June 08, 2024, 04:41:29 AM

Author Topic: Election 2007 - Voting Thread  (Read 34493 times)

Election 2007 - Voting Thread
« on: November 05, 2007, 05:33:04 AM »
I just reach to work. I arrived at Dinsley Trincity Government (my old primary school) at 5:40 and there were at least 150 people already there (For those who know the area the line was already bending into 1st Street)

They opened the gate promptly at 6:00 but by that time there was a group of people who chose to assemble across the road and got in before most the people who actually queued up. I found my section fairly quickly and by 6:27 I had finished voting, from the list I saw I was the 14th person to register a vote at that section. 27 minutes and 14 votes , a little less than 2 mintues per person.

By the time I exited through the gate there were at least 700 people there and some more in the back too.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2007, 08:10:50 AM by Tallman »

Re: Voting Thread
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2007, 05:56:37 AM »

Wey !! Looking like heavy voter turn out. I suppose that will be good for Cop.

What constituency is that Jahgol ?

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2007, 06:02:30 AM »

Wey !! Looking like heavy voter turn out. I suppose that will be good for Cop.

What constituency is that Jahgol ?

Arouca/Maloney.

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2007, 06:03:37 AM »
just spoke to my moms she voted already..said she shock how much people turn out so early..... but as usual in arima some ah dem making ha lime outta it this early monday morning  ::)
men talking bout oversin work..and hitin ah beach cause it hot today.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2007, 06:24:31 AM »
Last time I voted was in Arima Comp at 7 in the morning and was only me an mih 1st wife.

This turnout sounding like the NAR turnout.

« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2007, 06:31:00 AM »
While it does look like a high voter turnout, I think part of the reason for people coming out so early is the traffic situation. The traffic these days not easy most people trying to avoid that by going early.

« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2007, 06:34:43 AM »
While it does look like a high voter turnout, I think part of the reason for people coming out so early is the traffic situation. The traffic these days not easy most people trying to avoid that by going early.

You may have a point. My daughter told me last night that she intends to vot early and then go back home and relax until 9 before setting out to work because they allow her 2 hrs to vote.

« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2007, 07:10:57 AM »
Well i just waiting on mummy....and i moving out dey now. Now send a  text message telling each one of my friends to at least make sure and vote.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2007, 07:31:39 AM »
I reach down Santa Rosa Gov't Primary around 5:50, line done extended outside the school compound, but once the polling station opened around 6 things moved smoothly, a slight mix up to find the exact room but i was inked and out by 6:35. After the initial rush the traffic slowed but remained steady.

« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2007, 08:07:15 AM »
Right. Mission Accomplished.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Re: Election 2007 - Voting Thread
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2007, 08:16:44 AM »
Keep us updated.

Offline Johpants

« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2007, 08:25:19 AM »
I voted in Woodbrook and I was the 89th person to vote in my polling station and that was a few minutes to 9. I was surprised that there was no line up or anything the polling station (there were two in that school) looking dead, dead. But then again is Woodbrook and most of the place commercialised now so I guess that is to be expected.

« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2007, 08:26:04 AM »
Good Morning allyuh

Just got off the phone with my mom, who called to say my ballot on the kitchen table to come over and vote. She went this morning around 7:15 am at Curepe Anglican School. Said the line was outside the road already when she came out from voting. A lot of young people which she was happy for.

She finger stain up and she going and check the fridge to see what it has to offer.

Jah you are so correct...

A friend emailed me and said alot of people choose to vote before going to work because the 1 hour given time to vote wouldn't have been enough to vote after work with the traffic situation.  She said the mood in POS/Maraval is quiet, everybody going with their business as usual, but you can feel the anxiety in the air.

Until later oui
« Last Edit: November 05, 2007, 08:35:18 AM by TriniCana »

« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2007, 08:36:38 AM »
where the radio links, big day in our history, i hope people dont make the wrong decision for the future of the nation...

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2007, 09:19:12 AM »
There has been much debate about which party is best for T&T, BUT at least we seem to have a democratic process (for those of us who believe in democracy, that is good)).

Unlike Pakistan which is now in a state of emergency and the worlds watches as the democratic process in Pakistan disintegrates.

I wish the best for the people of T&T.  If you can, vote and if you do not want to vote, then go and take your ballot and return it to the returning officers (at least I am assuming you can do that in T&T) to voice your objection (as opposed to a spoilt ballot which I do not condone).

« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2007, 09:22:05 AM »
where the radio links, big day in our history, i hope people dont make the wrong decision for the future of the nation...

