April 30, 2024, 01:38:37 AM

Author Topic: T&TFF got more than $173m.  (Read 13813 times)

T&TFF got more than $173m.
« on: September 14, 2007, 10:09:08 PM »
T&TFF got more than $173m.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

BOBOL

The aggrieved Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup football players received a boost to their bonus battle with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) yesterday, when they were informed that their former employers received in excess of TT$173 million for their part in the prestigious tournament in Germany.
The financial disclosure was made by the Trinidad and Tobago government after a request by the players' England-based legal representatives, Bates, Wells and Brathwaite London LLP Solicitors, on August 22, 2007, in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.
The details provided to the London-based legal team, according to a fax from Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs legal adviser Brent Williams, were extracted from "Cabinet documents and other Governmental and Non-Governmental donors to the TTFF".
In addition to the $173,690,113.50 received by the T&TFF from the public and private sectors, the government also gave the "Soca Warriors" and national technical staff a $32 million bonus. The figure also excludes gate receipts from World Cup qualifying and friendly matches and broadcast rights, including television revenue from games against Iceland, Peru, Wales, Slovenia and the Czech Republic.
It is in stark contrast to the declared income of $18,255,952-nearly $156 million less-which T&TFF general secretary Richard Groden presented to the players last October.
The T&TFF also claimed expenses of $17,973,749, which left just $282,203 in revenue. The players were told their pre-World Cup deal entitled them to half that figure or $141,102-a split of $5,644.08 per player with an equal share for injured player Silvio Spann and the Football Players Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT).
After the players rejected this figure, the T&TFF "revised" their calculations and came up with a net profit of $950,403.49, which, they claimed, waived investment in the South Africa 2010 campaign.
The players were offered half of this figure or $475,201.75, which equated to $19,008.07 per player. The second T&TFF offer was also refused by the Warriors.
The T&TFF statement of income and expenditure was audited by Kenny Rampersad and Company, a long standing partner of the local football body. Kenny Rampersad was once authorised to represent Simpaul Travel while the company was owned by FIFA vice-president Jack Warner and his family.
Warner, who is a special adviser to the T&TFF, brokered the controversial pre-World Cup deal with the Warriors and repeatedly criticised the players for refusing to accept the T&TFF's unaudited statement.
But the players' lead counsel, Englishman Michael Townley, believes that the new financial details, faxed by Williams, are a massive plus to their case.
"We have never been able to work out exactly what the income was (from the World Cup) and we now have figures so that we can actually work out the players' entitlement," Townley told the Express. "It is a huge gap that (FIFA vice-president Jack Warner) will have to explain.
"It also helps our case because the T&TFF incurred various costs around the way which we didn't accept but, even if we did, now we find out that the costs were covered along the way by the government."
Oliver Camps, the T&TFF president, could not explain the vast difference between the two financial statements. He was driving when contacted by the Express and, he explained, could not concentrate on figures at the time.
He did not feel he could help if the Express contacted him later either.
"I would prefer if you call (T&TFF general secretary) Richard Groden, who should have all that information," said Camps, who has led the local body for over a decade.
Groden was not at the T&TFF headquarters when the Express called and the staff were not certain when he would return.
The revised World Cup revenue sheet, if accepted as fact, means that the 16 World Cup players who challenged their masters could be due at least $6,947,604.54 each for their participation in Germany. This figure should rise based on television revenue and gate receipts.
The T&TFF blacklisted the players after they threatened legal action last October and refused to allow them to represent their country. The banned Warriors include Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones, Southampton striker and record national scorer Stern John, Gillingham goalkeeper Kelvin Jack, new Vibe CT 105 W Connection midfielder Aurtis Whitley and the CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh duo of attacker Cornell Glen and full back Cyd Gray.
Townley travels to Trinidad next week for a court hearing on Friday, September 21, regarding the bonus dispute. The T&TFF are recommending that the matter be referred to arbitration but the players will resist.
"(The T&TFF) want the case to go to arbitration rather than court although, on October 24, 2006, we asked if there was an arbitration process and they never answered. We go to court and they then say there is an arbitration process and want to strike it out of civil court," Townley said.
The London lawyer is not against using "a robust, independent arbitration body like CAS (Switzerland-based Court of Arbitration for Sport) but is wary of any arbitration machinery recommended by the T&TFF.
"We are not going to stop (our court action) just because they don't like it, said Townley.
"I feel very confident that we will succeed next Friday and the case will not be taken out of the civil court.
"The players have been saying for months that they are owed a significant amount of money and that there needs to be transparency in the process. I think the disclosure from the government agency vindicates this and also is a further blow to the credibility of the T&TFF."

