May 28, 2024, 09:12:12 PM

Author Topic: Arsenal want young Caribbean star.  (Read 15365 times)

Arsenal want young Caribbean star.
« on: March 12, 2007, 05:33:32 AM »
By: Staff Writer.

Arsenal want to sign Trinidad and Tobago striker Lester Peltier according to reports over the weekend. 18 year old Peltier has been thought to be attracting the attentions of Cardiff City but Arsenal now look certain to move for the promising youngster.
Peltier currently plays for San Juan Jabloteh who are coached by former England international Terry Fenwick. Fenwick told the News of the World: "Cardiff want Lester and we told Liam Brady at Arsenal they could have him for a few days"
Arsenal currently have on their roster two players with T&T roots in 16 year old defender Gavin and his older brother Justin Hoyte (23) which could make Lester move a more comfortable one.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2007, 05:43:20 AM by Flex »

Re: Arsenal want young Caribbean star.
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2007, 06:00:19 AM »
Wow!! what a great opportunity for Lester and a big move by Fenwick.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2007, 06:06:46 AM »
So does this mean that after the "good" performance in the world cup that UK/European tams will be scouting T&T for talent?

Well they might as well have a look at InterCol/SSFL, cause it seems as though they want them young.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2007, 06:12:13 AM »
This is great news, but I not saying anything until he signs. 

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2007, 06:52:46 AM »
Finally some good news for a change. hope they sign him

« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2007, 06:55:47 AM »
No doubt.

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2007, 08:16:15 AM »
i hope he doh move like denzil and bawl it too cold or say he prefer jabloteh or cardiff city brand.

« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2007, 08:18:28 AM »
This is great news, but I not saying anything until he signs. 

fuh real,we trinis like to count egg in chicken bottom.

« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2007, 08:46:46 AM »
Hurry up and sign him, then let us know.  Good luck Peltier.

Offline Papachunks

« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2007, 08:47:17 AM »
Yea leh we wait to see in it written in stone....fellas can yall imagine two premier sides with trinis in it....sunders and arsenal.....

« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2007, 09:08:10 AM »
maybe anton should ask for garvin hoyte...

« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2007, 09:10:59 AM »
Yea leh we wait to see in it written in stone....fellas can yall imagine two premier sides with trinis in it....sunders and arsenal.....
Tht sounding bess

« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2007, 09:11:50 AM »

That is stale news man. There was a time it was practically Dwight Yorke vs Shaka Hislop in a Man u vs West ham game some years ago. Dwight was running the hammers ragged, and creating chance after chance and shaka was keeping the score respectable....

I not sure of the max. number of players we had simultaneously though.

Dont know if Yorke, Shaka, Stern were there together.

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2007, 09:20:34 AM »
you think we can get  Gavin Hoyte to play for T&T :D the more defenders the better well when things are back up & runing

« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2007, 09:23:41 AM »

That is stale news man. There was a time it was practically Dwight Yorke vs Shaka Hislop in a Man u vs West ham game some years ago. Dwight was running the hammers ragged, and creating chance after chance and shaka was keeping the score respectable....

I not sure of the max. number of players we had simultaneously though.

Dont know if Yorke, Shaka, Stern were there together.

Ah know what yuh mean but is a long time since we had trinis in premiership on more than one team

« Reply #15 on: March 12, 2007, 09:37:23 AM »
When it in Black and white I go be happy. Ah tired get set up last was with Avery

« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2007, 09:43:14 AM »
This will be the biggest piece of transfer news to hit Trinidad since Dwight's move to Manutd.

I hope it comes thru!

But i want to understand that how the two players with Trini roots make Lester's move more comfortable? It's not like if they know anything about Trinidad anyway!

..............more reason to not believe the story!

Offline black chinee

« Reply #17 on: March 12, 2007, 10:16:26 AM »
fingers crossed :praying: :praying:

« Reply #18 on: March 12, 2007, 10:26:37 AM »
This will be the biggest piece of transfer news to hit Trinidad since Dwight's move to Manutd.

I hope it comes thru!

But i want to understand that how the two players with Trini roots make Lester's move more comfortable? It's not like if they know anything about Trinidad anyway!

..............more reason to not believe the story!

you meet them ah wha

« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2007, 10:39:43 AM »
you meet them ah wha

no triniman, but i have a brain to pick sense from nonsense!!

