June 16, 2024, 12:29:59 AM

Author Topic: Edwards excused from friendly vs Guadeloupe.  (Read 9457 times)

Edwards excused from friendly vs Guadeloupe.
« on: January 29, 2008, 05:47:46 AM »

Sunderland midfielder Carlos Edwards has asked to be excused from the February 6 international friendly against Guadeloupe. The former Wrexham star made the call home on Monday and explained that he still was some way off being a hundred percent fit following his break foot injury last year and prefers to sit out the encounter and make himself available to the country for future encounters.
Edwards only last week returned to full training with Sunderland and manager Roy Keane has been hesitant in putting him back into the first team although he could feature on the weekend against Liverpool.
Coach Anton Corneal said Edwards' stance was understandable at this time. Edwards further stated that he will be in full flight for the March 26 affair away to Jamaica.
"I'm a bit saddended to be missing this game (Feb 6) because obviously it's a big one with the majority of the players coming back and with it just being right after Carnival and to kick things off for the campaign. But I honestly don't think I'm 100 percent as yet even though that will only come with playing time too. But I definitely will be back and I'm eying that one against Jamaica," Edwards told TTFF Media.
Sparta Rotterdam striker Darryl Roberts is also unlikely to make the trip home with club management preferring for him to remain on club duty. That means now that thirteen other places could be up for grabs among the home-based professionals with no decision taken yet on a possible look at another overseas-based player.
The other overseas-based already confirmed for the fixture include Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones, Walsall goalie Clayton Ince, Collin Samuel, Wrexham's Silvio Spann, Ujpest FC's Densill Theobald, Swansea City's Jason Scotland and Southampton striker Stern John.

Re: Edwards excused from friendly vs Guadeloupe.
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2008, 07:08:20 AM »

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2008, 08:39:26 AM »
sparta " before u speak choose your words wisely"

darryl " eh i goin trini we have an ash wednesday game"

sparta " no darryl saty and play"

darryl " why?"

sparta " THIS IS SPARTAA!!!!!"

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2008, 08:47:02 AM »

"I'm a bit saddended to be missing this game (Feb 6) because obviously it's a big one

Eh eh Carlos, it eh dat big....stay dey and recover.....

« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2008, 08:47:23 AM »
Ah feel Edwards' wifey must be ban him from playing mas this year

« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2008, 09:01:24 AM »
...his break foot injury...
Lawd Fadda.

small thing, doh vex wid him, if he let slip in he writing de way some of us(some ah we)does talk.

« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2008, 09:17:13 AM »

« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2008, 09:40:45 AM »
Ray Charles saw dat comin and he blind and dead. Another reason y d 150 is highway robbery

« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2008, 11:50:01 AM »

darryl " why?"

« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2008, 11:53:20 AM »
thirteen other places could be up for grabs among the home-based professionals with no decision taken yet on a possible look at another overseas-based player.

Most likely meaning they have no intention of calling Sancho or Birchall or anyone else, so much for "possible future call ups"

edit: and I thought UEFA and FIFA came to an agreement about compensating for international matches. Isn't sparta in on the deal? Why are they holding Roberts on a FIFA date?

« Last Edit: January 29, 2008, 12:02:00 PM by E-man »

« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2008, 12:51:43 PM »

darryl " why?"

« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2008, 01:00:46 PM »
Ray Charles saw dat comin and he blind and dead. Another reason y d 150 is highway robbery

same shit different year...

« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2008, 01:29:38 PM »
Dont understand how Sparta could hold Roberts back from playing on a fixed international FIFA date

« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2008, 01:40:31 PM »
Dont understand how Sparta could hold Roberts back from playing on a fixed international FIFA date
Who say they holding him back? Maybe they ask him to stay and he agree. They in worse relegation trouble than Sunderland. Maybe he want to stay and help out the cause.

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2008, 02:14:21 PM »

He have a lil darkie in de Hague that occupying he free time....

Offline king carlos

« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2008, 06:22:45 PM »
Carlos is still struggling with injury. I hope he comes out of this a stronger and better player (if its possible) for both club and country. He's one of the best players I have seen at Sunderland.

« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2008, 06:38:53 PM »
lets get on with it......

« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2008, 07:25:37 PM »
Carlos is still struggling with injury. I hope he comes out of this a stronger and better player (if its possible) for both club and country. He's one of the best players I have seen at Sunderland.

He not just ''struggling'' with injury,he actually reinjure his ankle and could be out another 3 to 4 weeks....Carlos need a bush bath den he hah tuh get dip in some lime and vinegar..dis man real unlucky

« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2008, 07:32:53 PM »

He not just ''struggling'' with injury,he actually reinjure his ankle and could be out another 3 to 4 weeks....Carlos need a bush bath den he hah tuh get dip in some lime and vinegar..dis man real unlucky

You cannot be serious.... >:(

« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2008, 08:21:32 PM »

Berris where you get that ankle injury from, when the man say from his own mouth that he's in the line up for liverpool on the weekend. ah hope yuh wrong .                                                     positive.

« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2008, 09:04:35 PM »

Berris where you get that ankle injury from, when the man say from his own mouth that he's in the line up for liverpool on the weekend. ah hope yuh wrong .                                                      positive.

Meh breddah, I hope so too,but dais de info ah get,leh we wait n see.

« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2008, 09:10:30 PM »

Berris where you get that ankle injury from, when the man say from his own mouth that he's in the line up for liverpool on the weekend. ah hope yuh wrong .                                                     positive.

Man still going with old rumor of last week

« Reply #22 on: January 29, 2008, 09:21:48 PM »

Man still going with old rumor of last week
What about the article that started this thread, is that from last week too.

« Reply #23 on: January 29, 2008, 09:22:40 PM »

Berris where you get that ankle injury from, when the man say from his own mouth that he's in the line up for liverpool on the weekend. ah hope yuh wrong .                                                      positive.

Meh breddah, I hope so too,but dais de info ah get,leh we wait n see.
positive.

« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2008, 02:06:12 AM »
Who say they holding him back? Maybe they ask him to stay and he agree. They in worse relegation trouble than Sunderland. Maybe he want to stay and help out the cause.

Is Guadeloupe a full international team? They never used to be, in which case Sparta could do what they want, because, officially, TnT dont have an international match on the date.

« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2008, 08:59:36 AM »
...his break foot injury...
Lawd Fadda.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: saw that too and thought it was a typo  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2008, 09:02:00 AM »
thirteen other places could be up for grabs among the home-based professionals with no decision taken yet on a possible look at another overseas-based player.

Most likely meaning they have no intention of calling Sancho or Birchall or anyone else, so much for "possible future call ups"

edit: and I thought UEFA and FIFA came to an agreement about compensating for international matches. Isn't sparta in on the deal? Why are they holding Roberts on a FIFA date?

NO SAMUEL, SEALY, BIRCHIE, AVERY, CYD ANDREWS,  :'( :'( :'( :'(

« Reply #27 on: January 30, 2008, 11:25:20 AM »
Good call Edwards, take yuh time and get better...

« Reply #28 on: January 30, 2008, 11:29:49 AM »

NO SAMUEL, SEALY, BIRCHIE, AVERY, CYD ANDREWS,  :'( :'( :'( :'(

I'm puzzled too. USa warming up against Sweden, we warming up against Puerto Rico..... >:(

« Reply #29 on: January 30, 2008, 12:11:45 PM »
Come on Grey is d TTFF no need 2 be puzzle. If Sweden was playin PR dat would a b puzzling