June 16, 2024, 04:31:45 AM

Author Topic: T&T olympic women go under to Canada.  (Read 6288 times)

T&T olympic women go under to Canada.
« on: April 03, 2008, 02:58:52 AM »
T&T olympic women go under to Canada.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Olympic Women’s Team made a losing start to their final CONCACAF round efforts to get to the next Beijing Olympics as they suffered a 6-0 loss to Canada in Wednesday’s opening set of matches at the Estadio Olimipic Benito Juarez. Going into the game, vying for a chance to advance to the semi-finals, T&T had high hopes but the Canadians proved to be too strong on the evening.

Canada went ahead in the 10th minute through Melissa Tancredi and doubled their advantage eleven minutes later through Jonelle Filigno. Then in the 39th minute they pushed themselves to a comfortable 3-0 half time lead when Kara Lang beat goalie Kimika Forbes.

T&T started the second half in desperate search of a goal and had a couple worthwhile chances but Canada didn’t let up and added a further three items. Randee Hermus (60th), Jodi-Ann Robinson (69th) and Christine Sinclair in the 89th were the other scorers. T&T next face Costa Rica on Friday night.

In the second encounter, Juana Evelyn Lopez had four goals, while Tania Paola Morales added two more for Mexico in the 8:1 win over Jamaica in Group A action. The CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualification continues on Friday when Costa Rica face Trinidad & Tobago at 17:00 and then the USA play against Jamaica at 19:30.

The semifinals and finals of the CONCACAF Tournament will take place on 9 and 12 April, respectively. The two finalists at the CONCACAF event will also progress to the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Beijing 2008.

Teams

T&T:[/b] – 1-Kimika Forbes – 2-Ayana Russell (8-Sadrj Williams 46th), 4-Katrina Meyer, 5-Annalis Cummings (74: 15-Tricia Cooper), 7-Dernelle Mascal (6-Niasha Reyes 81st), 9-Maylee Attin-Johnson (capt), 10-Tasha St. Louis, 11-Aveann Douglas, 12-Ahkeela Mollon, 18-Jenelle Nedd, 19-Kennya Cordner.

Canada: - 18-Erin McLeod – 5-Robyn Gayle, 7-Rhian Wilkinson, 8-Diana Matheson, 9-Candace Chapman (17-Brittany Timko 71st), 10-Martina Franko (19-Alexandra Marton 69th), 11-Randee Hermus, 12-Christine Sinclair (capt), 14-Melissa Tancredi (21-Jodi Ann Robinson 59th), 15-Kara Lang, 16-Jonelle Filigno.

Statistics:

TRI – CAN[/b]

Goal Attempts: 7 – 30
Shots on Target: 3 - 19
Saves: 9 – 2
Fouls: 11 – 9
Corners: 0 – 8
Offsides: 3 – 9
Canadian women's soccer team routs T&T.
By: Canadasoccer.Com.

After putting away the first opponent at the CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualification Tournament, Canada will now prepare for Costa Rica on 6 April. Canada is hoping it can win a second-straight match and finish first in Group B, thus guaranteeing a spot in the 9 April semi-final.

'The Olympic Games campaign started with a quite comfortable win against a skillful and quick, but somewhat disorganised Trinidad & Tobago team,' says coach Even Pellerud. 'The win could easily have been much bigger, as we created an extraordinary high number of goal-scoring opportunities. That said, our opponent had some very fast and skillful strikers and they challenged our back four at times.'

All of Canada’s matches at the CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualification Tournament will be webcast on CBCSports.ca. Canada’s first two matches (2 April against Trinidad & Tobago and 6 April against Costa Rica) as well as the two semi-finals will be broadcast on GolTV. Tournament matches will also be televised by host broadcaster PCTV in México.

On the first night of the competition, Canada won 6:0 over Trinidad & Tobago in Group B action while hosts México won 8:1 over Jamaica in Group A action. There are no matches today, but on 4 April Costa Rica will face Trinidad & Tobago and the United States will face Jamaica. The final night of round-robin action is 6 April when Canada faces Costa Rica (11.00 local time) and the United States faces México. All matches are being played at the Estadio Olímpico Benito Juarez in Ciudad Juarez, México.

'The six goals were evenly spread on the two halves and between six different players,' says Pellerud. 'I hope that gives a number of athletes the confidence they need going into harder battles later in this tournament.'

Canada, whose title sponsor is Winners, wants to finish first or second in its three-team group to advance to the 9 April semi-final. Canada needs to win the semi-final match to qualify for the Summer Olympics in Beijing.

