June 06, 2024, 02:31:11 PM

Author Topic: Yorke has a change heart.  (Read 15214 times)

Yorke has a change heart.
« on: May 30, 2008, 07:43:44 PM »
Yorke will tackle England.
...Warrior captain makes about-turn.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago's 2006 World Cup captain and former Manchester United star Dwight Yorke will make a surprise farewell appearance tomorrow in the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation's (T&TFF) Centennial match against England.

Yorke seemed to be ruled out of the exhibition match in midweek when talks were believed to have floundered when discussions turned to a match fee and training camp.

However, Yorke's interest in the outing was reignited after England's arrival on Thursday night.

FIFA vice-president and T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner initially invited Yorke to feature as a guest player and he is believed to have advised the national technical staff, headed by Colombian coach Francisco Maturana, that the Tobago-born star must be accommodated.

T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes confirmed yesterday evening that Yorke would play on Sunday, although he is yet to train under the present coaching regime.

Yorke is understood to have balked at the idea of joining his compatriots in camp, earlier this week, but was always open to the idea of a workout on the eve of the contest. There is a final session for the "Soca Warriors" from 4 p.m. today at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain.

His appearance tomorrow might be reminiscent of his last supposed farewell game against Northern Ireland at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet on June 6, 2004, when he sat in the stands for the first half before joining the squad at the interval.

Trinidad and Tobago lost 3-0 to Northern Ireland but, eight months later, Yorke agreed to rejoin the national team.

Unlike 2004, when then coach Bertille St Clair was eager to use Yorke, his cameo tomorrow would represent a climb down for the technical staff who, on Wednesday, claimed credit for the expected non-appearance of the striker-cum-midfielder.

"We see this as a very important preparation match against England and we want to use the players who will be part of the squad that will help us get to the next World Cup," Maturana told the media. "This is not an exhibition match. I have a lot of respect for Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy, but we are working towards the next World Cup."

Fuentes reiterated his coach's sentiments to the 365.com website.

"They will forever remain legends here," said Fuentes, "but the big man wants to continue building a team and he doesn't want to let Sunday's encounter against England go by without giving the current players that exposure-win, lose or draw."

Yesterday, the press officer conceded that someone bigger than Maturana had agreed to entertain Yorke for the Centennial outing.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2008, 04:08:05 AM by Flex »

Re: Yorke has a change heart
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2008, 07:47:15 PM »
f**kery..

bare f**kery..

just goes to show a ball piyong will always be a ball piyong till de day he dead.

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2008, 07:48:54 PM »
exactly, omar no class, but it have a flip side to that, i hear on a news cast on the radio that maturana say he will let him play if he commit to t&t world cup 2010 campaign ah doh know how true it is.

« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2008, 07:50:02 PM »
Pure dramatics!!!!

« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2008, 07:54:57 PM »
allyuh getting to see the king 1 more time, be glad

« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2008, 07:55:29 PM »
well at least we have a extra midfielder  :'(

« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2008, 07:55:59 PM »

as i say before it might not be his last

« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2008, 07:57:17 PM »

as i say before it might not be his last

leh we hope ;)

« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2008, 07:57:22 PM »
stueps. somebody go and give Yorke a coconut and go chill under a palm tree

« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2008, 07:58:43 PM »

latapy is de king fadda.

this is what does happen at every single level of football in trinidad.

every side have that former starboy who go watch de hype, de glam and de gallery and then get tusty and say, "ah hadda pull ah last sweat yes".

too bad for someone out of young hyland, guerra, daniel or roberts who will be the losers.

« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2008, 08:01:15 PM »
Petulance at it's finest.... once he realize party was carrying on without him he decide upon a change of heart. 

And the beat goes on.

« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2008, 08:03:49 PM »
I doh have a problem with this once he playing qualifiers too.

« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2008, 08:04:35 PM »
Ah cyah steups loud enough

« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2008, 08:04:43 PM »
My ting is....if yuh coming want sweat, be prepared to continue for de qualifying round.....  Ah like yuh Yorkie, but das jes my sentiments

« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2008, 08:06:19 PM »
Sorry, as much as I respect Yorke for all that he has done, I think that is a bad move....guess the report earlier was right when they say he did not want to join no camp, but come in the day b4 the game and play...steupsss...ah really hope there is more to this than just a sweat oiu

« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2008, 08:07:47 PM »
So he training tommorow  den ?