Football Figures

1[/b]: - Jack Warner, the FIFA vice-president, T&TFF special adviser and Germany 2006 LOC chairman, who brokered the World Cup pact with the “Soca Warriors” and, perhaps inadvertently, initiated the biggest legal battle to ever hit local sport.

7: - The World Cup players who declined to seek legal action against the T&TFF over promised bonuses. The number comprises World Cup captain Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Carlos Edwards, Jason Scotland, Dennis Lawrence, Clayton Ince and Densill Theobald.

16: - The “Soca Warriors” who initiated legal proceedings against the TTFF and were subsequently banned from representing their country. The blacklisted players are Marvin Andrews, Chris Birchall, Atiba Charles, Ian Cox, Cornell Glen, Cyd Gray, Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Avery John, Stern John, Kenwyne Jones, Brent Sancho, Collin Samuel, Aurtis Whitley, Evans Wise and Anthony Wolfe.

2006: - The first FIFA senior World Cup ever to include Trinidad and Tobago, who were also the smallest nation to participate in the prestigious tournament.

141,102: - The T&TFF’s initial World Cup bonus offer to the Soca Warriors.

475,201: - The T&TFF’s second offer to the Warriors.

6,947,604: - The Warriors’ London-based lawyers believe the players deserve in excess of this figure based on information provided by the Trinidad and Tobago government.

18,255,952: - The T&TFF said that this was their total intake from sponsorships, gate receipts, broadcast rights, bar sales and banners.

173,690,113: - The Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs revealed that this was a more accurate account of the T&TFF’s World Cup revenue, exclusive of gate receipts, broadcast rights, bar sales and banners.

Related News

T&TFF mum on World Cup $m.

TTFF to refute ‘bobol’ charge.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2007, 07:15:21 AM by Flex »

Re: Bobol
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2007, 11:19:48 PM »
Dat is de kinda exposure we talking bout!!

[/center]

keep it up FPATT!

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2007, 11:25:41 PM »
Darkness always comes to Light. Jack, Camps allure days numbered.

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2007, 11:28:58 PM »
People, just think how well TnT would do in Football if all that money was used for the benefit of the game and not for the benefit of a certain few.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2007, 11:32:07 PM »
BOBOL:    T&TFF got more than $173m

Lasana Liburd

Saturday, September 15th 2007

Flashback: Soca Warriors captain Dwight Yorke, centre, dribbles his way past England players during their group match at the 2006 Fifa World Cup in Germany.

The aggrieved Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup football players received a boost to their bonus battle with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) yesterday, when they were informed that their former employers received in excess of TT$173 million for their part in the prestigious tournament in Germany.

The financial disclosure was made by the Trinidad and Tobago government after a request by the players' England-based legal representatives, Bates, Wells and Brathwaite London LLP Solicitors, on August 22, 2007, in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.

The details provided to the London-based legal team, according to a fax from Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs legal adviser Brent Williams, were extracted from "Cabinet documents and other Governmental and Non-Governmental donors to the TTFF".

In addition to the $173,690,113.50 received by the T&TFF from the public and private sectors, the government also gave the "Soca Warriors" and national technical staff a $32 million bonus. The figure also excludes gate receipts from World Cup qualifying and friendly matches and broadcast rights, including television revenue from games against Iceland, Peru, Wales, Slovenia and the Czech Republic.

It is in stark contrast to the declared income of $18,255,952-nearly $156 million less-which T&TFF general secretary Richard Groden presented to the players last October.