Match

Canada's senior team got off to a good start at the CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualification Tournament with a 6:0 victory over Trinidad & Tobago. Canada counted goals from six different players in the match en route to the victory.

Melissa Tancredi, Jonelle Filigno and Kara Lang scored in the first half while Randee Hermus, Jodi-Ann Robinson and Christine Sinclair scored in the second half. Filigno scored her first goal while Sinclair scored her nation-leading 86th goal.

Canada had full command of the match from the opening kick. Within the first six minutes, Canada had created three good chances. Four minutes later, Canada opened the scoring off a Rhian Wilkinson cross into the box. Tancredi converted to put the Canucks up 1-0. In the 21st minute, Wilkinson initiated another goal, this time off a corner kick. Wilkinson shot was first headed by Tancredi and then struck in by teenager Filigno who was on the line.

With two goals in hand, Canada continued to press forward. In the 28th minute, Sinclair's free kick sent the ball in nicely, although the ball hit the top of the net. In the 34th minute, Wilkinson created another opportunity on a corner kick. In the 38th minute, it was Sinclair again, this time on a run inside the box. Finally in the 39th minute, Sinclair's shot in a melée deflected back to Lang who had plenty of space to drive home Canada's third goal of the game.

Canada continued to create problems for the Trinidad & Tobago defence late in the first half, forcing goalkeeper Kimika Forbes to make a pair of saves of Tancredi and Sinclair. In the second half, Canada continued the attack. After making their first change in the 58th minute (Jodi-Ann Robinson on for Tancredi), Canada connected for their fourth goal in the 60th minute. Candace Chapman's long free kick was perfectly headed in by the midfielder Hermus.

After Trinidad & Tobago created a good chance in the 62nd minute (Ahkeela Mollon fired a shot just wide), Canada found more ways to give their opposition trouble. After another notable chance in the 65th minute (Filigno shot the ball just wide), Canada scored its fifth goal in the 69th minute. This time, forward Robinson headed home a cross.

In the last 20 minutes, captain Sinclair went about creating her own chances to add to the mix. She had a shot on goal in the 74th minute and then another good chance in the 77th minute. Finally in the 87th minute, Sinclair controlled a ball off her chest and tipped the ball past the goalkeeper.

Canada had a pair of chances late in the game, but the six goals were enough. Canada has now outscored Trinidad & Tobago's senior women's side by a combined score of 23-0 in five matches. Tonight's contest, though, was the first since 1994.

Along with all the scoring, Canadian goalkeeper Erin McLeod posted the clean sheet. McLeod (38 caps) also moved past Nicci Wright for second in all-time senior appearances by a goalkeeper.

Canada made three substitutions in the match: in the 58th, 69th and 72nd minutes. After the Robinson-for-Tancredi change, Canada then switched Alexandra Marton in for Martina Franko and Brittany Timko in for Candace Chapman.

Category: CONCACAF Olympic Qualifications
Score: Canada 6 v Trinidad & Tobago 0
Location: Estadio Olímpico Benito Juarez, Ciudad Juarez, México.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2008, 03:15:58 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T olympic women go under to Canada.
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2008, 04:31:30 AM »
take yuh lessons.....keep going...

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2008, 05:17:58 AM »
PALOS...da 6 good enough for you ???

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2008, 06:01:24 AM »
Lard, Jamaica get 8..... :rotfl:

Offline trinipepper

• addin fire to the flame ...izatrini
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2008, 09:41:45 AM »
Laud deez so much goal deya..Trinidad and Tobago Women's National Team always collecting goals.. Like we women national team aint getting better... i shame....if we kah beat them NCAA Div 1 schools in a warm up and we kah beat Canada is better we stay home and play de caribbean teams..dem is the only teams i see we does be winning against..We like to beat up them teams but i never see we beat anybody that ranking....Jack your need to clean house... Women football is growing but like we program it aint growing to new heights as yet.. its still ah fete match..

TRI – CAN

Goal Attempts: 7 – 30
Shots on Target: 3 - 19

Like we cannot shoot the ball or we do not have any goal scorers. well we will have to wait and see against Costa Rica. Thank God we have an easy group but it seems we have more licks to get..its ah good thing they aint showing these games on the tele..   :beermug:
« Last Edit: April 03, 2008, 10:07:23 AM by trinipepper »

« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2008, 09:47:48 AM »
If we getting 6 from Canada and JA getting 8 from Mexico what will happen when either face this team?