Please tell me how they going to make it easier for him due to their "Trini" roots.

« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2007, 10:46:49 AM »
you meet them ah wha

Please tell me how they going to make it easier for him due to their "Trini" roots.

well they may relate to him better , make him feel more at home at the club he can integrate better  is  what they talking about..  
« Last Edit: March 12, 2007, 10:50:30 AM by triniman »

Offline fivers

« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2007, 11:05:07 AM »
I always thought, for a country that doesn't have the standard of training as the European clubs have to some really talented youths. I see it all the time in the way they perform at the US colleges. If only they can be continued development. I hope Arsenal sign this youth. He may not get a run in the first team and may start with the youth team, such like Yorke and Aston Villa. I love the way Arsenal boss have them fellas playing and I hope this youth gets that type of exposure. Good luck to the youth.

« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2007, 11:39:13 AM »
you meet them ah wha

well they may relate to him better , make him feel more at home at the club he can integrate better  is  what they talking about..  

explain how dey relating to him better!!

lol.............some ah alyuh just like tuh talk!

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #23 on: March 12, 2007, 11:59:55 AM »
you meet them ah wha

explain how dey relating to him better!!

lol.............some ah alyuh just like tuh talk!

well seein dat dey "might understand" his accent n way of speech(worst ting is havin tuh repeat yuh self ova n ova) may make him ah lil more comfortable and who knows their parent/family musbe gud at makin one two trini dish

little things like dah man...wont make ah big difference but still ah lil
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #24 on: March 12, 2007, 12:19:56 PM »
Word is that Arsenal thought they were scouting a French youngster becuz of his name.

Offline krsrd

« Reply #25 on: March 12, 2007, 12:25:56 PM »
Only problem you need to look out for is that Arsenal like to sign young players that show some promise and quite a few don't get a game or they play very few games before being let go. The lads better off going to a team where he's got a real chance of playing regularly. 

and anyway, If he's that good I'm sure we'd have him  ;D

« Reply #26 on: March 12, 2007, 12:39:30 PM »
By: Staff Writer.

Arsenal want to sign Trinidad and Tobago striker Lester Peltier according to reports over the weekend. 18 year old Peltier has been thought to be attracting the attentions of Cardiff City but Arsenal now look certain to move for the promising youngster.
Peltier currently plays for San Juan Jabloteh who are coached by former England international Terry Fenwick. Fenwick told the News of the World: "Cardiff want Lester and we told Liam Brady at Arsenal they could have him for a few days"
Arsenal currently have on their roster two players with T&T roots in 16 year old defender Gavin and his older brother Justin Hoyte (23) which could make Lester move a more comfortable one.

I must have read this wrong .... where does it say that Arsenal wants this player ? ... A quote from Fenwick ...."Cardiff want Lester and we told Liam Brady at Arsenal they could have him for a few days"
Does this tally with the opening paragraph ? Is there possibly a more substantial quote to support the claim then ...you know one by Arsenal for example ?
Solely from the above forumites have already signed the boy up ...this is not counting chickens ..this is counting eggs !

« Reply #27 on: March 12, 2007, 12:53:19 PM »
We have to wait and see what happens. he hasn't signed anything yet, but he looks to be doing well at his trials

People are excited about Arsenal and I could understand why. It is a massive EPL and European team.

But Cardiff is a great option too. They are well in the hunt for a EPL qualification this year and sound like a competitive Championship team where Peltier may see more time right away and develop faster.

Let's wait and see...good luck to the youth.

« Reply #28 on: March 12, 2007, 01:00:56 PM »
This is something tuh put ah lil smile on yuh face, not a big one doh, cuz de deal isn't closed yet. Despite whether they may think he was French, German, African etc,  ah sure when dey see de breddah in practice, dey will say damn dem T&T players are fuh real. All de best Peltier, I'm sure all de T&T supporters their prayers are wid you. Give thanks. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2007, 01:02:51 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #29 on: March 12, 2007, 01:24:22 PM »
where does it say that Arsenal wants this player ?

NOWHERE.
There also isn't a  shred of evidence that he is doing well or they remotely interested.

Not here at least.  Best of luck to him but I hope this not setting it up to make it look like a big rejection.