The T&TFF also claimed expenses of $17,973,749, which left just $282,203 in revenue. The players were told their pre-World Cup deal entitled them to half that figure or $141,102-a split of $5,644.08 per player with an equal share for injured player Silvio Spann and the Football Players Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT).

After the players rejected this figure, the T&TFF "revised" their calculations and came up with a net profit of $950,403.49, which, they claimed, waived investment in the South Africa 2010 campaign.

The players were offered half of this figure or $475,201.75, which equated to $19,008.07 per player. The second T&TFF offer was also refused by the Warriors.

The T&TFF statement of income and expenditure was audited by Kenny Rampersad and Company, a long standing partner of the local football body. Kenny Rampersad was once authorised to represent Simpaul Travel while the company was owned by FIFA vice-president Jack Warner and his family.

Warner, who is a special adviser to the T&TFF, brokered the controversial pre-World Cup deal with the Warriors and repeatedly criticised the players for refusing to accept the T&TFF's unaudited statement.

But the players' lead counsel, Englishman Michael Townley, believes that the new financial details, faxed by Williams, are a massive plus to their case.

"We have never been able to work out exactly what the income was (from the World Cup) and we now have figures so that we can actually work out the players' entitlement," Townley told the Express. "It is a huge gap that (FIFA vice-president Jack Warner) will have to explain.

"It also helps our case because the T&TFF incurred various costs around the way which we didn't accept but, even if we did, now we find out that the costs were covered along the way by the government."

Oliver Camps, the T&TFF president, could not explain the vast difference between the two financial statements. He was driving when contacted by the Express and, he explained, could not concentrate on figures at the time.

"I would prefer if you call (T&TFF general secretary) Richard Groden, who should have all that information," said Camps, who has led the local body for over a decade.

Groden was not at the T&TFF headquarters when the Express called and the staff were not certain when he would return.

The revised World Cup revenue sheet, if accepted as fact, means that the 16 World Cup players who challenged their masters could be due at least $6,947,604.54 each for their participation in Germany. This figure should rise based on television revenue and gate receipts.

The T&TFF blacklisted the players after they threatened legal action last October and refused to allow them to represent their country. The banned Warriors include Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones, Southampton striker and record national scorer Stern John, Gillingham goalkeeper Kelvin Jack, new Vibe CT 105 W Connection midfielder Aurtis Whitley and the CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh duo of attacker Cornell Glen and full back Cyd Gray.

Townley travels to Trinidad next week for a court hearing on Friday, September 21, regarding the bonus dispute. The T&TFF are recommending that the matter be referred to arbitration but the players will resist.

"(The T&TFF) want the case to go to arbitration rather than court although, on October 24, 2006, we asked if there was an arbitration process and they never answered. We go to court and they then say there is an arbitration process and want to strike it out of civil court," Townley said.

The London lawyer is not against using "a robust, independent arbitration body like CAS (Switzerland-based Court of Arbitration for Sport) but is wary of any arbitration machinery recommended by the T&TFF.

"We are not going to stop (our court action) just because they don't like it, said Townley.

"I feel very confident that we will succeed next Friday and the case will not be taken out of the civil court.

"The players have been saying for months that they are owed a significant amount of money and that there needs to be transparency in the process. I think the disclosure from the government agency vindicates this and also is a further blow to the credibility of the T&TFF."

« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2007, 11:44:41 PM »

Sorry to say it.....but dream on bro.  Camps MIGHT be made a sacrificial lamb and given some sort of post in CFU or sumting, but gettin he out is jes removin a figurehead.  De real person as we ALL know dat need to go is Jack Warner and dat not happenin.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2007, 11:47:15 PM by palos »

« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2007, 12:21:03 AM »

Sorry to say it.....but dream on bro.  Camps MIGHT be made a sacrificial lamb and given some sort of post in CFU or sumting, but gettin he out is jes removin a figurehead.  De real person as we ALL know dat need to go is Jack Warner and dat not happenin.

Preach dat pastor!

« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2007, 12:40:49 AM »

So what happens if the civil court rules that millions are owed to the warriors ?

TTFF appeals and loses then appeals and loses (privy council).
By this time 5yrs go by, we doh qualify for South Africa, TTFF claim bankruptcy, Jack retire from football (with all his money intact).

This thing could have major ramifications for football and it could be traumatic, but if it mean all the corrupt people disappear then it's all good

Offline black chinee

« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2007, 01:10:09 AM »
Hmmm..... Jack and dem aint easy nah boi.... good fuh dem.... leh dem pay out dey ears

« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2007, 04:58:05 AM »

These men is the best yes

Re: T&TFF got more than $173m.
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2007, 06:30:33 AM »
Lasana is a BOSS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good work man !!!!!

Keep de fire buring, the towers will fall eventually.......

« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2007, 06:40:04 AM »
you know I reading some of the posts in this thread and and I VERY confused.

Are some of you suggesting that NOTHING should be done and to just let Jackula rob money from players over and over again.
some of you have FRIENDS who have been treated very badly by Jackula and yet you say, "Oh but if we go after Jackula, the players will suffer serious ramifications". Maybe I am misunderstanding some of the posts here.

People, Look at history, when ever an illegal situations have been brought to an end there has in fact been hardship...but that hardship is the price of FREEDOM.....FREEDOM, from the despicable people and their actions.

Keep up the HARD work players and let's not stop until there is legitimate change in the TTFF.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2007, 06:42:55 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2007, 07:27:00 AM »
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Even more proof for we footballing heroes !!!!!!!!!

Good will always eventually defeat Evil.....

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2007, 08:02:12 AM »
GIVE DEM WHAT WAS PROMISED. Is germany dey went for crying out loud not some Copa Cobanna cup...
ya mean to say it was no passa passa ting on ah weekend :devil:

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2007, 08:43:03 AM »
Dem facker dem really looking for somebody to drop some chop in dey ass yes. Dey get 173 mill plus more and all they claim to collect was 19mill........not even ah 70 or 80 mill but 19 dread. de whole ah TTFF should be fired and BANNED from ever dealing with football in T&T again. I still in shock with dem numbers yo, 19MILL from 173 PLUS MILL, if i was de judge as soon as both parties sit in court i callin de case in SW favour, i doh wah hear nothing, and i issuing a warrant to check TTFF people bank accounts.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2007, 09:40:59 AM »
GIVE DEM WHAT WAS PROMISED. Is germany dey went for crying out loud not some Copa Cobanna cup...
doh be knocking de man, he was doing community service. yuh forget or what... ;) ;)

« Reply #16 on: September 15, 2007, 09:42:08 AM »
Finally, Freedrom of info act comes through.

I had suggested back in March to use it to get this info. All somebody had to do was file for it.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=26032.msg289166#msg289166

I still damn vex d gov't give d money... show me the books TTFF!!!!

The gov't better get the books. Does T&T have anything equivalent to the "freedrom of information act" in the US? Then we could request a copy.

http://www.foia.gov.tt/

« Reply #17 on: September 15, 2007, 09:46:38 AM »

Westcoast if ah did slow meh roll and read more posts in de topic ah woulda clearly see dat "de certain few" you was referring to was not de players but de Scamps and dem I.E. Jackula, Gordon Scamps.... Of all people too Iman know how you is an advocate of expelling de evilous villians (lol) who runnin we football. So ah just delete da post in honor of a diehard warrior like you.

bless.

« Reply #18 on: September 15, 2007, 09:47:34 AM »
i feel a change in the wind...

« Reply #19 on: September 15, 2007, 10:00:04 AM »
Where was it said not to do JW nutten. We all know that once he and he 2 sons breathing we go have problems. Dat being said expose dem as the Krooks dat theyy and play and more importantly pay the fellas dey money

« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2007, 10:02:24 AM »
doh be knocking de man, he was doing community service. yuh forget or what... ;) ;)
in trute
ya right :devil:

Westcoast if ah did slow meh roll and read more posts in de topic ah woulda clearly see dat "de certain few" you was referring to was not de players but de Scamps and dem I.E. Jackula, Gordon Scamps.... Of all people too Iman know how you is an advocate of expelling de evilous villians (lol) who runnin we football. So ah just delete da post in honor of a diehard warrior like you.

bless.
no big ting man
TALK YA TALK

Offline Victor

Thank you Lasana Liburd
« Reply #21 on: September 15, 2007, 11:13:18 AM »
Thank you sir!!! Thank you for your time, your effort and this brilliant piece of investigative journalism. See “TTFF got more than $173m.

Thank you for your integrity. Thank you for providing us with irrefutable evidence that shows the world what type of person Jack Warner really is. Jack Warner is an extremely unethical man that holds the position of “special advisor” of the TTFF only to augment his personal bank account at the expense of our players and the public that’s dying for a president with the vision to take our football to a much higher level.

This is not the first time Jack Warner has exploited our players and it will not be the last time, unless he is removed from power. Now is the perfect time for someone with integrity, vision and a comprehensive long term plan to run for president of the TTFF.

Mr. Liburd could you cover the next TTFF elections? I would like you to educate the public about how the process works. I would love the football lovers to know who are allowed to vote and how they cast their votes.

Thank you for educating the public, and keep up the good work Mr. Lasana Liburd!!

Re: Thank you Lasana Liburd
« Reply #22 on: September 15, 2007, 12:32:28 PM »
All ah dat?

« Reply #23 on: September 15, 2007, 12:34:35 PM »
Well there yuh go then. it's amazing how this fella tried to swindle 4/5 of the pot or maybe more, just a rough estimate, but look how soft of ah theif he is. he can't even steal clean, what a dunce. when the white man stealing he does do it smart and not so conspicious, but there goes my theory about old black men again ,especially in the underdevelope world, since alot of folks on here does take offence to 3rd world, any way my point, old black men in positions of authority and trust does alway abuse authority and betray trust, only a very small few has some sort of commitment level to the ppl they are intrusted to. but to sum it up, most of those creeps are not commited to any one but their own interest and they always stand in the way of progress..
« Last Edit: September 15, 2007, 12:36:58 PM by just cool »

« Reply #24 on: September 15, 2007, 01:36:03 PM »
WAAAY alyuh aint see money that man thief  :o my lord  >:( , and he saying how TTFF bankrupt, and he want government money.

Offline Diambars

« Reply #25 on: September 15, 2007, 02:23:54 PM »
Ah wunder why the PNM release these documents now, the timing is suspect?  Does it have anything to do with the election comming up?  Politics could bring down ah elephant.

« Reply #26 on: September 15, 2007, 02:37:19 PM »
Ah wunder why the PNM release these documents now, the timing is suspect?  Does it have anything to do with the election comming up?  Politics could bring down ah elephant.

oh me or my. Without getting into further details, there was a request was made from the legal team here in London for release of the information through the freedom of information act and the figures were released.

Offline legal alien

« Reply #27 on: September 15, 2007, 02:40:51 PM »
 i rushed to the site after seeing this as the  trinidadexpress website headline .
if this  all proves to be true, i'm extremely disappointed in the ttff. i genuinely thought the suing players were being selfish, but now i see the ttff are the  selfish ones  for blacklisting them.
what the  f**k  they (ttff) do with all dat money?

« Reply #28 on: September 15, 2007, 02:47:41 PM »

oh me or my. Without getting into further details, there was a request was made from the legal team here in London for release of the information through the freedom of information act and the figures were released.

I wondering what so difficult to understand about that...it only states it plainly.

« Reply #29 on: September 15, 2007, 02:48:56 PM »
i rushed to the site after seeing this as the  trinidadexpress website headline .
if this  all proves to be true, i'm extremely disappointed in the ttff. i genuinely thought the suing players were being selfish, but now i see the ttff are the  selfish ones  for blacklisting them.
what the  f**k  they (ttff) do with all dat money?

You must be new to the discussion if that is what you really thought.