God is de BOSS....

Live video coverage:

http://www.campaign41.net/c_live_video.html
http://www.jumptv.com/en/channel/cnc3/

results map: http://campaign41.net/map.html

« Reply #16 on: November 05, 2007, 09:37:00 AM »

God is de BOSS....

Live video coverage:

http://www.campaign41.net/c_live_video.html
http://www.jumptv.com/en/channel/cnc3/

results map: http://campaign41.net/map.html

:applause: nice breddah...

« Reply #17 on: November 05, 2007, 09:46:31 AM »

« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2007, 11:33:43 AM »
i find they need to change penal district, its high time, how the hell yuh have 60000 people or more voting in one constituency, when williams design it so was to keep pnm in power, its about time that change, they should  5 seats at least down there...

God is de BOSS...

Where did you get this information ?

« Reply #19 on: November 05, 2007, 01:01:02 PM »
How much Local based it have on this site ? So far is only me, Bourbon, g and Johpants confirm they vote.

« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2007, 01:12:05 PM »

It seems de traffic "fear" is coming back to haunt those folks who did not vote earlier today.....traffic apparently back up to the Lighthouse down on South Quay and it just creeping....

Offline dombasil

« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2007, 01:47:58 PM »
Just voted in Diego Sec. Steady flow. Did not vote this morning because when I went ,here was real people waiting. Nice to see the people exercising their franchise.
PNM people a little nervous.

Offline dombasil

« Reply #22 on: November 05, 2007, 01:50:06 PM »
As usual plenty people never bother to check the list to see if their names are on the list. So the usual confusion.

« Reply #23 on: November 05, 2007, 02:02:21 PM »
i find they need to change penal district, its high time, how the hell yuh have 60000 people or more voting in one constituency, when williams design it so was to keep pnm in power, its about time that change, they should  5 seats at least down there...

God is de BOSS...

Where did you get this information ?

traditionally that was the case up to the early nineties, i need to see the new census as to how many people are in that constituency..

not to make an issue of it..but if dat was the case in the 90's u shouldnt talk like if dat si what going on now...check first......we in 2007 and ebc  reorgnaised constituences
I was thinking penal 60000 cyah be.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline dombasil

« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2007, 02:24:59 PM »
I didn't even take him on with the 60,000.
The man has no grasp of the concepts of reality and objectivity.

« Reply #25 on: November 05, 2007, 02:32:02 PM »
i heard from meh fren 2 mins ago that pos rds and streets much clearer than usual...they said its very weird

« Reply #26 on: November 05, 2007, 02:33:33 PM »
Sugar I ain't surprise nah...but ya vote nuh ???  ;D

I"m listening to some updated news on that TV link I have up.
A lot of complaints about the slow snail pace, names not showing up on ballot forms, very long lines and in-experienced poll representatives, hot sun and the list goes on. :-\

Maybe next elections the times space should be longer. Instead of 6am should be 5am

Gyal to be honest mih eh vote....ah didn't put things in place for elections when ah move from Tobago to Arouca to Santa Cruz....so I just decide mih eh taking on de hassle to go home vote and den catch ah flight and still come to work....yes, mih employers was sticking to de 2 hour thing....no whole day off for me....and by de time a thought of checking to see if ah woulda qualify fuh Special Voter status....too late....*sigh*....ah well.....ah leaving wuk now to go home and take een de rest ah de day....

« Reply #27 on: November 05, 2007, 02:49:43 PM »
i heard from meh fren 2 mins ago that pos rds and streets much clearer than usual...they said its very weird

idiot do you know the size of penal/debe, tableand and princess town?
yuh quote the worng thing..so ah was loss for 2 seconds..any ways
um...but u defeating the purpose of yuh inital argument.....i was jus saying hat they fixed reogrnaised the constituencies...
at any rate man size has nothing to dowiht population....
where have more people ontario..or northwest territories ??? now take yuh time..clue the territories have  has much more  land aarea....
now go back and see if u sholda call meh an idiot ...................

« Reply #28 on: November 05, 2007, 03:13:32 PM »
Steups. Check dis nah.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2007, 03:26:23 PM by Bourbon »

Offline dombasil

« Reply #29 on: November 05, 2007, 03:22:07 PM »
The Princes Town seat has been reconfigured. In fact most of the seats have been reconfigured because of the increase  in population in the respective seats. Both the UNC and the PNM were happy with the new seats because it worked out to be even in terms of which of the new seats would fall into which camp.