No. Players  Pos. Ht. DOB Hometown College Caps/Goals
1 Barnhart, Nicole GK 5-10 10/10/1981 Gilbertsville, Pa. Stanford 6
2 Buehler, Rachel D 5-5 8/26/1985 Del Mar, Calif. Stanford 4/0
3 Rampone, Christie D 5-6 6/24/1975 Point Pleasant, N.J. Monmouth 183/4
4 Whitehill, Cat D 5-7  02/10/82   Birmingham, Ala.      North Carolina               125/11
5 Tarpley, Lindsay M 5-6 9/22/1983 Kalamazoo, Mich. North Carolina 86/23
6 Kai, Natasha F 5-8 5/22/1983 Kahuku, Hawaii Hawaii  39/10
7 Boxx, Shannon M 5-8 6/29/1977 Redondo Beach, Calif. Notre Dame 84/18
8 Cheney, Lauren F 5-8 9/30/1987 Indianapolis, Ind. UCLA 7/2
9 O’Reilly, Heather F 5-5 1/2/1985 East Brunswick, N.J. North Carolina 79/17
10 White, Kacey  M 5-4 4/24/1984 Arlington, Texas North Carolina 2/0
11 Lloyd, Carli M 5-8 7/16/1982 Delran, N.J. Rutgers 51/11
12 Osborne, Leslie  M 5-8 5/27/1983 Brookfield, Wis. Santa Clara 57/2
13 Heath, Tobin M 5-6 5/29/1988 Basking Ridge, N.J. North Carolina 6/1
14 Cox, Stephanie D 5-6 4/3/1986 Elk Grove, Calif. Portland 37/0
15 Markgraf, Kate D 5-7 8/23/1979 Bloomfield Hills, Mich. Notre Dame 173/0
16 Hucles, Angela M 5-7 7/5/1978 Virginia Beach, Va. Virginia 75/5
17 Chalupny, Lori D 5-4 1/29/1984 St. Louis, Mo. North Carolina 60/6
18 Solo, Hope GK 5-9 7/30/1981 Richland, Wash. Washington 56
19 Rodriguez, Amy F 5-4 2/17/1987 Lake Forest, Calif. USC  12/3
20 Wambach, Abby F  5-11 6/2/1980 Rochester, N.Y. Florida 112/89

GOALKEEPERS (2): Nicole Barnhart (Gilbertsville, Pa.), Hope Solo (Richland, Wash.);
DEFENDERS (6): Rachel Buehler (Del Mar, Calif.), Lori Chalupny (St. Louis, Mo.), Stephanie Cox (Elk Grove, Calif.), Kate Markgraf (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.), Christie Rampone (Point Pleasant, N.J.), Cat Whitehill (Birmingham, Ala.);
MIDFIELDERS (7): Shannon Boxx (Redondo Beach, Calif.), Tobin Heath (Basking Ridge, N.J.), Angela Hucles (Virginia Beach, Va.), Carli Lloyd (Delran, N.J.), Leslie Osborne (Brookfield, Wis.), Lindsay Tarpley (Kalamazoo, Mich.), Kacey White (Arlington, Texas);
FORWARDS (5): Lauren Cheney (Indianapolis, Ind.), Natasha Kai (Kahuku, Hawaii), Heather O’Reilly (East Brunswick, N.J.), Amy Rodriguez (Lake Forest, Calif.), Abby Wambach (Rochester, N.Y.).

« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2008, 05:08:05 PM »
Everybody know the TT women's teams swimming upstream when it comes to getting resources for them to play in tournaments overseas. These girls are eager to play but when they have two months gaps in their training  program, how are they to improve. But, Princesses, Good luck in your next game. I know all of us support you all to the very end, right guys?

« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2008, 05:08:58 PM »

« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2008, 05:15:20 PM »
Like is ah setta little boys or newbies to T&T football who posting here or what?

This women's team actually good.  no facking preparation as usual.  Women's football eh have de money in it fuh Jack to ninja so he doh support.

Last time dese women was in ah tourney, dey arrive in Miami de morning of de game.  steups

al;lyuh hush allyuh dunce arses or ask someone who knows before yuh post SHIT!

Offline #8+1

• Midfielder
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2008, 09:49:38 PM »
Okay, so we doh beat Canada..... Costa Rica is next... Doh dwell on d last match, heads up, and tek this next match to d next level...
Do you know how GOOD some ah these girls are from TnT?
Tash, Maylee, Kenya..... let's convert some shots into goals, and let d world know we WANT THIS!
Bless up ladies, I'll be supportin all yuh 100%!!

« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2008, 10:48:03 PM »
Like is ah setta little boys or newbies to T&T football who posting here or what?

This women's team actually good. no facking preparation as usual. Women's football eh have de money in it fuh Jack to ninja so he doh support.

Last time dese women was in ah tourney, dey arrive in Miami de morning of de game. steups

We have good players....not a good team. How will you have players in training when they in the US in College? The defense need a lot of work and the GKs are lacking in technique.  Plus playing players all over the place will not help us. There is no way that Aveann is a defender and Ayanna is a midfielder.
Athletically we are not there yet, and technique still let us down. We are good, but we have to face that we cannot compete with the big guns yet.

Offline marcpurcell

« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2008, 07:41:50 AM »
One question from this game: Why do we still have this clown coaching any national teams from Trinidad?
Born in Montreal
Living in Toronto
But still a Barataria boy at heart

« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2008, 08:06:41 AM »

This women's team actually good.  no facking preparation as usual.  Women's football eh have de money in it fuh Jack to ninja so he doh support.

Last time dese women was in ah tourney, dey arrive in Miami de morning of de game.  steups

You are so right. Its a sad reality. Watching them they have potential, but under prepared. Fitness levels are not international standard & because of this they cannot get the best out of their ability.

Offline trinipepper

• addin fire to the flame ...izatrini
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2008, 09:26:33 AM »

This women's team actually good. no facking preparation as usual. Women's football eh have de money in it fuh Jack to ninja so he doh support.

Last time dese women was in ah tourney, dey arrive in Miami de morning of de game. steups

We have good players....not a good team. How will you have players in training when they in the US in College? The defense need a lot of work and the GKs are lacking in technique.  Plus playing players all over the place will not help us. There is no way that Aveann is a defender and Ayanna is a midfielder.
Athletically we are not there yet, and technique still let us down. We are good, but we have to face that we cannot compete with the big guns yet.

Good point breads
we really have good players but not as a team... Its sad to say we kah compete at this level especially when most of the players are out here playing college ball.. I would also think the coaches know better about the players strength and weaknesses. I think they have ehm coaches using the same technique over and over and yet still like we kah learn.. When it comes to the big guns we need to prepare not playing teams in we back yard but playing competitive ball wee... best of luck girls for the game against Costa Rica ..

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2008, 05:14:35 PM »

Good point breads
we really have good players but not as a team... Its sad to say we kah compete at this level especially when most of the players are out here playing college ball.. I would also think the coaches know better about the players strength and weaknesses. I think they have ehm coaches using the same technique over and over and yet still like we kah learn.. When it comes to the big guns we need to prepare not playing teams in we back yard but playing competitive ball wee... best of luck girls for the game against Costa Rica ..
There was a training camp in Atlanta two weeks ago and none of the staff were there to conduct sessions...a US college coach oversaw the preparations ??? I wonder why it is the Technical Director and not the National coach with the team in this final stage of Olympic qualifying? Instead he is going to Coata Rica with the U-17 team for a training camp and scrimmage/tournament ???
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2008, 05:24:57 PM »
The clown who coaches the team does not not get the resources from the bigger clown.

« Reply #16 on: April 10, 2008, 01:42:29 PM »

Canadian women's soccer team off to Olympics

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 9, 2008 | 11:40 PM ET CBC Sports

The Canadian women's soccer team qualified for the Beijing Olympics on Wednesday night by defeating Mexico 1-0 in the CONCACAF qualifying tournament semifinals in Juarez, Mexico.

Striker Melissa Tancredi scored in her third straight game to help Canada qualify for the Olympics for the first time. Tancredi, a native of Hamilton, scored goals in Canada's round-robin wins over Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica.

"I'm very happy for her and very happy with her performance in this tournament," said Canadian coach Even Pellerud.

"She has suffered from a lot of injuries and her fitness has always been hurt by that, but she has really become a very smart power striker and she's getting stronger and fitter and smarter."

Pellerud has heaped praise on his defence and goalkeeper, who recorded her third shutout of the tournament Wednesday.

"The whole back four was excellent, and Erin was very, very focused in net," Pellerud said. "She played easily her best game in this tournament today. That was a good day to peak."

Wednesday's contest was a re-match of the 2004 Olympic qualification semifinal, which saw Mexico post a 2-1 win to deny Canada a spot at the Athens Games.

"I'm not much of a revenge guy," Pellerud said. "I think the biggest challenge was to prove who was the best team. I think we've played 12 or 13 games against Mexico and never lost except that one game four years ago."

In Wednesday's other semifinal, the U.S. defeated Costa Rica 3-0 to stamp its passport for Beijing.

Natasha Kai scored twice and Heather O'Reilly once for the United States, which will face the Canada in the tournament final Saturday night.

Canada will face the United States in Saturday's final.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2008, 05:56:27 PM »
saw that game yesterday on Gol TV....one mistake by the Mexican defender....she was back tracking and trip on a pommecythere seed or something, fall down on she bamcee, and the Canadian striker run pass ez and finished well.
Other than that, Canada played a very uninspiring boom kick to no one in particular game.
If they put three passes together they did well.
But goals win games and they drop 6 on us.
If, however, they play like that in Beijing, they will get licks.
well yes

« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2008, 07:31:23 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=161308167

Costa Rica sneak one in
Ian Prescott iprescott@trinidadexpress

Saturday, April 12th 2008

Being a little naive in international football cost Trinidad and Tobago a semi-final place at the CONCACAF Olympic Qualifiers which end on Sunday in Cuidad Juarez, Mexico.

Returning home on Wednesday, Jamaal Shabazz, who was in charge of the T&T women's football team for the tournament, had a laugh when he recalled the circumstances that led to Costa Rica earning a 2-2 draw with the T&T "Soca Princesses".

Trinidad and Tobago played two matches, losing the first 6-0 to Canada, but would have still reached the semi-finals had they beaten the Costa Ricans.

With the point gained against T&T, Costa Rica went on to lose 1-0 to finalists Canada, thus eliminating the Caribbean team on goal-difference.

Costa Rica also put up a fight in Wednesday's semi-final, holding the USA goalless for a half , before eventually falling by a 3-0 margin.

Shabazz explained the dubious circumstances which led to the Soca Princesses not getting the victory which would have given them an automatic semi-final spot.

"We were leading 2-1 from since the first half, when Costa Rica scored in the last minute ," Shabazz recalled. "One of the Costa Ricans got injured, so in the spirit of fair play we put the ball out of the field. Afterwards, when the Costa Ricans took the resulting throw in our half, our girls hesitated, expecting them to give the ball back. Instead, one of the Costa Rican players crossed it to her teammate who took it down and scored the equaliser." The lapse in concentration apart, Shabazz felt Trinidad and Tobago should have put away the game against Costa Rica much earlier, missing three simple chance through Akheela Mollon, Kennya Cordner and Maylee Attin Johnson.

Shabazz admitted that Canada were better than Trinidad and Tobago, but he also felt there were positives coming out of that defeat.

"There was a time long ago when we could never get behind the Canadian defence," he said. "But, in that match, we were able to get behind them about six times. The results were not what we wanted, but the gap between us and those teams has definitely started to narrow."

Shabazz also felt that inexperience in the goalkeeping department cost Trinidad and Tobago heavily.

T&T opted to use untested 17-year-old Tobago keeper Kamika Forbes, sister of Under-17 midfielder Karyn Forbes. She has now become the country's number one due to the inactivity of former regular Lisa Jo Ramkisoon and the retirement of Nicole Mitchell.

While there is a lot of potential in the outfield, Shazazz said at all levels Trinidad and Tobago had a goal-keeping problem.

"Three of the goals we conceded against Canada will not score against her (Forbes) two years from now," Shabazz declared. "I think we had the right plan, which was to approach the game defensively, but there are a lot of things that happen on the field which we do not cater for."

Shabazz said the greatest benefit coming out of the tournament is that eight of the Trinidad and Tobago footballers have gained experience playing at the highest level and are still available for the CONCACAF Under-20 Final Round Qualifiers which will be played in June.

« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2008, 09:12:58 PM »
Saturday April 12, 2008

USA vs Canada - 0:0 at 80 minutes

« Reply #20 on: April 12, 2008, 09:29:33 PM »
end of regulation..  0:0

« Reply #21 on: April 12, 2008, 10:47:19 PM »
1-1 overtime
USA 6 - CAN 5 PKs

Offline #8+1

• Midfielder
« Reply #22 on: April 13, 2008, 05:35:08 PM »
saw that game yesterday on Gol TV....one mistake by the Mexican defender....she was back tracking and trip on a pommecythere seed or something, fall down on she bamcee, and the Canadian striker run pass ez and finished well.
Other than that, Canada played a very uninspiring boom kick to no one in particular game.
If they put three passes together they did well.
But goals win games and they drop 6 on us.
If, however, they play like that in Beijing, they will get licks.
Boom kick footy is what they know how to play.... they always "jus get by" and it's extremely frustrating to watch....