March 28, 2024, 03:51:28 PM

Author Topic: Premier League tougher than Spain, says ex-Arsenal ace Pires  (Read 1816 times)

Premier League tougher than Spain, says ex-Arsenal ace Pires
« on: March 07, 2008, 04:04:54 PM »
Premier League tougher than Spain, says ex-Arsenal ace Pires
2 hours, 41 minutes ago

MADRID (AFP) - Former Arsenal midfielder Robert Pires believes that the English Premier League is far stronger than the Spanish championship where he now plies his trade with Villarreal.

"The English championship is a much stronger than La Liga. They have three teams in the Champions League quarter-finals and could have four," said former French international Pires.

"In Spain, only Barcelona have made it to the last eight so you have to accept that the Premier League is a higher level and is physically stronger."

Manchester United, Arsenal and Chelsea all reached the Champions League quarter-finals this week while Liverpool will take a 2-0 lead to Inter Milan in their last 16 clash next week.

Spain's contingent was cut by the elimination of both Real Madrid and Sevilla.

Re: Premier League tougher than Spain, says ex-Arsenal ace Pires
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2008, 04:09:26 PM »
Which one is more attractive to watch???

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2008, 06:18:47 PM »

in Spain it have so much room.. its a lower pace therefore more time to pass.. in england defenders close you down quickly.. therefore you have to have better technique to play well ...

There maybe more slick passing and skills in Spain.. but EPL is way more interesting and anyone can beat anyone.. Not too mention...we fill our stands..allowing better passion on and off the field... 
« Last Edit: March 07, 2008, 06:41:52 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2008, 06:31:00 PM »

in Spain it have so much room.. its a lower pace therefore more time to pass.. in england defenders close you down quickly.. therefore you have to have better technique to play well ...

There maybe more slick passing and skills in Spain.. but EPL is way more interesting and anyone can beat anyone.. Not too mention...we fill our stands..allowing better passion on and off the field... 

disagree on 2 counts...

In the EPL, it is almost a foregone conclusion once any of the top 3 are playing teams outside the top 10.. whereas in Italy and Spain, even teams in the bottom 5 or so can give the top teams a true test...  A football would probably be safer betting on the EPL than the other leagues..

With regards to passion, the notion that English fans are the most passionate is a marketing myth.. Yuh don't see english fans going to the same lengths like in other countries like the flares, the massive crowd banners, the synchronized cheering and all the other things that ultra fans go to..

« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2008, 06:41:27 PM »

disagree on 2 counts...

In the EPL, it is almost a foregone conclusion once any of the top 3 are playing teams outside the top 10.. whereas in Italy and Spain, even teams in the bottom 5 or so can give the top teams a true test...  A football would probably be safer betting on the EPL than the other leagues..

With regards to passion, the notion that English fans are the most passionate is a marketing myth.. Yuh don't see english fans going to the same lengths like in other countries like the flares, the massive crowd banners, the synchronized cheering and all the other things that ultra fans go to..

Maybe we dont have flares cuz its a f**king fire hazard? and the PL Board are smart enough unlike Spain and Italy to recognize that..   Thats why Dida get lick wey by one and it stops play like every game in Serie A plus other players get hit... and in Spain yuh knock out your manager(eg Juande Ramos) with objects...real ultra fans boy...  ultra asssholes

synchronized cheering.. haha what a big fat spanish fella in madrid chanting "ada doo da day" on a megaphone!.. das great chanting boy..so original ::)...

we have player chants.. chants about opposition...chants about past teams..  team songs eg you'll never walk alone..blue moon..

When your stadiums full week in week out either against Arsenal or f**king Derby then come talk to me about more passionate fans...

You will have people fighting to keep their families in a good financial position but will still keep aside that money for a weekend game ...

great Example..Derby..basically relegated..pride park sold out every home game...  to be in the Epl a privelage...  You think the last place club in Serie A or La liga will even have 5000?  no.. 

« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2008, 06:44:43 PM »

disagree on 2 counts...

Maybe we dont have flares cuz its a f**king fire hazard? and the PL Board are smart enough unlike Spain and Italy to recognize that..   Thats why Dida get lick wey by one and it stops play like every game in Serie A plus other players get hit... and in Spain yuh knock out your manager(eg Juande Ramos) with objects...real ultra fans boy...  ultra asssholes

synchronized cheering.. haha what a big fat spanish fella in madrid chanting "ada doo da day" on a megaphone!.. das great chanting boy..so original ::)...

we have player chants.. chants about opposition...chants about past teams..  team songs eg you'll never walk alone..blue moon..

When your stadiums full week in week out either against Arsenal or f**king Derby then come talk to me about more passionate fans...

You will have people fighting to keep their families in a good financial position but will still keep aside that money for a weekend game ...

great Example..Derby..basically relegated..pride park sold out every home game...  to be in the Epl a privelage...  You think the last place club in Serie A or La liga will even have 5000?  no.. 

good point.

« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2008, 06:47:48 PM »
yawn now i expected the man would base that stament based on the fact that he played in both leagues. steupes jus using the old champions league.

we talking about the teams or the ppl that support the teams?

so one league is more about passion the nex is more about technique
« Last Edit: March 07, 2008, 06:53:47 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2008, 06:58:55 PM »

disagree on 2 counts...

Going to World Cup made me to realize that English fan are the best in the world I saw 30 English fans silence thousands of Portuguese fan in Germany with there chants they never stop they have song for everything and they can boost there player sorry but you want find more passionate fans than the English and this is from first hand experience not hear say   

« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2008, 07:11:24 PM »
again i ask isnt the teams the ones in focus here ???

« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2008, 07:16:13 PM »
TT WC fans are the best!!!! Punto Final

« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2008, 07:36:36 PM »
Deeks I concur

« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2008, 09:11:14 PM »

The flickin' PREM oui !!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2008, 10:10:30 PM »
Going to World Cup made me to realize that English fan are the best in the world I saw 30 English fans silence thousands of Portuguese fan in Germany with there chants they never stop they have song for everything and they can boost there player sorry but you want find more passionate fans than the English and this is from first hand experience not hear say   

I don't know who more passionate or not...but the Brits are the f**kkin best oui, lol  Watching dat game with them in Nurnberg and then feting with them to Roy Cape afterwards was one of the best experiences of my life.  Had we beaten them mighta been a different story of course but they were really good natured the whole time leading up, during and after.

As for synchronized cheering and what not...dem men and dem does be singing whole frigging game rain, snow or shine and have ah song about everything.  Their fans are diehards thru and thru...juss listen to FPATT describe his support for Wrexham (was it?) and how they basically know going in that their season already in the tank but he and he son there at every game cheering their lungs out.

Throwing flares and toilet paper and confetti on de field doesn't convey more or less passion to me...that's just a cultural idiosyncracy that you find predominantly in the latin countries.  Finally, as for which is more entertaining to watch...depends on what yuh looking for or used to.  Me...I good with the EPL, end to end action even if at the end man run ten miles with no goals to show for it.  I find it hard to watch Serie A and could only tolerate La Liga in small doses...dem leagues to me is good cure fuh insomnia.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2008, 10:12:23 PM by Bake n Shark »