or higher if john make qpr... juss my opinion

shows how little you follow our footballers because Avery had a very good year in New England and many have seen improvement from him since the World Cup. All de best to Avery, at least the man finding work, unlike theobold and spann.

« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2006, 01:40:27 PM »

yeah i agree with you its how the agent can market a player to the clubs.

I agreewith yuh garcia how they get marketed yuh eh see what happened with them 3 JA players ... who else is an agent fuh tnt congrats avery
« Last Edit: December 28, 2006, 02:30:27 PM by triniman »

« Reply #15 on: December 28, 2006, 01:53:35 PM »
Yeah that was uncalled for ,the man had a great year and he get rewarded for it .This tread have nothing to do with other players . Congratulations Avery ,you deserve it .

« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2006, 02:17:18 PM »
Congrats to Avery....it just shows what a little initiative will do....he didnt relax in the off season...he went out and showed what he has to offer in England....

« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2006, 02:35:58 PM »
The good new is.. its always an improvement to move from the MLS to the Championship..The bad news is. the team is ranked 20 out of a possible 24 and can easliy face relegation to League One if no improvement is done.

None-the-less..Congrats the Avery.. he has worked hard since his days at Pres...well deserved. :beermug:
« Last Edit: December 28, 2006, 02:46:38 PM by big dawg »

« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2006, 02:42:02 PM »
TI.........i understand your point about sancho and so on but that is no reason for you to sound like if you hating on de man

« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2006, 03:09:46 PM »
Not to say that gray and sancho doh deserve chances too but stop hating on the man you doh think he could mak4e it at that level but obviously the coach of qpr thinks otherwise....i think ill have to go with his opinion

« Reply #20 on: December 28, 2006, 03:25:54 PM »
agents could market til dey blue in de face..yuh still have to try out, work hard and IMPRESS!

steups.

More tings change is more dey remain de same.

BIG up AVERY!

« Reply #21 on: December 28, 2006, 04:02:32 PM »
The glass is half empty.

« Reply #22 on: December 28, 2006, 04:05:00 PM »
yes saboteurs trying to derail we football because we is ah BIG threat to British football.

Man why didn't I see dat all along/

Wait I know why?

I have a brain!

« Reply #23 on: December 28, 2006, 04:06:42 PM »
TI.........i understand your point about sancho and so on but that is no reason for you to sound like if you hating on de man

breds i not hating on de man, but i juss saying based on what i have seen of him, he is not our bess defender and is gettin a better chance than our better defenders who are younger and more talented, so what does that say? ??? im happy for him, but the joke is the uk teams know he is our oldest defender but he gettin de bess contract, but our younger defenders who have more time and maybe another 1 or 2 world cups not getting trials, tuh me that is bullshit, or juss sabotage...

buh wuh de f**k!? dred you really livin in lala land awa!?

If iz sabotage and lets say it is... and the english leagues are leavin our "younger, more talented" players back home... then our local league should be one of the best in the world not so...??

Sometimes I really feel your brain is a rotting carcass of shit.

« Reply #24 on: December 28, 2006, 04:41:39 PM »
I must have missed it ...but when did this trial take place ???

« Reply #25 on: December 28, 2006, 04:46:17 PM »

breds i not hating on de man, but i juss saying based on what i have seen of him, he is not our bess defender and is gettin a better chance than our better defenders who are younger and more talented, so what does that say? ??? im happy for him, but the joke is the uk teams know he is our oldest defender but he gettin de bess contract, but our younger defenders who have more time and maybe another 1 or 2 world cups not getting trials, tuh me that is bullshit, or juss sabotage...

TI, Avery is left footed. Gray and Sancho are right footed. Maybe QPR needed a left footed player.

« Reply #26 on: December 28, 2006, 04:54:02 PM »
Well nothing set in stone  yet - the article did not say it was a done deal. But all the best to Avery...he reach as far as one could reach in de MLS and if he goes to QPR it will be a move to Europe, which is what he always tried for.

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #27 on: December 28, 2006, 04:57:50 PM »
yea TI like a club that is 4 places from d drop go take a "young and inexperienced" defender  :-\ :-\

« Reply #28 on: December 28, 2006, 05:00:20 PM »
BUT GRAY AND SANCHO IS OLE MEN TOO YOU KNOW :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #29 on: December 28, 2006, 05:28:20 PM »
TI, Avery is left footed. Gray and Sancho are right footed. Maybe QPR needed a left footed player.
Che..dat make too too much sense  ;D
anyway Congrats Avery  :beermug: