July 27, 2024, 09:10:49 AM

Author Topic: T&T Women’s team off to USA for Futbol Internacional.  (Read 15504 times)

T&T Women’s team off to USA for Futbol Internacional.
« on: April 19, 2007, 05:18:58 PM »
T&T Women’s team off to USA for Futbol Internacional.

A nineteen-member Trinidad and Tobago Senior Women’s team was scheduled to arrive in Alabama, USA on Thursday to take part in the Futbol Internacional 2007 in which they country will face the National Teams of USA and China.
The tournament will conclude April 28 with the championship match at Mobile's Baker High School stadium. The festival also features teams representing Argentina, Canada and Mexico.
The tournament is billed as Alabama’s largest football event outside of the Olympic Games and will reportedly pump more than US$2.8 million into six local economies across Alabama.

The T&T team will play under head coach Marlon Charles and includes several US and Canada based players such as TTFF’s  “Player of the Year” for 2006 Ayana Russell (Rochester, New York), Aveann Douglas (Rochester , NY), Ahkeela Mollon (Columbia, South Carolina), Katrina Meyer (Nashville, Tennesse), 2005 “Player of the Year” Kennya Cordner (Atlanta, Georgia), Patrice Superville (Atlanta, Georgia), Dernelle Mascall (Mobile, Alabama), Anastasia Prescott (Mobile, Alabama), Micah Mahabirsingh (Toronto, Canada), Jenelle Nedd (Armadillo, Texas), Mauricia Nicholson (Pensacola, FL), Shurell Burton (Miami) and Afiya Castle (Atlanta, Georgia). The rest of the squad includes home-based players Kimika Forbes, Gaill-Ann Thomas, Leslie-Ann James, Tasha St Louis, Niasha Reyes and Jemilia Mathlin.

The staff also includes former national player Ricarda Nelson as manager and assistant coach Izler Browne, who attended the women’s football workshop conducted by Mary Harvey at the 2007 CFU Congress in Curacao in march, Steve Frederick (Goalkeeping coach), David Isaacs (physio/therapist) and Dexter Williams (Equipment officer).

The team arrives in Pensacola on Thursday and will then journey to Huntsville to view one of the two opening games between Canada/Mexico and USA/China. The locals will then train on Monday before taking on the USA Under 21 team on April 24 and then depart for the Tuscaloosa Sheraton Hotel before taking on China on April26. The finals of the tournament will be played on April 28.
The T&T senior team last played in a competitive tournament at the quarter finals of the CONCACAF Gold Cup, going down 3-0 despite a gritty showing to Mexico in Miami in November last year. They previously topped the CFU qualifying group ahead of Dominican Republic and Suriname in September, 2006.

Offline #8+1

• Midfielder
Re: T&T Women’s team off to USA for Futbol Internacional.
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2007, 06:15:52 PM »
Let's go ladies!! Let's put that Gold Cup tourney behind us and move forward with our best foot!! Hopefully I will join u all after my exams are done on d 24th! Beat mexico's ass!!!!!We had them last game, let's GET THEM this time!

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2007, 06:22:16 PM »
Beat mexico's ass!!!!!We had them last game, let's GET THEM this time!

Mexico ? are you sure we playing them ??

Whats the deal with the Mohammed twins. ?

« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2007, 07:48:44 PM »
Isn't it time we find a solid female coach to work with our  ladies' program? Charmaine Hooper!!!!! fuh the first female football national coach.
lOOK HOW MUCH  'MAN' IN THAT COACHING PARTY!!! YUH ALMOST HAVE ENOUGH TO FORM ATEAM.
NO FEMALES IN THE CONTINGENT?
Ah feel we  missing the boat here not realizing that 'gender' does  play some part in the team psyche here. Coaching female athlethes  requires ah whole different set of undertstanding in addition to just imparting skills and knowledge. performance could be hampered by......oh well ah go leave this alone.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2007, 07:51:57 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2007, 07:52:35 PM »
WEll - Even the Women is mostly foreign base

« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2007, 07:55:25 PM »
me eh mind dat...Charmaine Hooper is  foreign base. But dey Trini heritage so that is  ok.
Just the make up of the entourge going with the team sounding more like dem men going tuh party .

« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2007, 08:03:39 PM »
Let's go ladies!! Let's put that Gold Cup tourney behind us and move forward with our best foot!! Hopefully I will join u all after my exams are done on d 24th! Beat mexico's ass!!!!!We had them last game, let's GET THEM this time!
good luck. #8 +1. i knwo u will handle yuh business   :beermug:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2007, 09:38:59 PM »
Isn't it time we find a solid female coach to work with our  ladies' program? Charmaine Hooper!!!!! fuh the first female football national coach.
lOOK HOW MUCH  'MAN' IN THAT COACHING PARTY!!! YUH ALMOST HAVE ENOUGH TO FORM ATEAM.
NO FEMALES IN THE CONTINGENT?
Ah feel we  missing the boat here not realizing that 'gender' does  play some part in the team psyche here. Coaching female athlethes  requires ah whole different set of undertstanding in addition to just imparting skills and knowledge. performance could be hampered by......oh well ah go leave this alone.
The majority of female players prefer to play for male coaches. It's true that there are some differences in the psyche of the female athlete, but if they are treated as athletes to meet the demands of the game then there is not much of a problem with them being female.
What makes you think that Charmaine Hooper can coach or has the coaching experience or expertise to coach a national team? She was a great player and is a fantastic person...coach??? perhaps!!! Great influence...YES
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2007, 11:38:20 PM »
I gonna try to go and support the girls.

« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2007, 07:22:19 AM »
I hear we get another decent player to join the team in Nadine Liverpool (UAB).

Them Mohammed sisters was good, why they fall off just so for real ?
« Last Edit: April 20, 2007, 07:26:51 AM by Flex »

Offline shooter

« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2007, 10:31:07 AM »
anybody coming down to mobile...i will be there helping the organisers next saturday....i bringing real people to come support the girls it will be real nice....i think they play a practice match today at west florida...i going down there and take it in ah will keep allyuh posted

« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2007, 11:02:58 AM »
What kinda preparation has this team had??
Are we going into a tournament against the likes of USA and China with a team assembled  a week or two before the first game??

« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2007, 11:05:10 AM »
good luck ladies.

Offline jonny

« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2007, 01:34:31 AM »
Tournament start tomorrow with USA - China and Mexico - Argentina.

USA , China and Mexico playing with U21 team. Argentina and T & T with full senior team . Canada play with a mixture of youths and veterans.

24.4 USA (U21) - T & T in Huntsville ,Alabama
26.4 China (U21) T & T in Tuscaloosa , Alabama
28.4 Championship matches

http://www.2007futbolinternacional.com
« Last Edit: April 21, 2007, 01:38:31 AM by jonny »

Offline shooter

« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2007, 01:50:34 PM »
i went and watch a scrimmage game with the womens team vs a west florida xi.....nice game for the girls to see what they have to do to get prepared for the tournamet...the score ended up 2-1 in we favor, Dernelle Mascall and Jinelle Nedd got the goals.....individually there was some good stuff....they still have to work on their collectiveness and organisation as a team...they should do good as the tournament progresses... dont expect any miracles though....good prospects for the future though...best of luck...they practice this morning and they have a board work session this afternoon...i will keep you guys posted bless...

Offline brucekeros

« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2007, 04:14:03 PM »
Just some corrections shooter...me and you was at d game and yuh lost track of d score?  :devil:....d game end up 2-2.......it was against a pick up team from west florida......d women dem played well but dey aint match fit at all....below is some pictures....ah go keep alyuh updated with more photos and scores....bless

star striker dernelle mascall (player with white boots in hand and cute dimples  :devil:) takes a picture with her teammates and member of staff

d ladies biggest supporter

« Last Edit: April 21, 2007, 04:22:36 PM by brucekeros »

« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2007, 03:25:15 AM »
Thanx brucekeros and shooter...for the pics and updates.

« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2007, 08:09:02 AM »
I really don't like how the TTFF does treat the women team. With no respect!! It sad. All the best ladies. I will be cheering for you guys still.

If you guys can I will like to see some more pictures at the other games, scores and updates.

Thanks for the pictures Brucekeros!

Offline #8+1

• Midfielder
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2007, 12:44:29 PM »
me eh mind dat...Charmaine Hooper is  foreign base. But dey Trini heritage so that is  ok.
Just the make up of the entourge going with the team sounding more like dem men going tuh party .
I don't know bout that trini heritage... I hear she is Guyanese..... In any event, I really like Coach Charles.... He has the girls training and focusing on the proper methods..... and he is a nice man with a good football head on his shoulders..... Charmain's a champ, but we're cool for now, I think......

Offline #8+1

• Midfielder
« Reply #19 on: April 22, 2007, 12:45:48 PM »
Beat mexico's ass!!!!!We had them last game, let's GET THEM this time!

Mexico ? are you sure we playing them ??

Whats the deal with the Mohammed twins. ?
Well, I say let's beat Mexico's ass WHEN we meet them in d final rounds...... They're the team we gunnin 4 cause we have some mutual friends/ex-teammates on that team!! LOL.....

Offline #8+1

• Midfielder
« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2007, 12:49:41 PM »
Thanx brucekeros and shooter...for the pics and updates.
Yeah, Yeah! Big up on d updates and d pics..... dat sun lookin hot!!!!!!!!!! Thanks to The Polished Hoe for his undying support(lol)..... MUCH APPRECIATED! :D

« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2007, 08:15:57 PM »
Good luck ladies!!

Allyuh need to work out with some weights though ;)

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2007, 09:24:54 PM »
Ah wish de ladies all de best!! Allyuh go & support allyuh country!!!
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

Offline jonny

« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2007, 09:32:43 AM »
Yesterday :

Mexico - Canada 1-0
USA- China 2-0

Offline #8+1

• Midfielder
« Reply #24 on: April 23, 2007, 12:41:54 PM »
Yesterday :

Mexico - Canada 1-0
USA- China 2-0
okay, okay, good results............ Mexico beat Canada, huh???? hmmmmmmmm......

« Reply #25 on: April 24, 2007, 07:30:14 AM »
Tasha St Louis, Marissa Mohammed, Maria Mohammed and Maylee Attin-Johnson ....  :mackdaddy:

I love them bad.....

Only Tasha St Louis playing in Alabama though....

Offline maltabroda

« Reply #26 on: April 24, 2007, 09:05:18 PM »
T&T girls lost 2-0 to the US. They looked decent in the first half, the second half the US was camping in Tnt side of the feild.

« Reply #27 on: April 25, 2007, 07:07:08 AM »
Hard luck sisters... now go beat China.....

« Reply #28 on: April 25, 2007, 08:27:20 AM »
Yesterday :

Mexico - Canada 1-0
USA- China 2-0

You sure Mexico beat Canada. I taught Canada won 1-0... 8)
« Last Edit: April 25, 2007, 09:16:42 AM by Flex »

Offline maltabroda

« Reply #29 on: April 25, 2007, 08:47:53 AM »
yes Mexico won 1-0