Online Fyzoman

« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2008, 08:18:29 PM »
when yuh big yuh fack well LARGE!
If is not one baccahnal is de next!
My sweet TnT!
Me, i reach ah stage whey i does be waiting to see what is de next drama and just grin and shake meh head.

« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2008, 08:20:19 PM »
so wha happening to all Maturana camp and tactics and sessions that was going on before Yorke come and plomp heself in de mix?

i hope he get a 15 mins at the end.

« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2008, 08:20:19 PM »
what if he had originally told Jackula what his appereance fee would be and is ONLY now Jackula conceded

Big Mag gobe mad AGAIN if Russell gets left out AGAIN
anybody have ah Scotch and Coconut water to calm him dong with
« Last Edit: May 30, 2008, 08:37:34 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #19 on: May 30, 2008, 08:20:55 PM »
When d nonesense go down. He went B'dos play he golf or do what BM say. God knows what he and Lara doin since he in TNT. Come 2morrow he turn up 4 training and come sun he takin d field and might b captin 2. What utter rubbish u tink dis could a happen under d Don. Look give me a break dis hr of d nite

« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2008, 08:25:31 PM »
we need a proper explanation from Fuentes  :waiting: get writing

« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2008, 08:33:14 PM »
Proper explination and d TTFF DHW d curry u eat 2day affectin u ability 2 critically tink.

« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2008, 08:35:44 PM »
Proper explination and d TTFF DHW d curry u eat 2day affectin u ability 2 critically tink.

lol yuh right lol, i feel i eat some bad curry

« Reply #23 on: May 30, 2008, 08:49:34 PM »
Yorke set for return against England
By Lasana Liburd (Reuters)

Sat May 31, 2008 3:03am BST

PORT OF SPAIN (Reuters) - Former Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke will make a surprise appearance for Trinidad & Tobago in Sunday's friendly international against England.

Yorke, who captained Trinidad & Tobago at the 2006 World Cup, retired from international soccer in March last year but expressed his interest in making a one-off return after the England team arrived in the Caribbean on Thursday.

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) press officer Shaun Fuentes said on Friday that Yorke would play against England although he had not yet trained with his team mates.

A member of Manchester United's treble-winning side in 1999, Yorke had initially been invited to appear as a guest player for his country by FIFA vice-president Jack Warner, a special advisor to the T&TFF.

Yorke's surprise appearance for the Soca Warriors on Sunday will run counter to views expressed earlier this week by Trinidad & Tobago coach Francisco Maturana.

"We see this as a very important preparation match against England and we want to use the players who will be part of the squad that will help us get to the next World Cup," Maturana told reporters.

"This is not an exhibition match. I have a lot of respect for Dwight Yorke but we are working towards the next World Cup," added former Colombia coach Maturana.

York, who plays for Sunderland in the English Premier League, scored 26 goals in 59 official games for his country.

England, who have failed to qualify for Euro 2008, will be playing their final international of the season against Trinidad & Tobago.

« Reply #24 on: May 30, 2008, 08:53:15 PM »

Yorke's surprise appearance for the Soca Warriors on Sunday will run counter to views expressed earlier this week by Trinidad & Tobago coach Francisco Maturana.

"We see this as a very important preparation match against England and we want to use the players who will be part of the squad that will help us get to the next World Cup," Maturana told reporters.

"This is not an exhibition match. I have a lot of respect for Dwight Yorke but we are working towards the next World Cup," added former Colombia coach Maturana.

see what a say, something up, read between the lines

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #25 on: May 30, 2008, 09:02:39 PM »
What drama!!!  I would not be surprise if this was Yorkie's masterplan from the get go, or from JW perharps.  And dis but de coach in a uncomfortable situation...guess I will have some popcorn, shirleys and a coke as well!!!
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #26 on: May 30, 2008, 09:21:10 PM »
Steups, TT football, one perpetual soap opera

« Reply #27 on: May 30, 2008, 09:32:15 PM »
Who pays the piper calls the Tune
 Jacular again- What Jack wants - Jack gets.
 All birchill has to do is ask he mum to talk to jack and he will be back in the side against jamaica

« Reply #28 on: May 30, 2008, 09:34:22 PM »
yeah, who say maturana is in control of his team and pick the best squad available to him?  ::)

« Reply #29 on: May 30, 2008, 09:35:02 PM »
As u mention JA if he really back we might c he 4 JA. Or he might decide 2 b back after we beat Bermuda and we have 2 play d US