April 28, 2024, 07:42:23 PM

Author Topic: 2007 Gold Cup reflections: in perspective after two games  (Read 2752 times)

2007 Gold Cup reflections: in perspective after two games
« on: June 10, 2007, 08:44:03 PM »
Just arrived back from L.A. two hours ago and I needed to get this off meh mind so here I go.  Just adding my perspectives on the historical participation of TNT at the 2007 Gold Cup. Was this a historic moment?  In so far at one time it appeared that  a 'football civil strife'  would threaten to keep us out. This appearance by  the 'upstart Warriors' had  some fans cringing as to what awaited this team; some fans simply expected the worst and hoped for the best.

Besides the game itself this event presented  an opportunity to meet up with the likes of 'Feliziano'; thanks for the organization with the tickets, the small lime and the generosity; Ricky another Trini in Alberta; thanks for the ole talk , the job you did with reporting, Patriot good to hook up again; E-man and the madam in full force;Desowa ; Trini out west in Socal; good to link up and Tallman; pleasure to meet one of the site's generals.

From a team's make up, it is unfair to compare this team with teams of the past but interestingly from the standpoint of match results, one could see that this team so far has achieved comparative results to a 'star- studded' Warriors team. Our last appearance at the Gold Cup was filled with high expectations; this one was the opposite.

Some victories are not measurable in wins and loses; this one for me was being present to see my national flag; to hear the national anthem; to see and support  the national team and to see once more TNT nationals in all parts of the Globe coming out to wave the 'flag' and adorn the  red white and black!!!! I know that despite the results, I rather see these colours at these events than a yellow cross and green flag!

From my humble  perspective, I  want to add my 2 cents.

Game one versus  El Salvador:  This was the game of the tournament that we should have won. We held our own for most parts and had opportunities.

Very spirited performance; TNT moved the ball well; Glasgow ran at the defense and  with Roberts, they had chances which did not materialize. This is one game where I actually thought that our forwards shoot needed to shoot more when we hit the top of the box rather than try to dribble
more.

The team passing and ball movement showed flashes of disciplined and controlled. There is a sense of 'team' play and  build up from the back. The defense held their own except for a few lapses/breakdowns which resulted in goals.

By far one of the best goals of the tournament so far was the one by Spann. Outstanding player performance  Williams in goal; this goalie saved  us from embarrassing scores.

Areas for Improvement:

1. Pace: I read where Wim stated prior to the tournament that our players were not as physically fit as they ought to be. This was evident at times. We have to make a commitment to team conditioning. At the international level---run run run  boy run; is like the old  song /game I lost my gloves on Saturday night and found them Sunday morning run run..alalallalalllall look nah  them Latin players is all about speed.

2. Strength on the ball: too many times our players lost the 50/50 challenges or got pushed off the ball. Man too thin; physical development and strength training have to be part of these players development. Ah mean some players still have they mother's milk flowing off they face!!!

3. Defense: Left back; we need one.  Powers  coverage is not all they as yet. Noreiga is strong and will get better.

4. Midfield: we need a play maker and a defensive specialist. One to support the forwards by pushing the ball up and one to come back and help out  the defense.

Versus U.S.A.: 'Cat and Mouse'; The result was flattering. The U.S came out with scuds we have pellet guns. Williams in goal saved the day!!!! this man looked like he was part of a circus outfit with the saves he had to make ; the clowns out in front of him was doing their best to  cause a laughter for the  majority of U.S supporters.  The early injuries we suffered did not help matters.

Areas for Improvement:

Toussiant looked like a high school boy going up against the taller and more physical defense. Poor Wim must have looked down the bench and saw no alternatives. Toussiant as a striker in the international game is not effective!!!!! Too small; too weak on the ball.

Same sh..t different game: forwards need to shoot more.

Intensity / passion/ determination lacking; imagine on the second goal, midfielder standing and hoping that the U.S player would get caught in the off side trap!!! man running by you and yuh just stand up and watch the man go by? steupssssssss

There were parts of this game  where we just stood and let the U.S . move the ball at will. Our youth, inexperience and the inability to match the physical challenges were exposed in this game.

Time and added experience will alleviate some of our flaws. Thank goodness we have a few years till 2010. I know  there were no illusions of winning this tournament but I beg the question  how did this team do at this Gold Cup so far compared historically to teams of the past?
 My humble  opinions
Win or lose  we are fighters; that is a Warrior!!!

For the record, check this out:    http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=28305.msg320414#msg320414

So how did this team match up? history will tell.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 09:53:37 PM by AB.Trini »

Re: Gold Cup reflections: in perspective
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2007, 08:56:49 PM »
Nice observations. THe sw.net and the WN has made football enjoyable because u are able to meet up with peeps who have the same passion like u. So u are able to deal with the crap that Jack and dem does dish out.

If was not 4 this site I wonder ah boycott and eh watch and I would have missed Spann goal so Big Up to the sw.net and WN crew.

Re: Gold Cup reflections: in perspective
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2007, 09:13:32 PM »
it was nice to get to meet you in person Alberta Okotoks Trini  :rotfl:

Re: 2007 Gold Cup reflections: in perspective after two games
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2007, 10:14:14 PM »
From the rumor department: In speaking with some Nigerians after the game and hearing them lamenting  about the absence of some of our key players, they related that their star players were also blacklisted by their football federation for similar reasons.

Speaking to some El Salvador fans who were expecting to see Yorke and company, they also had one of their key players blacklisted for similar reasons.

I wonder how many other  countries with similar socio economic standards experiencing the same situation? Coming to think of it Was Beckham blacklisted by a former coach and now got a reprieve?

Do you think countries whose players are able to receive healthy  endorsements experience this kinda treatment from their federation? Do you think that 'big business' throw more support  into those countries' federations so that one man does not bare the total cost? It would appear to me that the ordinary football fan are not too aware of the woes that happening  in TNT. Some of the folks from different countries at the game, with whom I spoke to, were expecting to see a TNT W.C. team. So sad too bad for us. A lost opportunity to share with the world  the little rare wonders that happen in our country.

On the other hand  do I detect some :  collusion :Definition "A secret activity undertaken by two or more people for the purpose of fraud." being undertaken by some federations against professional players?

I eh know ah just wondering.

« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 10:20:06 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2007, 07:05:01 AM »
Upon further  thoughts: Hooray for the team for  meeting the challenges and  playing despite the adverse situation they were in.

Offline Slade

« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2007, 02:51:00 PM »
Aye man stop making excuses for the team... THE TEAM IS GARBAGE.

« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2007, 03:13:02 PM »
Slade when last you kick ball for any country? If you are not Dwiight Yorke, Latapy other National standouts etc  then you can't tell me you wasn't garbage too(if you play at all)...

« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2007, 03:16:12 PM »
Toussiant looked like a high school boy going up against the taller and more physical defense. Poor Wim must have looked down the bench and saw no alternatives.

I believe you're wrong there.  Unless he injured, Errol McFarlane fits that bill to a tee.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2007, 03:37:12 PM by palos »

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2007, 03:27:42 PM »
Gums bleeding because all yuh talking shit.  De fackin cup eh done yet and it have man reflecting.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2007, 06:26:06 PM »
Gums bleeding because all yuh talking shit.  De fackin cup eh done yet and it have man reflecting.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

READ THE DAMN TITLE: REFLECTIONS AFTER TWO GAMES NOT AFTER THE CUP!!!!

Offline Slade

« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2007, 08:47:10 PM »
Slade when last you kick ball for any country? If you are not Dwiight Yorke, Latapy other National standouts etc  then you can't tell me you wasn't garbage too(if you play at all)...
I will never waver from my feelings of this team ( no matter what you or anyone says ) the team is garbage, we should have a better product on the field .... nuff said

« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2007, 09:00:41 PM »
Aye man stop making excuses for the team... THE TEAM IS GARBAGE INEXPERIENCED.
I will never waver from my feelings of this team ( no matter what you or anyone says ) the team is garbage inexperienced,
we should have a better product on the field .... nuff said
I took the liberty to change your post, my apologises
I agree with the basic gist of your post and
YES, because of the under handed practises of the Special Advisor and TTFF, 16 players from our WC Team have been JACKlisted and then as a result 6 more are boycotting, we do not have the best possible team.
Having said that, these Gold Cup players are doing the BEST that they are capable of doing and I am very proud of their efforts.
In my opinion, it Is like telling someone to write A levels when they had been studying to write O levels all along.
They will do their best, but the outcome may be understandable.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2007, 05:34:34 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2007, 07:26:34 AM »
lET ADVERSITY BRING OUT THE BEST IN THE LAST GAME.
GO WARRIORS GO

« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2007, 07:35:13 AM »

iT DONE FOR WE :rotfl: